Household [Home-Applicances] Ceiling Fan, KDK, Panasonic, Euro Uno, Mistral

blanket84
post Feb 20 2021, 11:34 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Feb 20 2021, 03:47 PM)
Was considering Deka, SX63 (AC) and DC3 (DC) but seems like so many negative review on the Deka thread.

Back to Alpha now sweat.gif
I’m using Alpha Alkova Dezi for all bedrooms in my house. The initial plan was to use KDK baby as well, but since my house comes with hook and the ceiling was a little bit to high, I went with Alpha since most of their model comes in standard height. So far, so good.

My previous rented house was installed with Deka fan, it started to make noise after few months being installed.
blanket84
post Feb 21 2021, 11:27 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Feb 21 2021, 11:03 PM)
After further survey on Alpha available models, decided to go for Alkova Axis due to its design, hopefully the 56" fan looking good for my room around 14'x14' sweat.gif
The same reason I bought Alpha instead of KDK. I did consider KDK, but their design was too boring. And they don’t have black to match my black & white theme.
blanket84
post Feb 22 2021, 01:29 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 22 2021, 11:46 AM)
laugh.gif Not to the extent of regulator la. It just doesn't match any modern house theme. laugh.gif
I will most likely go for KDK K14XZ PBR.

I have calculated my budget and it is still within my acceptable range. I don't think I will spend anything above RM 400-500 for a ceiling fan since I have airconds as well. laugh.gif
Why not Alpha? You have plenty of choices to choose from with your budget and they come with good looking design.
blanket84
post Feb 22 2021, 02:26 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 22 2021, 02:18 PM)
My first time hearing this brand though I saw them on online shopping platforms.
Is it a reliable brand with good after sales service? I'm looking at around RM 300. tongue.gif
laugh.gif Regulator is always a good option for cfm per dollar. laugh.gif
OK, I will put this KDK as my first choice while checking out Alpha models.
They don't have the long history of KDK or Panasonic, but pretty established local brand with presence over 20 years++ in Malaysia.

Reliability wise, you have to ask around since every people have different story, but after sales service should be good since they are Malaysian based company. I was convinced to buy Alpha due to my sister's experience using Alpha in her house for the past 10 years. So far no major problem and the fans still running fine even though some of the parts has been replaced over the time. With proper care (like my sister & brother in law did), the fan still looks like brand new after 10 years, not even color faded. But then hers was glossy black colour, not white as white might become yellowish after some time.
blanket84
post Feb 22 2021, 03:05 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 22 2021, 02:59 PM)
Noted, I will check it out and compare the pricing and hopefully some other reviews online.
But 10 years that's pretty good actually.
Yeah. 10 years is pretty good for modern fan with electronics. I remember went to my sister’s house with my eyes wandering around looking for anything else that I should buy for my house, then my eyes stopped at the looks brand new fan, and ask her “eh, tukar kipas baru?”, and she replied no, it’s the old fan since day 1 she moved in. I was like, it looks like new, how is that even possible? sweat.gif

But then my sister and her husband are clean freak. So of course her fans are always clean hence can maintain the brand new look.
blanket84
post Feb 24 2021, 07:37 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(blank_slate @ Feb 24 2021, 07:05 PM)
Thanks for recommendation. Saw some nice model of Alpha fan but now need to check with ID on the overall feel
If you want nicer look, you can take a look at Aeratron. I have both Alpha and Aeratron in my house, Aeratron in low ceiling area (ground floor) and Alpha for normal ceiling height area. Just be careful when buying Aeratron because the have quality issue despite the price tag, make sure you check them thoroughly before accepting the product.
blanket84
post Feb 25 2021, 04:43 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Rock Kapak Karat @ Feb 25 2021, 03:23 PM)
Just back from senheng.. im dilemma with panasonic nami fm15e2 or kdk sensa 4 k14zw.. both price almost same with +1 year warranty..
Why buy fan from sen heng though? Do they have some kind of promotion that make them cheaper than usual places?

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 25 2021, 04:44 PM
blanket84
post Feb 25 2021, 05:36 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Rock Kapak Karat @ Feb 25 2021, 05:16 PM)
Price not so cheap but for membership got discount Rm10-30 from retail price and +1 year warranty.. total 2 year warranty.
Do u think is worth it?
The usual shop is selling KDK sensa 4 for around RM500, how much is the price in Senheng?

And for quite reliable fan like KDK and Panasonic, they would not fail within 2 years, so extra 1 year warranty is a waste. If you happened to get a lemon unit, they will fail within few weeks or few months top.
blanket84
post Feb 25 2021, 06:08 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Rock Kapak Karat @ Feb 25 2021, 05:52 PM)
panasonic nami 5 fm15e2 = RM570
kdk sensa 4 k14zw = Rm583

both price after discount n extra warranty
The price I was quoted for KDK Sensa last year was RM492. It's up to you if extra RM91 worth the peace of mind. Personally, I would pay extra (for warranty) for something with questionable quality, but not the reliable ones.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 25 2021, 06:08 PM
blanket84
post Mar 1 2021, 12:47 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Feb 28 2021, 09:00 PM)
Dear sifus, want to ask, is 42inch fan is good enough to cover my living hall as in the pic below? Contractor said if longer fan, living hall will be disco maaa..
[attachmentid=10800017]

Got a lot of beams so space on ceiling is limited

[attachmentid=10800018]

Plan for plaster ceiling is like this

[attachmentid=10800019]

Hall wont have aircond for the time being due to budget constraint, so fan is important atm. But i’m not sure whether 42 inch is cooling enough. KDK dont have pretty 42 inch, only Alpha has.

Should i stick with shorter fan, or should i redecorate my downlight?
If the fan is only to cover the living hall, should be good enough. Most of my bedrooms, 10.5'x12' size are using 42 inch fan and the airflow was good enough at half the full speed.

You're contractor is right about the disco effect (stroboscopic effect). If you want to be sure, just draw a scale drawing of the down light position, fan position (and height) and projected light beam (using beam angle from manufacturer's data) and see whether the beam did cut the blade or not.

Looking at the dimension of your living hall, you should be able to use good looking alpha fan without having to change the rod. My bedrooms are smaller than your living room and I use 42" alpha with the rod that comes with it and there was no noticeable strobbing.
blanket84
post Mar 1 2021, 07:24 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Mar 1 2021, 07:19 PM)
So 42inch alpha is considered good enough? No need for me to amend my downlight design to cater 50inch fan? Thanks for the advice
Well. Don't blame me if it doesn't work for you sweat.gif

Different model produces different airflow, it could end up that the 42" you bought doesn't produce the same result as mine too..

Like ceo684 windless bayu is 56" but probably generating wind of 12" fan only.
blanket84
post Mar 1 2021, 07:58 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Mar 1 2021, 07:47 PM)
Which model do u use? Mind sharing?
Alpha Alkova Dezi. Both 42" (in all smaller rooms & upstairs living hall) and 56" (for master bedroom).

When I switch on the AC I only use at speed 1 or 2 out of 8.
blanket84
post Mar 1 2021, 08:05 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Mar 1 2021, 08:02 PM)
Added into my list..later will go to shop to survey. Tq bos!
You might want to add Aeratron in your list too. They have 43" + short pipe. brows.gif

I used them in my living hall & kitchen where the ceiling height are quite low (9' 2" and 8' 6" respectively, since I want to hide all beams and I don't want my KC to look too tall)
blanket84
post Mar 1 2021, 08:17 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Mar 1 2021, 08:11 PM)
Wow bos, i cant afford aeratron. I can buy aircond with that money 😅

My hall got lots of beam, i’m thinking to lower the plaster ceiling to match the beam, so my downlight wont have the beam’s shadow. Need to discuss with my contractor first lah.
If you don't have enough budget, I would suggest you put up plaster ceiling first (to cover the beam), then buy affordable short piped fan like KDK Baby first, and upgrade later when you saved enough. It is easier to change fan than to change your ceiling sweat.gif

Btw, what would be the ceiling height if you cover the beam? One of my bedroom is with 9' high ceiling, and Alpha Alkova Dezi looks fine in it. Doesn't look too low to me.
blanket84
post Mar 2 2021, 01:06 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Mar 1 2021, 08:42 PM)
Alpha alkova is still within my budget. For the other two rooms might buy alpha cosa (small so will have disco effect too of use long diameter fan). For mbr, im aiming for the sensa4 (im not aicond person so need a good fan to sleep)

Ceiling height for hall is 10’. The pink beam i think less than 1’. The green one is more than 1’. I just want to match the pink beam only, cannot have lower than 9’, my hall already so small, if lower, will look smaller
[attachmentid=10800612]
Another way to do it is to let the fan remain at the slab and do cove box up along the perimeter of the wall. That way you light will be positioned lower relative to the fan itself. With proper planning of the light position, you could probably use a bigger fan.

And your living hall isn’t exactly that small. From the plan i think is should be around 22-23’ length. With proper luminance & and light wall colour, the hall would still look big even with lower ceiling. Try measure the exact floor to beam height. I think 8’ 10” should still be okay (assuming your beam is 14” like mine).
blanket84
post Mar 2 2021, 01:14 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 1 2021, 08:42 PM)
Yeah baby fan KDK is built for low ceiling. But mounting is a plate so the plaster ceiling peeps need to ensure there is a support for it (preferably independent from the plaster ceiling board), as it doesn't come with typical U hook mounting unlike the Alpha 42" fans. Pretty doable, the core feature of support needed is hanging from the concrete floor slab to support the weight of the fan which require 4 bolts into the plate (or wooden frame).
I think every home owner should have at least told the plaster ceiling contractor beforehand what do they want to hang on the ceiling including fan, pendant light, and also curtain so that the contractor can install proper plate or timber strip attached to the slab to support the weight. I did plan everything for my house but still I forgot to plan for my ceiling to floor curtain. End up need to attach the curtain railing to the wall.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Mar 2 2021, 01:15 AM
blanket84
post Mar 2 2021, 01:22 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Mar 1 2021, 11:07 PM)
Curious question to ask all sifu here.
From the drawings below, it is advisable to buy 56" or 60" fan if I want to install the fan at the center of the hall. about at the area on top of my dining table.

So that I can get wind too at my sofa and fridge area too.

Your hall width is only 122”. If you follow the manufacturer’s guide of having 3’ gap from tip of the blade to the wall, you will end up with 50” available space for ceiling fan. If you plan to go bigger then recommended, then I think 56” should be the max already.

And better to have 2 smaller fans, one in living area and one for dining area. Otherwise you would have nightmare planning for the downlight positioning.
blanket84
post Mar 2 2021, 05:55 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(nyemah_mulya @ Mar 2 2021, 02:34 PM)
Hi everyone, I need help deciding to buy regular-sized or baby-sized fan for this room. The green circles are where I plan to put downlight (6"). I don't want to get disco effect when I put the ceiling fan in the middle. Please advise.

Use this

Trigo Calculator

Key in this

Angle B = Downlight beam angle divide by 2 (if beam angle 110, then put 55)
Side a = Fan height from ceiling

You will get "Side b" which is the minimum gap from tip of the blade to the centre of the downlight.

Then you can size your fan.

Probably better to give extra 2-3" gap for "safety".
blanket84
post Mar 3 2021, 11:31 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(nyemah_mulya @ Mar 3 2021, 11:24 AM)
Hi, thank you for your very scientific reply. May I ask, the side a, fan height. Is this height in feet? I tried plugging in feet, and I got this as side b: 11.9175359259421 . Again, I don't know how to read this. Is this measurement in feet or inch?
Any unit would do, feet, inch, cm, mm all can. Looking at the result you get, I think you key in the wrong height. The fan height is the actual fan height from one end of the rod, to the lowest part of the fan. Not from ceiling to fan height.

I suggest to put measurement in inch or cm, for easy reading. And whatever result translated in in the same measurement unit.
blanket84
post Mar 3 2021, 11:42 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Mar 3 2021, 11:39 AM)
Paiseh if ask noob question. If I have downlight like this. How do I know the angle? Have to self measure?
there on top-right, "Beam angle=120 degree"

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0865sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:23 PM