KVReninem
post Nov 1 2008, 08:41 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 1 2008, 09:33 AM)
hi guys..

need some advice here.. tongue.gif
whether should i transfer on the 1st semester or 2nd semester..

this is the situation:
if i wanna transfer on the 1st semester.. i have 4 months holiday to complete all the transfer stuff such as visa, passport, air ticket, buy all sort of clothes *for cold weather* and much more..

but if i wanna transfer on the 2nd semester.. i have only 2 weeks holiday only, and should say even less than 2 weeks as 1 week before the course start, they have the orientation week.. therefore, i have only 1 week to complete all these stuff..

what should i do? transfer on the 1st semester or 2nd semester..
and also the other problem is $$ problem.. that's why i can't decide now..
BTW, this is scary..  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
must be very pain huh.. *pain in heart la..*
simplfied:
if you transfer on 1st smster; wats the cost?

if you transfer later; wats the cost too?

About holiday; its not a issue here, as you have to long summer holiday after you are done.

if financial issue is problem; its better you hold back from my point of view. From general Australian perspective; things are getting more pricey than expected.Import goods; daily groceries all goes up as the reverse of dollar gone bad. rclxub.gif

KVReninem
post Nov 1 2008, 09:05 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Nov 1 2008, 09:53 AM)
in the butt and in the heart, pretty funny actually. the brother of the victim told his classmates and the story spreads. but just to warn everyone about it.
Oh hey KVR
laugh.gif rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 1 2008, 12:20 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Nov 1 2008, 11:41 AM)
ahhh why's that?? im just saying my opinion mar...... sad.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
well by right that should be the way....but Msia's law is pretty comparable to the rest of the Commonwealth countries....but more often than not...the implementation is a big let down....so judging by the laws...Msia should be at par with the likes of UK, AUS, NZ.....but when it comes to the real stuff...we fell short....VERY VERY , wayyyy too short....  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
haha chill lah bhypp! nothing wrong with opinion icon_rolleyes.gif

hey; kawaii !
KVReninem
post Nov 1 2008, 12:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kawaiikawabe @ Nov 1 2008, 01:25 PM)
Hey KV!!!  tongue.gif
how's final?
Welcome!!  icon_rolleyes.gif
If you want to know more information about Ipswich, you can ask me. I have a friend studying there....
bz mate unsure.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 1 2008, 03:53 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 1 2008, 03:57 PM)
actually i prefer to transfer next semester.. as the schedule not so tight.. i can take my own sweet time to arrange it and also don't have to scare of the ambassador department to close at what what time..

but also.. the $$.. everything is damn expensive now.. cry.gif
*later "money not enough 3" casting by me..*

if i transfer 1 sem earlier, i have to pay around 100k.. but if i stay at sunway here.. i only have to pay around 30k..
that's huge amount.. and some more i have to consider of my brother as well.. he's studying in form 4 now.. going to form 5 next year.. and year after next.. COLLEGE.. which means... MONEY!!
are you final student or?
You can fly in earlier before sems 2 starts.

well you got to think well your financial position.It aint gonna be easy. Even the x-rate came down to 2.3 to 2.5; if things get worst back msia; there is possibility harder for your parents funding you here.

You can work part time if you have the guts to work things out well smile.gif But unemployment is on rising now; due to jobs cuts announced. Retail is the 1st to be affected. rclxub.gif follow by others.

It do sound harsh; but if you can by all mean; why not.~
KVReninem
post Nov 2 2008, 08:01 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 2 2008, 01:40 AM)
well.. money is a problem for me in this case.. but i just don't want to spend too much of my parents money on myself.. that's why i'm  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  now.. difference of 100k is a big problem as 100k might be useful for my brother around 2 years.. and that time i already graduate and i can work and i can support my family so that my parents' burden not so heavy.. BTW, one of the reason i wanna study in Aus is because the salary there is higher than m'sia.. and i have my uncle staying over there already.. so i'm surely will go there and study.. its just time matter..
at least 1.5 years study over there.. if i'm lucky to get a job there.. then i'll be staying there forever, maybe..
but this 1.5 years.. i'll surely will work part time.. is just that.. the difference quite big between melbourne and sunway.. the currency.. the environment.. the money..  sad.gif
1.5 years for 100k; maybe sufficient; maybe not.
talking about salary here; its high of course; but the competition between Intl & local are also tough. You will usually dont get the fair deal.
Inflation also is another factor into your salary; the higher the inflation; things goes up so your cost of living goes up too.

Environment of course do have big difference.

QUOTE(SeeD @ Nov 2 2008, 02:30 AM)
Do you know how much is rental here in Australia ? Do you know how big is the expenditure here in Australia?
If you think Australians earn more than Malaysians. Think twice. As a student in Malaysia I can live myself to near fullest with just RM 1000. I can go out to eat everyday and I still have some pocket money left for clothes.

With the same amount of money I can't live at all in Sydney. If I eat outside everyday in Sydney, I will be spending more than 2k AUD per month here.

Basically if you compare low paid jobs like what I have in the example above ... staying in Malaysia is much better. Unless you're earning 5k, then you can do the conversion because you have the extra money to spend. But keep in mind that you need to save those money for your house next time. House prices are going shooting skyhigh here.

The only thing cheaper here than Malaysia are cars smile.gif
Average student will have to budget AUD2K unless you are in Perth or Adelaide where there is less place to spend. In Sydney & Melb; do assume its about AUD3k or more.
House prices will sure skyrocket high due to lack of supply; but once ETS come in; its either turn good or bad. ETS doesn't only affect the businness; but also overall the economic system.

QUOTE(Grimm @ Nov 2 2008, 03:21 AM)
I believe, a large number of participants in this thread, go over to Australia for an overseas education. Experiencing a different culture, different environment, different lifestyle, is part of EDUCATION. Its an education on life. Not academic at all.

Money can rarely buy intangible assets. However, in this rare case, money can buy you an overseas education experience which ... god knows how many people yearn for.
studying overseas is not selected privilege; its more of expose one self to the world outside and be competitive like global.
Dude; its a globalize world; no more a market of by borders. Its more of either you have it or not. icon_rolleyes.gif

KVReninem
post Nov 2 2008, 08:37 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 2 2008, 09:27 AM)
thanks guys.. but i think you misunderstood my meaning already..
yes.. indeed money is a problem for me, its also problem for all of you right?? its just that i am more concern of it as i have a younger brother.. and yes, my parents can support both of us, its just that i want to reduce their burden.. less 100k spending on myself, they can have a better life as in buy a new car or whatever.. and also i just wanna know roughly how you guys spend in AUSTRALIA..

anyway, i just wanna know, is it too rush if i wanna settle all in 1 week? all the visa blah blah blah.. if it is not RUSH, then i'll consider transfer in the 2nd semester..

BTW, working there is just my option.. as i said.. if i'm LUCKY enough, i can get a job there, and earn MAYBE higher income to support my family, and of course myself tongue.gif.. but if i can't get a job there, i'll just come back here.. as the demand for accounting field still quite high around the world..
hey; wat ya studying? Monash Accounting & Marketing? icon_rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 2 2008, 10:13 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 2 2008, 11:07 AM)
Have seen Malaysian students overseas sticking with fellow Malaysian and don't mix around with other nationalities. Stay together. Go to uni together. Eat together. Have fun together. So this particular part of the education is not being fully exploited. A pity.
couldnt agreee more unless you do some sort of no msia student would do laugh.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 3 2008, 10:35 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 3 2008, 11:29 AM)
yeah about the increments. i had a friend working for like 5 years. and his salary went from au$800 to au$1500. but now on his 7th/8th year finally they doubled his salary. i think they want you to quit. hahahah. but that might be just in his area. he worked in some government job. but that is some proof that they increment damn slow
hey; is tat a week earn or a month? hmm.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 3 2008, 07:05 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 3 2008, 07:20 PM)
i was wondering approximately how much can you guys earn..in average per week?

And what kind of jobs are you guys doing there?
It depends on the economic of the time and location; and what type of job you are doing.

Forecast for next 12 month is higher unemployment due to global recession flowing around; so this alrdy had put RBA to have rate cut tmrw.
Gosh; tmrw got Melbourne Cup; Interest Rate & USA election sweat.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 3 2008, 07:47 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Nov 3 2008, 08:25 PM)
yeah, my friend said that there will be a reduce in employment, esp for engineering? not sure bout that. It seems that the boom in perth is slowing down now.
how severe is the situation in perth? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 3 2008, 07:49 PM
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 06:53 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Nov 3 2008, 09:13 PM)
not sure though =/ anyway I heard from my teachers that Perth is ranked the 2nd most exp city to live in in aus? dunno how true is that, though the cost of living here is pretty high i reckon.
well; 2nd most expensive & nothing much to spend; you say?

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 3 2008, 09:38 PM)
just wait for rba's board meeting tomorrow...
hope got good news for most of us here...
I hope too; lets bet!

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Nov 3 2008, 09:43 PM)
good for those studying here, bad for those working  shakehead.gif
good for business; increase the credit flow again. For working; why its not good? unemployment?

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Nov 3 2008, 11:09 PM)
I got your point about mixing the locals ... What im trying to say is ... Mixing with newcomers who are new to Australia can help you develop more into socialising cause everyone got no friend there ... Unlike locals ... They had their own gang and we gotta ''blend'' in which is not an easy thing to do ... Furthermore she's a girl right ... I think that she might be able to find companion more easily by going to College ... Thats what I think ... To me ... I would like local friends and international friends .
Cause TAFE offers more of the practical courses ... Year 12 to me is like for those who wanna get professional career like Engineering ... I'll be going to Multimedia which needs practicals more ... Thats an advice from my bro's friend who studied in Tafe then Uni ... At least I got to learn the stuff that I want 1 year earlier if I go to TAFE after year 11 ... Save me 2 years though
I do reckon TAFE as a good place if you wish to get exprience market. Australia is basically build on experience; not about the paper you got either degree PHD..

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 01:15 AM)
the aussie drop so fast.. shakehead.gif
faster keep more.. LOLz..

just a random question for people who are really study in australia now..
how often you guys cook? as in local (m'sia) dishes..
or everyday eat out?? shakehead.gif which is super unhealthy? more MSG? tongue.gif
Cook usually; depends on your time and how much you wish to spend a week.
Eat out is ok; just that sometime better to have something differentl.
Here in Melb you got Italian; Mexican; Chinese Shanghai; Chinese Hongkong; Indonesian; Greek; Lebanese; Singaporian; Malaysian... Western chops.....list goes on..

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 01:33 AM)
ivango.. which uni you studying now??

hmm.. because i'm sure some of you have the home sick especially the m'sia food.. just wanna know how many of you actually cook to save the money and to miss m'sia food.. tongue.gif
Lynn; everyone homesick of the food tho; but for own good; having fresh food here is good wub.gif You say?who not?

KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 08:17 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 4 2008, 09:12 AM)
Tis doesnt sound very good.
I am gonig to study there and also work..and also send some money home sad.gif
but i need not pay rent...as i'm living with my brother. Need to help a bit in paying for the new house mah.
It is good; you should know why.

fuiyoh..some rich wor. Got house here summore.
sending money back home for me? wub.gif

Added on November 4, 2008, 8:21 am
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 4 2008, 09:09 AM)
Both? biggrin.gif

But mainly to save money lah.

An average meal outside = 8.90-10.00, not counting places specially catering for students' needs which may be around 6 (but very few)... previously one meal is large enough to eat it twice, but now everything also shrink liao, one meal is only enough for eating it once.

So let's say 1 meal on average is AUD 9
2 meals per day = 18, add in misc stuff we'll say AUD 20

So one month would be 20x30= 600 sweat.gif

Even if you only eat 5 days per week, i.e. 20x20 = 400;
plus say you cook during the weekends which may cost 10-15 per weekend = say 15 x4 = 60
Total is still 460

If you cook daily, you'd probably spend approx 20-30 per week for groceries. We'll take 30 assuming that you eat heaps.
30x4 = 120 tongue.gif Add in miscellaneous stuff and I'm being generous here, the cost will still end up less than 200.

These are just for food... simple food of course, assuming that you don't eat exotic stuff.

Do the math. Want to cook or not? I would, and I am now. Somemore, there ain't many places that you can eat every day without feeling bloated or bored. It's not like back in Msia where you can eat zha fan and choose a different dish every day and still have lots of choices by the end of the week.

If anyone can't cook, it's time to learn now... biggrin.gif Cooking simple meals ain't that difficult... The TV just finished showing Jamie Oliver's Ministry of Food, which shows how he tries to influence an entire town to cook their own meals instead of eating greasy chips every day. You just need to take the first step, and it'll come naturally. Easiest skill to learn? Try stir fry... a hot pan, hot oil, quick hand movements and you can cook almost anything... meat, vege, rice, mihun, mee... oh yeah. But don't try to "stir fry" fish unless you want to scrape the mess off your pan... I did it the first time doh.gif You can only deep fry fish, not stir fry.

For me, cooking is a fun thing to do....... it's the cleaning up that pisses me off haha.
haha cleaning; lulz..if cook with gf is fun aint it? brows.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 4 2008, 08:21 AM
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 09:38 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 10:31 AM)
haha.. same la.. cook is fun.. as you can cook it in a creative way.. maybe add A or B to make it tastier.. but maybe sometimes become.. weird? shakehead.gif

but luckily my housemate will help me wash.. i cook they wash..

i don't think aussie there is like that rite?? as all of us will be staying in single room..
not really.. i cook.. my deardear oso cook.. but hor.. he eat a bit only.. sweat.gif
and we "scissors, paper, stone" to decide who gonna wash the dishes.. tongue.gif

BTW, near berwick there any nice food ar? i might be going there next year..
Berwick is a ulu place icon_rolleyes.gif ; bhypp friend` said de doh.gif

About room; you can share too. As in same House but you have your own room smile.gif just share kitchen & toilet

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 4 2008, 09:42 AM
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 09:53 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 10:50 AM)
i know it's ulu.. but.. no choice la.. my marks only allow me to transfer there.. and also my course.. shakehead.gif

but just wonder.. still got any nice food ar?
anyone living berwick there?
nice food usually in city area or chadstone. smile.gif

neone; I dont know who. sweat.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 10:27 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 11:06 AM)
haha.. then i think i'll be the first one.. sweat.gif

sighh.. which means i have to travel all along to melbourne city to get nice food.. sweat.gif
--- i can safe money?? hmm.gif laugh.gif
you can cook on weekdays; n weekend have a day out tongue.gif or having meals in friends place together brows.gif

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 4 2008, 11:16 AM)
if i am rich i dont need to work and send money home do i?
you more rich lah....can you spare me a penny plsss blush.gif
WTF~? this is very wrong!

anyway, am sitting for IELTS next week. Any advice ka? How long does the whole process takes?
You are rich wert..
how to spare you penny? whistling.gif

QUOTE(kawaiikawabe @ Nov 4 2008, 11:22 AM)
Yeah.. cooking with my bf is fun!!  tongue.gif
But, most of the time I wash the dishes.  vmad.gif

if fishing is one of your interest, you can catch and cook them for dinner.
hahahaha; yea..cooking with gf is fun =P CAL...
fishing? unsure.gif cook them? unsure.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 11:41 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 4 2008, 11:27 AM)
cook with gf pulak ahaha... later they cook you cuci pinggan only laugh.gif

30 per week is more than enough for groceries; booze and chocolate and rubbish food not included of course. To save even more, shop at Aldi instead of Woolies or Coles, for example a loaf of bread cost 1.09 instead of 3, 4 bucks.

And buy dry food eg instant noodles in bulk or boxes/cartons... Asian groceries are full of these stuff.

A little saving here and there goes a long way, especially if you don't have a money printing machine at home.

Bloody good weather today... forecast said it's going to rain, but maybe the race organisers asked bomoh to help. And I'm stuck with piles of notes T_T
yeap; so there comes the financial planning for your own.

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 11:33 AM)
haha.. when is your exam??

i still have 1 more paper to go.. OPEN BOOK type.. tongue.gif

anyway.. i think when i go there i must prepare all the food before i start my semester.. laugh.gif
Good luck !

QUOTE(zexynova @ Nov 4 2008, 11:37 AM)
Hi all, =p will be going to La Trobe University, Melbourne in Feb 2009.
Welcome to Aussie

QUOTE(kawaiikawabe @ Nov 4 2008, 11:44 AM)
Well, near my university there is a river. our friends came from Melbourne and decided to chill there.
Besides chilling, we caught some fishy and cook it!I tried it several times, though it's boring.
Good Luck!!
hahaha; fishing? brows.gif brows.gif

Anyway; Big news.

Rates cut to 5.25% rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 4 2008, 11:45 AM
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 11:48 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 4 2008, 12:46 PM)
lol...its really suprising...
most ppl just predicted a 0.5% drop in target cash rate...
plz drop la aussie dollar, i wanna buy psp,ipod,food and more food and nicer food = =

Added on November 4, 2008, 11:47 ambtw drop quite fast lo...this morning its 2.390 lik that, now 2.365 d...haha
still not enough; we had see the low of 1.9 in trade but tat just lasted 30 sec.

hope it goes to 2.1 now thumbup.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 11:52 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 4 2008, 12:50 PM)
I need a psp too.

do you guys reckon i buy a fon once i got there..or buy it locally ?
if you are *talk none stop one-like to call your jinkinz; get yourself a three* simple. For person who less talking; its better opt for prepaid.

PSP; wats the good tho? unsure.gif

Added on November 4, 2008, 11:53 am
QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 4 2008, 12:51 PM)
do u think it'll drop below the 2.0 mark?
unsure.gif unsure.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Nov 4 2008, 11:53 AM
KVReninem
post Nov 4 2008, 12:08 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Nov 4 2008, 01:06 PM)
RBA cut the interest rate again! now 5.25%!!
good right? icon_rolleyes.gif
here come my Intel I7 ! rclxm9.gif

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0520sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:13 AM