5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia N79, Nseries with style and features

charles_nkj
post Oct 29 2008, 08:13 PM

125 posts

can any owner of n79 comment on the FM transmitter signal strength?
and also its durability..... hmm.gif hmm.gif
kinda interested in this fone tongue.gif tongue.gif
but wallet is not whistling.gif whistling.gif
charles_nkj
post Nov 4 2008, 05:13 PM

125 posts

this fone looks promising.... just wanna ask... how is the fm transmitter works?
i mean... can it transmit the whole playlist or u have to do it track by track? hmm.gif hmm.gif
charles_nkj
post Nov 4 2008, 05:45 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 4 2008, 05:17 PM)
you think fm transmitter is for transfering files ah? no, its to transmit the sound to your FM radio
.... doh.gif doh.gif seems like u get the wrong meaning..
wat i meant is that, the whole playlist can be broadcasted or does it need to be 1 by 1 to radio... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
charles_nkj
post Nov 15 2008, 07:02 PM

125 posts

can anyone enlighten me abt this fone ap n ori set? hmm.gif hmm.gif
mainly, abt the:
1. bulid quality...
2. can i upgrade firmware thru the nokia website
3. reliablity
4. warranty, gerenally on how is their service? (i noe this 1 is depend on the ap co.)

since i never buy ap fone b4... i need to clarify these issues 1st b4 getting 1 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
besides, the ap n ori price gap is rather BiG.... tongue.gif tongue.gif
thnx in advance

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Nov 15 2008, 07:02 PM
charles_nkj
post Nov 20 2008, 10:42 PM

125 posts

how is nokia maps compared to garmin....
coz i heard the ap units doesn't have nokia gps s/w...
any users of ap units can clarify this? hmm.gif hmm.gif
otherwise i'll opt 4 the ori units then.... whistling.gif whistling.gif
probably getting it by next week brows.gif brows.gif
charles_nkj
post Nov 23 2008, 09:37 PM

125 posts

any1 can share their exp on this fone?
coz im planning to get 1 as well... next week whistling.gif whistling.gif
so, i want to make sure that im not making any mistake tongue.gif tongue.gif
heard that ap units dun hav nokia maps.... i can opt 4 garmin instead...
other than this, any other flaws? hmm.gif hmm.gif

n does the zooming takes ages as in gsmarena review?

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Nov 23 2008, 09:42 PM
charles_nkj
post Nov 25 2008, 07:07 AM

125 posts

any1 had can enlighten me more on this fone UI, stability, wifi connection, ngage, offline gps, etc etc?
as im getting this fone 4 someone soon. though i have the chance to play with it 1st tongue.gif
so, any help would be much appreciated...
charles_nkj
post Nov 27 2008, 07:37 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(yewz @ Nov 27 2008, 01:28 AM)
eh , u got malaysia map meh ?
send 2 me can ah ?
rclxm9.gif
count me in as well... tongue.gif
previously oni use stand alone gps... havent tried mobile version biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
guess i got a lot of "homework" to do after getting this whistling.gif whistling.gif
though it's only for 3 weeks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Nov 27 2008, 07:45 AM
charles_nkj
post Nov 27 2008, 07:51 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(h_bib @ Nov 27 2008, 07:46 AM)
wishing N79 got black edition / Music edition..
just go n get a black color gadget skin n u got ur N79 black tongue.gif tongue.gif
No ME though biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
charles_nkj
post Nov 29 2008, 08:50 AM

125 posts

ok.... here is my personal experience after .... few hours usage (b4 handed it over to my boss) whistling.gif

1.Like the previous post... the smart express on cover its just sumthing extra, nothing great... since it is so smart, it will change the theme of ur fone when u change the cover... tongue.gif

2.camera wise.... so so oni. oso nothing great. ok 4 conventional shot... n82 is way way much better.

3.FM tansmitter is ok... u can transmit ur whole damn album.... but lack of bass... hissing sound become worse when receiver n ur fone is distanced +- 1m

4.UI is great... FP2... however... at times it slows down... I dun noe y though hmm.gif

5.GPS locking is fast when u turned on AGPS... otherwise, its a test of patience.. Forget nokia maps... use garmin or other gps s/w instead icon_idea.gif

6.As in previous post again.... the headset is a crap..... get urself a new 1.. tongue.gif

7.Gaming wise is NOT recommended unless u have hard thumbs, mine sakit oredi even after a abt 30 minutes oni... but the games r great (both 3rd party sisx n ngage)

8.Sounds quality from the fone speaker is great... no "pecah" at max... but again.... no bass.... just like SE fone...

9.Auto rotate kinda frustrating at times... recommended to off it whistling.gif

10.navi wheel....? i find this like my no.9 post tongue.gif

11. files organiser is a pain in a neck.... well, maybe 4 me only....

12.no torch function.... u need to install 3rd party application. or on the light during "record" video

13.the fone is smudge magnet.... HIGHLY recommended to get a "comdom" whistling.gif , transparent casing or gadget skin wrap....

i guess thats all 4 now smile.gif
will post more if i got the change to play with it again brows.gif

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Nov 29 2008, 08:51 AM
charles_nkj
post Dec 1 2008, 06:51 AM

125 posts

@ idoblu...
easy there, its not like im saying its bad or sumthing... tongue.gif

abt the smudges thingy, im referring to the back panel (sorry 4 misleading)... the 1 comes with the white 1. i dun noe abt the grey 1 though.
just get a transparant skin wrap n problem solved tongue.gif

camera wise.... like i said, its ok 4 conventional shot... at times its over saturated... however, looking at the bright side, saving is fast.... n there is no slow zoom as reviewed in gsmarena... zooming and panning is fast (u have to appreciate the 16M colors when zooming) tongue.gif

no offense but i did turn off all running applications (except the menu n stand by whistling.gif) b4 testing out the UI whistling.gif

as u mentioned... i tried gps with malfreemaps.... its ok, with the voice assisted navi. u dun even have to look at ur fone icon_idea.gif

abt wifi, i tried.... but always asked me for security code.... must be the router settings hmm.gif
untill then, i have no comments on wifi n browser.

abt the headset, u can always get ur own 1.... so, no big issue here...

so skyer.....
overall, its a good all-rounder fone... though i'd admit, im expecting more out it brows.gif

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Dec 1 2008, 07:16 AM
charles_nkj
post Dec 1 2008, 05:54 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Dec 1 2008, 03:23 PM)
Are you sure Garmin XT with aGPS on will not charge for any data? I'm been worrying for few days lioa coz i use agps with garmin for a 1 hour trip. Now i already switch off the agps but have to wait longer for the satelite to lock.
well,, from wat i've seen, u will only be charged for satellite locking..... which means only a few cents.... during the navigation time, it should be free of charge.
charles_nkj
post Dec 2 2008, 07:36 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Dec 1 2008, 09:29 PM)
Wow..!!! Thanks for the info sifu stimix and charles....  thumbup.gif  Maybe i'll get the maxis 5mb data plan for my agps.... would it be enough???  hmm.gif
hard to tell, if u use satellite locking on ur location a lot.... or travel around a lot..... it all depends on u whistling.gif whistling.gif
charles_nkj
post Dec 3 2008, 08:08 AM

125 posts

has anyone tried the new malfreemaps yet?
i need to "borrow" the fone again whistling.gif
the pictures taken from the camera tends to be over saturated at times, so a little settings will solved the problem.

@idoblu,
can u tell me which frequency used? im loosing my patient over the hissing sounds from the radio tongue.gif tongue.gif

actually, i kinda like the design, at least its not the n81-ish design brows.gif
might get myself 1 whistling.gif
charles_nkj
post Dec 3 2008, 02:34 PM

125 posts

ok, thnx 4 the help.... will "pinjam" the fone n try tonite brows.gif brows.gif
n abt the maps.... any major difference from the previous version?
charles_nkj
post Dec 4 2008, 04:57 PM

125 posts

whoa, this thread become active suddenly.... lets beat the older brother thread brows.gif brows.gif
anyway, back to topic tongue.gif

sum how i prefer the white fone with the blue back cover.... as it got some pattern... not just plain color biggrin.gif
i just wanna ask,
from wat i heard form my boss...

when u plug ur headfone a.k.a. listen to music....etc etc
then, when u receive msg or call, the fone will not ring, but it rings in ur headset instead... although the profile is set to "General"...
any idea? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Dec 4 2008, 05:18 PM
charles_nkj
post Dec 4 2008, 05:19 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(yewz @ Dec 4 2008, 05:17 PM)
reli ?
i juz tried but everything is going fine wor..
i plug da headset n call 2 my hp n it rings loudly...
mayb ur boss changed da setting b4 ?
dun noe abt that, i'll ask him later (means got chance to play with this fone again) tongue.gif

charles_nkj
post Dec 4 2008, 05:36 PM

125 posts

tongue.gif tongue.gif well. im planning to get 1 actually, wanna get get the white 1.... as the pale blue back with white front looks nice to me biggrin.gif

thats is y im doing "market research" on my boss fone 1st tongue.gif
after all, im the 1 bought it 4 him fro renee as well...

@kengseng...
i'll be waiting here 4 ur answer whistling.gif whistling.gif
the firmware is also 10.046.
maybe telstra is using 56k modem to download... whistling.gif
charles_nkj
post Dec 6 2008, 06:34 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Dec 5 2008, 09:00 PM)
I got mine done lioa... just download the databese file and extract it to provate folder... now can use it already  rclxms.gif

Added on December 5, 2008, 9:02 pm

Apps you install on the phone will be gone coz they like formatting the phone memory. All the apps you have to install it back.  blush.gif  Plug your phone to ur pc and run as mass storage then scan it loh b4 use.... found 3 virus on my memory card  vmad.gif

aiyoyo... like this ar??? i dun think i have the time to reinstall everything..... plus virus summore.....
so, basically, after upgrade = bigger font? chinese reading? thats all?
let c how things goes 1st...
charles_nkj
post Dec 7 2008, 05:18 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Dec 7 2008, 02:37 PM)
haha guess so.. our hand no grip.. then drop easily.. i wanna get a strap for my hp..  biggrin.gif
well, this fone just have some sort of hook for ur strap... there is possibility for off-hooked.
that time, if drop, even more "pain" tongue.gif
so, i dun think its that effective either, but its better than nothing, rite??? tongue.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:47 AM