Any Chow Chow owner here?, Anything about Chow Chow
joeycheong23
Oct 23 2008, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Oct 22 2008, 10:19 PM) Wa, mspy's momo su cute, the eyes very innocent  . Here is bearbear's recent pics. [attachmentid=639700] [attachmentid=639701] so cuteeeeeeee!
babymina
Oct 24 2008, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(pioneer411 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:14 PM) here is the chow i saw.. last sunday beside 1U that park.. kekeke very big size and cute plus LAZY hahaha need its owner to carry it to walk hahaha... 10month old  so cute lah chow chow, like a big teddy bear  my bro's fav dog.
mspy
Oct 25 2008, 06:24 PM
Momo is super lazy too. He can sleep 18 hours a day (he thinks he is a koala bear). The only activity he looks forward too is his evening walks. Apart from that, he will not even walk/move unless he wants something (eg: jerkie). Even his daily meal needs to be hand fed and he takes half an hour to finish his food (yes like children!) cause he will walk here and there, take a bite, and walk here and there again and another bite. And we've rarely seen him wag his tail before This post has been edited by mspy: Oct 25 2008, 06:25 PM
TSjarjar6666
Oct 26 2008, 12:28 PM
wa..mspy, momo so lazy ah? Actually i wish my bearbear be a bit lazy coz she is very active and kepo. Everything also wanna go check out. Sometimes she is running me during the walk/run. About the food, do you change his food? Maybe he is too boring eating the same food? Bearbear will wallop everything in her bowl within 2 mins.
xormu
Oct 26 2008, 03:14 PM
lol. awesome dog. hey wna ask... does chow chow have those strong dog odours lyk for example golden retriever? coz my mom cant reli tahan d smelll.
pioneer411
Oct 26 2008, 06:39 PM

hahaha chow chow should be ok la... i got 1 pair be4 ... if u bath is at least once a week la... but tell u, chow will change coat.. when change coat.. just imagine the chow is botak and be4.. those fur will around ur house if u didnt comb well
TSjarjar6666
Oct 26 2008, 10:08 PM
I don't find my chow chow has any odour. If you search on the net, they said chow chow has least body odour. Ya..some GR is smelly. Today I met one that smell like bull shit...  . Chow chow won't get botak when shedding la, my bearbear is shedding now, not much different from the outlook but the fur really all over the place. Added on October 30, 2008, 11:37 pmQUOTE jarjar...i am interested to get 1 chow chow its so cute...
may i know around how much is the expanses for it? for food...and grooming?
ohya..may i know wat is the age of ur chow chow? as it grow bigger...it will eat more right? cantona7, I'm not sure how much i spent for food but I've been keeping my chow chow for 4 months now and I think I've spent about RM400 for the food. But all the food is those premium brands food like Eagle Pack, Orijien, Addiction, Solid Gold, Evangers. As for grooming, I bath my chow chow once a week cause I keep her outdoor. Chow Chow doesn't really need grooming always cause their hair won't grow very long like shi tzu. Their fur will get into shape naturally. Maybe 3 months once go for a full grooming is enough. My bearbear is now 6 months old. It will eat more but not a lot la. Their size is actually not that big, just the fluffy fur makes it looks bigger. They are medium size dog. I'll go to the World Animal Day in KL tower this sunday. Maybe you could meet me and my chow chow there. This post has been edited by jarjar6666: Oct 30 2008, 11:37 PM
vanssny
Oct 31 2008, 03:24 AM
 i love chow chow, its really cute.. but i only breed hamster lol.... i saw a family breed 4 or 5 chow chow in the house.. haha happy family..
louisvuitton
Nov 9 2008, 11:05 PM
i saw this breed in china, small puppy for sale and chubby. looks cute.
been thinking abt getting one for my gf after i came back to msia...but better 'study' the breed more first before making such a commitment
i think this dog looks better if it's chubby. otherwise skinny version is not so appealing.
i wonder if kept outdoors will cause it to lose weight, since it looks more suited in cold weathered places
TSjarjar6666
Nov 10 2008, 09:41 PM
Chow chow can not be skinny. Their coat will make them look chubby anyway. My chow chow is kept outdoor.
polarbear501
Nov 21 2008, 10:41 PM
Hi there, i am looking for a male, brown colour chow chow. Have searched a number of shops still could not find any. Any recommendation? And any advice before buying one? Many thanks in advance ya.
Doraemon11
Nov 21 2008, 11:55 PM
try to search tis site.. hope it could help http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/
babymina
Nov 22 2008, 09:14 PM
anyone here own a white chow chow?
kaxen
Nov 26 2008, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(pioneer411 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:14 PM) here is the chow i saw.. last sunday beside 1U that park.. kekeke very big size and cute plus LAZY hahaha need its owner to carry it to walk hahaha... 10month old  hey.. that my chow chow le his name is tung tung. that day his "kai ma" bring him go 1u while i sleep at home. mine 1 also need to be feed by spoon everyday. about the odour, the main problem come from his saliva. sometime really busuk..
TSjarjar6666
Nov 27 2008, 09:38 PM
Kaxen do u feed tong tong canned food? I fed bearbear canned food once and her salivar also sting. If only eat kibbles then no smell.
yktan
Dec 7 2008, 05:05 PM

Hi Chow Chow owners! I have been researching Chow Chows for quite a while and feel like adopting one. I just have one question, will Chow Chows over-heat if I leave it outside? My car porch (well covered and high) is about 400 sqf and I am planning to keep my pet there. Any comments is appreciated.
TSjarjar6666
Dec 7 2008, 08:00 PM
my bearbear is kept outside. No problem so far.
yktan
Dec 7 2008, 09:44 PM

Thanks man. I read so many comments about chows needing cool weather that I am worried. I just hate it when people comment based on assumptions.
Thanks for clearing that up. Can anyone recommend a reputable Chow Chow breeder?
This post has been edited by yktan: Dec 7 2008, 09:45 PM
Ah_Chuan
Dec 8 2008, 01:28 AM

QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Dec 7 2008, 08:00 PM) my bearbear is kept outside. No problem so far. wah!! cute chow chow u guys have there chow chow is oso one of my favourite breed. i really wish to hv 1 and almost hv 1 last time. but it is j too expensive and the maintainance is quite high. so i now can j look at ur guys chow chow act how much is the maintainance u guys spend per month for a chow chow? as u guys said, chow chow shed twice a year, whn they doesn't shed, will their fur still b flying all over?( i mean like whn v hug them, will the fur stick on our shirt all over? ) will their fur easily get tangle? hope to knw more about chow chow mayb next time i can hv 1 myself.