Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
ar188
Dec 29 2008, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 29 2008, 09:22 AM) I thought I already posted in my previous post in reply to you that I'm only using CRT?  CRt ok mah if you got the WEGA 1920x1080p Added on December 29, 2008, 10:10 amQUOTE(ronnt88 @ Dec 29 2008, 09:28 AM) Ah.... the power of sarcasm  it's a valid question mah.. I dun need a fella telling me which bicycle is the best if he himself doesn't know how to cycle.. This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 29 2008, 10:10 AM
ar188
Dec 29 2008, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(lthock @ Dec 29 2008, 06:59 PM) panny lcd FullHD cost below rm4k ONLi~ so which is better buy 50" plasma HDready OR 42" LCD full HD? dunno about others.. but if same price, I'll take the 50in 1366x768 branded plasma over a full HD NON-LED-BACKLIGHT LCD..
ar188
Dec 30 2008, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(utellme @ Dec 30 2008, 06:11 PM) Sorry Maxx, NRT kaki ar?
ar188
Dec 30 2008, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 30 2008, 10:36 PM) I still cannot believe you guys forking out 6k to buy non-HD ready standard TV  wah you really rubbing it in.. people like mah so they buy lor..
ar188
Dec 30 2008, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 30 2008, 10:47 PM) LOL...its good that in less than 10minutes 5 person terus reply  cos I also got a Samsung V4 panel 1024x768 "HD" plama TV mah.. but this was 3+years ago la..
ar188
Dec 30 2008, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Dec 30 2008, 11:16 PM) Forgive me for my noobness, but what's RCA?? The Red/White/Yellow inputs?? yup... but then component also uses RCA red blue green
ar188
Dec 31 2008, 12:17 AM
just don't let gogo2 hear...
ar188
Jan 3 2009, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jan 3 2009, 07:57 PM) Apparently,you're looking at the major flaws of LCD which is ghosting/smearing. Even on my 100Hz unit, this is also a problem. Plasma dont have this kind of problem i believe. not because of the 100HZ not fast enuf, but the LCD panel technology use "sample and hold" technique which may cause visible delays to sensitive eyes.. of coz depends on the type and model/brand also.. some more visible some not so..
ar188
Jan 3 2009, 11:16 PM
for 1024x768, if you feed XGA 1024x768 via VGA port, it will look stretched on your plasma... (cos your source doesn't know if the TV will stretch it or not)
better to just feed it component 720p or 1080i or HDMI signal and let the onboard circuit do the "adjustment"..
don't think 1:1 pixel mapping works here unless you want stretched faces..
Added on January 3, 2009, 11:20 pmor you can feed 4:3 XGA/component/HDMI via HTPC using VLC or powerdvd and let these software "normalize" the aspect ratio for you..
This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 3 2009, 11:20 PM
ar188
Jan 4 2009, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jan 4 2009, 12:51 AM) Yes. I saw PV80HM at the local stores. Kinda watching CRT(but whole lot better and natural) only thinner and bigger display. I'm targetting for a Panasonic Plasma. Any news for the replacement of this PV80 ? perhaps a PV90? well.. let see it's called 800 and it's replacement 850 and the next.. maybe it's called panasonic Kuro..  (since they are supplying pioneer now)
ar188
Jan 4 2009, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jan 4 2009, 01:17 AM) No what i meant was the next batch of Panasonic Plasma.I'm aware of 800 and 850.
since you suggested 90 could be the number after 80, so I mentioned the replacements are actually called 800 and 850 respectively.. cheers.. Viera Kuro sounds vierd.. ops weird.. kekeke! This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 4 2009, 01:33 AM
ar188
Jan 4 2009, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 4 2009, 11:10 AM) can post pic to see how a dead pixel look like in plasma?  no light lor..
ar188
Jan 4 2009, 06:06 PM
just a general reply.. my 2 cents..
actually you all are micro analysing all these too much... sometimes to learn how to swim you need to get into the pool.. how much you read about swimming and horrors about drowning, sucking into the deepend.. will never get you started in the 1st place.
all these burn in la.. etc.. CRT also got burn in issue, never seen anyone complain also? cos it's not a big issue! I have my plasma for over 3years, few months was viewing it at 4:3 mode astro 10-12hours a day... when switched back to 16:9. sure the part with black bars previously was not matching the brightness with the other middle section of the screen... but after a few days viewing back at full 16"9 stretched mode, the problem went away.. it's reversible.. of coz I can't say if you leave it on for 6-12months is how la.. but 2months I did it..
last time also like that when I bought the panasonic LCD projector, on AVS also got people complain panel misalignment la, dust blob la, smoothscreen microlens not sharp la.. dead color polarizers la.. noisy fan la.. and till now still serving me dutifully..
This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 4 2009, 06:09 PM
ar188
Jan 5 2009, 10:49 AM
I tot they said plasma is dead?
yesterday, sunday, drove pass a electrical chain, 10.30 already load up so many panny plasmas on the lorry for delivery. wow..
ar188
Jan 6 2009, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(slk5538 @ Jan 6 2009, 08:00 AM) Not true, and it all depends on the selection of criteria to define the "life span". it's true la.. the backlight can't outlast a Plasma's half life..
ar188
Jan 6 2009, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 6 2009, 12:15 PM) LCD life basedon backlight or the LCD itself?? And when u say backlight, is it specific to the fluorescent type or the LED backlights nowadays?  I would assume it's the CCFL backlight (when comparing life of LCD vs plasma).. LCD panel itself I think cannot die wan if didn't abuse it physically.. as some one who is in the LED business, I dowan to say much about your A950 LCD TV la.. already buy.. just enjoy it..
ar188
Jan 6 2009, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(slk5538 @ Jan 6 2009, 02:44 PM) That's my point. And I actually think that worrying lifespan is too  ... aa ... What is the lifespan of CRT TV? Plasma n LCD with 6 hours of daily usage can last you 10, 20, 30 years? I bet most would have change TV after 10 years ... that is before your Plasma or LCD is dead .. what point is that ar? cos why talk about the LCD panel itself unless you can watch LCD TV without backlight ?.. the Life of the LCD is quoted by it's backlight.. you have to take it as that. as for the total lifespan of the backlight or plasma panel, agree with you... not much point in either.. by the time it kaputs time to get a TV which costs only 30-40% of the one it's replacing.. (except perhaps.. Ronn88 new LED backlight TV..  ops.. can't talk much about that....) This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 6 2009, 05:27 PM
ar188
Jan 6 2009, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(okhui26 @ Jan 6 2009, 05:28 PM) haha, soli for the wrong info  , new kid on the block, sometime will do some mistake,  no wonder laugh as plasma la.. haven;'t eat enuf rice like old timer MPYW (owner of KURO)
ar188
Jan 6 2009, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 6 2009, 09:50 PM) bro ar188.... i call for truce after all both of our nicks have 88 ma...  so peace bro ?  wei I just kacau kacau you only la.. (friendly way) we are long over arguements.. if you in KL dun mind meet up also..
ar188
Jan 6 2009, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 6 2009, 10:14 PM) keke.... i know ler...  say... do u mind to share some advice on how high to mount the bracket / TV in living room?  use a motorized lift..