6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

ar188
post Jan 17 2009, 11:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(icelc @ Jan 17 2009, 11:24 PM)
Hi Guys,

I was offered a SONY Bravia KLV40V300 for RM2999 and Toshiba 37AV500E for RM2350. Which one do you guys recommend?

I see both in DVD and it looks terrible, wonder how it going to look in ASTRO. Any comments on it? I'm currently watching on 29' Tube TV.
if dvd looks terrible, I think astro will be worse.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 18 2009, 08:06 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 18 2009, 05:58 PM)
I second that.
Hi bro, long time no see..

saw your equipment list in your sig. I think you have been early adopter to AV stuff.. quite alot if nice gear when it was new.. rclxms.gif
ar188
post Jan 18 2009, 11:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 18 2009, 11:22 PM)
Ha...ha..., I'm around. Just didnt have much time to write - just a quick glanced here and there..

Yap, my stuff kind "old tech" already. Bought all of it just before HDMI and Flat TV became mainstream - ? 2002. That time a 42in plasma was euro4k  blink.gif
All of it when I was in Ireland. Used to be so much into Hi Fi/Separates - price very nice overthere..

Now due to working commitment, have to let the hobby dormant - its being a while..
Also had to RIP a few of my gears - Rotel Stereo amp, Marants CD player, Mission speakers, 1st gen XBox, etc..

But still very much happy with my setup. They have served me well (2002 - now!!) Might changed it here and there - esp when HD become our daily broadcast..

icon_rolleyes.gif
notice it cos you got the AE.. mine is older series, AE 100-109s..only the sub is evo..

anyway good to know you also equipment freak.. at least you got $$$ to buy decent stuffs in UK..
when I was there, me just browsing the bargains corner on weekly basis in richer sounds. haha!
ar188
post Jan 19 2009, 10:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 19 2009, 09:46 PM)
yes, confirms what we know all along... LCDs showing a totally black image are still light sources in the dark.. biggrin.gif

ar188
post Jan 19 2009, 11:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 19 2009, 11:37 PM)
wah...you're reading what you wanna see only......i think the whole thing is saying....more manufacturers are getting out of plasma production.
there is only one picture in the link, I'm commenting on the picture..
ar188
post Jan 19 2009, 11:44 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 19 2009, 11:41 PM)
think i said 'interesting READ' when i linked that.....

wah you ah..tidak baca soalan dengan teliti..sifar markah for you.
even if got 100 points also no benefit.. so why bother earning any..

cabuts.. (ok was trying to make rthj blood boil.. ) tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 21 2009, 12:01 AM

9,206 posts

large plasmas those 55-65 inch sizes are like nearly 1/2 the price of equivalent sized LED local dimming equipped LCDs..
easy to choose which to buy if getting these sizes..
ar188
post Jan 22 2009, 08:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 22 2009, 04:36 PM)
what if the EPL match is crappy to begin with?
then get SKY HD lor.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 24 2009, 09:48 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 24 2009, 07:01 AM)
As a general rule-of-thumb, the recommended viewing distance is 3X the size of the screen. So if it is a 50in, the recomended viewing istance is 3 X 50in = 150in. Many debated as what is "recommended viewing distance" really means. For me i like to take it as the minimun distance where you can appreciate the details and quality of the image with the least visible noise. For example, even with a full HD source on a full HD display will look gariny/noisy if you are just 2 feets away..

From my setup - i using 42in PV80 (not really HD), viewed at 3.5m, i would say I'm satisfied with the PQ. If watching astro - still can see some noise esp in local station, but better PQ with other non-local station. Watching DVD (depand on the "grade/quality") hardly any noise if the source is good. PQ with full hd, is the best but can really "lawan" full hd display lah. Cable and connection also play a major roles - get good quality one for better PQ.

The only catch is that it you sit too far, then you will be itching to upgrade to a bigger screen size - I wish i had bought the 50in.. cry.gif
was viewing the 508 and 428 kuro yesterday playing BD casino royale..
from 3mtr I have to say the 428 looks very good and lower rez panel doesn't really show it's pixel structure at this distance.. (even though it's not HD, agreed on your recommendation on its PQ, except it costs was like nearly 2x the PV80)
only when nearer distances like 1.5-2mtr only can see its pixel structure (to remind you it's not HD) so if you sit far enuf (or you can't really see pixel structure type of person tongue.gif).. I guess lesser resolution is fine and easier on the wallet..

I'm kind of used to 1.5-2x screen distance viewing so I would say, bigger is always better.. except maybe when you have astro or low rez sources then you start seeing digital video (with low resolution) artifacts at larger TV sizes..can get very distracting/annoying sometimes.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 24 2009, 09:51 AM
ar188
post Jan 24 2009, 11:18 PM

9,206 posts

at the end of the day it;s the price/performance ratio.. recommend the best also no use if price is out of budget.. hehe! happy shopping!
ar188
post Jan 25 2009, 10:22 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 25 2009, 08:45 AM)

Conclusion, u should go for 1080p 50 inch Panasonic plasma... brows.gif
brows.gif haha! this fella poison people to buy higher (double) priced items... kong hei fatt choy! biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 25 2009, 05:55 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Jan 25 2009, 05:36 PM)
but use on PC got a lot different..... tongue.gif
yes, if use as PC monitor (and sit close to do work) (not those AV entertainment PC where you sit few meters away)

then pixel density is important.. 37 inches with 1920x1080 would be dem awful at 1.5feet away...
2500x1600 would be just nice for 26-30inches.. that';s what those Dual-Link DVI's are for.. rclxms.gif
ar188
post Jan 26 2009, 01:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(allspark @ Jan 26 2009, 07:29 AM)
U doesnt seem to know abt QC. Eventhough it's made from Singapore, Japan etc. They have their own QC (Quality Control). Let say i bought my TV (Panasonic) it state made in China, it doesnt mean is not good. Only the different thing is the features.
from my experience of buying so many items ranging from JDM Car to electronic equipment, got difference wor! between Japan Made and malaysia/china/etc made..
ar188
post Jan 26 2009, 02:02 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Jan 26 2009, 01:44 PM)
sorry if this question has been asked. Does S-Video really give better quality when watching ASTRO compared to Composite cable ?
yes.
ar188
post Jan 26 2009, 03:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jan 26 2009, 03:16 PM)
I agree with you, but nowadays, everything also made in malaysia or china. Somemore with 5 years warranty, who cares if it is made in Singapore? By 5 years time, plasma prices would be so cheap and you'd probably throw your current plasma. A 42 inch would probably be RM999 in 5 years time.

My 42 inch, only Standard Definition, not even 720p, cost RM10,000 when I bought 3 years ago. Today, a HD ready 42 inch Panasonic less than RM3400 only.
true also .. smile.gif get medium spec/price (save the difference compared to top end price) after 2-3years can get another one with the savings (from the 1st one)
AV amp also like that.. 2-3 years ago 4-5k amp can buang into longkang since dun even have the features of a 2-3k AV amp now (video upscaling, HDMI 1.3, TrueHD/DTS MA etc).. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 26 2009, 03:24 PM
ar188
post Jan 26 2009, 06:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:53 PM)
I am sure in 5 years time, even the 50 inch plasma will be RM999.
coming from a manufacturing background, I'm not sure on this.. haha!..
there is raw material/transportation/storage/profit cost limitation.. (raw material is like the raw costs of plastics/glass/metal/electronics..)

cannot be after 10years from now, 50inch TV is RM300-RM500 rite? or RM10 handphone (unless subsidized plan by Network operator)

I still dun see a 29inch CRT TV being RM100 after so many years.. it probably get phased out. hehe! biggrin.gif

ar188
post Jan 26 2009, 11:56 PM

9,206 posts

I tot people are hentaming koreans kau kau.. (see thread below)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/916222
ar188
post Jan 28 2009, 11:40 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Jan 28 2009, 09:21 AM)
Save the posts that were laughing at you and refer them back to what they had posted when the price of 50" drop to RM 999.

My Toshiba 34" CRT cost RM 9,000.00 15 years ago. What is the price of 34" CRT now?
actually, I you can find me a new toshiba 34inches CRT at RM999 I dun mind getting one.. biggrin.gif
I have to say a good 100Hz CRT still very good PQ when watching SD sources like astro/DVD etc.

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 28 2009, 11:45 AM
ar188
post Jan 28 2009, 02:19 PM

9,206 posts

wah widescreen sony. I remenber the 36inch full hd one was most elite.
ar188
post Jan 28 2009, 06:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Jan 28 2009, 03:28 PM)
oi bro, you trying to pull my leg izit?  tongue.gif

You know most manufacturers do not sell 34" CRT in Malaysia anymore ba coz most ppl when going bigger screen will get LCD liaw ... You can still get 29" Toshiba CRT for less than 1k

Agreed with you, SD source is best viewed using CRT TV.
hehe! where got pulling your leg.. if old tech CRT TV (with full features like progressive scan 100hz and component + 34inch flat screen) become rm999.. so I dun mind getting one.. tongue.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0260sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:17 PM