14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

tanjinjack
post Apr 30 2009, 11:39 PM

4,122 posts

See my signature then know I Year 1 la..

You saw my name?
Why should my name appear there?
My story is part of the syllabus of Malaysian Studies?

Cannot be la...
tanjinjack
post Apr 30 2009, 11:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Apr 30 2009, 11:41 PM)
Lol, didn't notice that actually. So you know Kam Hing and Marcus Tan?
Don't know wor.
Hardly get to know the people la..
I join January and they all like already got groups already..

Didn't know many people yet except those coming in on Jan de la..
tanjinjack
post Apr 30 2009, 11:48 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 30 2009, 11:45 PM)
ur name appears on a namelist on the noticeboard outside the office...
er.. i think it says that u dun hav to take malaysian studies? or take Bm? not sure
Good good.
Yaya, I do not need to take those, cleared it before I come to Nottingham also.

Foudnation in Engineering are doing them on Saturday right? Pity you all..

tanjinjack
post May 1 2009, 12:48 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 30 2009, 11:56 PM)
yaluu, if not i would like to go back to penang today,
we study til thursday only..
if sat dun hav tat silly class, its 3 days free, kinda homesick
I shouldn't be teaching you to skip class right?
LOL..
I didn't teach you, ok?
tanjinjack
post May 5 2009, 01:09 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 30 2009, 11:42 PM)
anyone staying in Edu square here?
it looks nice and is very near to bridge behind school.
is it ok?
im staying at TTS4, everything is fine but i nid to cycle 1 km everyday juz to reach the bridge, not to meantion the distance i walk to my class..
so im considering to shift to Edu square when the rooom is avaible at this end of the may.. coz from what i see, the building is quite new, got guard, near, and clean
ahah
Didn't see dao this message until just now.

Well, I guess you need to know, Edu Square is not limited to that side only.
Cycle around TTS5. Every renovated house that looks like Edu Square is Edu Square.
You may not get placed in that real square.

It is not very safe if you live at the Edu Square not in the Square.
My friend who usually slept at 6am told me that he spotted 2 stupid thieves, trying to break into his house through window but fail.
So, thieves are around still.

But cannot blame la..
you see the dim roadlight.. how to scare off the thieves..

Added on May 5, 2009, 1:10 ambtw, anyone using SNS connection having problems browsing domains end with ac.uk?
Sometimes it's ok, sometimes it's not.

Hey, I can't even browse www.nottingham.ac.uk!

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 5 2009, 01:10 AM
tanjinjack
post May 16 2009, 06:02 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Wying @ May 16 2009, 12:44 AM)
I'm going to join UNMC this september, taking Applied Psychology and Management Studies.
Anyone in that course?
Could anyone give me brief description about the university itself? How about accommodation? On campus or off campus would be better?
Would there be a problem if I want to cook my own meal there? I mean, is it hard to get raw materials? coz i heard it's hard to get public transport there..
Thanks a lot.
Well, I'll try to tell what I know.
I believe, it's always an advantage to stay on-campus. You can wake up 5 minutes before lectures!
One of the nice thing I like about the on-campus is that you are under shade throughout the whole university.
As long as you are on-campus, there is no buildings where you can't get accessed to.
This is the advantage that I think off-campus can never beat.
Staying on-campus takes away a lot of troubles for staying off-campus. Room cleaning service is available upon request.
Any troubles can be directed to the accommodation office or hall tutors directly and their efficiency if what I am satisfied of.
(All of these are applicable for the university-arranged off-campus except for the shade.)

Off-campus (not university-arranged) are a lot more cheaper, especially you are staying at somewhere bit further, like Sunway Semenyih.
But, of course, for place like that, a car is a must.

Regarding cooking your own meal, it's very possible.
There are kitchens in each wing and in each unit (for university-arranged off-campus). You can certainly cook your own food.
The problem may be the storage of raw material especially when those frozen one because the fridge allocated is a bit limited I would say.
I won't bother to use it.

Raw material should be quite accessible as there are buses going Tesco Semenyih. Public transport is not hard to get. There's shuttle bus service which is free for UNMC student. It runs quite frequently from the University to Kajang KTM (which takes a 30 minutes ride).

Hope this helps you.

Added on May 16, 2009, 6:04 pmHey farscope, our advices are almost the same.
But can go The Store by bus la. There's bus to Semenyih Central, but not very frequent. Once a week or twice like that only.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 16 2009, 06:04 PM
tanjinjack
post May 19 2009, 03:44 PM

4,122 posts

Yeah, read that mail also.

Where the incident happens?
(I finished my exam and am at my hometown already.)
tanjinjack
post May 19 2009, 03:57 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ May 19 2009, 03:53 PM)
Awesome man for you. I have 2 more to go. Haih.

Any civil year 2 here?
Awesome your head la..
I still got Summer Semester to do, I join this January.
Wants to go do some internship also cannot.
But good thing is we enjoy small classes, make me feel that the 31k is more worthwhile than those join Sept, LOL!
Aw, anyone from January batches also?
tanjinjack
post May 19 2009, 04:11 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ May 19 2009, 04:08 PM)
Okok, sorry for starting the papers argument. Either way, we shall finish and enjoy our summer.

TanJinJack I feel sorry for you, but at least you feel your 31k is worth.  smile.gif

Anyway, may our condolences be with the student who passed away. I feel sorry.
Haha..
expensive la.. the tuition fee..
Now I afraid they hire someone else to teach us, don't know if something like that would happen or not.
And now I think will they come up with a new paper for us to sit?
Aw, many things la..

Yeah, my prayers is with the student.
tanjinjack
post May 19 2009, 04:31 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 19 2009, 04:14 PM)
jinjack u din get any discount for tuition fees?? if i m not wrong yr result ok wat.. hmm.gif

i noe the road is empty and wide, but pls dun speed ya.. esp u r not used to speeding..
Got discount.
Getting TER95 then got discount already.
But, frankly speaking la, if you can spend the money, 31k is worth it.
Better if you have the scholarship!

Ya la, road empty, red light --> GO!
tanjinjack
post May 19 2009, 04:55 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 19 2009, 04:40 PM)
well the thing is, the road is not empty.. if it is empty, he can beat the lights and stil be safe.

the reason it happened is cz there is a car stopped in front of him and he is unable to brake in time so he choose to turn but end up ramp over the divider..
So, you mean the car is speeding straight on Jalan Broga la.. not coming out from Nottingham itself lo..
Aw, so dangerous..
Next time when I got my car better be very careful..

Anyway, feel like this is going to be kopitiam thread already..
tanjinjack
post May 20 2009, 03:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ May 20 2009, 01:37 PM)
You know... there's like 4 opposite nottingham?

The hill there.
The one at hill ma.. not road..
We students raise fund build one la, shouldn't be very expensive also.
I sure support one.
Earth God knows is we students support one, sure bless us kao kao la..
haha..
tanjinjack
post May 20 2009, 04:29 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ May 20 2009, 04:28 PM)
jinjack... Next week new sem start d wor...
Don't tease me like that la...
I know you all got holidays..
tanjinjack
post May 23 2009, 02:33 PM

4,122 posts

Anyone has any idea or examples where lecturer can be changed if not satisfied?
tanjinjack
post May 23 2009, 02:55 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 23 2009, 02:44 PM)
change within his duration of teaching or change for the next batch?
Spring sem I took Engineering Maths 1, is he teaches la..
Then, I guess we asked the class rep to reflect this matter, then also fill in our opinion in the survey form already.
But then yesterday see the Summer sem timetable, he teaches back again.
Think not to attend his class liao de la..
Any idea?

Added on May 23, 2009, 2:58 pmProblem is it's cross-department la..
School of Maths and School of M3..

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 23 2009, 02:58 PM
tanjinjack
post May 23 2009, 04:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ May 23 2009, 03:46 PM)
Erm... All engineering maths student will be teach by lecturer from the School of Mathematical Sciences (if not mistaken, the name should be something like this).

Just like MM1ELS is Dr Fawaz, from Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Well, may be you can try ask your tutor or Dr Cheah about that? I dunno...

Added on May 23, 2009, 3:49 pmBtw, why you guys dont like this lecturer leh? Mind elaborate a bit?
You all don't know who teach ma..
Then we got Dr R*fi..

So..
Where to start hah..

He doesn't know what is Taylor's Series and why are we using Taylor's series for..
He's like, just study up, then come to the class, teaches what he studied, then read out from the note..

Then, we have the Newton's Law of Cooling ma.. in the application of calculus I think..
So, we have something like..
dTdt=k(T-To)..
T is temperature, To is surrounding temperature..
At that instant, he's trying to indicate that To=T, and before I try to shot him, he got shooted by others already..

Okay, older story, complex number..
To prove |z|+|w|>=|z+w|
So, we have a long long algebraic way to prove, in which he spends for 30 minutes to do it, despite having prepared for it.
But, I have a very simple and nice way, that is to use Argand diagram.
I feel that is correct, 100% correct, which is the way I use for my SAM.
But he says cannot, probably due to egoism.. (because the time I proposed my answer is when he's scratching his head for his algebraic way.

Then still got the Echoleon form for the matrices.
We have RREF=row reduction echoleon form, and the other is just echoleon form ma..
He messes that two up again..

Then his assignment..
Set wrong question, refuse to say sorry..
Then when there's only 2 days to deadline, he changed the questions..
At first we say the eigenvalue in decimals, tough to do, then he says "just continue and do it"...
Then later, he changed the question. One of my classmate handed up his assignments already, and he just said "redo,". I mean he should not let him redo right?

Assignment again..
He's made a typo in his assignment, something sinh and cosh one.. (we also don't know what is that, he gave us as hint..)
Then we use that hint he gave lo..
2 days before deadline, he changed the hint, say he gave wrongly liao..
So, a typo changed twice?

So far, I only feel that he has good command in those numerical method only.. like the Newton-Rapshon..
But others, I feel I am at least on par of him la..

This sem I can survive, because 80% of the thing I learned before..
Next sem how?
Cannot die la..

Added on May 23, 2009, 4:10 pmFawaz..
Hahaha..
gnn kns!

Exact questions from past year, and damn it.. I did UK papers, not Malaysia paper..

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 26 2009, 02:48 PM
tanjinjack
post May 23 2009, 06:43 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ May 23 2009, 05:18 PM)
Wow... Sounds terrible!

Then go ahead! Try talk to your tutor and see what can you do. Or, you can find Dr Cheah and talk to him. I believe he will be able to give you some advice!
Dr Cheah my tutor lo..
Emailed him, and got directed to Dr Stewart..
When lectures start first only we see la..
But will try our best to change him!

Added on May 23, 2009, 6:44 pmfarscope,

Mind to tell us what steps have you taken in complaining him?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 23 2009, 06:44 PM
tanjinjack
post May 23 2009, 07:46 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Roy33 @ May 23 2009, 07:33 PM)
i want to ask, when is the intake of nottingham? besides september. i would like to enroll for next year
This is the intake for 2009, and should hold true for following year I guess.
http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Students/Admi...es/intakes.aspx
tanjinjack
post May 24 2009, 08:49 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(hellriser @ May 24 2009, 08:43 PM)
i'm joining this sept. man i feel nervous. em just wanna ask, how bout scholarship eh? i mean, do i go apply for a loan now or after i register? then how bout accommodation? if i wanna stay on campus, i have to apply now? how bout offcampus? is it easy to find? btw, i'm will be doing biz economics and management. direct entry to 2nd year. just hentam when i'm applying.lol. ohh, majority of the students are from msia or outside?
There are the 25% discount of scholarship offered by the university. You need to check with the respective department/school if you are eligible for it or not. It's non-competitive, meaning that as long as you hit a requirement then you'll get it.

A brief summary for the on/off-campus option, from earlier thread.

Well, I'll try to tell what I know.
I believe, it's always an advantage to stay on-campus. You can wake up 5 minutes before lectures!
One of the nice thing I like about the on-campus is that you are under shade throughout the whole university.
As long as you are on-campus, there is no buildings where you can't get accessed to.
This is the advantage that I think off-campus can never beat.
Staying on-campus takes away a lot of troubles for staying off-campus. Room cleaning service is available upon request.
Any troubles can be directed to the accommodation office or hall tutors directly and their efficiency if what I am satisfied of.
(All of these are applicable for the university-arranged off-campus except for the shade.)

Off-campus (not university-arranged) are a lot more cheaper, especially you are staying at somewhere bit further, like Sunway Semenyih.
But, of course, for place like that, a car is a must.

If you have car, you can go to stay outside, further from UNMC or TTS. You can stay at.. Bandar Sunway Semenyih or somewhere near the Tesco Semenyih.

Added on May 24, 2009, 8:50 pmMost students are Malaysians, mostly Chinese.
International students are made up of a lot of nationalities, and unlike other institutions in Malaysia, there are almost no China students, except Ningbo exchange students.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 24 2009, 08:50 PM
tanjinjack
post May 25 2009, 12:58 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 25 2009, 12:54 AM)
it's better for me not to disclose his name here.. who knows he might lurk around LYN??  blink.gif  blink.gif
Lurk lurk la..
Everywhere we also gossip about the celebrities, as if they won't know about it?

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0529sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:24 AM