Household [Home-Applicances] Ceiling Fan, KDK, Panasonic, Euro Uno, Mistral

blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 10:06 PM

1,519 posts

I need some opinion. Right now the fan in my list is Panasonic Bayu 4. However I read that Bayu 4 has metal blade which is susceptible to rust.

So, my question is, should I topup a bit and go for econavi or KDK Sensa? or Bayu should be a fine choice already?
blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 10:53 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jun 15 2020, 10:47 PM)
isnt sensa much more expensive and bayu 4?
Exactly, hence the question should I topup a bit or should I settle with bayu..
blanket84
post Jun 15 2020, 11:42 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 15 2020, 11:06 PM)
I strongly advise against getting a windless Bayu 4 if buying new. brows.gif
Sensa 4 when shopee card discount was only like RM30-ish more than a Vtouch Junior 4 blade
Both also got yuragi function (sensa and vtouch junior)
Sensa got more gearing (more selectable speeds)
Who want to buy a Bayu 4 I can sell 30% off from lowest price on shopee or lapsapda
fullset with box, warranty card
fan like new condition  rclxs0.gif
runtime in total less than 7 days worth of usage.  rclxms.gif
Need to free the space on fan hook to buy another KDK  whistling.gif
What kdk model are you using now?

For smaller rooms i already decided on kdk baby since i don’t want the blade to be too close to the lights. But i haven’t decided on bigger fans in living & master bedroom. I guess it doesn’t make any sense to have lesser quality fan in master bedroom when other rooms have better quality fans sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jun 15 2020, 11:42 PM
blanket84
post Jun 16 2020, 06:22 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 16 2020, 01:32 AM)
Hmm so far my experience was very good with new old stock K14Z9  bangwall.gif should have cleaned out the warehouse sale stock
Then I bought 2 more V touch junior K14Y5
Then another Sensa 4 current model K14ZW - only this one still haven't installed yet  flex.gif
I did consider Panasonic Nami/KDK V touch, but the 2 stars stickers turns me off.

Where did you buy you fans? How much for K14ZW? Can we get cheaper than Lazada/Shopee in physical shop? Right now I am considering buying from those selling online but also have physical shop.
blanket84
post Jun 16 2020, 09:13 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 16 2020, 07:35 PM)
For me I don't mind coz fans are very cheap to run as compared to any aircon unit.
Nothing ruins the day better than a 5* windless fan even at max speed.
I've already taken down that fan twice and installed thrice - living room, medium room, and finally just stuck it at the smallest room.

Where I bought fans from.. all over the place..mostly shopee online purchase, couple units were retail

K14Z9 - EOL Sensa 4 - Warehouse sale - only paid RM249 for an awesome quiet fan with yuragi function. Granted old model but its still BNIB condition.

Bayu 4 - Retail experience - Regretting the RM270 I spent on it.

Vtouch Junior - Retail experience. And my most expensive fan - was at Aeon but had CC vouchers so its heavily discounted per se. Listed at 490.
Vtouch Jr cost 403 on shopee.

K14ZW Sensa 4 only cost 459 after shopee CC voucher (listed at 515, min spend 500 get 80 off, which meant I could not buy another Vtouch junior to get that discount).

[attachmentid=10517471]   [attachmentid=10517472]

Other notes
KDK fans have lots of foam all round as protection so it will survive logistics handling very well. Plus they're relatively lightweight for that size of box.
It is only aircon that is heavy but the foam only covers the ends that the center part of the box always gets crushed in transit.

You can try to go around electrical shop to see if they can give a better deal.
Personally, I hate haggling with retail shop as the "open price" amount quoted is easily 10% higher than online price with shipping when I bought my fridge.
They opened price at 2.5k when the online price was 2.1x-2.2x k (inclusive of delivery). I nego down to 2.4k with a Sat morning delivery guarantee (which went very well 8.50am already arrived at guardhouse). Staying in poorfag officeslave class of high rise have to take care of delivery hours window of opportunity too.

That time I had no choice but to get from retail because only can deliver on Sat morning and the online seller can only commit weekday afternoon/evenings which also costs me a day of work (need to take leave).
Your right. Energy rating for fan has minimal impact to our electricity consumption since it a low wattage appliances. Spending more for 5 stars might not break even before the fan died on you. I might reconsider buying V-touch instead of Sensa 4. Maybe I will do another round of calculation biggrin.gif

What CC voucher that you use that can get 80 off from RM500 purchase. Seems like a good deal? I hate haggling too.. but since I am buying 7 units of ceiling fans, I might try to haggle at least to the cheapest online price and save on the shipping.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Jun 16 2020, 09:13 PM
blanket84
post Jun 24 2020, 08:14 PM

1,519 posts

Anyone using Aeratron AE3? Can give review on the fan?
blanket84
post Jul 21 2020, 06:21 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jul 21 2020, 06:01 PM)
Alph didn’t heard before. Is it reliable? Looking for reliable fan, not really into those fancy functions.
"A" was missing in his reply. Alpha, not Alph laugh.gif
blanket84
post Jul 30 2020, 10:53 AM

1,519 posts

I have one question.

How far from the wall a ceiling fan should be installed?

There is a "hallway" in my house that I planned to install a fan. The width is around 68". I calculate if I buy KDK baby fan which is 44", I will be left with 24", which divide by 2 will be 1'. Is 1' from from the blade for each side will be adequate?
blanket84
post Jul 30 2020, 01:06 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 30 2020, 01:01 PM)
hope this guideline get assists u

[attachmentid=10546063]
[attachmentid=10546064]
Thanks. I know generally 1m is recommended, I just wonder if there is any option for me that allows smaller clearance between the wall and fan, and if there is fan with smaller diameter & and the same time looks good sweat.gif

Otherwise I guess I have to stick with stand/tower fan..
blanket84
post Aug 3 2020, 10:31 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 2 2020, 05:04 AM)
Thank you. Since you mentioned Alpha, there is plenty of 40" size that they actually carries. There is even one 36" model, but with bulky LED light sweat.gif
blanket84
post Oct 22 2020, 06:45 PM

1,519 posts

Anyone experienced using Alpha Alkova series? I initially wanted to but KDK, but then KDK looks boring. Now thinking of buying Alpha Alkova.
blanket84
post Nov 16 2020, 12:40 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 5 2020, 12:40 AM)
Fan hunting for my house... been looking at the usual dependable Panasonic/KDK...

Then came across Aeratron... fuyoh very chio... so decided to get 2 for the living and dining room.

So doing some research before dropping 3k++ on 2 fan...

Looks like Aeratron QC/dependability is really not up to mark... so many complaints about the electronics side of the fan..

ANyone here can give some feedback?
I think aeratron got fake one. I read in SG forum, most who complained actually bought the fake ones.
blanket84
post Nov 23 2020, 03:43 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Nov 23 2020, 12:49 PM)
Is this Alpha brand fan good? Thinking of getting one for living room one for dining room. Thanks. https://shopee.com.my/ALPHA-Alkova-AXIS-56-...3450.6238682866
My sister installed 7 Alpha fans in her house 8 years back. Only one out of 7 broken (but repairable with simple fix) over the course of 8 years. All 7 running fine today without any funny noise. That made me decided to switch my fan list for my house from KDK to Alpha, not because I think Alpha is better, but I think Alpha performed on par in terms of reliability with KDK and it comes with plenty of nicer looking design rather than boring KDK design.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Nov 23 2020, 03:43 PM
blanket84
post Nov 26 2020, 12:46 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 26 2020, 10:02 AM)
Ya in their website they stated Elmark producing  fake copies. Official dealer in Msia currently is NSB
So, did you buy Aeratron in the end?
blanket84
post Nov 26 2020, 08:24 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 26 2020, 07:13 PM)
Its in the to buy list for my house. Haven't bought as fan installation is still about 4 months away
Oo. I guess I cannot get review from you since I need to decide on the fan for my living room by next week already sweat.gif
blanket84
post Dec 9 2020, 07:23 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 27 2020, 09:09 PM)
My research on Aeratron shows its a luck of the draw. Some getting lemons with alot of problem. O suspect their QC got issues...
Finally bought mine. Didn't check properly when I collect from the shop yesterday. Today when installed only noticed there is a crack in one of the blades. A huge one.

Called NSB to ask if they sell replacement blade for the fan. They ask me to send the photo of the cracked blade. But since I reported almost end of their working hours, I have to wait for them to respond tomorrow. Finger cross they admit this is a manufacturing defect and replace them for free. Otherwise I guess I have to fork out money to buy replacement blade (if any sweat.gif).

On the other hand, all my alpha alkova dezi works perfectly. Very good air movement despite at low speed.
blanket84
post Dec 13 2020, 05:45 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 13 2020, 03:13 PM)
Wow that sucks. Could try bringing it back to the shop you bought it from. They should change one for you.

Mine off ask how much you bought it for? Oh and do give us a review on how we'll (or not) it works..
Actually it was pretty much my mistake not to check them properly even when the shop opened the box in front of me. I only check if the components were complete and not the physical state of the fan itself. So, there is no way I can prove that it was crack out of the box.

I bought an FR 43” as well. The fan was fine. Wind was strong even at slow speed. But... yesterday I noticed that there is a kruk kruk sound coming out from the fan. My contractor already told me about that but it wasn’t noticeable unless when in complete silence. Will report to them tomorrow.

I guess their QC is pretty shit, hopefully the aftersales is decent.

I bought my AE3+ 60” at full price RM1699. The FR 43” was RM10 cheaper from full price laugh.gif

This post has been edited by blanket84: Dec 13 2020, 05:46 PM
blanket84
post Dec 14 2020, 10:14 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Dec 14 2020, 08:17 PM)
I'm using AE3+ for more than 4 years.  So far so good.  It is a very silence fan.  Worth every penny.
What brand and model is FR?
FR is aeratron as well. I think like MeToo said, it all depends on luck when buying aeratron. No doubt it is a good fan. But seems like the QC is pretty rubbish.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Dec 14 2020, 10:15 PM
blanket84
post Feb 15 2021, 07:47 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Feb 15 2021, 09:45 AM)
Am currently planning my home reno and would like to just get some feedback in relation to the reliability of Alpha fans.

I'm interested in the AX70/AX60 range mainly because of the design.

Appreciate any feedback. Thank you.
Maybe my feedback itself isn't really reliable since I have only been using mine for 1 month plus, but out of the box, Alpha fan has better built quality than Aeratron. All 5 Alpha fans were installed with ease, not wobble problem whatsoever even at highest speed.

Even my sister's Alpha fan used for almost 9 years already has no problem except for the typical Rm5 fix PCB problem like in any other remote control fan.

Mine are Alpha Alkova Dezi.
blanket84
post Feb 17 2021, 01:57 PM

1,519 posts

Finally NSB comes and replace all 3 blades of my Aeratron AE3+. Even though I was unlucky to get lemon unit, I have to praise the after sales service provided by NSB. 2 times they came to my house, they were punctual and efficient. All problems solved in one visit. And they even took the effort to "improvise" the installation to make sure the fan is comfortable to the user.

On the AE3+ itself, it is a slow moving fan, but the air movement was perfect. Even at highest speed, there isn't any wind noise (unlike my alpha alkova dezi). I only use 1 fan for living & dining (25.5ft length hall) and at highest speed, you can feel the wind at the furthest point. Comfortable enough to serve both living & dining area with single fan.

So, to those planning to buy one, I would highly recommend. However please check your unit thoroughly before accepting since they are famous for lemon unit.

0.1211sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:07 PM