12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

TSshady
post Dec 13 2008, 06:39 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 13 2008, 05:57 PM)
no sensor the ATI igp
its normal for amd mobile cpu
erm..i'm bit worry left bottom lcd since the heat extraction system windows beneath there... will it melt the lcd plastic?  laugh.gif
dont worry plastic can withstand more than 200C. the best way for cooler operation is dont block that exhaust part.
TSshady
post Dec 14 2008, 01:10 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 14 2008, 10:25 AM)
patient....uploading both the drivers biggrin.gif

anyone know what is the virtualization tech inside the bios? what program gain advantage on this?
Virtualization is for using the pc with more than 1 person at the same time. Normal user wont use this feature so disable it.

QUOTE(Racerx @ Dec 14 2008, 10:29 AM)
so,this laptop is worth the price?

anything to lookout for when buying from pcfair?

compared to the c2d t5800,does the turion x2 rm-70 fare off well?

is it fast enough to be usable say,3 years from now?

thanks.
clock per clock, X2 is slower than Core 2 duo. battery life, core 2 wins by quite a large margin.
TSshady
post Dec 14 2008, 02:33 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 14 2008, 02:02 PM)
Its depends on which core 2 that you are using. Some 35W and some 25W. ATI chipset is more power efficient compared to Intel.
Even though some 65nm Intel parts are 35W. That is the max power or TDP. TDP doesnt mean anything in real life usage. Power savings wise, Intel Core series is ahead of Turion. That is why most users have problem getting 2 hrs. Intel laptops have no problems getting more than 2hrs. At the same clock speed, Core 2 is faster than Turion and consumes less power. TDP doesnt mean anything, just arough guideline on the max power.
TSshady
post Dec 14 2008, 03:13 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 14 2008, 02:38 PM)
Bro, AMD Turion RM-71 TDP is 32W. Yes real life is quite defferent but you have to look at the battery of the notebook to. Is it of the same rating? In term of power saving, Puma platform is better than AMD's previous one and it is now comparable with Intel system of the same price. Please do not compare with system of different price as other parts used will be of a better quality.
As, I have said before, TDP is only a reference. Its doesnt matter in real life. For example desktop Core 2 Duo and Athlon X2. Even though most of the parts have TDP of 65W, the power consumption differs according to clockspeed, process tech and etc. As for battery, if Im not mistaken, all CQ40 have the same case so the battery should be the same which is 6cell 47Whr. HP Pavillion notebooks comes with 6cell 53 Whr though(compatible with CQ40). Of course, it is not fair to compare different platform. Puma is better only in the intergrated graphics department. In CPU, it doesnt stand a chance again Core 2. U can check lots of review sites on CPU comparison. Well, I'm not comparing different system becuase that person asked about Core 2 T5800 vs Turion X2. Anyway for this price range, IMHO, this model is the best buy. I dont think its possible to find an Intel system with dedicated GPU for RM2k. smile.gif

As for drivers, I suggest you guys to check out the first post and go to CQ40-100CTO drivers page. All the drivers are there, just the matter of getting the correct one.
TSshady
post Dec 14 2008, 08:20 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 14 2008, 07:21 PM)
no..... vmad.gif
since it so cheap le...nvm... thumbup.gif
btw, how to open wireless? why i press the button on top but i cant see anything pop up in my lappy?
did u install broadcom wlan driver?
TSshady
post Dec 14 2008, 09:59 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 14 2008, 09:06 PM)
got ya....

if u press the button on the top there, anything will show to u?

or we nid to open which thing to turn on WIFI?
If you installed HP Wireless Manager, you can see a small message near Taskbar stating Wifi status.
TSshady
post Dec 15 2008, 06:40 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(20v_ke35 @ Dec 15 2008, 05:39 PM)
ok, i found it.

but now, who can help me with the lcd brightness control using XP?
QUOTE(nakTT @ Dec 15 2008, 06:00 PM)
Is that mean the Fn key for LCD won't work on XP?
Display brighness, volume control and etc doesnt work in XP because no compatible HP Quick Launch for XP.

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 15 2008, 06:38 PM)
why my screen keep back to the original (max) setting of contrast every time i start up my vista?

any method can save it , so that i no nid keep changing the contrast setting? becoz max setting is too bright for me  icon_question.gif
Did you go power settings and adjust?
TSshady
post Dec 16 2008, 10:43 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

For brightness control using keyboard I dont think it will work with XP. Anyway I wonder why you guys still using XP. Vista SP1 is good and stable enough. Furthermore this model is designed for Vista. Game performance is quite the same too in Vista/XP.

For dual channel, CPU-Z cant display. If I'm not mistaken Everest can display. AMD Overdrive will display one channel. I really dont know whether it will work in singel or dual channel but my own testing shows that there is performance increase in Everest benchmark with 2 sticks. U guys can check the first post for DDR2 667 vs 800 performance comparison.

For cooling, the exhaust is located at the back of the casing. There is no holes at the bottom. Most coolers which blows air at the bottom wont work with this model. The best cooling is try not to block the exhaust part and if possible elevate the back part so the the exhaust can blow out more efficiently.

For games, dont expect to get wonderful framerates for latest games. Of course you can try to tweak settings to get playable settings.

For users with 4GB but dont want to use 64bit Windows, I suggest you to use the unusable 1GB for RAM disk. You can use the RAMdisk for swap file or super fast storage. There are freeware and shareware availble. Pls google.
TSshady
post Dec 16 2008, 11:35 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 16 2008, 11:11 AM)
ohmy.gif anyway to backup/extrac the F23 for share??  biggrin.gif
Maybe F23 is not a big update. I suggest u wait for the next official update.

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 16 2008, 11:32 AM)
Ultimate ??  i try compare w business ver, i see its slower boot up... sweat.gif
If u hate the slow bootup i suggest u use sleep mode for notebook. Becareful though because battery will drain up so make sure its fully charge all the time.
TSshady
post Dec 16 2008, 05:19 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 16 2008, 04:22 PM)
shocking.gif what is the result by Restart Time ( http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/720-restart-time.html)
rclxub.gif where is the ENE CIR Receiver (infrared??) interface??
This model no infrared.

Btw, anyone tried Ubuntu on this laptop?
TSshady
post Dec 16 2008, 08:57 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 16 2008, 05:48 PM)
I m using 32 bit vista ultimate sp1 ( becoz i dun have 64 bit vista CD) cry.gif

Nvm, but how to use the undetected 1GB RAM? Pls teach... icon_question.gif
Pls google RAMDisk

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 16 2008, 06:50 PM)
ENE CIR
[attachmentid=718968]

using pc wizard, it does show dual channel...
[attachmentid=718969]
Hmm.. i pretty sure there is no infrared. Which model u are using?
TSshady
post Dec 17 2008, 10:44 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

The specs and hardware manual doesnt state any infrared device. I checked my device manager and there is no CIR device also. Maybe its in some boards but disabled.
TSshady
post Dec 18 2008, 11:55 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

aiks, thread now back to original section.

CPU-Z will not show dual channel mode.

As long as you have the RAM stick with same capacity and running at same speed u will get dual channel.

The easiest way to test is by using Everest.

You guys can refer to first post. I have RAM testing results there.
TSshady
post Dec 18 2008, 11:26 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(faiz_since86 @ Dec 18 2008, 06:35 PM)
HELP!!! HELP

I am the CQ40-133AX owner...
I don't know what the hell is wrong with hp...why do they want to make it hard for freeDOS buyer...

I have installed windows Vista ultimate 32bit

but right now,after installing all the driver, the the latest ATI catalyst driver cannot recognize my graphics (ATI radeon HD3450)

I have even try to modified the driver with mobility modder but that didn't solve my problem either..

the same goes for the webcam...where the hell is the driver???

what should i do???

is there any other way???
You modified the drivers wrongly. I have no problems using ATI Catalyst from AMD modded with Mobility Modder. I suggest u try to mod the drivers again. During installation, choose custom and see whether there are control center and display driver before installing.
TSshady
post Dec 22 2008, 10:38 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(rudhrasamy @ Dec 22 2008, 10:01 PM)
my cousin bought cq40-126au for RM1799 at PC fair. I think its come with latest bios which doesnt allow windows XP installation to run. Even slipstreamed original copy also wont run
sweat.gif First time I heard BIOS can block OS installation. What error msg he got?
TSshady
post Dec 29 2008, 04:43 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

Hello guys,

Now I'm on vacation so cant get online and check this thread often. I see some of the owners would want to install XP on CQ40. I wonder why since this laptop is designed for Vista and more than capable of running it. Furthermore Vista is quite stable now and SP2 will make it even better in future.
TSshady
post Jan 6 2009, 10:16 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(swklee @ Jan 6 2009, 03:46 AM)
My biggest mistake is to buy this notebook.
So many problems.
It's more like DIY set.Hardware already done...now leave the software part.
End of the day,every user is a technician.
No driver support and wasted so much time looking for drivers and setting up.
And made in China.....wonder how long this unit is going to last......
You sounded like a newbie to me. It is clearly stated on the specs that the notebook comes with Free DOS. Installing Windows is not hard. In fact many guides are available on the net. Only Windows Vista is officially supported by these models and I wonder why you guys take all the trouble to install XP. I dont think XP is much faster than Vista. With 2GB of RAM, this laptop should be able to handle Vista. Installing Vista is a piece of cake and all drivers are available on HP support site.

Regarding made in china stuff, can you tell me what products now days are not made in China? Even high end laptops are made in the mainland. What a childish statement made by you. No matter where the product is made in, the quality control is the one matters. smile.gif
TSshady
post Jan 7 2009, 07:13 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(evilkiey @ Jan 7 2009, 06:39 PM)
Anyway i am going to buy Compaq CQ40 - 133AX soon. But my mates says that this laptop cannot put Windows XP because there is some sort of bug where no sounds comes out of ur speakers and stuff.I am not really a fan on Vista because i play games..and Vista aint a good OS for games.Anybody can clarify this matter to me? Thx alot.
That problem was serious when Vista was released but, ATI and nVidia drivers have improved a lot. Game performance wise, Vista is on par on XP now. Furthermore, Vista supports DX10 and some newer games runs faster on DX10. Games designed for XP should be compatible with Vista. If not a patch should fix it. I dont think by choosing XP your game will run faster.

TSshady
post Jan 9 2009, 01:52 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jan 9 2009, 12:49 PM)
Yeah..i'm thinking to get DDR2 667mhz 2GB x 2 around RM55 per pcs...just asking if using DDR2 800mhz...this system will not stable?
the ram sticks will run at ddr2 667. Honestly there is no harm putting faster RAM, you can use in next laptop if it supports ddr2 800.
TSshady
post Jan 9 2009, 05:14 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Jan 9 2009, 03:28 PM)
Yes, no harm.

However I guess his next lappy will surely run on DDR3 instead.
Bro shady, I notice that you haven't put my name on the list of owners. icon_idea.gif
Sorry bout that, will add it. Too bz nowdays and I have limited internet connection

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Jan 9 2009, 03:55 PM)
cant manage to download the driver for my laptop from hp website..too slow..can anyone here share the driver for vista 32bit..btw my laptop is Compaq Presario CQ40-133AX
Is it because of your internet slow or HP website. I can upload the full package but around 700MB. Earliest maybe tomorrow. If you want PM me. Btw, y not got to HP Service Center and get the CD?

QUOTE(desaster666 @ Jan 9 2009, 04:41 PM)
1st of all thanks for those had contribute useful information here, coz I manage to setup my cq40-133ax just by referring to this thread, but i still need some help here coz my lappy from device manager show some uninstall driver stated that "Base System Devices" & Unknown device, I had contact HP support & they said I must install Display driver which I already installed ( got link in this thread too) and they said it might be chipset driver which bundle with graphic card driver but I had installed for several times...so is there any solutions ?? thanks in advance...
Most probably that is Card readear and 56K modem drivers. I suggest u download all the drivers in the link provided in the first post, CQ40-100 CTO one.

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Jan 9 2009, 05:02 PM)
just download all the driver using IE..cannot use google chrome..huh..but i cant find the webcam driver for this laptop..

Webcam doesnt need any driver. Vista already have the driver for it.

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0475sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:30 PM