5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

How long to repair a car after accident?

ekiddie
post Aug 27 2008, 08:07 AM

810 posts

whoa... de damage r bad... if they din totalled ur car... it would easily take at least half a year to get all the claims as well as ur car fix... and i said minimum half a year...

sumore u r saying engine block cracked... how can u reregister? unless u r claiming a new engine that is...

btw, sayang... a new car crashed till that bad... isK~ but nothing cost more than life... treasure life...

wink.gif

vincentlee
post Aug 27 2008, 08:21 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
2,108 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Aug 26 2008, 11:51 PM)
perodua viva got wat kind of tech...? blink.gif for me i just consider that is an upgrade from kancil only sweat.gif
got la..EFI, DVVT, ABS, EBD, AIRBAGS etc tongue.gif
tplcaik
post Aug 27 2008, 08:31 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

Yo bro..long time no chat with u alr. U accident ah? That Viva is ur car? shocking.gif U ok or not?

Insurans nowaday quite fast claim also(Depend which company). So now is repair process alr? I think better sell off after knocking. lol...
TSk3v1n
post Aug 27 2008, 10:23 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(badguy03 @ Aug 27 2008, 12:24 AM)
Should have request from Insurance before you claim see whether it's possible to change whole car or no instead of repair.
You might able to do that but not if they have an expert mechanic with them to inspect the car, they will know it just by look and few knocks.
actually i dunno anything about car insurance things, i just let them do only....they said the car u look at it, is very bad, but actually it's not that bad wo...the things have to change is windscreen, both door screen, a side mirror, rooftop, bonnet, bumper and engine block...the front chassis got abit affected but can be repair, i ask them chassis can be repair one meh? then they said can ah....just replace a new one to the affected area lo...(got such things ga? shocking.gif ) they said a car chasis actually is combined by several chassis, just to replace on the affected area...

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Aug 27 2008, 08:07 AM)
whoa... de damage r bad... if they din totalled ur car... it would easily take at least half a year to get all the claims as well as ur car fix... and i said minimum half a year...

sumore u r saying engine block cracked... how can u reregister? unless u r claiming a new engine that is...

btw, sayang... a new car crashed till that bad... isK~ but nothing cost more than life... treasure life...

wink.gif
I also dunno why have to register, i think it involve on engine part also need register? actually what is engine block ah??

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Aug 27 2008, 08:31 AM)
Yo bro..long time no chat with u alr. U accident ah? That Viva is ur car? shocking.gif U ok or not?

Insurans nowaday quite fast claim also(Depend which company). So now is repair process alr? I think better sell off after knocking. lol...
ya bro im fine now, it is my car lo sad.gif
i scare cannot sell off le after accident....sad.gif can teach me what to do? if u guys will u guys sell it??
spoon2272
post Aug 27 2008, 10:28 AM

1,117 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Aug 25 2008, 03:40 PM)
now my problem is this, the engine block have cracked, the factory said need to go putrajaya registered a dunno what number, if not u cant sell ur car next time. they said it maybe take quite long time, some cars 3 months also havent register the number . sad.gif
then they said after repaired and got the new registration number, they have to drive to  jpj check/test the car.

I know it may take very very long time.sad.gif
actually i doesnt took long to get repair if u got the spare part.last time i crashed my jazz and hav 2 wait for new gearbox to arrive.u know long it took to finish?6 month doh.gif
tplcaik
post Aug 27 2008, 10:44 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Aug 27 2008, 10:23 AM)
i scare cannot sell off le after accident....sad.gif can teach me what to do? if u guys will u guys sell it??
The important u r fine. What parts need to replace. Depends on ur loan also if wanna sell off. If cant covered the lost just drive it 1st. See got any problem after repair. If fine then no need change 1st. So sad to see that.
advanced
post Aug 27 2008, 11:11 AM

1,567 posts

may i know how fast were u travel when u hit the divider
badguy03
post Aug 27 2008, 02:35 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Aug 27 2008, 10:23 AM)
actually i dunno anything about car insurance things, i just let them do only....they said the car u look at it, is very bad, but actually it's not that bad wo...the things have to change is windscreen, both door screen, a side mirror, rooftop, bonnet, bumper and engine block...the front chassis got abit affected but can be repair, i ask them chassis can be repair one meh? then they said can ah....just replace a new one to the affected area lo...(got such things ga? shocking.gif ) they said a car chasis actually is combined by several chassis, just to replace on the affected area... 
I also dunno why have to register, i think it involve on engine part also need register? actually what is engine block ah??
I guess the sales agent is trying to avoid getting a new car for you cause that will claimed a large amount from the insurance company and means they will lose money instead of suppose to earn money from you.
Then the agent probably got some "jalan" with the sub car repair shop that this "big repair" claims which still cheaper than changing car claims will definitely make some money between those 2 party which involved.
(This is only my thought but it might be true. We won't know.)
Suppose from the things to be changed as mentioned, it's nearly like changing a half cut of the car already which will reduced the safety of your car in future when driving. (Original whole body and remounted bone got very big differences.)

If it need to register, could it means the engine is totally replaced with new one? smile.gif

For me, i would try to sell it as soon as possible. Otherwise, use it for light purpose only. Not recommended for another accident with that same car. Good luck.
aizad02
post Aug 27 2008, 03:17 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

my advice,check ur car throughly after u get back ur car.better bring to any other workshop to check.what happened to me,they change to the non original part of proton and only repair the appearance,some parts they didn't even touch it.
TSk3v1n
post Aug 28 2008, 11:46 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Aug 27 2008, 10:44 AM)
The important u r fine. What parts need to replace. Depends on ur loan also if wanna sell off. If cant covered the lost just drive it 1st. See got any problem after repair. If fine then no need change 1st. So sad to see that.
QUOTE(badguy03 @ Aug 27 2008, 02:35 PM)
I guess the sales agent is trying to avoid getting a new car for you cause that will claimed a large amount from the insurance company and means they will lose money instead of suppose to earn money from you.
Then the agent probably got some "jalan" with the sub car repair shop that this "big repair" claims which still cheaper than changing car claims will definitely make some money between those 2 party which involved.
(This is only my thought but it might be true. We won't know.)
Suppose from the things to be changed as mentioned, it's nearly like changing a half cut of the car already which will reduced the safety of your car in future when driving. (Original whole body and remounted bone got very big differences.)

If it need to register, could it means the engine is totally replaced with new one? smile.gif

For me, i would try to sell it as soon as possible. Otherwise, use it for light purpose only. Not recommended for another accident with that same car.  Good luck.
thanks for the advice bros....but i have no budget to change a new car at this moment...sad.gif
i already decided to use it first see got any problems or not, car only ma just for convenience only, not necessary have to spend alot money on that right? can drive then can lo, i still need to save money to buy house, save money to married and on others things, no matter u drive a sport car or bad car, it also just a 4 tyres to make you move only....i just think like tat to make myself happy abit....smile.gif
rkjsoo
post Aug 29 2008, 05:45 AM

3,620 posts

yeah , car is just a transport just that its fast or slow only , your car i think not much problem one , dont worry
hitsugayat10
post Aug 29 2008, 06:54 AM

407 posts

Bro, think it's better for you to claim total lost if u dun have confidence in d workshop that's fixing ur car...damage seems pretty bad....
Luckily u n ur gf is alright smile.gif

If u wanna keep on repairing, u better go and pester those workshop fellas daily or at least once in 2 days time so that they can fix ur car faster laugh.gif
M doing it right not coz car also accident, hit a car in front sweat.gif

That's also advice from my fren coz last time his dad's car door was dented,accident and took the shop for a month to repair that!! it's only like juz change that door only la and repaint it...when his mom's wira was hit front and back (quite bad), the repair only took a month plus coz he chased the workshop everyday after work laugh.gif

Juz my 2 cents smile.gif

This post has been edited by hitsugayat10: Aug 29 2008, 06:55 AM
zacevox
post Aug 29 2008, 07:05 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

i don't think owner can do that, only the insurance company have the right give total lost.
hitsugayat10
post Aug 29 2008, 07:51 AM

407 posts

You can request for total lost from insurance company smile.gif
That was wat i was told, it's like insurance will 'buy' d car from you, fix it and sell it off...but of coz u'll lose some money la coz insurance won't give u at market price since d car was in a bad shape
zacevox
post Aug 29 2008, 08:05 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

thats mean if the damage cost RM10k, the insured value is RM35k. the insurance will only paid RM25k?

This post has been edited by zacevox: Aug 29 2008, 08:12 AM
hitsugayat10
post Aug 29 2008, 08:11 AM

407 posts

Err...m not sure how it does coz as said, it's like the insurance company's buying the car from you...
value, should be like selling ur car at second hand minus the damage cost...

Not sure how it does coz that's wat was told by d shop where i bought my car a year ago
zacevox
post Aug 29 2008, 08:14 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

o...

if true it look like will losing more money to claim total lost.

correct me if i'm wrong
hitsugayat10
post Aug 29 2008, 08:17 AM

407 posts

Yeah, u'll lose a bit of money in d end but if u wanted ur car to be 'accident free', then request for total lost claim and get a new car then laugh.gif
babylabbit
post Aug 29 2008, 08:22 AM

4,339 posts

if your car damage kaw kaw....there is always sign to show..and NOT easy to dispose it to the market.
viqq
post Aug 29 2008, 04:24 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

First of all, thank god you and your gf survived from that accident, secondly, about the car, I personally had a accident before, driving 120km/h hit divider but my car didn't turtle. My car had a lot of problems even after repairing, I totally think it's the mechanic's fault, they are so unprofessional and ah beng ah beng style one. Now they have made my car even worse than ever before.

So in my humble opinion, if you don't want to spend money on buying a new car, at least try to get a good and experienced mechanic. Pricier a bit never mind lar as long as they know what they are doing.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0309sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:10 PM