Intel Q9xxx and Xeon 33x0 Family, Show the rest what Intel Quadies can do!

metsatsu
post Dec 2 2008, 07:39 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Dec 2 2008, 04:13 PM)
@metsatsu
can u share out your bios setting?
thx alot notworthy.gif
my setting in bios is as so:

Vcore = 1.3375v
FSB voltage = 1.3v (if default is 1.2v can't remember sweat.gif )
MCH voltage = 1.6v (if default is 1.5v can't remember also)
PCIE voltage = +0.10v dunno what value and why wanna increase it, but just doing it for the sake of it. blink.gif
PCIE frequency = 101mhz
FSB:DRAM ratio = 1:1
ram timing = 4-4-4-15
DDR2 voltage = 2.05v
Loadline caliberation control = auto
436 x 8.5 = 3700mhz

the rest i didn't touch

but as tkh bro said, each mobo are different from another. this values which i used on my Gigabyte X38-DS5 can only be used as reference for other ppl. hope it helps in some way.
and for those who think i can improve and correct. please share with me yah.
metsatsu
post Dec 2 2008, 08:09 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

I like to play safe. and i seriously believe that a better PSU will enable higher oc for certain components (i can be wrong, but i'm just saying this based on my past experience). 460w should be just enough i guess, but if u plan to oc hard out on your new proc. u better look for around 500w+
metsatsu
post Dec 5 2008, 08:16 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Dec 4 2008, 10:42 PM)
finally get 3.5ghz 10 loops pass on IBT after tuning on the gtl ref  rclxub.gif
dfi x48 lt is really tricky for quad overclocking rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
anyone using these board pls share me the gtl ref for quad at 450fsb and higher, thx alot notworthy.gif

wrong, it is the QUAD CORE which is tricky to overclok. smile.gif

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Dec 5 2008, 08:17 PM
metsatsu
post Dec 5 2008, 09:23 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

hhmm... not sure about the gigabyte X48. but my X38 is already struggling when it slowly touches 450. I was able to reach 450 when i was still using my Q9450. but then i have to increase the voltage all the way up to 1.325v and my vcore temp jumped up by 10c!!

As for your psu, it's rather subjective to conclude if it's underpowered. so yah, too bad... can't really tell. i would always spend some extra money to get higher power psu, to make sure that i dun regret later. smile.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 6 2008, 10:18 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

one bad thing about gigabyte mobo is that the gtl setting is not as flexible as other mobo manufacturers. sad.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 8 2008, 09:35 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(sakurakinomoto @ Dec 7 2008, 11:27 PM)
If I am using a 750i chipset now, and I try to overclock, you think its capable?

I hit 9300 with 2.8GHz >.< I'm a noob.

then after that I cannot already dunno why, always refuse to startup, have to rewrite my BIOS and redo again =.=

Erm guys, what happen if you simply set the voltage?

The voltage for NB and SB, and vCore, what happen if you mess with it, will it damage the hardwares?

One more question, My motherboard, MSI P7n SLI PLATINUM, has 8 pin CPU power, but I can only fill in 4 pins, will that affect my performance in overclocking?

EDIT: When I increase my Proc's FSB, Do I need to increase the RAM's FSB as well?
bro. u need to read this first. coz from what i see the way u described. u really have no idea what ur doing. if we were to explain to u based on your number of enquiries, i can write another long article of overclocking. sad.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 26 2008, 10:43 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Bro hengmy. Mind to share ur bios setting? Though i know p45 has a higher fsb oc limit compare x38. But just wanna know, did u tweak anything else that enable u to oc higher other than up'ing all the voltages?
metsatsu
post Dec 26 2008, 11:54 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Cool thx alot! But too bad now in outstation. And using gprs to surf lyn. Will give my bios another tweak when i get back home. But i think in ur case, u got a good chip and good mobo combo. thumbup.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 27 2008, 01:00 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Nah. The problem with x38 is that it has a rather low fsb oc limit. If u google gigabyte x38 tomshardware, u will find that its conclusion of the gigabyte x38 isnt very good
metsatsu
post Dec 27 2008, 09:03 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Sigh... Really hope that i can at least touch 3.8ghz without having to use some insane voltage sad.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 27 2008, 03:32 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Dec 27 2008, 11:51 AM)

so the fsb limit on where for a quad on x38? hmm.gif
the limitation is on x38.
metsatsu
post Dec 27 2008, 06:27 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Yah bro. Roughly 440-450. So far i havent seen anyone with x38 mobo with quad can exceed that fsb limit, especially gigabyte x38...

Added on December 27, 2008, 6:44 pmHere's the link of tomshardware review

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/Intel-X38-Gi...view-29644.html

Added on December 27, 2008, 6:45 pmHere's the link of tomshardware review

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/Intel-X38-Gi...view-29644.html

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Dec 27 2008, 06:45 PM
metsatsu
post Dec 30 2008, 09:06 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

66c @ 1.325v? that's an awesome temperature and vcore bro. Most of us here will only stop if it is exceeding 70c and 1.4v
metsatsu
post Dec 30 2008, 11:23 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

1.6v on x48 is normal?? so does that apply the same to x38? coz they said x48 is basically cherry picked x38 right?
metsatsu
post Dec 31 2008, 11:13 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Guys. Just wanna make sure. Vnb is MCH voltage right? Not fsb voltage or vtt right? sweat.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 31 2008, 04:51 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 31 2008, 03:07 PM)
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 4.00GHz biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=741062]
Hey hengmy, meet ur arch rival, acecombat. brows.gif too bad ace alrdy sold her q9450, otherwise we'll see more insane oc'ing of the q9450
metsatsu
post Dec 31 2008, 07:07 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

come to think of it. hengmy's Q9450 is better. ace's vcore is almost 0.2v higher shocking.gif
metsatsu
post Dec 31 2008, 09:21 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

hengmy bro. I've just realized that my x38 bios is quite different from your P45 bios setting. does your bios actually show all the voltages? eg. NB and SB voltage? if that's the case, that means u raised 0.4v on your NB right?
metsatsu
post Jan 1 2009, 01:25 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

but the problem is that x38 doesn't show the default NB voltage in the bios. sad.gif so not sure how much i should increase... sweat.gif
metsatsu
post Jan 1 2009, 08:33 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

I've already googled around. Until now still no solid answer. Though i managed to findout that asus' x38 default's NB voltage is 1.25v, but not sure of gigabyte's... can we just assume they are the same? sad.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0582sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:58 PM