4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 08:21 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(watever77 @ Nov 16 2008, 08:10 AM)
so is this safe ? the word hack a bit worrying .. hehe ..

so with this program ill be able to download demos and then transfer it to the ps3

without connecting ps3 to the internet eh ? just wired between laptop - ps3 ?
hahaha... we are not "hacking" as in doing the bad thing.

"hacks" has many meanings. One could mean doing something good, while the other could mean something bad (with intention to harm).

Our case here is to use an alternative solution to solve our problem (hence the word "hack").

Conclusion, it is 100% safe.

You do need an Internet connection and a PC to achieve this. As I have mentioned, our objective here is to download updates/demos faster. So what this PC proxy program does is it will try to intercept

So your setup has to be the following:

PS3 ---> PC ---> Internet

What's happening is, your PC will be turned into a "proxy server" (by installing the PC proxy program). Then you need to set up your PS3 in the proxy server settings to point to your PC. Only then the magic can happen. Once you start to download a demo, you will immediately see the direct link of your demo in the logs of the proxy program. By using the direct link, you can then put it into your favourite download manager to download faster than the PS3's own download manager.

Added on November 16, 2008, 8:26 am
QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 15 2008, 09:43 PM)
Anyone here using PS3 streaming with TVersity? Lately i have been running it fine, and it streams .avi files well, but since i updated to 2.52 today, the playback has been choppy. It stutters randomly sad.gif
Hmm... That's weird. Another thing that I sugget you to check is your network and your PC running the TVersity server. Is your memory enough? Does it "hangs" while streaming to your PS3? I usually got the problem like yours when my PC start to have little memory (too many processes)

I've updated to firmware to 2.52, and I don't find any problems with TVersity streaming. Watched two vidcast for two hours last Sunday, and it was running smoothly.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 16 2008, 08:33 AM
geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 08:36 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(watever77 @ Nov 16 2008, 08:31 AM)
how do i link my ps3 and pc ? read the webpage geekster gave but i understand that we need to

set them in a `network` ..  my problem is i dont have internet at home ..  hmm.gif
You need an Internet connection to download updates/demos from the Playstation servers. Please check this thread's FAQ for more information.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/769411

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 16 2008, 08:37 AM
geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 08:45 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 16 2008, 08:40 AM)
hmm..i think i may have solved my issue of both PSN logins and tversity.

i just tried to put the PS3 in DMZ..and so far, connection was a breeze.

or maybe my router just needed a power cycle. hopefully DMZ does the trick though.  sweat.gif
Turning on UPnP on your router will do the trick too.

Putting you PS3 into the DMZ simply means in your router's language:

"Allow whatever incoming connection to the PS3. No restrictions apply to the PS3."
geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 08:57 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 16 2008, 08:54 AM)
yeap exactly. actually i had UPnP enabled since day 1, and haven't had problems before 2.52. Since 2.52, always had my connections to PSN drop..sometimes so frequent..sometimes couldn't even log in.

so i tried rebooting the router to get a 'good' IP..at first it kinda worked, but yesterday my DLNA started acting up, tversity going bonkers and my connection just started to be sucky again.

i don't know why, but couldn't reinstall 2.52 using the recovery menu and a thumbdrive, so i tried to DMZ and so far i tried, connection to PSN was faster and tversity didn't DC.

but of course, i don't want to be happy too early. let's see how it goes..  biggrin.gif
I would be interested to know how it goes.

Good Luck smile.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 16 2008, 08:58 AM
geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 10:08 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 16 2008, 09:55 AM)
ask and thou shall receive!

i knew i spoketh too sooneth. when i tried to connect my ps3 now...it says DNS error.

i followed the DMZ guide for PS3:

- set my PS3 ip manually
- Default Router - router ip
- DNS Primary & secondary - same as default router
- set DMZ in router page, host ip = ps3 IP
it was working FINE yesterday! what gives?

any tips?  rclxub.gif are my DNS settings right?

ADDED:

ok now i'm really puzzled. i just tried to reset the network settings to easy settings, everything auto. just to test if the default settings are ok.

NOW, the PS3 couldn't even obtain an IP address. and when i check..it has the 169.XX.XX ip...which means it doesn't connect to the router right?

is this a router issue, or is my PS3 network card acting up?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
So far connection settings is OK. If it's working fine yesterday, my guess now is on your Internet portion.

Try to do a master reset (power off using the master power on PS3, turn back on again after 5 minutes). You would also want to make sure you got the IP of 60.*. See if it works again. Make sure you see NAT Type 2 (PS3 behind a router)

I got the same problem DNS error, over and over again. Then I restarted my PS3 and it works fine. I suspect that the PS3 has cached the DNS settings and you would need to get it to refresh it.

Added on November 16, 2008, 10:12 am
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 16 2008, 09:55 AM)
ask and thou shall receive!

i knew i spoketh too sooneth. when i tried to connect my ps3 now...it says DNS error.

i followed the DMZ guide for PS3:

- set my PS3 ip manually
- Default Router - router ip
- DNS Primary & secondary - same as default router
- set DMZ in router page, host ip = ps3 IP
it was working FINE yesterday! what gives?

any tips?  rclxub.gif are my DNS settings right?

ADDED:

ok now i'm really puzzled. i just tried to reset the network settings to easy settings, everything auto. just to test if the default settings are ok.

NOW, the PS3 couldn't even obtain an IP address. and when i check..it has the 169.XX.XX ip...which means it doesn't connect to the router right?

is this a router issue, or is my PS3 network card acting up?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

for the sake of troubleshooting, my PC connection to the internet/network is FINE.
Did you have DHCP turned on in your router? You will get 169.*.*.* IP when there's a DHCP problem. Check your router settings.

Then if you got it up, wait for a while until you can obtain a new IP. I'm not sure how to repair connection in the PS3 as there is no direct way of doing it like in a PC. (PC we can use the ipconfig/ ifconfig command). But I find it most of the time that let your PS3 off for some time should do the same trick... weird.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 16 2008, 10:16 AM
geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 10:18 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Nov 16 2008, 10:13 AM)
thanks! well..what i did was, i just unplugged the cable from my switch (i forgot to mention that my PS3 is connected to a switch with some other PCs in the network), and it seems that it was all good after that.

i'll keep your tip in mind! sucks that i need to do all this when everything was fine and breezy before.  shakehead.gif
no problem. We all learn from experience.
geekster129
post Nov 16 2008, 04:01 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 16 2008, 02:44 PM)
Tried WMP11 and still no difference sad.gif. The stuttering is still there. Bleh. Must be the 2.52 firmware
Does the stuttering happens for all types of video formats?
geekster129
post Nov 17 2008, 10:28 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ycs1218 @ Nov 17 2008, 10:04 PM)
I downloaded a PS3 game online. Can i share that game with other PS3 console? I mean no need with extra payment. Last time i read an article, it mentions we can share the downloaded game with another 4 PS3. Do  i right ?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/769411/+1100
geekster129
post Nov 23 2008, 08:56 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(kerollowyat @ Nov 22 2008, 11:43 AM)
After update to latest firmware - 2.52, can not sign in to PSN. Got error.
Now can not, play certain .avi files. Not sure if this something related to the firmware. Maybe the video got problem.
Using firmware 2.52 here

No problem signing in to PSN. Maybe you need to check your connection. Most of the time when I can't sign in to PSN is when I'm experiencing bad connection.

May I know what kind of .avi files that you play? The PS3 is very picky on the AVI files that you can play. You need to

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 23 2008, 09:29 AM
geekster129
post Nov 23 2008, 01:56 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(japboy @ Nov 23 2008, 12:30 PM)
how to safely remove the thumbdrive?? or i just pull off, like  don't need to click anything??
and how to change theme from thumbdrive??try already but it show no theme found...
Yeah.. just pull it out. I did it most of the time. Hehe.

To change the theme, you need to create a PS3>THEME folder and put your .p3t file in there. Then, go to System Settings->Theme Settings, then select Install theme.

Also, make sure that your thumbdrive is formatted as FAT32.
geekster129
post Nov 26 2008, 05:32 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

A PS3 -> PC -> Internet is a bare minimum setup
geekster129
post Nov 29 2008, 07:34 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ariff.omar @ Nov 29 2008, 01:18 AM)
how to play ps3 online game using celcom broadband.is it possible??
You need to connect the 3G modem onto your PC and set up an Internet Connection Sharing. Then from your PC, you can connect to your PS3 to access the Internet.

Bear in mind. It's going to be very slow. I'm not sure if 3.5G HSDPA will be faster.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 29 2008, 07:35 AM
geekster129
post Nov 29 2008, 08:23 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(lil_chocobo @ Nov 29 2008, 08:23 AM)
dont la...better use streamyx...
streamyx sux
geekster129
post Nov 29 2008, 03:51 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

create a folder in your pendrive

PS3\THEME

put your .p3t file into the PS3\THEME folder

make sure also that your pendrive is formatted as FAT32.

Then the XMB should be able to detect your theme file.
geekster129
post Dec 1 2008, 03:21 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Dec 1 2008, 03:08 PM)
Not really sure for PS2 though as last time I got a good advice from a shopkeeper to NOT playing the DVD movies too much on PS2 as it would degrade the len's life faster.

Maybe because I'm running pirated Dvd movies perhaps? tongue.gif
I watched movies on my PS2 for more than 4 hours off a thumbdrive. After 4 hours, the PS2 is not even hot at all...No disc spinning required.
geekster129
post Dec 1 2008, 04:30 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(camron @ Dec 1 2008, 04:24 PM)
wat is the Playstation®Home Beta all abt?
i got the email from them...

i got email from play-asia coupons too...
i tot that is spam emails.. lolz...
Playstation Home is something like The Sims 2 whereby you can customize yourself and hang around in a virtual space with your friends just like There or Second Life.

You should try it out. It's fun.
geekster129
post Dec 1 2008, 11:31 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Dec 1 2008, 06:22 PM)
thanx adik vorchiel tongue.gif
so the ones who cant play gta4 R2 because playing lower than 720p rite?

Added on December 1, 2008, 9:24 pmyup. can play it. check at the back of the cover. tongue.gif
Yup. Already proven by me. sweat.gif
geekster129
post Dec 4 2008, 01:38 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Dec 4 2008, 12:12 PM)
I did my homework like a good little boy wink.gif

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136314

You only save few seconds in load time with 72000rpm and no difference in in-game performance. And the extra heat generated can be trouble after a while, who knows?
72k or 7,200 RPM?

Quite confusing here

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 4 2008, 01:48 PM
geekster129
post Dec 4 2008, 02:03 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Dec 4 2008, 01:59 PM)
Aiyah, extra zero typo lor
Hahaha... Why I'm asking this is because this HDD is also marketed as 72k, but in fact is 7.2k.

http://www.etech4sale.com/308848/seagate-s...drive-18.2.html
geekster129
post Dec 5 2008, 11:16 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Dec 5 2008, 10:44 AM)
Since I got the ps3 I've spent many hours reading up on networking. DMZ, Port forwarding, MTU tweaking etc...I've done it all. I've concluded that at the end of the day you are at the mercy of your streamyx line. Right now I'm trying to figure out if certain ip blocks gives better connection...
Try the 60.* IP range. Find it stable with PSN.

You are right. It won't do much improvement tweaking the port settings and putting your PS3 on the DMZ, as you know that our ISP is quite notorious in blocking connection and the wonders of their QoS (Quality of Service).

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 5 2008, 11:18 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0195sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:51 AM