Studying in the UK V2

liew_jls
post Nov 8 2008, 07:24 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(kuih_tiow @ Nov 7 2008, 11:56 PM)
ok2.thx for d info.it makes more clear to me.

btw , let say my visa end on january 2010 and my postgrad mayb end on sept 09...so i oso need to follow liew_js step in order to extend my visa rite?
yes if you want to work in UK, you need to convert your visa before your student visa expired ( if you want to do it within UK).
liew_jls
post Nov 9 2008, 05:36 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Raining @ Nov 8 2008, 10:06 AM)

coz the duration of my student visa is onli 1 year + 1 month (can't even attend the convo which is 4th November), I went through the Entry Clearance Correction to fix it, but the Entry Clearance Office in KL denied that this is his mistake, so I tot of extending my student visa for extra 3 months by paying 295 pound via the "Visa Extension" sad.gif (a friend from China tried this, and they granted him to stay until January 2010 using his Student Visa)
i see. it's normal.. it's not thier mistake, i do have some friend's visa are not valid till their convo..
i would say if you have interest to work in uk, you can consider go back to malaysia for 1 or 2 months then apply Tier 1 Post Study Work Visa and come back for your convo.. this will save you some money and you don't need to pay more for the visa..
i not sure this will work... just a suggestion.. unsure.gif
liew_jls
post Nov 14 2008, 11:33 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Nov 14 2008, 12:27 AM)
Guys, since you all are talking about extension and stuff, just want to ask some advice. RIght now my visa is valid for only 3 yrs wihle my course is actually 4 yrs (long story). Anyway, if I want to extend it, I checked and found out that I need to pay minimum almost £300? That's crazy man, so I was wondering whether I can just make another fresh student visa application in Malaysia except now it's valid until I finish my program. Is it possible? I'm not paying RM 1K++ just to extend for one more year..(although it seems little compared to what I'll be spending here, but it's still money). Thanks.
when ur student visa is going to expire, you can go back malaysia and reapply a new student visa. but u need to get a letter from ur university to prove when u will finish ur course

Added on November 14, 2008, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(melt @ Nov 14 2008, 01:19 AM)
all uni have their own PHD courses. It only depends what PHD are you choosing and the rank of the uni that you wanted.
yeah.. plus do they provide any funding for your research...

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Nov 14 2008, 11:36 PM
liew_jls
post Nov 15 2008, 02:59 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(maxtek @ Nov 14 2008, 05:29 PM)
For student visas? I thought the letter from Uni as proof isn't required???
I'm not so sure. Probably they have change the rules. But i suppose u need unconditional letter for those newbies. For those who re-apply student visa, you probably need letter for uni to identify ur course duration. For the safe side, you should ask ur uni's international officer to confirmation.
liew_jls
post Nov 18 2008, 07:08 PM

558 posts

guys, is there anyone has the link to state a graduate who holding student visa is allow to work permanent job?? I tried to find the homeoffice website, but there's no luck.. I only able to find is only to work not more than 20 hours for student visa...
liew_jls
post Nov 18 2008, 07:34 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Nov 18 2008, 11:20 AM)
You are not allow to work as full time when you are holding a student visa. No matter how hard you look into their home office website, I dont there is any link that show that you can do that.  sweat.gif
no, when u have finish your course and obtain ur degree, you are allow to work full time job.

Added on November 18, 2008, 7:35 pmi remember i saw some where, but i can't find it now.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Nov 18 2008, 07:35 PM
liew_jls
post Nov 18 2008, 08:49 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 18 2008, 12:19 PM)
not while u're on a student visa u wouldnt.

what u can do is LOOK for a fulltime job, assuming u've finished studies, but still finishing off ur student visa. after u've landed the job, u will be required to change ur student visa into a working visa.

if they actually allow u to work fulltime with a part time visa, UK would be totally flooded by asians right now.
I see. thanks azarimy..
liew_jls
post Nov 28 2008, 06:26 AM

558 posts

corad, don't being silly, pay 10quids for your credit report.. i was told by lloyds get the privacy guards (pay £1 for the 1st month) to check on my credit report coz my credit is very low(don't know what happen since i didn't get any loan or wat).. i don't even bother to do that.. but will check on it in future..

well, you can go to the website like youngkies recommend www.e2save.com and call up their customer service to get a contract phone. they will very happy to get ur debit card details, address and offer a good deal to you. this is want i did for my 1st contract phone. then i upgraded my contract after 12months.
liew_jls
post Nov 28 2008, 06:38 AM

558 posts

probably, my bank history is only 2 years++...
lol... i did have experience of miss 1 direct debit (which i was fined 50++quids for that) and failed apply Eggs credit card.. that's all..
liew_jls
post Nov 28 2008, 07:32 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 27 2008, 11:20 PM)
I'm with HSBC . I'll still have to get my credit report sorted out either way. (unless i use a friends debit card... but i don't want to hutang budi anyone)
I've been in the UK for 3 years. Equifax gives me a credit score of 960+ out of a possible 980. it's only the stupid electoral roll thing which stops me from getting a contract. It seems easier to get a premier credit card here than a cheapo phone contract  vmad.gif  I still can't see the point of paying 10 pounds to correct their mistake. Explained to their agent over skype, but still no deal.

EDIT : back to the question, so are there any places offering phone contracts with minimal credit checks ? want to squeeze the most out of my pounds ... but if thats not possible, guess i'll no choice but to give my money to these scammers.
erm, i don't know HSBC can't use for getting a contract phone.. oh, there's one way to make your credit good is put ur vote when ur area is doing election.
probably you can consider Privacy Guard to check on ur credit, you can subscribe for the 1st month and cost u 1quid.. then u cancel it when u receive ur credit report... i suppose it's cheaper compare with ur equifax...
liew_jls
post Dec 7 2008, 06:27 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Raining @ Dec 6 2008, 07:38 PM)
the heater at my flat will only be on for a while when it is really too cold, it is off most of the time because my flatmate from Pakistan cannot afford to pay for the bill.
omg... you must be freeze to dead especially these 2 weeks... there's one way, if he doesn't want to pay the bill.. turn off the radiator in his room.. then the rest of you can turn on the heater and split between you guys.. otherwise if you using the portable heater which using electric will be very expensive...
liew_jls
post Dec 7 2008, 06:39 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Dec 7 2008, 07:58 AM)
Can the steam last long? normally my hot water will turn cold very fast... sad.gif
i had the experience before.. hot water turn cold very fast... it's your boiler problem... you need to ask your landlord to check ur boiler.. it's not normal...
liew_jls
post Dec 8 2008, 06:50 PM

558 posts

guys, i'm planning to Edinburgh in next 2 days, and i'm looking to a good, not too expensive place to stay over night (for 2 nights - 4 adults)... any good suggestion? lol.. it is a lastminute job..
i remember some of you guys are studying in edinburgh also some of you always travel around, right? i suppose you guys should know some good place to stay over night.. thanks.. blush.gif
liew_jls
post Dec 12 2008, 04:35 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Dec 10 2008, 10:56 AM)
there are quite a number of backpacker hostel around edinburgh old town. maybe you can strike a deal in hostelworld?
i see. thanks..
I actually found a very good deal in lastminute.com... and it's a pretty good apartment for tourist(family or group)..
liew_jls
post Dec 12 2008, 08:13 PM

558 posts

i'm planning apply Tier 1 Post Study Work Visa in malaysia, just wondering is there anyone has the experience before? how long will it take? i checked vfs's website, it said 20 working days.. but i bit afraid it will takes longer 20 working days, as my ticket only valid for 1 month. anyone has the experience which apply this visa in malaysia? sad.gif
liew_jls
post Dec 15 2008, 12:55 AM

558 posts

renewed my entry clearance under work permit on tuesday and was told that my passport is on the way back by courier today.

if everything is fine (documentations well presented), it should take less than 20 working days, considering it is off-peak season now.

[/quote]
Thanks.. i guess, as long submit all documents which requested, should be alright...
liew_jls
post Jan 4 2009, 07:19 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 22 2008, 01:42 PM)
Thanks for the feedback azarimy, i assume that i'll be able to get a room for round 100 pound/week?

I guess i will be able to support my living expenses if i work part time over there since i heard they're paying 6-7 pounds per hour for part time?
100 quids/week is bit expensive in Sheffield, am i right? should be around £60++?

btw, the pay for part-time is around £6++ per hour (depends on what job is that), the min wage is around £5.70 per hour (if i'm not mistaken). Plus there's 22% tax for the pay, so you will receive around £4.44 per hour. I hate this part so much... sad.gif

liew_jls
post Jan 9 2009, 06:57 AM

558 posts

guys, just wondering any of you guys get any good and reliable travel insurance?
liew_jls
post Jan 10 2009, 11:34 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 8 2009, 11:40 PM)
only when i'm going to a dodgy, third world country tongue.gif. most of the time i just take the package included with STA travel.
i see.. hmm.. my case is i didn't get my air-ticket via STA. well, just hunt around.. thanks btw.. smile.gif

oh, another thing, i'm bit confuse.. about UK resident. we are holding student visa, are we consider uk resident?
liew_jls
post Feb 5 2009, 08:40 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Ivora_Fay @ Feb 4 2009, 03:38 PM)
hi,

I'm thinking of doing a postgrad engineering in UK. In general, which universities are good for engineering. (Not specific eng major...just in general).
I would say University of Nottingham engineering course is quite popular, but the tuition fee is killing ppl. but you can always check over the website timeonlines to check out all university ranking for engineering course.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0587sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:06 AM