10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V4, Just added: HD4830 benches!

tech3910
post Oct 12 2008, 09:21 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 12 2008, 09:39 PM)
u can try lower it 2x AA shadow detail mainstream, the soft shadow doesn't impress me at all.
b4 i start the game, i test various setting.
since can get pass 30 fps easily, i up the AA 2 lower the frame rate bck.
i just wan it 2 b playable which is =>30 all the time.
QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 12 2008, 09:40 PM)
Agree, Far Cry 2 biggrin.gif. Well 8.10 probably soon, end of October.
u can use beta now if u wan 2.......................
=_=
tech3910
post Oct 13 2008, 12:01 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 13 2008, 12:57 AM)
Well said, who ever said crytek 2 engine is good, you have to do some research on what define a good engine. Good engine is like unreal 3 engine. Perfectly optimised. Even a mid range computer can run the game like 50-60fps. My 9600gt run is 60fps most of the time at MAX setting. The graphics is comparable to crytek 2 engine i can say. Crytek 2 engine nothing to shout about also, no ppl buy their engine, why? Lousy. Unreal 3 engine even expensive, ppl buy until siao edi.
i favor the stream engine.
good balance between good graphic, supported & playable wit current h/w & the physic is also very good.
tech3910
post Oct 13 2008, 10:30 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Oct 13 2008, 07:40 AM)
COD4 utilizes quad-core & u gain extra fps from that.
COD4 runs better on dual den quad.
of coz, u dun compared @ same clock speed.

games dat i knows dat truly benefit from quad is Supreme Commander, Lost Planet, DMC4...........hm, wat else?
tech3910
post Oct 13 2008, 03:09 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ Oct 13 2008, 03:03 PM)
just want to ask, between 8800gts 320mb and this 4670, which one is better? both are worth rm300 ATM..
of coz 8800TS better in performance.
tech3910
post Oct 13 2008, 03:34 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

alright, my bad. i was thinking of the 640mb version..............=_=
tech3910
post Oct 14 2008, 07:41 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 14 2008, 07:32 PM)
Is there any 1GB version of IceQ4 4850? What brand have 1GB version of 4850?
not much point.
4850 1gb is 4 those who wanna ply games on high resolution wit <= medium setting.
tech3910
post Oct 14 2008, 10:31 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Oct 14 2008, 10:15 PM)
I'm still using 17" monitor which is good since I no need to buy higher end GPU to play games at high res. A 512MB 4850 is good enough
512 enough.

1gb u'll notice little performance gain. but more significant in higher resolution.
tech3910
post Oct 15 2008, 06:45 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

from wat i experience last time, seams dat nvidia paired wit ATI doesn't go along very well.

last time i had a geforce 6200 wit ATI chipset mobo.
the 6200 drive rcan't install properly, always there will b something is missing. even update driver & bios also no use......
tech3910
post Oct 17 2008, 12:05 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 17 2008, 12:24 AM)
Why izit that the 8.10 cat allow the idle gpu temperature up to 78 izit safe i use to use the previous drivers where i had to mod the profile settings to gain control of the fan n i know the new drivers allow to manually control the fan i thought that the new drivers will control the idle temp even better i mean idle at 56-60degrees i still feel my 4870 is runnin hot.
y dun mod ur GC bios straight?
no need headache anymore.
tech3910
post Oct 17 2008, 01:36 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 17 2008, 01:59 AM)
how izit bios mod can help the heat issue? when mod the bios the default fan speed is higher izit ?
use RBE, u just set the different percentage of fan speed wen GPU reaches different different temperature.
just like adjusting fan speed using ATI tray tools.
tech3910
post Oct 17 2008, 12:06 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 17 2008, 11:50 AM)
maybe the fan control for 4850/4870/4870x2? hmm.gif
seriously, i think the fan controller r initially made 4 =>4850 only coz these r the only cards dat faces temperature problem.
4670 already runs fine in default.
tech3910
post Oct 18 2008, 05:07 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Oct 18 2008, 04:40 PM)
[attachmentid=634450]

My TR-Tad2 arrived
is dat a GA-EP45-UD3P?
order from US also?
how much?
tech3910
post Oct 19 2008, 04:01 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 19 2008, 03:07 PM)
nope... I am quite sure the next generation card will consume less power...  (40nm)
no need to wait further.. since it is direct X 11.0.
if power is the main concern, den better get 4670 or even better 8400GS...............
u can't wait around wen it comes 2 buying h/w.
may b next tine wen R870 comes out, u'll say, "lets wait for GT300 & c how it compares......."
QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Oct 19 2008, 03:17 PM)
Chill dudes. As for me, I would suggest try to avoid any 1k++ GC, get a normal 4870 or 4850 will do. Most probably you'll do an upgrade in 1 or 2 years time which made the GC worthless.

Unless you really sure want to use the GC for the coming years, then spending more on it is alright.

Regarding to dx11, IIRC the current dx10 card will support dx11 too.
well, dis is the sad truth of technology, it pass by very very quickly.
my last GC was 3870, bought @ nearly 1k, sell @ 350 8 months later..................
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 05:56 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 20 2008, 03:01 AM)
i think that is normal temp for 4870x2 nod.gif

If u got Vista SP1, you already have DX10.1, but none of games today support DX10.1 due to TWIMTBP politics.

Just hope that upcoming FarCry2 really support DX10.1  wink.gif
there use 2 b 1, Assassin's creed.
just dun update it if u own dx10.1 card.
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 01:14 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 20 2008, 01:48 PM)
thinking of going thru the whole page in this thread but it's too big, so straight away ask la...
i have GeCube HD4870 512Mb card, the rest of the system is as per my siggy...been using it a few months already...played Dungeon & Siege 2 biggrin.gif previously, no problem. but a couple a week ago, i've been having problem while playing it. it started with game freezed a few second, then ok, then again...and sometime blank, then ok again...then system reboot. last week i fired up Vantage to test it...at loading screen to start the benchy, it frozen again. and this weekend, installed 3DMark2006...same thing also. i've checked the temp via Everest, the gpu temp is idling at 54c, during game it would be around 60ish...full load, dunno coz not able to run any test. GDDR temp is around 60ish on idle/normal use...but still not exceeding 70ish. i've used the Catalyst 8.10...during the ok time, i used 8.7, but then problem, remove 8.7 and installed 8.10...no go as well. i have no idea.
any idea? and what is the best way/apps for me to use to test the vga card - i'm not really into VGA stuff - more on RAM and CPU; so, consider me as noob in VGA stuff blush.gif . thanks
u use it freezes in 3dmark starting? i it actually load quite long on the 1st test.
u got oc ur GC?
also show us ur GPU temperature.
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 02:32 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 20 2008, 03:09 PM)
yes. i faces same thing. normally CCC has GPU activity and Temp indicator, regardless of whether you unlock the thing.
i didn't bother to unlock overdrive, simply because CCC has always come with the indicators and unlocking Overdrive just allows you to do adjustments, not making the dials appear.

I see no temperature reading also i find cacat already.

CCC no temp reading. HWmonitor also no temp reading. In the end, luckily GPU-Z got temp reading. biggrin.gif
lol......... laugh.gif
no fan control is ok, no temperature reading really kinda sux.

btw, i heard dat 8.10 has ~20% improvement on 4670, how true is dat?
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 07:58 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 20 2008, 08:36 PM)
..waiting for the reviews of AMD 4830 in the coming few days..
I think 4830 is the best buy without changing your current 500Watts or 480 watts power supply unit. While waiting for the DIRECT X 11.0 card coming after march next year..
dis is meant 2 kick 8800/9800gt ass.
lets c bout dat............ thumbup.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 20 2008, 08:21 PM)
Don't know if it is available locally or not, but it is released already biggrin.gif. RM179 official price in Malaysia  sweat.gif
official release date is 21st October.
pirate already leak out...............
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Oct 20 2008, 08:33 PM)
wats the performance gain of pcie2.0?
may b 1 ~ 2 frame?
now, pci-e 2.0 still worth ntgh coz gc still not design 2 utilized all of the extra bandwidth.
but getting a pci-e 2.0 mobo will b a good investment & has now quickly b coming a standard in mobo manufacture.
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 09:12 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 20 2008, 09:04 PM)
Usually Malaysia release 1 day earlier ma, those dates are for USA right?
not really, is b coz US time is slower den m'sia.
v 21th already dey still 20th...............

btw, RA3, 8 more days baby.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Oct 20 2008, 09:12 PM
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 10:36 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 20 2008, 11:30 PM)
simply because im not playing games.. and i want to save some of electricity bill...
i choose it over ATI 4670 because 4830 is based on 256bits memory which is faster than 4670 of 128 bits.
wanna save electric bill get a 8400gs lo.
den swap card wen ply game.......... tongue.gif
tech3910
post Oct 21 2008, 12:41 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 21 2008, 12:13 AM)
I mean watching it at full screen mode.. full HD1080. there should be a slightly differences between 128 bits and 256 bits..
understood ur needs for better GC.
btw, 8400 is 64 bit.............

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:04 AM