4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Clutch Then Brake or the other way round?

L512_armada
post Aug 23 2008, 01:06 AM

268 posts

depends on situation....
the_catacombs
post Aug 23 2008, 03:34 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

drive auto lah.... dun need headache...
rcracer
post Aug 23 2008, 05:58 AM

?????
3,772 posts

Driving exam cannot use auto car mar. Clutch brake, brkae clutch doesn't matter now, just keep the engine running when stopped fully.
Azuma-kun
post Aug 23 2008, 01:32 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Aug 22 2008, 11:09 PM)
So basically will brake then clutch kill the engine? Or as long as I do it fast, it will be fine? So basically the engine will only die if I brake until the car fully stops before I step the clutch?

My instructor says clutch then brake. If emergency, step both of them at the same time. rclxub.gif
U do this while emergency, u wont get stop. U can try it by urself.
TS-Teddy-
post Aug 23 2008, 06:53 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Aug 23 2008, 01:32 PM)
U do this while emergency, u wont get stop. U can try it by urself.
Oh my sweat.gif What I assume now is it doesn't matter to brake or clutch first, as long as you clutch before the car fully stops. Is that right?
EyraYus
post Aug 23 2008, 11:22 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

yes, and no.

you still dont get it, ok..try it this way... drive at 50kmj then release ur accelerator pedal, dont touch anything else, see how fast ur car slow down

then repeat, drive at 50, release ur acc pedal but this time press your clutch pedal see how fast ur car slow down

compare both
detomaso
post Aug 24 2008, 05:25 PM

1,896 posts

still depends on road condition. whether the road is tilt or what..

This post has been edited by detomaso: Aug 24 2008, 05:26 PM
MobyDick
post Aug 25 2008, 05:09 PM

731 posts

After you get your license 6 months, I'll teach you 'heel & toe'.
SUSN's
post Aug 26 2008, 12:34 AM

1,091 posts

same concept if you ride motorcycle with clutch.
victor_hoh
post Aug 26 2008, 02:28 PM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Aug 22 2008, 06:33 PM)
if u brake before clutch and the car completely stops then you mati engine. Also,if you press the clutch first,the car slightly slows down.So i would say clutch then brake smile.gif
you failed driving BIG TIME, dude. You RELEASE UR GAS PEDAL to slow down, and it slows down faster with the CLUTCH ENGAGE, not with the CLUTCH PRESSED, because the engine actually help braking when you not pressing gas.

This post has been edited by victor_hoh: Aug 26 2008, 02:29 PM
SUSN's
post Aug 26 2008, 02:44 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Aug 26 2008, 02:28 PM)
you failed driving BIG TIME, dude. You RELEASE UR GAS PEDAL to slow down, and it slows down faster with the CLUTCH ENGAGE, not with the CLUTCH PRESSED, because the engine actually help braking when you not pressing gas.
yeah, we call this gear dragging.
EyraYus
post Aug 26 2008, 03:46 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

or engine braking, something like that

its always brake first then clutch....

but for driving test anyhow can lah just make sure u pass the test laugh.gif
raist86
post Sep 26 2008, 04:02 PM

1,577 posts

really funny la reading some of the replies here.

TS, the correct method of driving a manual is brake first, then clutch for higher speed breaking. Like the sifus here say, engine breaking will help slow down your car and reduce the break pad wear and tear.

for lower speed, can just clutch and break, but normally, after much practice in a manual car, you'll still do a break - clutch.

For emergency, i always wanted to try to just step on the break and leave the clutch on. I mean, when you really need to stop, there's no harm in stalling the engine rite? (wanted to try, but no guts to wreak my car lol. )
ryan_hustler
post Sep 26 2008, 04:57 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Sep 26 2008, 04:02 PM)
really funny la reading some of the replies here.

TS, the correct method of driving a manual is brake first, then clutch for higher speed breaking. Like the sifus here say, engine breaking will help slow down your car and reduce the break pad wear and tear.

for lower speed, can just clutch and break, but normally, after much practice in a manual car, you'll still do a break - clutch.

For emergency, i always wanted to try to just step on the break and leave the clutch on. I mean, when you really need to stop, there's no harm in stalling the engine rite? (wanted to try, but no guts to wreak my car lol. )
Big big mistake..most new cars have power assisted brakes not to mention your power steering.Once your engine stalls (mati engine) you have little or no control over you steering and some brakes harden up meaning you have to put more pressure on it to stop.Combine not being able to steer or brake in an emergency situation,i bet we wont hear from you ever again.

Try stalling your engine while comming down genting.
stormchaser
post Sep 26 2008, 05:23 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

aiyar.. newbie driving mar... better clutch then brake, to make sure engine won't stalled... after that learn yourself.. next time u sure cucuk my back 1..
ronnie
post Sep 26 2008, 05:29 PM

Not enough stars
21,327 posts

if step on clutch first, your car will be on free gear which is more dangerous.
stormchaser
post Sep 26 2008, 05:35 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 26 2008, 05:29 PM)
if step on clutch first, your car will be on free gear which is more dangerous.
newbie driving slow 1 mar.. if during his driving test, he go and press brake first if the speed become too slow for the engine, then the engine stalled then failed lor..... just for passing the exam, use clutch 1st then brake, to be safe since you are not driving fast...
SUSceo684
post Sep 26 2008, 05:36 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

as long as the car is above 20-30kmh use brake pedal only, even in top gear it wont stall, below 20-30 clutch in.
TS-Teddy-
post Sep 26 2008, 08:40 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Thanks everyone for the guides. Damn JPJ off till 13 of October, no driving test whatsoever for now.
lolz_5167
post Sep 27 2008, 10:09 PM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

press clutch then brake so easier for u to shift gear later..but when in high speed just press brake first

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0253sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:50 AM