QUOTE(raist86 @ Sep 26 2008, 04:02 PM)
really funny la reading some of the replies here.
TS, the correct method of driving a manual is brake first, then clutch for higher speed breaking. Like the sifus here say, engine breaking will help slow down your car and reduce the break pad wear and tear.
for lower speed, can just clutch and break, but normally, after much practice in a manual car, you'll still do a break - clutch.
For emergency, i always wanted to try to just step on the break and leave the clutch on. I mean, when you really need to stop, there's no harm in stalling the engine rite? (wanted to try, but no guts to wreak my car lol. )
Big big mistake..most new cars have power assisted brakes not to mention your power steering.Once your engine stalls (mati engine) you have little or no control over you steering and some brakes harden up meaning you have to put more pressure on it to stop.Combine not being able to steer or brake in an emergency situation,i bet we wont hear from you ever again.TS, the correct method of driving a manual is brake first, then clutch for higher speed breaking. Like the sifus here say, engine breaking will help slow down your car and reduce the break pad wear and tear.
for lower speed, can just clutch and break, but normally, after much practice in a manual car, you'll still do a break - clutch.
For emergency, i always wanted to try to just step on the break and leave the clutch on. I mean, when you really need to stop, there's no harm in stalling the engine rite? (wanted to try, but no guts to wreak my car lol. )
Try stalling your engine while comming down genting.
Sep 26 2008, 04:57 PM

0.0191sec