188 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

HTC Touch Pro LYN's Official Thread, join our community now !

TSold newspaper
post Sep 12 2008, 11:39 AM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

Here some review about TP video out from wmpoweruser.com

HTC Touch Pro video out - shockingly good!

The HTC Touch Pro has TV-out functionality, which can only be accessed by buying a special cable. This probably means most buyers will never be aware how good this feature really is, and how well HTC has implemented it.

Fortuanately sub69 from xda-developers.com has put up a post describing in pictures how well this function really works.

To use the video out you need this cable. When you plug it in you get the option to choose between NTSC and PAL. The device also automatically rotate to landscape mode.

A shortcut screen then pops up, giving you quick access to applications which benefit particularly from the bigger screen, such as Powerpoint Mobile for presentations and the Youtube player.

More after the break.

The applications display particularly well on screen, and where the UI is designed for portrait, like the Youtube player, the device rotates to portrait automatically.

The Pictures and Video viewer.

A photo displayed on screen.

A movie being played in Coreplayer. The 700 Mb Divx movie apparently plays perfectly using DirectDraw, with no perceptible slow down.

Opera Mobile 9.5 on the big screen. Pretty good.

Logmein Remote Desktop displayed on the big screen.

Logmein zoomed in.

sub69 also reports when receiving a phone call the phone is placed in Speakerphone mode, and the audio automatically gets routed through the TV. A potential issue is that the screen stays lit all the time when the video cable is plugged in, making an extra power input essential when watching a movie for example.

Potential usage scenarios would be displaying movies while traveling on a hotel TV, similarly displaying video from Slingbox on a bigger screen, Powerpoint presentations of course, and showing photos to the family on a big screen.

The video-out cable is available on Expansys for £16.99.

Kerry1136
post Sep 12 2008, 11:59 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Wow awesome.....price reasonable but not sure whether can buy via online.
EpsilonStar
post Sep 12 2008, 02:10 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 12 2008, 11:38 AM)
haha  rclxms.gif  thanks for the compliment. to be honest, my supervisor (not the 1 that u saw that day), he is very good at software, i learnt everything from him. hehe  tongue.gif  another software genius is in the Sabah outlet, that 1 is really EXPERT  icon_rolleyes.gif
ah so ur name is chris? yeahlo, i almost can't locate the shop in ioi mall... the directory is outdated sommore... i tot it's at ground floor, mana tau at some remote corner at top floor...

btw, no 1 answers my previous question? the tp is using resistive/capacitive touch screen?
RedDevils88
post Sep 12 2008, 02:56 PM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 12 2008, 02:10 PM)
ah so ur name is chris? yeahlo, i almost can't locate the shop in ioi mall... the directory is outdated sommore... i tot it's at ground floor, mana tau at some remote corner at top floor...

btw, no 1 answers my previous question? the tp is using resistive/capacitive touch screen?
u came to my shop before? shocking.gif
EpsilonStar
post Sep 12 2008, 03:46 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 12 2008, 02:56 PM)
u came to my shop before?  shocking.gif
no.. actually just passby to see where is it... hehe
RedDevils88
post Sep 12 2008, 04:08 PM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 12 2008, 03:46 PM)
no.. actually just passby to see where is it... hehe
oh! then when are u going to buy the TP from me? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by RedDevils88: Sep 12 2008, 04:26 PM
EpsilonStar
post Sep 12 2008, 04:45 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 12 2008, 04:08 PM)
oh! then when are u going to buy the TP from me?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
sad.gif no money now bro... i think by optimistic calculation, i think have to wait til early next year as i'm only graduating now...
dun worry, i will definitely look for u first.... laugh.gif so near summore...

This post has been edited by EpsilonStar: Sep 12 2008, 05:14 PM
TSold newspaper
post Sep 12 2008, 04:46 PM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 12 2008, 02:10 PM)
TP is using Resistive (Pressure sensitive) touchscreen tongue.gif

oh btw the way for those wondering what's resistive or capacitive touch screen, here's some info;

Resistive (Pressure sensitive) touchscreen:
This is the most widely used touchscreen scheme for the production of mobile phones. It is most common in the Windows Mobile Professional phones, for example HTC TyTN II or HTC Touch Diamond; it is resistant to water and dust, but it is easily scratched and cannot be used with sharp objects. It is represented by three types: 4-wire, 5-wire and 8-wire with the second one being the most used. In contrast to the other types it is composed of three layers, rather than two with the additional layer ensuring greater durability and a much longer life (35 million clicks, instead of 1 million), without impacting the price.

HTC TyTN II, HTC Touch Diamond
This type of technology works according to the following method: there are small plastic dots (spacer dots) between the two layers, which prevent them from touching if there’s no pressure used. There’s electricity going through each one of the layers and in the event of contact, a chain is formed. The amount of the electricity, passing between the layers is then measured, in order to determine the point of touch. Unfortunately, this method cannot report more than one touch at a time and lets through about 85% of the light, emitted by the screen. The good news is that this is the least expensive from all three types of touchsreen systems and you can use any object to touch it, e.g. a stylus or a finger.

Pro : Can be press with any object, low price

Cons : Easily scratched, does not report to more than one touch at a time, lets through less light

Capacitive (Electrostatic) touchscreen:

Lately, this type of technology has been gaining popularity in the mobile phone industry, its most renowned representatives being Apple’s iPhone and LG PRADA. The smaller market share of phones with such screens is due mostly to their high price, since this is not a cheap method. It has two main subtypes, one of which cannot register more than one touch at a time, while the other, called „MultiTouch” by their creators (Apple and used in iPhone and iPod) can. In addition, despite not being the first to employ it, these two devices made this type of technological method popular.

LG PRADA, Apple iPhone
This system employs just one layer (a grid), covered with an electroconductive material (most often indium tin oxide), providing continuous current with a certain frequency. When touching the screen with an object emitting a constant electric flow, for example a human finger (the human body generates electricity), a change in the current occurs and that’s how the contact point is determined. The pros of this type of technology are that it is scratch, moisture and dust-proof, it lets through about 92% of the light, emitted by the screen and has a very long life (about 225 million clicks). The bad news is that this touchscreen type cannot be activated by contact with inanimate objects (e.g. the gloves that you might be wearing).

Pro : Can registered more than one touch at a time, let's thru the emitted light to a great extend
Cons : Cannot be just activated by just any object, high price

pls correct me if i'm wrong ya! wink.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Sep 12 2008, 04:52 PM
EpsilonStar
post Sep 12 2008, 05:20 PM

1,245 posts

thanks old newspaper for the info...
i tot tp and diamond is using capacitive...
RedDevils88
post Sep 12 2008, 06:45 PM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Sep 12 2008, 04:45 PM)
sad.gif no money now bro... i think by optimistic calculation, i think have to wait til early next year as i'm only graduating now...
dun worry, i will definitely look for u first....  laugh.gif so near summore...
u are graduating adi? congratz! i m still studying sad.gif now working and will continue studying next year! rclxub.gif
cheesey
post Sep 12 2008, 06:56 PM

521 posts

count me in! smile.gif just got my TP few min ago smile.gif. Now playing with it awhile, but so many hard button missing, such as win start button.

Added on September 12, 2008, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(funnyman @ Sep 12 2008, 01:27 AM)
hi guys ..

my soft volume issue is still pending until end of next week as i am in germany now.

but according to my wife .. when she send the TP back to the guy and they tested the unit by making calls .. she told it it sounds clear and good enough for her .. so i really dont know now .. cos what seems ok with her doesnt mean good with me ..right?

i would compare the volume level with tytn2. my TP is definately much softer that my previous tytn2 and in outdoor .. it is quite hard or difficult to hear what the opposite party is saying ... mine is that bad ..

so just got to wait till i am back home
I also think my new TP volume so soft. But i realize that there is a tint that cover volume hole. chek out.

This post has been edited by cheesey: Sep 12 2008, 07:00 PM
Navex77
post Sep 12 2008, 07:57 PM

28 posts

Wahh.. i just whacked my TP la! i did so many application installations,tweaks and all kind of experiments vmad.gif Now, just hard-reset it and back to normal.
dadarouch
post Sep 12 2008, 08:10 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(Navex77 @ Sep 12 2008, 07:57 PM)
Wahh.. i just whacked my TP la! i did so many application installations,tweaks and all kind of experiments  vmad.gif  Now, just hard-reset it and back to normal.
lol.. mr bean has gotten into u tongue.gif
Navex77
post Sep 12 2008, 08:21 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dadarouch @ Sep 12 2008, 08:10 PM)
lol.. mr bean has gotten into u tongue.gif
Maybe tongue.gif At least now i know the Do's and Dont's.. the consequences as well doh.gif
dadarouch
post Sep 12 2008, 08:31 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(Navex77 @ Sep 12 2008, 08:21 PM)
Maybe  tongue.gif  At least now i know the Do's and Dont's.. the consequences as well  doh.gif
yea. u learn more from trial and error.. but sometimes if too darn exp device. dont dare wanna try. lol. wait ull have a RM3k paper weight laugh.gif
Baronic
post Sep 13 2008, 01:24 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

those looking for gaming experience on touch pro, check out the recommended games thread, i recently uploaded a new VGA enhanced freeware RPG game
cheesey
post Sep 13 2008, 01:54 AM

521 posts

btw, it's mute really work when we flip down the phone during incoming ringing call? mine dont work...

Added on September 13, 2008, 4:21 amwalao, seeking gps taking forever using googlemap, but my htc tytn take about less then 15sec to lock.

This post has been edited by cheesey: Sep 13 2008, 04:21 AM
dadarouch
post Sep 13 2008, 08:55 AM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(cheesey @ Sep 13 2008, 01:54 AM)
btw, it's mute really work when we flip down the phone during incoming ringing call? mine dont work...

Added on September 13, 2008, 4:21 amwalao, seeking gps taking forever using googlemap, but my htc tytn take about less then 15sec to lock.
mayb ull need to set the function?

googlemap depends on the Data connection rite if im not mistaken. try other GPS softwares smile.gif

This post has been edited by dadarouch: Sep 13 2008, 08:55 AM
cheesey
post Sep 13 2008, 12:47 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(dadarouch @ Sep 13 2008, 08:55 AM)
mayb ull need to set the function?

googlemap depends on the Data connection rite if im not mistaken. try other GPS softwares smile.gif
new version googlemap is great now. We also can search location but no route sad.gif. Yes it also can use GPS instead data connection.

about flip down thinggy, it wont mute but it will reject the call....
dadarouch
post Sep 13 2008, 12:49 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(cheesey @ Sep 13 2008, 12:47 PM)
new version googlemap is great now. We also can search location but no route sad.gif. Yes it also can use GPS instead data connection.
about flip down thinggy, it wont mute but it will reject the call....
oo.. cool. i din noe.. lol.

188 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:44 AM