15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...

KTCY
post Sep 22 2008, 10:20 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 22 2008, 10:17 PM)
dun u all use the green dot for manual focus?
is it that hard to notice the green dot?
i get all my manual focus pics sharp without problem...
nikon's digital ragefinder is very useful indeed...

also...
can u explain...
how ez is manual metering?
since u say focusing is harder...i MIGHT get some pointers on how to actually METER manually faster than i focus...

Abang, silap orang ke ? sweat.gif
I said manual focus easier la blush.gif
KTCY
post Sep 22 2008, 10:28 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I rely on green dot la else can't even focus well blush.gif
KTCY
post Sep 22 2008, 10:43 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 22 2008, 10:39 PM)
I dont use the green dot. The green dot is quite useless in macro photography tongue.gif
Then what you use ? your eye with view finder ? tongue.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 07:43 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 12:14 AM)
Manual metering is not tough. It's tough if you can't check your images right after you take them but since we have the LCD screen to review the picture right after taking them, not to mention the uber useful histogram, manual metering is not tough at all.

Of course, I'm talking from experience shooting in manual mode all the time. Any exposure errors can be easily corrected by manipulating the shutter/aperture/ISO (in that order). If you shoot in any program modes, then have to fool around with exposure compensation... maybe troublesome a bit.

Now, compare this to manual focusing.
1. you can't really use the D40's LCD to check for sharpness
2. the green dot helps in focusing (duh), but can you tell what did u focus on?
3. what if your subject moves? can ur hands match the speed of a focusing motor to track the subject?

And ultimately, unlike fixing exposure errors, you can't just turn a knob on your camera. To make matters worse, focusing errors are also almost impossible to fix in post-processing. Not so with exposure issues.

Anymore questions kids?
@ bold : Not very friendly statement sleep.gif

Well, regarding your reply, here is mine towards yours blush.gif
1. Who say can't ? LCD of D40 is actually very good and better than Nonac LCD of 400D, 450D or even 40D
2. why I can't tell ? If i want focus a thing, put your focusing point then just twist the lens focusing till the green dot is there.
3. Panning with manual ? My sifu can tongue.gif Remember, those are the days where no AF, they use MF for all the photos taking.
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 08:55 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 23 2008, 08:50 AM)
i wonder what will happen if you kids here use film slr cameras.

all talk about awesome gears and can't even use a manual mode?
You should join ShutterAsia Penangkia. sleep.gif
All got film SLR sleep.gif except me tongue.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 11:19 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 10:27 AM)
1. Wow, you can actually tell? Do you know what is the resolution on the D40's LCD? Do you know what is the resolution of your images (assuming shooting at 6mp)? In other words, sharp images on the D40 LCD does NOT translate in to sharp images on your computer screen.
2. Do you know how big is the focusing area of the D40? What if when you shoot someone's face, the whole box is covering the face? What are you focusing on then? Can you see?
3. Come on, give a more solid example. Panning is something that if you stand where the subject is moving along your focusing plane, you actually might *not* need to do any adjustment to your focusing. How about subjects that move in and out of your focusing plane? Say it's coming towards you or going further away? Can you keep up then?

ifer, personally, I think it's easier to do manual focus on film. Film SLRs are full-frame cameras, with larger viewfinders and also split-screen focusing. Furthermore, those will probably use actual manual focusing lenses, with damped focusing rings. In other words, all the older gears are meant to be manually focused. On film SLRs, the problem would not be manual focusing, but manual metering - the opposite of DLSRs - since there is no manual feedback on your exposure. Big bummer.

Added on September 23, 2008, 10:28 am

That's right. Hence my question to xandman. Or did I mis-read his statements?
1. Please , there is a zoom in function la doh.gif
2. Seriously you should try. I even manual with 85mm. No problem at all.
3. Again doh.gif seriously you need to see how those manual focus SLR works. Relying on AF is good but too much is not. That's why lot of events has been organized by SA which was theme with TakNak Chimping, Manual Focus, etc etc.

Seriously, you should try it before say it's hard. For me I feel is hard to manual metering. Seriously. smile.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 11:21 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(fizbone @ Sep 23 2008, 11:19 AM)
Anyone can give some advice..

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

VS

AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED

Which one better as to replace my D40 kit lens… need to have it for wedding photography … very low budget (around 1k) just to kick start…

Don’t know wheter to go for the VR or for the zoom 135mm?? as the both are almost the same price. tq
Wedding need low light. Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 tongue.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 11:35 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 23 2008, 11:34 AM)
Err he has a budget of 1k, wouldn't the 17-50 burst his budget by another 1k?
Tamron 17-50 RM 1,2xx only for grey set smile.gif
Second hand around RM 1,xxx smile.gif

Added on September 23, 2008, 11:36 am
QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 11:34 AM)
Well, good for you if you can be satisfied with manual focusing. I just find the LCD and small-ish viewfinder of the D40 to be more suited for auto-focusing. Same goes for the terrible focusing rings of the current AF lenses. But that's just me.

TakNak Chimping has nothing to do with manual focusing, but more towards metering, unless you use a manual focus lens as well during that outing.
We are using manual focus lens and manual focus all the way with fixed ISO mate sleep.gif
Seriously, if you stay on the ground too long for something same, you learn nothing smile.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Sep 23 2008, 11:36 AM
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 11:46 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 11:42 AM)
OK, then I stand corrected on the chimping exercise.

I don't find the chimping exercise to be anything useful to me, hence the reluctance to join in or organizing such an event. I already shoot manual exposure almost 100%, so I know my metering and lighting. It'll be helpful if I can accurately guess exposure just by looking at the room, something a no chimping exercise can help, but I don't find the need. I can guess 70% correct most of the time. The other 30% takes about, oh 5 seconds to fix by taking another shot after adjusting exposure.
Since you're master already, play film SLR then tongue.gif laugh.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 12:37 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 23 2008, 12:31 PM)
for some reason, you are right.
i hate the DSLR cameras for the view finder and focusing screen.
my fm2 and f801s focusing screens were 1000000% better.
fm2 is FF film SLR la sleep.gif
Surely the view finder better.
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 02:11 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

What I mean is FF view finder = FF view finder, while DX body view finder = 0.95 only.

Sorry for misleading message blush.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 02:57 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 02:22 PM)
Actually, the difference isn't the coverage (95% or 100%) but the actual size of the viewfinder. E.g. the D700's viewfinder, being a full-frame camera, will trump our cropped sensor viewfinders because it's larger and possibly brighter.

Note that both the D700 and the D40 viewfinders don't offer 100% coverage.

And there's no such thing as a full-frame film because the standard 35mm film is used. Hint, go find out the size of D3 and D700's sensor size wink.gif
As stated I mislead the statement. And sensor same doesn't mean viewfinder same.
D3 viewfinder offer 100% view sleep.gif

Why so small photo ? Bigger please.

This post has been edited by KTCY: Sep 23 2008, 02:58 PM
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 03:01 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 23 2008, 02:59 PM)
Interrupt you guys a little... remember we were discussing about the 50mm f1.4, it's been officially released for about USD 340.... price is attractive and very near to the current version.

There's no nano-coating and no gold ring etc. My take is same as the existing model just add a SWM.

Any comments on this?
Not worth the penny pay off. Better upgrade to D80 and get older version at RM 9xx only.

Sigma new lens with HSM smile.gif
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0809/08092303..._24_70_lens.asp
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 03:04 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

D80 with 85mm f/1.4 laugh.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 03:18 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 03:01 PM)
I know the D3's viewfinder is 100% coverage. Was comparing between film/full-frame viewfinders to the cropped sensors.

Sorry for the image size, linked from flickr. I'll link a larger one.

Added on September 23, 2008, 3:03 pm

It's cheaper than I expected really. But if it's worth it or not, you need to decide for yourself tongue.gif

The Sigma's lens is sharper, but damn big. Have you seen the size in comparison with the other 50mm lenses? My god it looks like a 85mm prime. I'd wait for reviews first. It's only due in December though.

Btw, Nikon says it's a new optical formula, meaning it's not the same as the old lens. But I didn't compare the number of elements and stuff. I tried the older one though, it ain't bad but it was hard for me to get a sharp shot. I didn't know what was wrong. I mean I can get sharper pics with my 30mm Sigma.

And there are 2 minor issues with the lens:

1. the focusing ring rotates, so it kept on rubbing against my fingers sad.gif
2. there's bad fringing of the bokeh! Yes, the bokeh. Damn hard to fix in post-processing. Front bokeh has red fringing, back bokeh has green (or the other way around, I could be mistaken).

After trying for a while, I didn't buy the 50mm f1.4.
@ bold : Manual focus and you can't get it sharp or AF you can't get it sharp ?
Why you need to post process the bokeh ? blink.gif

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 23 2008, 03:09 PM)
Heard that the Sigma is a 77mm.

Very sharp shot and nice bokeh. Go for it! You know you want it! Although if it were me I'd wait for the end of Photokina just in case Nikon springs several prime surprises.... so you'll be safe at least till next year.  tongue.gif
I'm waiting for 70-200 replacement rclxm9.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 03:20 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 23 2008, 03:20 PM)
So you sold your D40 body... buying a new D90 body, then buying a 70-200mm? Strike lottery you must've....  laugh.gif
Bodyless now with my 85mm and SB-800 sad.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 03:33 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

85mm f/1.4 ? I'd save the money go for creamer and nicer lens like 70-200 tongue.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 03:40 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

ebernie bought the 85mm f/1.4 ? laugh.gif
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 05:32 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Sep 23 2008, 04:01 PM)
Yup. Was looking for a good portrait / telephoto lens. After much deliberation, this was the one I settled for.
Anyway, enjoy your expensive toys laugh.gif

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 23 2008, 04:27 PM)
Is it just me or is there some fringing on the portrait posted by ebernie? I see green fringing around the subject's shirt.
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 23 2008, 05:03 PM)
Maybe it's the lighting?  tongue.gif

Nothing escapes a macro shooter's eye.  tongue.gif
I saw something too smile.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Sep 23 2008, 06:43 PM
KTCY
post Sep 23 2008, 10:55 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(asfax @ Sep 23 2008, 10:48 PM)
Just want to share with u all ... went to another photo shop in langkawi
actually looking for Nikon 50mm f1.8 but no stock
so asked them for tamron 17-55mm f2.8 ... OMG the quote me RM2000 & Sigma 10-20mm f4 for RM2670

What a planet pluto price .... ridiculous ! !
I help you buy at Penang then you bear my ferry fees to and fro enough tongue.gif

15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0584sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:08 PM