Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

KVReninem
post Nov 10 2008, 07:11 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 10 2008, 12:51 PM)
lol, just got back from weekend work. Aussie police are a joke i tell you.

Man gets beaten up, wallet stolen, clothes torn, everything taken, so he goes to the police station in Surfers and gets turned away 3 times. So he comes up to me for help, asks me to take him back to Nimbun in NSW, says he has a business and money, but can't prove it, so i take him to the cops and try to confirm it, he knows his DL number, so i take if they search it up they can atleast confirm his name.

Those f***ing coppers just told me off and said "mate, he's yours and none of our problem, we have nothing to do with this". Seriously, he's a citizen of this country and you're supposed to bloody help him, if i were beaten up, all my shit stolen, i'd expect the cops to help me. So if the Aussies themselves wouldn't help him i would, asked him where he could get some help. He says Cooloongatta, which is a 60 dollar fare. I do it because i figure i can get a job at the airport. I do it for free because i feel if nobody can do him right, i will.

So i take him to the airport where he pleads to me to take him to Nimbun, i say i can't because i need to earn cash or my boss will rape my cabbie ass. So i lend him my phone to call his mom. She doesn't pick up, so i can't do much. He walks off thanking me and goes to look for a ride.

Later the mom calls back and confirms everything, so she rushes to Cooloongatta from Nimbun to pick him up. I get a fare and drive off to surfers. Guess what, not end of story. Australian Federal Police pick the poor man up and want to charge him for Fare Evasion. Geez, wtf?! I gave that man a free ride.

Base calls me up and tells me the police want to charge the man, i call the AFP up and generally tell them to lay off the man and that i can't give a shit about the "supposed" fare. They then say they'll let him go, but i must drive back to cooloongatta (a bloody waste of time) to make a statement, so i did.

But those bloody coppers are untrustworthy here, so i called his mom to try and help. After i'm 90 percent of the way there, base calls and say cops don't need me now. Goddamnit, a waste of a good 30 minutes.

Lesson learned. Aussie cops suck. They really have nothing better to do and probably have some "arrest" or "being an *******" quota.
haha mate! you story is right...those queesie n nsw cops really eating weed there whistling.gif

it would be a turn off if the state police of vic is such. I wonder if kevin rudd will reform the police unions wink.gif

Added on November 10, 2008, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 10 2008, 01:27 PM)
At the Surfers PD, he was turned away 3 times, and when i went with him on the forth time, there was a new cop and he said the same thing.

Somemore kena hantam by the AFP lagi. Sheesh.
beware those AFP; i seriously not feel safe with this AFP people.
its like resemble the issue like states NSA & FBI...or worst..Homeland security.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 10 2008, 07:13 PM
KVReninem
post Nov 11 2008, 07:01 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 11 2008, 03:58 AM)
Erm. Noob question here. Should I buy a dell laptop here and bring it there or buy it there itself?
The price of buying it there is slightly more expensive.
buy in msia; help Malaysia economy icon_rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 13 2008, 05:24 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 13 2008, 06:04 PM)
the rates varies from minute to minute......but for retail bank exchange, they will fix it around the median with a 4-5sen spread either way......so today's median rate is 2.31 and hence your bank rates will be about 2.35......

the rate will change again tomorrow......

the aud appears to be on the downside over this week, so maybe hold on a bit to see if it drops further.....

try here for up to date median rates..... http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi
the best time to do transaction is weekend.
KVReninem
post Nov 13 2008, 05:45 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 13 2008, 06:27 PM)
Wait. You are telling me that you can buy from banks? And the price is actually cheaper??
Lmao. Fraud fraud!!! Take screenshot and send to dell. whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Lol no problem. I know alot people who had done worst....

Complain that the basic hardware is not enough and making the com lagging and requesting for free upgrade.
Why?
And let me reconfirm.You guys sure banks do sell AUD? and sells at those rates?
banks do sales AUD.No ..higher rates.
reason why weekend; just observe the period it changes. smile.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 13 2008, 07:25 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 13 2008, 07:53 PM)
Get a bank draft.It's safer and easier to carry over there.
yes; and also some spare cash in hand. icon_rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 13 2008, 08:26 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 13 2008, 09:09 PM)
i hope you are not considering bringing your fees of aud20k over in CASH!!

change enough for initial use, say aud500 should be sufficient for the first few days........

bring the rest in bank drafts.....the cheapest way of fund transfer.....open an account first thing on arrival, and bank in the drafts........they clear in 3 working days........

tt is ONLY if funds are needed urgently........otherwise, drafts.....tt is expensive......

when you buy your drafts, well, if you are NOT going yet, monitor the rates and buy when it dips........
else i`lll kidnap him edi laugh.gif

LLY: it reached 2.29 now...waiting for more downtrend. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 13 2008, 09:12 PM
KVReninem
post Nov 13 2008, 10:07 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 13 2008, 10:16 PM)
TT is not as expensive as thought... usually they only take AUD 10 from my total amount and that's still acceptable.

AUD 500 for the first few days is more than enough since the other fees would have been settled once you get there, as long as you open an account and bank in the drafts immediately.
Count me in. 50:50 split?
no sitting bench tho tongue.gif

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 13 2008, 10:52 PM)
Wow. So I should just buy all bank draft?
How does bank draft work?
I buy them then go Australia start an account and deposit the drafts?
So 500AUD in cash and the rest all in draft?
How does it work?
AUD 500~2000 enough?
Bank draft means only I can use it right? And the bank draft paper is important right? If I lose it the money gone?
How does it work? hmm.gif
Alar don't kidnap kidnap lah.  shocking.gif
Haha. Anyways TT vs Bank Draft Vs Convert to cash and open a Malaysian Maybank Foreign account. Which one wins?
Bank draft? Since it is the cheapest to buy? But how does it work?
The bank draft is OD?
What does it mean Sell TT/OD? TT is? OD is?

PS:Love this thread. smile.gif
Ask the bank how bankdraft works.
up to you how much you want to bring in. The limit as you filling up the Quarantine form on the money you bring in is AUD10000 or other currency equivalent to tat. this is to stop money trafficking.
regarding banking issue/ money exchange; its your preferences. Its not us to advise you about your money else i`ll just rob your 100k & run away.
try consult the banks regarding this than us; as we cant provide legal advise. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 13 2008, 10:08 PM
KVReninem
post Nov 15 2008, 06:16 AM

IX
5,369 posts

Quest for knowledge results in life's harshest lessons

poor fella; i hope Melbourne coming Mayor would do something about this. mad.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 15 2008, 06:17 AM
KVReninem
post Nov 15 2008, 12:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 14 2008, 06:06 PM)
Yeah the price spiked up today. cry.gif  cry.gif
So keeping the 100k first not buying yet.
Woops I counted for 100k AUD haha. Just realised that. Anyways I no credit card? I need to use a credit card to pay Visa Fees. AUD 450.
Yeah. But if you buy RM50k or more you can get HQ price. Cheaper they say.
Buy more pay less. But if you buying a lil , 1AUD bank draft selling in Public bank is RM2.40

Added on November 14, 2008, 10:16 pmI am just paid the deposit fees for ANU Bach of Engineering Sem 1 2009.
Erm which hall would you suggest I put as preference in the accomodation application list? I need a list of 4.
Burton & Garan
Toad ?
3?
4?

Wish you could help me. Thank you.
PS:How much does an average bicycle cost?
Less than 500. If you have the guts to get a good one for long run; why not.

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 15 2008, 12:21 PM)
Don't know about Canberra, but you can pick up a reasonable second hand bicycle here in Brisbane for as little as $100. A good one will set you back at least $250.
I have said from the very begining, I am not a big fan of education agents. They only want the commission, not what is best suited to your needs.

Then again, this is the price this generation has to pay for the commercialisation of education.
Yea; well. Education had become the middle man; sucking heaps. some agents are good some are just good rippers.Everything about money; thats why down generation they know nuts than wat is standards.. doh.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 15 2008, 02:33 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 15 2008, 02:54 PM)
Btw. Since internet in the student residences is charging at 1 cent per Mb.
Is there any cafe or areas with free internet excess? Fast food restaurants?

Added on November 15, 2008, 2:14 pm

hmm.gif
How is it in Australia? I mean the people there not like Malaysia right? When you park your bike somewhere especially good/new/expensive bikes you come back it is missing , or missing its handles , screws , and nuts?
Here; when you are on bike; you need helmet; well. bike stolen is common & also rare.depends the area n how bling bling is your bike sweat.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 15 2008, 03:07 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 15 2008, 03:42 PM)
This one I know lah. Haha. I sure gonna buy 2nd hand bike adi. Just need to be comfortable and can go long distance comfortably.
Helmet I guess I would bring it along with me ?  hmm.gif
PS:If any going ANU 1st sem 2009? Want to share contacts? Maybe take same flight there?
up to you..
nw aussie 2.33 edi...after ...2.4 session laugh.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 15 2008, 05:54 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Nov 15 2008, 05:14 PM)
Want to see how AUD fare against RM for the whole year?

Source
wats your speculate rate be? wink.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 16 2008, 07:54 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 15 2008, 11:54 PM)
wave.gif me going aus next year.. just confirm with my parents..

after big big consideration.. anyway.. thanks for you guys advice ya.. laugh.gif
welcome thumbup.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 16 2008, 11:42 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Nov 16 2008, 11:13 AM)
Hopefully by d end of the year, it should reach around 2.4 biggrin.gif
Welcome then. I think we have quite a few from UQ here. Want to intro them to u? brows.gif
Up to u literally but since u arrive in february, not really winter yet so u do have time to buy blanket. Hehe. I just get a comforter which is enough but for canberra, u need more than that. tongue.gif
why 2.4? unsure.gif ....reason?

KVReninem
post Nov 17 2008, 09:21 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Fioley @ Nov 16 2008, 07:58 PM)
hello everyone i'm new here..
im decided to go aus next yr 4 my foundation study..
but i duno whether goin to Brisbane or Sydney..??
can som1 gv me som comments? ^^
Hey Fioley; foundation studies; wat do you prefer to do ? which streamline?More details pls icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 17 2008, 09:05 AM)
the exchange is now 2.304.
expecting the reserve bank to intervene again..
damn RBA... dont intervene you chicken!..let it free fall!! shakehead.gif thumbup.gif then shall see a low of 1.8 !
KVReninem
post Nov 20 2008, 11:30 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 20 2008, 12:05 PM)
I've just spent the morning drafting a whole new guide for the Studying in Australia thread. Full document in spoiler tag. Please read through it and comment.

It was taken from various posts, so if any section is in your words and you want to be credited, please PM me.

Unfortunately, all the nice formatting is all lost when parsed into PhPBB. I've attached the original word document to this post for reference.

Comments and additions are much welcome. It would be great it we could have a through FAQ instead of answering the same questions over and over again when we have a new batch of students going to Australia.

[attachmentid=679664]
haya so free? thumbup.gif good job...prolly need to revamp before christmas..shall see how.. wink.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 20 2008, 02:17 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 20 2008, 03:11 PM)
i need help between choosing UQ and QUT~!

do anyone here know which uni is best for accounting course?

i need to give a reply by end of the month to UQ.
Monash laugh.gif UniMelb! icon_rolleyes.gif ugh meru... does it matter which skool you come out from? wink.gif you can change skool anyway if you are unhappy with the skool you applied in..

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 20 2008, 02:18 PM
KVReninem
post Nov 20 2008, 03:14 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 20 2008, 03:43 PM)
median rate just reached 2.30, still dropping........albeit slower than recent drops.......i think it will move more, they are expecting a 75 basis point rate cut next month, so traders are factoring it all in now........

banks sets a rate at the start of a trading day, but can change depending on the movement through the day........if the movements are minor like normal times, it will not change..........but if they change like in recent times, they will change intraday, sometimes several times a day........like, current stated on line rate is 2.36 at maybank, but you call them now, it will likely be 2.34 or so.........

meru, take uq........trust me........
but RBA intervene ~~ mad.gif I would rather let it free fall now...

my conclude: RBA intervene; so mean..it wont go tat far down to 2.0 anymore..then ...its only waiting malaysia side..to create a havoc then ...our currency devalued..
it come to the status quo now.

Now; its no more time game...you can percisely RBA will cut rate ...before christmas to spur some growth in retail..
today; there is alrdy job cut from dealership & cars are going auctioneers..

Australian; just talk yourself to recession ! icon_rolleyes.gif I`ll be happy for you... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 20, 2008, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 20 2008, 03:56 PM)
hmm okay..
sad.gif
UQ require me to take
QUT does not.
so it really depend on the uni..why dont you enquire from them 1st.
you dont want to end up like me wasting 500 bucks..and rushing all the way to penang jz to sit for it.. IELTs expires after a year..
just get wat suits you the best aight.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 20 2008, 03:15 PM
KVReninem
post Nov 20 2008, 05:19 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 20 2008, 05:21 PM)
i told you aud will drop further........

rba needs to intervene, as a low aud has implications for the country........you look at this from a narrow self-interest point of view........they will probably allow it to settle to maybe us60cents......so at best it may drop to 2.2 to the ringgit.........

ielts is valid for 2 years......not 1........
dude...of course I look at self interest point now; I got nothing from australia besides buying their education as world claimed to be.

well 60 cents to usa is fair enuf.

the worry yet to come is from ringgit itself doh.gif prolly
KVReninem
post Nov 20 2008, 08:00 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Nov 20 2008, 07:58 PM)
if i were u...i would've taken that IELTS test....coz i think UQ is much better than QUT.... totally worth that rush and the rm500...... but then again its all up to u really....say if u prefer QUT's campus life or sth like that....

hmm but the govt's intervention did work to some extend at least...like the ford factory is not going to be closed down as expected before this....but about the currency rate thing....if it does drop to 2.0 wouldnt that affect the prices of goods as well?? prices would most likely go up right? coupled with the forthcoming rate cut.... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
goods like?
electronic? plasma tv? ps3?

food like fruits; local grown sure will beat it up...basic stuff like food you cant expect to inflated super high..

wink.gif

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:44 AM