126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks, Finally, 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670!

bL4cK_73dDy
post Mar 19 2009, 10:17 AM

199 posts

i wanna know is there any heat issue on sxps 16? i'm xps m1530 user, thinking of upgrade coz i cant tahan the heat its too hot >.<
Dackson
post Mar 19 2009, 10:39 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

you can go to previous post...
it really hot ... must use with cooler.
at M'sia weather is hot , making this unit more hot.

this baby really hot, the X method to expel hot air seem useless. normal using such as browsing the website like me , the CPU temperature is 46 with cooler pad (greenLife X-800 made of aluminum).
but if without cooler and didnt adjust ur notebook, put if on flast desk they temperature may go up to 80 ++
just for normal using after 1 hour or less.

you can try ask for others opinion. Me is M'sia user ... <--- this like m'sia dell services.
you can ask Enigmare or other user ....
I will gv all true information.

you want link for more information
clemong_888
post Mar 19 2009, 01:34 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Mar 19 2009, 09:53 AM)
you better call in ... Did you get ur customer code or quotation code ??It very important o~
go scold them seriously dont ever gv them chance ..
You said it's 4-5k buyer is not ur customer ? 100k just consider as ur customer ?

this few day all ppl scolding dell. Me get angry with dell ald ... If they didnt respond to my twice delay, i think wanna ask fof Full refund and go to HP, ASUS or toshiba. plan to get thin light, and small notebook.
something like SXPS 13 but higher quality and better respond from the company.
then change
teNtiOn
post Mar 19 2009, 02:06 PM

683 posts

you better call in ... Did you get ur customer code or quotation code ??It very important o~
You said it's 4-5k buyer is not ur customer ? 100k just consider as ur customer ?

this few day all ppl scolding dell. Me get angry with dell ald ... If they didnt respond to my twice delay, i think wanna ask fof Full refund and go to HP, ASUS or toshiba. plan to get thin light, and small notebook.
if you really have the budget, why not? since it pissed you off badly..
Dackson
post Mar 19 2009, 05:50 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

now wandering ...
fro HP 16HDX really hv 9600 GT ? it's GS ~.~ GT very expensive le ...
teNtiOn
post Mar 19 2009, 07:42 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Mar 19 2009, 05:50 PM)
now wandering ...
fro HP 16HDX really hv 9600 GT ? it's GS ~.~ GT very expensive le ...
it's 9600m gt but it's the ddr2 version which from various review out there slower than hd3670 in sxps 16.
PetroToxin
post Mar 19 2009, 07:58 PM

1,179 posts

I received an email just now stating "We will inform you the Estimated Delivery Date of your order within the next 3 business days."
I also got my order number and customer code.

This means that they will tell me when the unit will be sent within 3 business days? Not when it is arriving? sweat.gif
aLthaLus
post Mar 19 2009, 08:07 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Mar 19 2009, 07:58 PM)
I received an email just now stating "We will inform you the Estimated Delivery Date of your order within the next 3 business days."
I also got my order number and customer code.

This means that they will tell me when the unit will be sent within 3 business days? Not when it is arriving?  sweat.gif
be patient bro...

i have decided to stick to my order. called them up today. they say cant do anything coz payment already made by credit card company. if want refund also have to wait till my unit arrive then only can refund. but i have looked around, no model out there can beat the studio xps in terms of price/performance. the ddr3 alone is enough of a sell point to me. seems that most of us are expecting the 1st week of april delivery time.
Dackson
post Mar 19 2009, 10:27 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

just wait for 3 days ... about Tuesday i think not include week end. then you will receive your expected delivery date.
i think is on april ~.~
if really want to refund also can, if the unit come with damages straight ask for full refund.
then you can go for others ...
so far this unit design and spect suit me well but is the services make me angry.... Dell software no design ...
ASUS hving good design on their software ... drool.gif

yujin86
post Mar 20 2009, 12:39 AM

1,737 posts

anyone can let me know the vista score for studio xps 13 and 16?
TSOnyx_black
post Mar 20 2009, 09:03 AM

449 posts

I realize the reason why the touchpad area is so warm when I pry open the base cover of my Studio XPS 16.
This approach is somewhat unexpected from Dell. Apparently Dell engineers decide to use the casing of the notebook as a 'heatsink', as you may (or may not) realized, the base of the notebook is made out of metal (aluminum I presume) and the southbridge chipset (which is just under the mousepad area) is in contact with the base metal, hence conducting the heat energy from the southbridge and dissipate it to the surroundings.
The northbridge shares the a copper pipe heatsink with the GPU chip; the CPU has another copper pipe heatsink, both copper pipes are attached to the fan.
Dackson
post Mar 20 2009, 10:28 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

hence it reduce heat concentrated in one are... if not the GC sure over heat ^.^
spread over the heat can help on increase silicon performance,silicon need heat to increase electric conductivity ...

the palm rest is hot bcoz the 7200rpm hard disc is on the left of palm rest. upper it is ATI 3670 right hand is processor ~.~

teNtiOn
post Mar 20 2009, 04:47 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Mar 20 2009, 09:03 AM)
I realize the reason why the touchpad area is so warm when I pry open the base cover of my Studio XPS 16.
This approach is somewhat unexpected from Dell. Apparently Dell engineers decide to use the casing of the notebook as a 'heatsink', as you may (or may not) realized, the base of the notebook is made out of metal (aluminum I presume) and the southbridge chipset (which is just under the mousepad area) is in contact with the base metal, hence conducting the heat energy from the southbridge and dissipate it to the surroundings.
The northbridge shares the a copper pipe heatsink with the GPU chip; the CPU has another copper pipe heatsink, both copper pipes are attached to the fan.
since you opened it did you notice that there's some cable being folded and put under the touchpad? i suspect it's that cable that block the airflow which makes it so hot on that part.
TSOnyx_black
post Mar 20 2009, 07:12 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(teNtiOn @ Mar 20 2009, 04:47 PM)
since you opened it did you notice that there's some cable being folded and put under the touchpad? i suspect it's that cable that block the airflow which makes it so hot on that part.
I don't think there are any cables there, see what I mean.
Dackson
post Mar 20 2009, 07:22 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

really can open urself ??
i only see it at website ... ppl open it
teNtiOn
post Mar 20 2009, 07:54 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Mar 20 2009, 07:12 PM)
I don't think there are any cables there, see what I mean.
o.. that's not really what i mean.. i mean the one directly under touchpad but above of the wlan card, need to be opened together with the whole keyboard and speaker.
TSOnyx_black
post Mar 20 2009, 08:36 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(teNtiOn @ Mar 20 2009, 07:54 PM)
o.. that's not really what i mean.. i mean the one directly under touchpad but above of the wlan card, need to be opened together with the whole keyboard and speaker.
Oh, in that case no I'm not sure; didn't have the guts to take apart the studio XPS yet.

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: Mar 20 2009, 08:39 PM
teNtiOn
post Mar 20 2009, 09:15 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Mar 20 2009, 08:36 PM)
Oh, in that case no I'm not sure; didn't have the guts to take apart the studio XPS yet.
it's done by dell technician when changing the whole upper case for me when my speaker got problem. the cable kinda looks like mini version of ide cable but it's too long which caused it to be folded.
aLthaLus
post Mar 20 2009, 11:26 PM

319 posts

guys, good news biggrin.gif my status is now "SHIP FROM FACTORY" rclxms.gif

but the delivery date is unchanged at 10th april 2009. it maybe a typo but im happy anyways.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
clemong_888
post Mar 21 2009, 12:02 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(aLthaLus @ Mar 20 2009, 11:26 PM)
guys, good news biggrin.gif my status is now "SHIP FROM FACTORY" rclxms.gif

but the delivery date is unchanged at 10th april 2009. it maybe a typo but im happy anyways.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
good for u, mine still unchanged haiz....

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:01 PM