14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

tanjinjack
post Sep 21 2009, 12:14 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Sep 20 2009, 10:48 PM)
Yup, empty for one more week.
After that, it'll be so packed you'll wish for the former.  tongue.gif

Added on September 20, 2009, 11:03 pm

Don't think so. But no harm asking and trying.

Reason why I don't think so is:
If they do, they'll have more people getting the same thing = less revenue.
Personally I feel that they provide scholarship for students entering 1st year from A-Levels or other qualifications is to attract new students = more revenue. And if you score below 60% average in any one academic year, you automatically lose the scholarship and cannot regain it again (that's stated in their website) = again, another chance for more revenue, recovering the initial reduction in revenue from giving out scholarships to new students.
But if they can put up something like that, they can get more revenue as well.
Imagine that they attract students to come and study at full cost, and at a possible way where they will remain at full cost as well.
tanjinjack
post Sep 21 2009, 12:38 AM

4,122 posts

That's the fault of the marketing staff if the marketing staff ever told the person that such scholarship can be applied. It's the fault of the person himself/herself that he/she does not find out if foundation is qualified for the newspaper scholarships. If it's the former, it can become a sue case, because that person got cheated.

Nonetheless, if it's the newspaper scholarships, it's by the newspapers, as far as I am concerned.

tanjinjack
post Sep 23 2009, 10:22 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Sep 23 2009, 10:15 PM)
Emm...so i need to attend the one on the 25th (registration), or the 28th (enrolment), or both? lol
You still need to do registration, hmm?
I guess you do it both together, on the same day, like the new student.
tanjinjack
post Sep 23 2009, 10:54 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(woody rooney @ Sep 23 2009, 10:44 PM)
thanx a lot,mate...do u know how long does it take?
I think 15-30 minutes depending on how much have you done earlier.
If you have already sent in all certified copies, then it should be faster.
tanjinjack
post Sep 24 2009, 01:27 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jamiefox @ Sep 24 2009, 12:52 AM)
anyone?? urgent!!  icon_question.gif
Email the person who sends us the enrolment information (Patrick is the name?) should yield you the answer.
tanjinjack
post Sep 25 2009, 11:04 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(chemaster @ Sep 25 2009, 10:52 PM)
I really wished to attend the uni at the 25th but things didn't go well, however everything is back again, but i might be able to reach there at the 29th of sep can i still register?I really had no choice and this was a financial issue as i was promised to be sponsored by an organization but later this organization didn't fulfil its promise, but thank God that i found a solution but a bit late.Is there anyone who hasn't reached malaysia yet?
I believe as long as it's within the 1st week or two of the semester, you can still register and enrol and be a student here.
Take your time.
tanjinjack
post Sep 26 2009, 08:01 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 26 2009, 06:13 PM)
the orange faculty building.. block E i think..
That's Faculty of Social Science isn't it? How come a BSc program goes under there?
tanjinjack
post Sep 26 2009, 11:20 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(mying @ Sep 26 2009, 11:18 PM)
Is the accomodation office open tomorrow (sunday 26th sept)? Planning to ask them about refund cause i dont think i wana stay on campus.
No. Monday yes.
tanjinjack
post Sep 26 2009, 11:29 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(mying @ Sep 26 2009, 11:24 PM)
in the booklet they mention there is a 48 hours cooling period, i checked in on friday, the due date is should be sunday. Will they still accpet if i tell them on monday?
I believe there is no problem for that.
It can't be that all people entering on Friday will not be having their cooling period, right?

But to be on the safe side, send in an email. If it's within the 48 hours period, they can't argue too much.
If they want to argue and refuse, just come here. We can bring up the case.
tanjinjack
post Sep 27 2009, 12:42 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jianwei90 @ Sep 27 2009, 12:32 AM)
are we allowed to use file sharing website like sendspace, rapidshare, using SND service.
Yes, no problem with rapidshare and all that. But you can't use torrent, eMule and similar P2P technology.
tanjinjack
post Sep 27 2009, 10:15 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jianwei90 @ Sep 27 2009, 01:44 AM)
what is the speed like jack?
If you use SNS in the hostel, the best you can get is 60KB/S, the speed for a 512kbps connection and that costs about RM65 per month.
If you use the WiFi (free one) in the academic block, computer labs, etc. the speed can go very high, and I have once hit 300KB/S, but that's really a time where most people don't get online.
tanjinjack
post Sep 28 2009, 11:54 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 28 2009, 09:37 PM)
FYI...

the SNS service is now free.. it is due to the increase of rm25 in rental.. in the 3 front halls... the speed is 128kbps...

u just have to present urself in pangkor hall with the port number ( found on the port in ur room) register urself for a user name.. and get urself a lan cable... its rm10 for 2 meters in sns.. which is a rip off..
I didn't know that. Good one, btw. I am not a heavy downloader!
tanjinjack
post Sep 30 2009, 08:31 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Sep 30 2009, 08:15 PM)
Brogla's food (about 50 meters after passing by jia xiang) is not bad too.

But don't go there during peak hours/season e.g. weekend evening. Coz they wanna serve "big" customers e.g. families, and becoz of that they "choi kao u.... wait la..."  Da*n stuck up practice... but their food is quite good, try going during the afternoon.
I don't find the food there nice wor.. I feel Jia Xiang very good.
There are few chances that my family and I went there for meals and we all give a big thumb-up for the food.
tanjinjack
post Oct 2 2009, 12:10 AM

4,122 posts

Batusai,

I saw you few times these days, did I?
Not sure if it's you or not. LOL!!
tanjinjack
post Oct 2 2009, 03:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(eugene90 @ Oct 2 2009, 10:36 AM)
>how does batusai look like? it's my honour to bump into him anyway...

>anybody is selling books in good shape? at this moment i need these...
1) fluid mechanics by Frank M. White. (book store price - Rm 74)
2) engineering mechanics statistics by R.C. Hibbeler (book store price - Rm70)

PM me if anyone has any.. :>
Not the Kenshin that Batusai la.. he's just a normal person with normal look and live normally I guess. LOL..

Eugene, if you are picking up Mechanical or Mechatronics, to my experience, there is no need of purchasing the text book. The lecture notes will be sufficient for Solid Mechanics and Fluid Mechanics already, and hey, the lecturers are among the best in the department!
But if you are picking up any modules outside of the Mechaincal department, then I have no idea if you need those books or not.
tanjinjack
post Oct 4 2009, 04:26 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 3 2009, 10:54 PM)
lolz.. no idea on whos gonna organize... hahaa..

@eugene
yea.. i know that certificate thing... it just doenst come out in my browser.. its not connected at all.. the port seems to have problem...

Added on October 3, 2009, 10:55 pm

don quite get it.. why sad??
Cable might have problem, you sure the cable ok?
Or you think your computer has your network adapter correctly installed (or not corrupted)?
tanjinjack
post Oct 5 2009, 06:26 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 4 2009, 11:01 PM)
nope.. cable confirm no problem. cos i tried with my frens port.. works...

computer adapter no prob if can use fren's line lor..

guess its da port problem.. tmr gonna complain..

btw.. have u guys heard... the sns network wifi is just one month free... and a new system will be introduced.. and the rate will increase..
No idea with the new system things, but let's see what will happen.
We can fight for our rights, don't worry.
tanjinjack
post Oct 10 2009, 01:18 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(evanesence117 @ Oct 10 2009, 12:53 AM)
I think I left my external hard disk in the computer lab. What do you guys suggest I do???
Put up notice, inform Gerard about it ba..
Then, prepare money for a new one probably..
tanjinjack
post Oct 11 2009, 12:01 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Oct 10 2009, 11:08 PM)
look at how many new students they take in malaysia campus can tell the fall in quality ald.
In addition, most of the regional UK rankings show a drop of ranking in Nottingham.
Someone commented that it's because Nottingham is at the stage of expanding, as they take in more students, setting up more new things etc.
So, I believe after a few years, when the expanding rewards, we can see some sharp rise again!
tanjinjack
post Oct 11 2009, 02:52 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Oct 11 2009, 04:51 AM)
http://extras.timesonline.co.uk/tol_gug/go...ersityguide.php

Overall it's at 20th place in the UK.

I've checked engineering programmes it's 9th in the UK for mechanical engineering, 10th for Civil and 20th for E&E.

For Accounting and Finance it's 9th in UK.

I guess I prefer this table.. haha
But yeah, I think Nottingham has dropped since the past year.

Compared to the QS table, this table doesn't factor in proportion of international students.

Added on October 11, 2009, 4:55 am

Really hope it doesn't deteriorate more in the rankings smile.gif

Rankings will give us another point of reference to instil into people's perception & clear some minority's doubt that we originate from a quality background.
There's actually one ranking showing Nottingham's Pharmacy to be No. 1 in the UK. I think it's the Complete University Guide 2009, or Guardian?

But hey, Nottingham is still one of the best university in the world.

To quote, Nottingham claims themselves to be No. 4 in Engineering research power and several No. 1 in some other fields, in the UK.
I mean 'claim themselves' because the reference they use is from RAE, Research Assessment Exercise which gives no ranking. The ranking is what done by Nottingham themselves, by quoting the percentage of 4* and 4 I believe.

Anyway, I find that I feel Nottingham Malaysia to be very good and I don't feel myself inferior to Monash even once.

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:00 PM