Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

KVReninem
post Oct 25 2008, 11:00 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Oct 25 2008, 11:47 AM)
maybe a car, where some brand new cars are going for $20k drive-away (the Holden Astra, last time I checked, but don't quote me on that!), but the property market in Brisbane is still tight. House prices are falling, but the turnout at auctions are still as many as ever. As a matter of fact, as I type this, I can hear the real estate agent in the house behind me calling for offers, and there are something like 10 people there, all bidding for the one house.

For those who have experience buying property in Australia, can:
a)non-citizens buy landed property here?
b)most of the sales I see are auction based. So how do you know the price of a place before you put in your offer?

I still can't understand why seemingly every property is sold by auction.
Yes you can; you pay in cash and no loan.
Do homework before buying; not buy like buying food.
Auction is better than fixed sale price. Coz sometime it might be very high and additional cause.

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 25 2008, 11:51 AM)
got i think...but they look at ur private parts...if oozing stuff....surely kena already....damn malu sia....let ppl see ur dee dee....mine was a female doc summore....luckily its some old hag....
that means cars would be much cheaper too....err jazz cheaper than savvy?!?!?! i think jazz was like A$15990?? x2.2 = rm30k++......proton savvy....smaller cc, lesser brand....rm40k+.... sweat.gif  sweat.gif , i wonder if the AUD keeps dropping will they increase the price of cars??? economists here any idea?

Added on October 25, 2008, 10:54 amheyyy KV....u not goin back during summer??? me2!!! lets go Seven again sumtimes!! hahahha.....i gotta stay back to arrange my accomo nxt year.... sad.gif damn faculty...i still dunno where they gonna shove me to...vmad.gif
Nope..not going back; any plan this summer? Seven..all the xiaomei mei go back jor.I dont mind going tho thumbup.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 25 2008, 11:12 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 25 2008, 12:06 PM)
plan ar...working lor....still dunno if i'll get the job....attended interview last week....if get would be good lar...since the staff told me its gonna be quite hectic for them since alot of local workers will be going back during that xmas / new year period....so maybe can bag some more working hours....

wait if we're on student visa with permission to work....we can work more during holidays right??? AFAIK during uni semester can only work like 20 hour week or sth?

ah KV....dun care bout xiaomei2....go for angmoh's! wakakakka

Added on October 25, 2008, 11:09 amyupz double checked at immi.gov.au......during semester can work up to 20 hours.....but in holidays can work UNLIMITED....does that mean taht we can work 8hourjob during the day and then go drive cab at night??? hmm.gif coz i heard that theworker / human rights thingie sorta limit the maximum hours one can work.....sth like they dun wan u to take all OT n stuff.....
yeah angmoh brows.gif brows.gif * better..longer...lasting eh brows.gif

you can work more when you are on hols smile.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 25 2008, 11:18 AM
KVReninem
post Oct 25 2008, 02:14 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Oct 25 2008, 02:01 PM)
if the economy's heading towards recession, unemployment rises, we will be hard to get a job here after studies?  huh.gif
maybe; maybe not icon_rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 25 2008, 02:55 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 25 2008, 03:36 PM)
everywhere punya economi also no good!

we're going to DiE!!!
you die i survive icon_rolleyes.gif survival of the fittest

QUOTE(s373n @ Oct 25 2008, 03:37 PM)
well that's what I'm worried about  tongue.gif
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 25 2008, 03:40 PM)
We are all doomed. icon_question.gif

Im kinda worried that suddenly the exchange rate sky rocketed.At the same time,sending me back to Malaysia.
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 25 2008, 03:48 PM)
icon_question.gif OH NOESSS

Tooo high cannot..too low cannot!

what are we going to do? ..we students live a hard life...is soo hard to be us! Because of our future..we wander of to a foregin country hope to make it big and now this...this!!@
AWRGHH NOESS!!

*goes back to work*
I just see the deflation of the panic of you guys whistling.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 07:18 AM

IX
5,369 posts

those who just planned to migrate to Australia; here`s the problem

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 26 2008, 07:19 AM
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 11:22 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Oct 26 2008, 10:21 AM)
hmm.. btw, anyone staying in berwick??

plan to transfer to australia next year.. but i can't get the campus i want, only berwick..

i heard that berwick is a quiet place.. is it true? quiet as in after 5pm nobody walking on the street..
Berwick is far and isolated. Its quite far if you plan to live in city. If you have a tight budget; then better choose area in Clayton.

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Oct 26 2008, 11:28 AM)
haha.. i don't worry about dvd.. as i already used to the life without dvd..
just the food.. i can't live without those food..  cry.gif  cry.gif

what i like malaysia the most is the food only.. tongue.gif

just curious.. after they confiscate it.. they eat it? or throw..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
You can get some Msia like food around Boxhill; Laguna and also clayton or springvale.But bare do in mind; not all you can get.

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Oct 26 2008, 11:37 AM)
laugh.gif they confiscate ours and sell to the shops and make money?? =.=

weird rules for them.. although i know they scared of what what what diseases spread around them.. but.. too strict already!!
no; they confiscate and dispose it.If you declared it when answering the quarantine form; you are able to bring in provide it is not contagious or infested with some sort of pest or bugs.
icon_rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 07:39 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Oct 26 2008, 03:51 PM)
yea, drink more man!

anyway yea don't waste your time and luggage space bringing food over, you get lots of asian stuff here anyway...
hahaha; ,lets start export import business

QUOTE(powercolor @ Oct 26 2008, 07:47 PM)
any body went to mildura before??
wassup thr? wink.gif

Added on October 26, 2008, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(linkolynn @ Oct 26 2008, 03:11 PM)
eww.. and surely the price is much higher than here.. =.=

but.. their currency drop now..  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif everybody can start buying a lot and keep..
its just for awhile; your parents will be more worry just saving up for you =)

QUOTE(Grimm @ Oct 26 2008, 03:42 PM)
What the... tau sa pneah also wanna bring. Hahaha. The whole point of going to Aussie is to experience a different lifestyle dudes! Don't bring your comforting stuff over, like your trusty barney cuddly thingie or ur smelly bolster or home-made-cookies.

>:D live like an OZ mate!
Yea ! live like an aussie! drink like aussie to tongue.gif

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 26 2008, 04:34 PM)
well i dont think most ppl are like that...in fact even if u want to u cant.....coz most msians are in the cities....so u wont get the real aussie feel at all...its more asian than aussie....unless u go to some smaller town like bendigo, mildura, gippsland or sth....then only u get the real taste of aussie....

well maybe coz one's new here so gotta have some comfort food n etc....dont prejudge ppl just like that....not everyone can take the plunge and adapt like u do....

i am one strong believer of being true to oneself.....ie speaking manglish, not saying 'no worries', 'arvo', 'mate'.....i go by no problem, afternoon, dude/man.....i do accept and learn their ways but definitely not embracing theirs and discarding mine along the way....each to their own...thats just my take.... icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 26, 2008, 3:41 pm

ahhh thnx but no thnx....never a fan of tau sa piah or heong peng.....more a fan of triple fudge choc cookies......
yea i think so too things that can be bought here shouldnt be brought over....for me i bring books over coz its cheaper to buy books in msia...but i usually dun bring much stuff....always ended up with 16-17kg...

but i think its better to leave room for those things of sentimental value....like ur 21st gift, ur family pic....present from frens, those goin-overseas gift from frens.....
haha ya...leave it at home..too much junk stuff if you think again.
All wat you want is; come and go like go into hotel icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Oct 26 2008, 04:48 PM)
agreed!!

To: Grimm,
I just wanna some hometown memories..
In fact, i'll surely bring my "smelly" teddie over..
so what.. without the teddie i can't sleep well..
what's the point for me to migrate there and suffer, as in no appetite, can't sleep well..
i think most of us migrate there is because we feel that the overall environment there is better than here..
and now we have to choice to bring over these stuff, to let ourselves feel more comfortable and happier.. so just bring it..

being yourself is very important,
if you go there and just because you wanna join them and you lose your personality, what's the point moving there?
we go there to learn things, not to forget what we have now..
you still can go back anytime you want; you got Airasia here; people migrate is another individual matter mate.

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 26 2008, 06:24 PM)
hahahah. yeah the aussie life huh guys. VB and fish n Chips sundays. hahahah. actually i get nightmares thinking of the crazy life aussies live. crazy aussie rules football and what not.

but i seriously think the coffee is the best . man that stuff was awesome. especially during winter.

oh for other tourists. look for hardware lane (i think thats the name), got good nightlife. gin palace is also nice. forgot the roads already. this is for the melbourne folk.
the place near collin st? sweat.gif

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 26 2008, 08:38 PM)
No limits to the hours you can work as long as you agree to it and are not under union rules for specialized work (QT train driver, public transport, public servant) . But if you drive cabs, QT or Queensland Transport has a 16 hour maximum for 24 hours, after that you can't login your radio network. PROTIP : You can still take hails for cash and still make a killing with off meter cash jobs. Although being an unsafe driver will make other cabbies look bad so i don't recommend it. We do pride ourselves on having good driving skills.

Made 1300 minus tax and GST driving taxis at the Indy 300 for 4 days. Recession? What Recession? lol. Got 2 spewers though.

Damn the Aussies love their public drinking don't they?
its a culture from europe mate. Well if they do drink; better drink properly..some of them end up in wrong place. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 26 2008, 08:02 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 08:17 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(powercolor @ Oct 26 2008, 09:16 PM)
im gonna go there for the farm job stuff  sweat.gif ...just wanna know is there anything to do there... with no pc all summer  cry.gif , so wanna have alternatives entertainment  rclxms.gif ....
get wireless wit laptop and sit in the bush spamming in lyn !

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 26 2008, 08:18 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 08:30 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(powercolor @ Oct 26 2008, 09:20 PM)
loolx... x gonna bring my laptop there, thats the problem  cry.gif .... but spamming in lyn is reaaaaaaaally a gd idea..  notworthy.gif
if not gonna bring thr; watcha gonna do then? hmm.gif seriously without net..u gonna be death shit man..
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 08:51 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(powercolor @ Oct 26 2008, 09:46 PM)
huhu...after almost 10 years life with pc, now im gonna be like zombie wandering around  shakehead.gif  ... just hope there's sum entertainmnt over there  drool.gif ..  gonna miss watching heroes  cry.gif
play with iphone mate cool2.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 26 2008, 08:53 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(powercolor @ Oct 26 2008, 09:46 PM)
huhu...after almost 10 years life with pc, now im gonna be like zombie wandering around  shakehead.gif  ... just hope there's sum entertainmnt over there  drool.gif ..  gonna miss watching heroes  cry.gif
play with iphone mate cool2.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 27 2008, 12:13 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bakakenshin @ Oct 27 2008, 11:10 AM)
is there anyone studying in Swinburne University??
wassup? r u going swinburne??
KVReninem
post Oct 27 2008, 01:07 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Oct 27 2008, 02:03 PM)
Only after April? O gosh, I'm going in feb, so I need to apply for work permit through uni, am i right?
ARe you in Australia currently? What he meant is after April 2008; not 2009. doh.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 27 2008, 01:33 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Oct 27 2008, 02:10 PM)
No, i am not... Will be in Aust on feb09, o okay, so it's april 08...
So which mean I will be applying a student visa with working permit together... great, do I need to pay more for that??

Added on October 27, 2008, 1:22 pmDo you guys learn to surf or any other sport that you dont get to do back in Malaysia? Or any other activities??
you only pay one price now; A450 for your visa application.

that sports is up to individual smile.gif

KVReninem
post Oct 27 2008, 02:42 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Oct 27 2008, 02:40 PM)
So which beach in melbourne are the best spot for surfing? Cause I thought of learning surfing at least an experience right...
laugh.gif U make me lough mate!..
u want to surf as newbie or real pro surfer? if newbie better head to brissy side..better place to surf~
those in south of melb are super cold place..u will chicken out wit the super cold water.

Added on October 27, 2008, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 27 2008, 02:58 PM)
ahhh each have their own opinion mar...i agree with taht statement...if all leave and not stay coz its crap there's no way we can improve it...yup...i know it wouldnt make much difference by just a single person by to a certain extend it will help right?? i think most ppl are driven by the financial side of it....the currency bigger....can buy more stuffs....but for me its not all about money....so migrating is not my thing....
i know only bout torquay and the area around it....but no real good ones near the city i think....torquay is where RipCurls born...and 1 of my frens stayed there whole summer, work in a fishnchips shop and surf...all summer..... sweat.gif  sweat.gif

better beaches for surfing in NSW n Qld....coz the sea here sucks...the cold current from the southern sea doesnt really favour the surfers....warmer currents in NSW n Qld......im just speaking from hearsay tho......dun take 100%

Added on October 27, 2008, 2:02 pm

ah dude im applying for clerical job la...i think u misunderstood that im thinking of driving cab....i was just saying....like if i can do that or not....like work day job n still drive cab....anyway thnx for those info...im sure will help some other fellow readers!  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

@pandadude....hardware lane? is that where u got 'the croft institute' ??? where they serve drinks on test tubes n stuff??
if i see you again in Aus after you graduated; habis kao tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 27 2008, 02:43 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 27 2008, 08:50 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(purplearch @ Oct 27 2008, 04:46 PM)
guys...it is true PR holder only pays 1/3 of uni fees? i've heard one of my dad's friend migrate there..the fees definitely pay less. but i dunno by how much. i'm thinking to apply to melb uni or unsw.
yes you payless fees but you have tight admission if you want to go those special like medical etc..
u get more *goodie* too biggrin.gif

QUOTE(alexanderteoh @ Oct 27 2008, 04:55 PM)
My commencement date on 9 February 2009 and I'm planning to apply my student visa In November  ( first week of November ) and arrive in Sydney on 31 December 2008.  Should I inform the immigration and am I allow to enter Australia upon my visa granted ? Is there any start date and end date like visa validity ? Please help...
You only can come to Australia once your student visa is granted. So if you arrived earlier; you are consider tourist.

QUOTE(purplearch @ Oct 27 2008, 04:59 PM)
which college is that? it seems tuition fees are increasing every year. sigh. did you apply for PR, or are you paying international rate?
but i understand once i apply for PR, they will consider me as a ''local'', so i'm competing with aussies to gain admission, not internationals. would that lower my chances?
Anyone; or majority student from Msia studying in Aus is Full International Fee student; or scholarship or PR. Chances of admission is depend on the Uni`s.

QUOTE(mTk @ Oct 27 2008, 05:10 PM)
I'm quite sure it's about 1/3 for Australian citizens for my uni. Not sure about PR holders though.
Australia Citizen do get the benefits too and it varies from age gap; but their bags have more. PR is in other hand; you get the concession etc; others work your way up. Goodies; nothing much you wish to do.

KVReninem
post Oct 28 2008, 06:04 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Oct 27 2008, 11:07 PM)
KVR...Do you know whats the requirement for the health requirement in making a student VISA ? The medical checkup will probably be the last one right ?
the requirements are in the forms when you applied for your medical check which proposed by the Australia Panel of Docs.
you have character checkup also.Its not the last one. Geez; you been worried this and tat; wassup? just stay put and relax. laugh.gif

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 27 2008, 11:59 PM)
the problem with being a resident or PR is that the quota that they reserve for you is less.

so they have 1000 new students. maybe only like 200-300 will be locals. the rest will be made up of internationals cause they pay more money. its just more economical for them.
Yes; but as long you have the money to pay; anything is possible.Not 200 to 300; its more.the majority is still Australian people than international student. Intl student is well screened before being accepted into Uni. icon_rolleyes.gif so the placing for Uni is opposite round. Look there is no point going far about PR thingy; we arent PR also. rolleyes.gif
KVReninem
post Oct 30 2008, 06:04 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Oct 30 2008, 06:43 PM)
a quick question here

i have a visa credit card issued by commonwealth bank

can i use it in malaysia to buy stuff?
consider the interest..maybe u pay more icon_rolleyes.gif
did u actually gt into the bank trick tat ask u if u want to get credit card?I remember they asked me about it, then I ignore as I do not wish to pay the interest here.
best check with your bank. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Oct 30 2008, 06:06 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 31 2008, 07:14 AM

IX
5,369 posts

just a bad news to share;

just a news to those unaware the situation in Australia.
KVReninem
post Nov 1 2008, 08:27 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 1 2008, 03:20 AM)
JAlo!!
MEru got offer from UQ...but i applied for st. lucia if i'm not mistaken. They gave me a conditional offer for Business at Ipswich intead sad.gif

Anyway i was happy to get the offer! smile.gif

they require me to :-
1) sit for IELTS anyway
2) give them the official academic transcript

SO yeah! hmm some of the details

total credits : 48
credits granted : 22
Minimum units 26 NB (what's NB?)
Date of commencement : 23 Feb 09
Date of Completion : 25 Nov 10

rclxms.gif happy!!!

it took them like 2.5 months to reply!

Now i am waiting for QUT's reply!
ps: KV eat your heart out!!
haha; go Ipswich then =P icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Nov 1 2008, 09:10 AM)
That is sad. Anyone heard about about a foundation student last year, a HK boy I think, was raped by a black guy in an alley in Kingsford?
wow! shocking.gif
hey Kama tongue.gif

QUOTE(bhypp @ Nov 1 2008, 09:19 AM)
u used to work as a barista?? yea i think the coffee here is quite special since u need skill to make it....and u need the machine too!

anyway i think what pandamans trying to say is that its not all good and nice over here....there are alot of bad things bout Australia too...just that too many ppl from Msia has got the perception that its all 100% good here aka no corruption, no violence, no robbery / assault, no racism, no wasting of taxpayer money..... etc etc etc......

i think both countries has all of those....and its just up to the person itself to see which is the better of the bads....and i think by no means pandamans trying to attack australia but its jsut that he's trying to correct the typical msian perception of aus.....which i agree with him.....

and haya.....u said msian legalize rempits.....okay what about the aus govt giving monetary support aka doles to the lazy homeless, drunkards, druggies??? isn't that legalization and even promoting these bad stuffs?? and i think most of the assaults / robbery / house break-ins are caused by these group of ppl......
here you go again; heaps of info wink.gif whistling.gif

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:49 AM