Nokia Nokia N79, Nseries with style and features

coldfission
post Dec 18 2008, 08:27 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 18 2008, 08:11 PM)
5800 so slow la. want to turn the screen to landscape also wait 2 seconds. and you get a black screen while waiting
5800 slow?? luckily n79 wont turn into blank screen while turn to landscape. i used touch phone before and now not very like to use it..
prefer phone with button so tat i can always press it.. haha
charles_nkj
post Dec 18 2008, 09:51 PM

125 posts

oh yeah!! finally got this fone tongue.gif
though its a company fone,
an early Christmas gift whistling.gif
been playing with my boss fone previously, kinda like it

too bad as mine din come with the white back cover.... sad.gif
the brown cover is too common.
the green cover is just not my type of color tongue.gif
currently the blue 1 is the best...
any1 wanna trade?

wanna ask again, which frequency u guys set? as i tried today, the hissing sound is there no matter wat frequency i set. sad.gif
coldfission
post Dec 18 2008, 10:33 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

congratz charles.. haha.. finally become the owner of n79..
brown is really common and now it is inside the box there.. i never use it. i use red.. blue is nice but the green seems like apple green. not match with this phone lo.. ur set is white or grey?
by the way, the frequency u use is not really matters. as long as u put the phone nearby the antenna will reduce the noise. this is because the transmitter is not high power enough to transmit long range signal. it can only transmit signal within few meters from the antenna only.
one more thing, please do not interfere with local fm station. make a gap at least 20 khz from the local gap station. this is because the side band of the fm signal is in the range of 20 khz

This post has been edited by coldfission: Dec 19 2008, 09:51 AM
little_pixie
post Dec 19 2008, 12:33 AM

487 posts

OMG... i can't wait to have this phone... since my mom will buy it for me, because I've got good GPA for my exam.. And, after that I can buy white back cover from one forumer... omg can't wait!!
andrekua
post Dec 19 2008, 01:01 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Dec 13 2008, 09:12 PM)
I have taken a few pic using my n79..

photo quality not bad also.. using default setting and without flash.
Just as a comparison. I also took the same shot with my N85. But I have to say I took few shots before finding a setting which I like. If not damn dark.

Using manual mode. Cant remember the details. The bottom pic I crop liao as my wife dont like me upload her photo but can see very clearly the difference when using manual mode and making adjustment really helps the overall IQ.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Dec 19 2008, 01:06 AM
charles_nkj
post Dec 19 2008, 07:37 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Dec 18 2008, 10:33 PM)
congratz charles.. haha.. finally become the owner of n79..
brown is really common and now it is inside the box there.. i never use it. i use red.. blue is nice but the green seems like apple green. not match with this phone lo.. ur set is white or grey?
by the way, the frequency u use is not really matters. as long as u put the phone nearby the antenna will reduce the noise. this is because the transmitter is not high power enough to transmit long range signal. it can only transmit signal within few meters from the antenna only.
one more thing, please do not interfere with local fm station. make a gap at least 20 Mhz from the local gap station. this is because the side band of the fm signal is in the range of 20 Mhz
thnx thnx... biggrin.gif
mine is white color,
dun noe mine is ap or ori, coz its company fone,
but i think its ap since the IMEI number doesnt match with the box 1. hmm.gif
abt the fm transmitter, i'll keep that in mind.
tried the ahem* garmin, looks nice, satellite locking is almost instance tongue.gif

any1 wanna swap/sell back white cover to me? whistling.gif
since depan oredi putih, belakang oso must putih ma brows.gif
christmas coming soon summore, my snow white from nokia tongue.gif

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Dec 19 2008, 07:39 AM
coldfission
post Dec 19 2008, 09:44 AM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Dec 19 2008, 01:01 AM)
Just as a comparison. I also took the same shot with my N85. But I have to say I took few shots before finding a setting which I like. If not damn dark.

Using manual mode. Cant remember the details. The bottom pic I crop liao as my wife dont like me upload her photo but can see very clearly the difference when using manual mode and making adjustment really helps the overall IQ.
bro, wat setting u use for manual mode? can post it? wanna learn some. coz my pic seems darker when expose to back light. auto setting is not tat smart enough to gv me the best shot.

QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Dec 19 2008, 07:37 AM)
thnx thnx... biggrin.gif
mine is white color,
dun noe mine is ap or ori, coz its company fone,
but i think its ap since the IMEI number doesnt match with the box 1. hmm.gif
abt the fm transmitter, i'll keep that in mind.
tried the ahem* garmin, looks nice, satellite locking is almost instance tongue.gif

any1 wanna swap/sell back white cover to me? whistling.gif
since depan oredi putih, belakang oso must putih ma brows.gif
christmas coming soon summore, my snow white from nokia tongue.gif
oh.. white set.. mine is grey. grey plus white cover seems ok also. haha..
as long as got phone can use then no problem la.. no need bother ap or ori. tongue.gif
i need 1 to 2 mins to lock the satellite even at outdoor. perhaps i turned off the AGPS feature so the locking need to take some time.
wat software do u install in ur phone?
Hinika
post Dec 19 2008, 11:09 AM

456 posts

or it depend to ur location also ?
i can lock to the satelite within 10secs out of my hse but around 1 mins outside my office ...
kengseng
post Dec 19 2008, 11:10 AM

165 posts

Anyone know any tweak to make the built in browser to zoom at 75% by default ar???
Elvinyew
post Dec 19 2008, 11:53 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 18 2008, 05:19 PM)
not yet buy, so need to do thorough research here icon_rolleyes.gif
me too me too
sama sama research rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on December 19, 2008, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Dec 18 2008, 09:51 PM)
oh yeah!! finally got this fone tongue.gif
though its a company fone,
an early Christmas gift whistling.gif
been playing with my boss fone previously, kinda like it

too bad as mine din come with the white back cover.... sad.gif
the brown cover is too common.
the green cover is just not my type of color tongue.gif
currently the blue 1 is the best...
any1 wanna trade?

wanna ask again, which frequency u guys set? as i tried today, the hissing sound is there no matter wat frequency i set. sad.gif
y you so good geh??? company phone... jealous jealous

congrates, bro

do share experience after using it biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Elvinyew: Dec 19 2008, 12:03 PM
charles_nkj
post Dec 19 2008, 12:06 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Dec 19 2008, 09:44 AM)
oh.. white set.. mine is grey. grey plus white cover seems ok also. haha..
as long as got phone can use then no problem la.. no need bother ap or ori.  tongue.gif
i need 1 to 2 mins to lock the satellite even at outdoor. perhaps i turned off the AGPS feature so the locking need to take some time.
wat software do u install in ur phone?
hmm.gif
i tried turning a-gps on n off, difference is abt a few seconds only... Maybe its location factor whistling.gif
currently using contributor version of malsingmaps
i heard some ppl said malfreemaps is better... any comments? whistling.gif

so far, installed a few games n applications since its only the 2nd day of usage rclxms.gif
ahem* S60 V3 games, messenger (though i rarely use this), scientific calculator, coz the default 1 is a crap tongue.gif

i noticed 1 thing though, the battery life is good, but once falls to 4 bars left, it insanely drop to 1 or low pwr within an hour or 2.
Is this normal? hmm.gif

no hang till now... *TOUCHWOOD*

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Dec 19 2008, 12:07 PM
idoblu
post Dec 19 2008, 12:15 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

once that happened to me too - i was at pc fair, my phone has about 4 bars left of battery life. It was on standby from the day before. Then I went PC fair, do some surfing for maybe 1hour. Still the battery shows enough. Then suddenly at one point, it says my battery is low warning.... sad.gif

so yes I think there is a sudden drop and not to rely on the reading
booooster
post Dec 19 2008, 02:09 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

hi all wondering is the camera on this as good as n85?
coldfission
post Dec 19 2008, 03:56 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Dec 19 2008, 12:06 PM)
hmm.gif
i tried turning a-gps on n off, difference is abt a few seconds only... Maybe its location factor whistling.gif
currently using contributor version of malsingmaps
i heard some ppl said malfreemaps is better... any comments? whistling.gif

so far, installed a few games n applications since its only the 2nd day of usage   rclxms.gif
ahem* S60 V3 games, messenger (though i rarely use this), scientific calculator, coz the default 1 is a crap tongue.gif

i noticed 1 thing though, the battery life is good, but once falls to 4 bars left, it insanely drop to 1 or low pwr within an hour or 2.
Is this normal? hmm.gif

no hang till now... *TOUCHWOOD*
may i hv the download link for the scientific calculator?
i tried lock gps position in kl area it only takes less than a minute to do it. may be really as u said.. location factor.
i using malfreemaps.. so far so good la.. updated quite often.
my battery can tahan 3 days if i dun listen to music, no gps and juz sms around 100 per day. consider quite good. if i use it to take photos, listen songs and gps a while, can last bout 2 days.. what bout urs?
the battery issue u said i didnt experience it at all. even it indicates 4 bars in my hp, when i restart it the battery still at 4 bar.
*some hp will drop to 1 bar when u restart it*
but ur case seems a bit abnormal. can drop to low power within 2 hours..

Added on December 19, 2008, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 19 2008, 12:15 PM)
once that happened to me too - i was at pc fair, my phone has about 4 bars left of battery life. It was on standby from the day before. Then I went PC fair, do some surfing for maybe 1hour. Still the battery shows enough. Then suddenly at one point, it says my battery is low warning.... sad.gif

so yes I think there is a sudden drop and not to rely on the reading
Wifi is battery killer bro, 1 hour wifi can drain ur battery very fast. sometimes the indicator cannot be trusted due to some bug in tat program. hopefully nokia will notice this issue and solve it in the future firmware.

This post has been edited by coldfission: Dec 19 2008, 04:00 PM
charles_nkj
post Dec 19 2008, 08:43 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Dec 19 2008, 03:56 PM)
may i hv the download link for the scientific calculator?
i tried lock gps position in kl area it only takes less than a minute to do it. may be really as u said.. location factor.
i using malfreemaps.. so far so good la.. updated quite often.

http://www.dotsis.com/mobile_phone/showthread.php?t=132097
u have to be a member to c the links though...
u can try all-aboutsymbian, dotsis or symbian-freak for applications.

4 me,
abt 1hr call, 30~40 msgs
heavy usage on mp3 (i miss my SE megabass tongue.gif )
a bit of camera
fm transmitter (just 4 fun)
abt 1hr garmin xt brows.gif
maybe another hour on gaming...

it can last +-2days
normally, it have 4-5 bars in the evening on the 2nd day, then the battery level drops insanely...
i can't say much, since its the 3rd day in use oni whistling.gif

but just now drop my fone.... very pain cry.gif cry.gif
luckily got pouch... but still pain cry.gif cry.gif
dattebayo
post Dec 19 2008, 08:51 PM

5,366 posts

the chrome at the edge of the front looks very elegant wub.gif
but is that real chrome or plastic only ? unsure.gif
idoblu
post Dec 19 2008, 08:54 PM

stars for sale