14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

tanjinjack
post May 25 2009, 01:32 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 25 2009, 01:18 AM)
P.S. he got a very chicky name btw..
Ok, looking through the Chemical Engineering Department Staff's pages now....
Scanning the chicky name.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
tanjinjack
post May 25 2009, 02:00 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ May 25 2009, 01:57 AM)
went through the list. can't seem to find anything that's outstanding and chicky / cheeky ... hmm?
LOL, you did..
Haha..

I did and failed, too. But surprisingly, found there are TWO Professors in that Department. Hey, M3 got none...
tanjinjack
post May 26 2009, 02:44 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(macamtakada @ May 25 2009, 11:54 AM)
Oh.. this 1...

But then how to show that |z| + |w| > = |zw|?

I learn in SAM one is |z| + |w| > = |z + w|
Sorry, typo..

It's |z+w|..

My bad my bad..

Added on May 26, 2009, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(entryman @ May 25 2009, 02:08 AM)
i went through the list at
http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/contacting/sta...k-up-unmc.phtml
there's only one professor.. lol .. got two meh?????

haha we too free. i checkout first. continue later. nite.
Prof. Dr. Micheal Cloke and Prof. Dr. Andy Chan.
http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Faculties/Eng...ges/People.aspx

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 26 2009, 02:47 PM
tanjinjack
post May 27 2009, 08:44 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ May 26 2009, 05:38 PM)
Can students of Malaysian campus apply for Universitas 21 exchange programme ?
I don't think so.
But you can always get exchanged to the other Nottingham campus as long as the course in offer is available there as well.

We do receive newsletters about the activities of U21 though..
tanjinjack
post Jun 2 2009, 10:19 PM

4,122 posts

Any idea if there's other language classes to be signed up for except English and Malay?
German, Italian, Japanese etc.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Jun 2 2009, 10:20 PM
tanjinjack
post Jun 3 2009, 11:40 PM

4,122 posts

Hey, anyone knows if there's car renting service around?
Intends to drive to somewhere far, paise to borrow car from friends..

How's the rate?
tanjinjack
post Jun 5 2009, 05:01 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jun 5 2009, 04:32 PM)
hmm.. a question here.. might be off to nottingham..

is the campus here good? facilities.. hostel.. food.. etc.. anyone can give a brief intro to me? lol
Everything good, except the food.

But everything being good would require an astronomical tuition fee.
tanjinjack
post Jun 5 2009, 07:43 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(hmchan911 @ Jun 5 2009, 06:59 PM)
Is there any part time course offered from Nottingham?
Yes, postgraduate only though.
tanjinjack
post Jun 6 2009, 08:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Jun 6 2009, 06:11 PM)
dont worry bout food.. it improved alot since.. u will enjoy it even thou jinjack say it sucks, cz he din try the food before tat..  biggrin.gif

off campus if u hav a car.. in campus will be convenient if u dun hav any transport..
Compare with Broga and Semenyih, the food inside is bad lo..
And you all are saying last time is even worse. Well, out of my imagination!
tanjinjack
post Jun 12 2009, 01:32 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Rainie87 @ Jun 12 2009, 01:22 AM)
can some kind souls enlighten me ~.~ so which is better, staying on campus or offcampus? pros and cons? i'm looking for places with walking distance. thanks ^^
On-campus.

Please read back few posts where I have talked about the difference between on- and off-campus briefly.
tanjinjack
post Jun 12 2009, 02:28 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Rainie87 @ Jun 12 2009, 01:51 AM)
but it seems that on campus, the internet there is restricted where you couldn't dl show and all, izit true?
Wah, how you *seems that*?
Well, if you are expecting something like DC++ or a community shared network within the campus, it is to my knowledge that such thing does not exist.
Also, you need to take note that internet in hostel costs. That simply means you are given a reasonable speed at a reasonable price.
It's about RM60+ per month for a 512kbps connection.
Downloading has been alright to me but torrent is blocked.

Many students here who are not heavy downloaders prefer to use the free WiFi network (available in everywhere in the campus except the hostel!) or the university computer. Speed has been decent for facebook, ebuddy etc. but surely no downloading stories.
tanjinjack
post Jun 12 2009, 02:36 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(pSyChE @ Jun 12 2009, 02:30 AM)
Hi!!
I`ll be enrolling in UNMC this September for Civil engineering course.

Well internet is an extremely important issue for me as well
I have applied for on-campus accomodation and i`m also thinking of taking SNS.
in fact what i`d like to know is the download speed..i guess i`ll be downloading a lot..hmm i might be using a rapidshare premium account..but do you know the speed for free user as well, that you get with SNS please?
what are your overall impressions in fact both on SNS and wifi that we get anywhere on campus?

Thx in advance for your help smile.gif
As mentioned earlier, speed is 512kbps for RM60+ per month.
You need to consider if that's fast or slow for you.

Rapidshare is doing quite good for the SNS connection with me managing to max out my download speed.
You need to understand that the IP is shared among students using SNS and rapidshare restricts 1 download to 1 IP with 15 minutes cooldown.
You may need to consider a Premium Account for this as i find myself a lot of times unable to download using rapidshare at peak hours like 8-12am etc.

tanjinjack
post Jun 12 2009, 03:24 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(pSyChE @ Jun 12 2009, 03:09 AM)
hmm ok, in fact i'm quite deceived..
I was expecting higher speed.. sweat.gif
I'm already using 512kbps speed internet..

well a premium account really helps though.
I did not know that IP was shared and I guess that IP is static as well. Am I right?

Here I can enjoy dynamic ip..so using free user for rapidshare is not really a problem since I can reset my router any time..lol

Hmm what download speed do you usually get form rapidshare when using free user?
Do you get the minimum 50kbps?

By the way do you face similar issues while using other host sites as well?

Thx smile.gif
I am not sure if the IP is static or not, that isn't important to me.

Yes, I can get 60KB/s of download speed by rapidshare.

Megaupload was once very slow but I do not know why it has been very good now.
Mediafire did well but not sure about now.
tanjinjack
post Jun 15 2009, 02:49 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(lovefoe @ Jun 15 2009, 02:11 PM)
The MBA in Nottingham required at least 3 yrs working experience. I have been working for 3.5 yrs. What else you want to know?

Added on June 15, 2009, 2:19 pmWhen I was in University for my undergrad, I studied in a campus town and there's only one row of shop and a few hypermarkets. Does that sound better or worse than Semenyih?
I guess worse.
Without a car, you are basically being prisoned in the campus.
Eat play study sleep all in the campus.

Semenyih town is about 5 minutes drive from the campus.
tanjinjack
post Jun 17 2009, 05:22 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Nayoro @ Jun 17 2009, 09:36 AM)
Get  more friends to hang out around with and you'll be fine xD
One thing I dislike, sports complex.. lights out at 11pm sharp =(
LOL, I just saw a car full of people with badminton racket arriving at the sports complex sharp at 11pm last night.

Well, 12am la..
11pm too early.
After dinner go play also about 9pm liao..

tanjinjack
post Jun 17 2009, 09:25 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Jun 17 2009, 06:49 PM)
after dinner play badminton.. wow who taught them health education
After dinner plus rest la, probably.
tanjinjack
post Jun 23 2009, 12:54 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(cheng89 @ Jun 22 2009, 10:20 PM)
hi..i'm new here! I got ques to ask u guys. smile.gif
i will join Nottingham next year (degree in mechanical eng.), i heard that Nottingham is very tough, how true is that?
Toughness is inversely proportional to the strength of your mind.
In short, it's about your mindset. Nothing is tough if you say it's not.

But, quite subjectively, I will still regard the course (Year 1 so far) as vigorous.
It aims to produce a graduate that is equipped with grounding knowledge of Mechanical Engineering as well as providing some extra skills.
We learn Pro|E (instead of Auto Cad, Solid Work etc.) which is a CAD software inclined more towards to Mechanical Engineer
We are introduced on programming so that we can use MATLAB for numerical analysis. For CFD, FLUENT is to be used as well (that's Year 3 anyway..).
I am not sure how well the other universities prepare their mechanical graduates on doing jobs on computers but I believe Nottingham sets a high bar on it.
Perhaps, that's what make Nottingham has a better reputation and also more expensive.
I don't think, other than Monash, there will be a university in Malaysia that can provide that large variety of softwares.
tanjinjack
post Jul 2 2009, 07:30 PM

4,122 posts

Want to ask senior, average 81% means good or not.
I just got my 1st sem result today and I got too surprised for such score.
I was told 1st class is very tough, but this mark seems to be showing otherwise as long as I maintain.
Will 1st class change its threshold if too many of them cross over the 70%?

My friends is even better, getting around 87%..
Is it normal for 1st year student to do like this?

I am aware that 1st year mark doesn't contribute to finals, but it does give some indication I guess.
tanjinjack
post Jul 4 2009, 12:31 AM

4,122 posts

Registration fee is when you register as a student. Your outcome of being admitted comes way before that.

There is NO application incurred for potential students, unlike other universities.
tanjinjack
post Jul 4 2009, 01:04 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jkkt87 @ Jul 4 2009, 12:59 AM)
so who i can forward my result to in order to know the whether i can enter the uni or not? have any emails of that person?
Basically, you start off with inquiries.
Then you proceed to a formal application.
Later, you choose to accept or reject offer.
Last but not least, you pay and register as a student.

Just go to the website and email admission office with your result.
They should inform you if your result is eligible for the course you apply or not.
If they give you good news, then it's time for you to get the application form and send it to the admission office so that they can process your application officially.
Then offer letter is given out, then you struggle to accept it or not..
Do note that for undergraduate (and postgraduate, too) application, you need to have a reference letter and personal statement (personal statement applies for foundation students, too.).

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:50 PM