126 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

melt
post Dec 26 2008, 10:40 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 26 2008, 09:41 AM)
Main purpose for this LCD TV? Astro or Blu-ray ?
Main purpose.... Astro.

Most of the ppl told me LG is not good but they dont have a valid reason. Does anyone know why LG is not good? smile.gif
kianwee
post Dec 26 2008, 11:14 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Dec 26 2008, 10:40 AM)
Main purpose.... Astro.

Most of the ppl told me LG is not good but they dont have a valid reason. Does anyone know why LG is not good?  smile.gif
From my personal purchase experience, I bought a low end 32" LG LCD TV a year ago, PQ and color is like crap, sold it after 1 month usage. But 2 days ago I bought another LG, PG60 Plasma, PQ and color reproduction is awesome. So it's a 50% 50% for me. sweat.gif
melt
post Dec 26 2008, 12:44 PM

974 posts

Does full HD going to play an important role in the future? Hmm is really pain in the arse when you have no knowledge on LCD.

If someone could post me a link where I can read and understand what the important feature to look for when buying an LCD then that will be great.

lthock
post Dec 26 2008, 03:19 PM

618 posts

Main purpose.... Astro.

Most of the ppl told me LG is not good but they dont have a valid reason. Does anyone know why LG is not good?  smile.gif
if astro ur purpose...then might want to consider going for plasma...panasoinc plasma doing "Mega" promotion..worth checking

as for LG PQ...cant say bcos all brands also hv great model and those "so-so" model..even sony~ sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lthock: Dec 26 2008, 03:19 PM
MOFARKOR
post Dec 26 2008, 03:32 PM

54 posts

hi guys,

thinking to get 32"LCD, found tat few model abt the same price, which 1 u think the best ?

LG 32LG30
Samsung 32A450
Sharp 32A33

dilemma...dilemma

choontoy
post Dec 26 2008, 03:44 PM

837 posts

Go 4 Plasma lol.
jootat
post Dec 26 2008, 10:11 PM

1,994 posts

i wonder ... why my Astro PQ so poor? i am using LCD screen ... Samsung Series 5 46" ... please advice. thx.
SUSgogo2
post Dec 26 2008, 10:47 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I think Plasma is bad because 1024x720 only. It's not 1:1 mapping to 720p movie. I feel sad for people who bought such resolution that is not
even half/fake HD.

Added on December 26, 2008, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(jootat @ Dec 26 2008, 10:11 PM)
i wonder ... why my Astro PQ so poor? i am using LCD screen ... Samsung Series 5 46" ... please advice.  thx.
Astro resolution is just SD or lower (non-digital broadcast). And 46" is
Widescreen resolution. I guess the TV stretch and enlarge the pixel with
averaging algorithm. So of course the PQ looks bad. Only CRT TV will
give you good PQ with Astro.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Dec 26 2008, 10:49 PM
lthock
post Dec 26 2008, 11:14 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Dec 26 2008, 10:11 PM)
i wonder ... why my Astro PQ so poor? i am using LCD screen ... Samsung Series 5 46" ... please advice.  thx.
how far u sitting for viewing astro...46" is consider huge oredi if ur living room is small... sweat.gif
ic-klass
post Dec 27 2008, 01:05 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:47 PM)
I think Plasma is bad because 1024x720 only. It's not 1:1 mapping to 720p movie. I feel sad for people who bought such resolution that is not
even half/fake HD.

Added on December 26, 2008, 10:49 pm
Astro resolution is just SD or lower (non-digital broadcast). And 46" is
Widescreen resolution. I guess the TV stretch and enlarge the pixel with
averaging algorithm. So of course the PQ looks bad. Only CRT TV will
give you good  PQ with Astro.
well then i wonder why plasma still hold so many award for PQ - e.g pioneer Kuro..

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Today went to HN sunway, speechless and amazed by how stunning and riche the PQ on KURO 50in and 42in. No wonder they wont sooo many award and recomendation - even they are only 1024 x 768 (HD Ready). So i guess it just not the pixel resolution that matter. Many forms/factors come around to give a good PQ.

IMHO, above 40in plasma win hands down (HD or Full HD). In sub 40in (37, 32, 29, 22,...) LCD win - just because there is no Plasma less than 40in!!. Then again, it just me.. biggrin.gif

Now, will need to convinved the missus (home and finance ministry) to take the 42in Kuro rather than the 40in Pv80 or 42in py800...(need to work fast, today HN showed 42in kuro at rm6399..!!)

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
kianwee
post Dec 27 2008, 01:14 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Dec 27 2008, 01:05 AM)
well then i wonder why plasma still hold so many award for PQ - e.g pioneer Kuro..

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Today went to HN sunway, speechless and amazed by how stunning and riche the PQ on KURO 50in and 42in. No wonder they wont sooo many award and recomendation - even they are only 1024 x 768 (HD Ready). So i guess it just not the pixel resolution that matter. Many forms/factors come around to give a good PQ.

IMHO, above 40in plasma win hands down (HD or Full HD). In sub 40in (37, 32, 29, 22,...) LCD win - just because there is no Plasma less than 40in!!. Then again, it just me.. biggrin.gif

Now, will need to convinved the missus (home and finance ministry) to take the 42in Kuro rather than the 40in Pv80 or 42in py800...(need to work fast, today HN showed 42in kuro at rm6399..!!)

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
LMAO! I guess KURO users will really LOLed at that statement. I'm willing to trade my 46" W series Full HD with a 'not even half HD' KURO. How about that? tongue.gif
kianwee
post Dec 27 2008, 02:10 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/873460

5.8k Kuro anyone?
Jase
post Dec 27 2008, 02:11 AM

100 posts

Actually, u can get one below rm6k (cash price)... shop around and bargain. Even HN prices can be negotiated.

This post has been edited by Jase: Dec 27 2008, 02:15 AM
piscesguy
post Dec 27 2008, 08:01 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Main purpose.... Astro.

LG quite good mar...using LG plasma tv since 2005.. (cannot afford other brand sweat.gif )

Still going strong....ASTRO and PS3 games looks really good.. thumbup.gif
SUSgogo2
post Dec 27 2008, 09:29 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Today went to HN sunway, speechless and amazed by how stunning and riche the PQ on KURO 50in and 42in. No wonder they wont sooo many award and recomendation - even they are only 1024 x 768 (HD Ready). So i guess it just not the pixel resolution that matter. Many forms/factors come around to give a good PQ.

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
1024x768 is not even HD Ready. Please read again what is HD Ready. brows.gif

I'll rather buy a HD Ready or FullHD because I always think that anything not
HD Ready or FullHD is actually SD. tongue.gif
piscesguy
post Dec 27 2008, 09:53 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 27 2008, 09:29 AM)
1024x768 is not even HD Ready. Please read again what is HD Ready.  brows.gif
I thought "HD Ready" refers to any display that is capable of accepting and displaying a high-definition signal at either 720p, 1080i using a component video or HDMI.. tongue.gif
iamsobloodysick
post Dec 27 2008, 10:00 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 27 2008, 09:29 AM)
1024x768 is not even HD Ready. Please read again what is HD Ready.  brows.gif

I'll rather buy a HD Ready or FullHD because I always think that anything not
HD Ready or FullHD is actually SD. tongue.gif
anything not FULL HD is actually SD? downgraded 2 levels from the FULL HD standard?!?!? lol...

i guess he is applying the theory of HD ready from LCD panel into plasma HD panel.

LCD TV =1366 x 768 (real HD ready) vs PLASMA TV 1024 x 768 (fake HD ready). rclxub.gif
ar188
post Dec 27 2008, 10:06 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 27 2008, 09:53 AM)
I thought "HD Ready" refers to any display that is capable of accepting and displaying a high-definition signal at either 720p, 1080i using a component video or HDMI.. tongue.gif
dun char him la.. tongue.gif

Added on December 27, 2008, 10:09 am
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Dec 27 2008, 10:00 AM)
anything not FULL HD is actually SD? downgraded 2 levels from the FULL HD standard?!?!? lol...

i guess he is applying the theory of HD ready from LCD panel into plasma HD panel.

LCD TV =1366 x 768 (real HD ready) vs  PLASMA TV 1024 x 768 (fake HD ready).  rclxub.gif
kenot kenot.. LCD 1366x768 is not really 720 or 1080p either.. so dun have 1:1 pixel mapping so it's actually worst than 480P SD tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 27 2008, 10:09 AM
SUSgogo2
post Dec 27 2008, 10:20 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 27 2008, 09:53 AM)
Wah, that's definitely wrong.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Dec 27 2008, 10:00 AM)

LCD TV =1366 x 768 (real HD ready) vs  PLASMA TV 1024 x 768 (fake HD ready).   rclxub.gif
Did you read properly my post? I said not HD Ready (720p) or Full HD.
Of course its not 2 level downgrade. Its really not HD Read nor Full HD.
So of course it is lousier than HD Ready.

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 27 2008, 10:06 AM)
dun char him la..  tongue.gif

Added on December 27, 2008, 10:09 am

kenot kenot..  LCD 1366x768 is not really 720 or 1080p either.. so dun have 1:1 pixel mapping so it's actually worst than 480P SD tongue.gif
doh.gif 1366x768 have 1:1 pixel mapping with black bars... I can't believe you said there's no 1:1 mapping icon_idea.gif

Added on December 27, 2008, 10:29 amJust in case you guys don't understand 1:1 pixel mapping:

Added on December 27, 2008, 10:31 amI don't understand. After so many years, no one know about 720p/1080p and 1:1 mapping importances. I guess I'm here to educate you all.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Dec 27 2008, 10:31 AM
ar188
post Dec 27 2008, 10:58 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 27 2008, 10:20 AM)
Wah, that's definitely wrong....  laugh.gif
I didn;'t know you on the HTDV steering committee, can define new terminology for HDTV specs wan ar..... biggrin.gif

126 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:17 PM