How long to repair a car after accident?

TSk3v1n
post Aug 25 2008, 03:31 PM, updated 18y ago

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

Hi bros, I just got accident in early of this month, my car quite serious damage (hit divider and turn up side down), can i know it take how long to repair? Now i have got insurance approved. sad.gif i miss my car.

This post has been edited by k3v1n: Aug 25 2008, 03:36 PM
TSk3v1n
post Aug 25 2008, 03:40 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

now my problem is this, the engine block have cracked, the factory said need to go putrajaya registered a dunno what number, if not u cant sell ur car next time. they said it maybe take quite long time, some cars 3 months also havent register the number . sad.gif
then they said after repaired and got the new registration number, they have to drive to jpj check/test the car.

I know it may take very very long time.sad.gif
TSk3v1n
post Aug 25 2008, 04:57 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(cky6667 @ Aug 25 2008, 04:11 PM)
ya...u r rite...have to go putrajaya,get the letter...then go JPJ pusakom approve ur car...
my car also like that....but my uncle knw the workshop,after my car done repair,thn
take out and drive le....til nw i think more than 1 year le...still no news frrom the workshop...
i dont want to bother it le...and i juz modify my car and spray another new paint myself...
ha? one year also no news ah?? then ma cannot sell ur car?? i think i also same fate as u sad.gif
TSk3v1n
post Aug 25 2008, 05:04 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Aug 25 2008, 05:00 PM)
this morning... federal turn up to LDP there...
also got a car.... totally kemek d....

upside down too....
if cannot sell my car next time and now "2 side also cannot reach", then i rather total kemek claim total lost cry.gif
TSk3v1n
post Aug 25 2008, 05:19 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

I know the repairing process can be fast, i dun even worry about the repairing process.
Now what I'm worried is the process of registration at JPJ putrajaya there, you know la how "effective" of our government department.....

btw how is total claim works?
is that mean if i pay 20k as downpayment, still got 20k loan, then the insurance will pay bek bank 20k loan and 20k downpayment money to me?
TSk3v1n
post Aug 25 2008, 07:45 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 25 2008, 07:05 PM)
I think do this, get a replacement. Sure you will rugi, but then from what you say, car is a total write off. If it can be repaired, your crumple zones all gone, if needs new roof, if needs new front end.
This method is faster, as you do not need to worry fixing the car, and get a new car sooner. All depends on your insurance though
aiya i dun even know can replace a new one!! now is too late edi...the loan is approved cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
ok here is the pic:

up side down...

TSk3v1n
post Aug 26 2008, 01:49 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee @ Aug 25 2008, 08:01 PM)
is that blood there? are you the driver?  sweat.gif
it's not blood, it's oil i think....ya i'm the driver. sad.gif

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 25 2008, 09:21 PM)
dude, you serious ar!

i dunno bout u guys la, but it looks kinda bad to me la ...

with all those aside, just thank whoever you want to, that you are still posting shit here man ...

you everything still attached rite ... nothing missing i hope ...

and yeah bout the insurance, if say you do not agree to the compnsation, you can escalate, or request that they get you a car similiar condition ... but since viva is still new, dont think so ...no use ask so much, call ur insurance fella, talk to him better ..
Im ok bro, just my right hand side bone cracked abit and scalded by airbag, then my gf injured by the seatbelt.

QUOTE(zeist @ Aug 26 2008, 12:16 AM)
Repair or total lost is up to your insurance company, you can't decide anyway.

By judging at the pictars, I don't think can claim total lost. Some cars are far worse than this.

Your car roof most likely they will ketuk back into shape.
actually how they ketuk balik? use hammer? damn my car cannot see liao....sad.gif even repaired i also feel not syok! sad.gif

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Aug 26 2008, 01:18 PM)
even feel like tin kosong in my viva... but the pic show the viva is strong to handle upside down...
sorry to hear such loss but at least the driver is safe.....
a reminder to all viva out there as well... the car can be easily turn upside down.... drive slow...
yes it is easy to turn up side down, i remember i drive not so fast only edi become like this, but think in other way round, hit like tat we both also not injured so much...i think we should trust malaysia car. smile.gif
TSk3v1n
post Aug 26 2008, 07:09 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee @ Aug 26 2008, 04:29 PM)
the car is not important. money is not important.

just thank god your girlfriend and yourself are still alive. (and thanks to Perodua Viva technology)
yep u are right smile.gif after this accident, i've really changed my perspective on life, i know that family is the most important to me right now...smile.gif

QUOTE(badguy03 @ Aug 26 2008, 05:42 PM)
Wah..  it's indeed worst than what i have expected. Even though if somehow the car managed to be repaired, it won't be like original anymore for sure. Because no matter how great the mechanic are, they won't be able to normalize the car's "bone" to 100% which will affected the shape of the car. 
Be prepared, the silence in the car when you driving later will probably won't be as quiet as before.

P/S: You seriously should have requested to change to new car.
yea...i hope to get new car too but no money sad.gif
is it possible to trade in with perodua without let them know i got accident b4?
TSk3v1n
post Aug 27 2008, 10:23 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(badguy03 @ Aug 27 2008, 12:24 AM)
Should have request from Insurance before you claim see whether it's possible to change whole car or no instead of repair.
You might able to do that but not if they have an expert mechanic with them to inspect the car, they will know it just by look and few knocks.
actually i dunno anything about car insurance things, i just let them do only....they said the car u look at it, is very bad, but actually it's not that bad wo...the things have to change is windscreen, both door screen, a side mirror, rooftop, bonnet, bumper and engine block...the front chassis got abit affected but can be repair, i ask them chassis can be repair one meh? then they said can ah....just replace a new one to the affected area lo...(got such things ga? shocking.gif ) they said a car chasis actually is combined by several chassis, just to replace on the affected area...

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Aug 27 2008, 08:07 AM)
whoa... de damage r bad... if they din totalled ur car... it would easily take at least half a year to get all the claims as well as ur car fix... and i said minimum half a year...

sumore u r saying engine block cracked... how can u reregister? unless u r claiming a new engine that is...

btw, sayang... a new car crashed till that bad... isK~ but nothing cost more than life... treasure life...

wink.gif
I also dunno why have to register, i think it involve on engine part also need register? actually what is engine block ah??

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Aug 27 2008, 08:31 AM)
Yo bro..long time no chat with u alr. U accident ah? That Viva is ur car? shocking.gif U ok or not?

Insurans nowaday quite fast claim also(Depend which company). So now is repair process alr? I think better sell off after knocking. lol...
ya bro im fine now, it is my car lo sad.gif
i scare cannot sell off le after accident....sad.gif can teach me what to do? if u guys will u guys sell it??
TSk3v1n
post Aug 28 2008, 11:46 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Aug 27 2008, 10:44 AM)
The important u r fine. What parts need to replace. Depends on ur loan also if wanna sell off. If cant covered the lost just drive it 1st. See got any problem after repair. If fine then no need change 1st. So sad to see that.
QUOTE(badguy03 @ Aug 27 2008, 02:35 PM)
I guess the sales agent is trying to avoid getting a new car for you cause that will claimed a large amount from the insurance company and means they will lose money instead of suppose to earn money from you.
Then the agent probably got some "jalan" with the sub car repair shop that this "big repair" claims which still cheaper than changing car claims will definitely make some money between those 2 party which involved.
(This is only my thought but it might be true. We won't know.)
Suppose from the things to be changed as mentioned, it's nearly like changing a half cut of the car already which will reduced the safety of your car in future when driving. (Original whole body and remounted bone got very big differences.)

If it need to register, could it means the engine is totally replaced with new one? smile.gif

For me, i would try to sell it as soon as possible. Otherwise, use it for light purpose only. Not recommended for another accident with that same car.  Good luck.
thanks for the advice bros....but i have no budget to change a new car at this moment...sad.gif
i already decided to use it first see got any problems or not, car only ma just for convenience only, not necessary have to spend alot money on that right? can drive then can lo, i still need to save money to buy house, save money to married and on others things, no matter u drive a sport car or bad car, it also just a 4 tyres to make you move only....i just think like tat to make myself happy abit....smile.gif
TSk3v1n
post Aug 30 2008, 09:39 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 29 2008, 04:24 PM)
First of all, thank god you and your gf survived from that accident, secondly, about the car, I personally had a accident before, driving 120km/h hit divider but my car didn't turtle. My car had a lot of problems even after repairing, I totally think it's the mechanic's fault, they are so unprofessional and ah beng ah beng style one. Now they have made my car even worse than ever before.

So in my humble opinion, if you don't want to spend money on buying a new car, at least try to get a good and experienced mechanic. Pricier a bit never mind lar as long as they know what they are doing.
can i know such as what is the problem after ur repaired?

0.0220sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:11 PM