8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

~ Scorpion ~ V2, Any newbies or owner pls post here.

rafiqos
post Jan 20 2009, 04:03 PM

464 posts

If you ever, ever, ever feel like you want to give up your scorpion. PM me oneoone, I'm serious.

Btw, your scorpion is likely a Heterometrus longimanus borneensis. Normal planting soil works fine.
rafiqos
post Jan 20 2009, 04:47 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(oneoone1o1 @ Jan 20 2009, 04:26 PM)
ok..will do..but i think i won't give up on it..been wanting to get this thing long time ago..and pet shops around aren't selling anymore nowadays..so this considered my luck  rclxms.gif
Good good. Keep it well and keep looking for more. Chances are you'll find more around your house, Lol! Captive breeding them will be an awesome treat!
rafiqos
post Jan 21 2009, 01:37 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 21 2009, 01:12 PM)
just cut away the venom part at the end of their tail, then can play edi, they wont die 1. i did that before  tongue.gif
God will punish you for that.

"Please good God, punish him for that." nod.gif
rafiqos
post Jan 21 2009, 02:22 PM

464 posts

I LOLed at the above statement.

Only two people I personally know had deaths with their hottentotta slings, one just as hard headed as the other.
rafiqos
post Jan 21 2009, 08:16 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Jan 21 2009, 03:04 PM)

Added on January 21, 2009, 3:07 pmhi rafiqos
mind if i ask u a question ? the scorpion Hottentotta hottentotta reali can reproduce without  a mate ?? i mean self reproduce ???

If you're into reading, here are some materials that may be of particular interest. If you need more literature, tell me.

Link 1
Confirmation of reproduction by parthenogenesis in Hottentotta hottentotta
W. R. LOURENÇO & E. YTHIER

Link 2
Parthenogenesis in scorpions: Some history
LOURENÇO W. R.

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jan 21 2009, 07:34 PM)
I got myself a Yellow Fat ass Tail juz nw
Be very careful with it Ryo. No pun here.
rafiqos
post Jan 22 2009, 12:04 PM

464 posts

Nice setup pics there. It's worth the effort, right..? The enclosure magnifies the beauty of these little beasts 10x. Congrats.

P/s:
1.You may want to have the rock laying solid on the base of the aquarium to avoid it collapsing on your little one while burrowing.
2. I also noticed that the black exoterra substrate is not really the best choice when it comes to scorpions. You will almost certainly find it sticking to the tail end. But it does make for a nice contrast. Still having my Australis on the substrate for this selfish reason. Lol!
rafiqos
post Jan 22 2009, 12:40 PM

464 posts

Yes I do. Never bothered sexing. Lol!

Here's a pictie for shares anyway.

rafiqos
post Jan 22 2009, 01:01 PM

464 posts

Looks like a stubborn subadult who has refused to moult from July till now.
rafiqos
post Jan 22 2009, 02:22 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jan 22 2009, 01:03 PM)
That's my worst nightmare i can ever imagine for a desert sp
Fasting for almost 6months and not yet molt....
Wonder how u keep it hydrated...
I heard from my fren that he get mycosis even with juz light spray on the wall lol!!!
It get's water from its food. I only do very light misting on one side of the wall once a month. Australis aren't known to be very big on moulting so I'm not really worried yet.
rafiqos
post Jan 23 2009, 12:51 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jan 22 2009, 11:41 PM)
I wanna know... If I decide to house several AFSs together, do I need to provide a hide for each one? I suddenly thought that if I provide only 1 big hide, they'll come into contact and chances of fighting is higher.
Key to squabbles and cannibalism in AFS is food. Tackle food and you most probably will have a successful communal setup right from the early instars.

QUOTE(rafiqos @ Jan 1 2009, 11:48 AM)

My fussy eater finally moulted on Tuesday. Happy new year everyone.

After moult pic. A precious little Chocolate Morph Babycurus Jacksoni resting after a tiring day.

This post has been edited by rafiqos: Jan 23 2009, 12:52 PM
rafiqos
post Jan 23 2009, 06:55 PM

464 posts

Dia tak mau makan.

Added on January 23, 2009, 7:01 pm

This post has been edited by rafiqos: Jan 23 2009, 07:03 PM
rafiqos
post Jan 29 2009, 10:57 PM

464 posts

Pictures for shares.

Heterometrus spinifer tank. I have 5 of my first scorpions housed in here.

Tityus stigmurus setup.

and a Malayan Freshwater Crab (Johora sp.)? We found this together at FRIM, right Wilson? You looked like you were enjoying the hike, right before beginning to look pale and wanting to puke. Lol wtf wilson. I'm sure Liette will love you for that..

This post has been edited by rafiqos: Jan 29 2009, 10:59 PM
rafiqos
post Jan 30 2009, 08:11 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Jan 29 2009, 11:40 PM)
nice tank

is it make of glass or plastic ??? wat is the dim of the tank ?
thanks tongue.gif
It's glass s12345. What is dim? I don't get you.

QUOTE(pokmaster @ Jan 29 2009, 11:45 PM)
Nice errrr crab?
I know la you breed pubic crabs (Pthius pubis)...told you to stay away from those red light districts. They aren't real women anyway, just normal men with gender issues. ph34r.gif Stay safe boi..

QUOTE(rideon @ Jan 29 2009, 11:54 PM)
never thought of a tank that way.. mayb i get one myself.. save space in a way.. but less width for the lil critter to move about.. But again, nice tank.. how much u paid for it??
It's a second hand aquarium filter tank rideon. Cost me RM15. Spent quite some time converting it tho.
rafiqos
post Jan 30 2009, 03:58 PM

464 posts

Those containers can be found in local plastic shops. Tall ones going for RM2.50.

Tell me if you can't find some near you. I'll post 10 containers there for 3 AFS scorplings you can find around Sabah. Trade? unsure.gif
rafiqos
post Jan 30 2009, 06:10 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Jan 30 2009, 04:28 PM)
hi
are the AFS scorpions im sabah different from the ones in west malaysia ???? drool.gif
Yes they are.
rafiqos
post Jan 30 2009, 07:26 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Jan 30 2009, 06:16 PM)
juz as i tot .. pls enlighten some light me
many thanks smile.gif
Fran Kovarik's Review on the Heterometrus genus suggests slight variations between the mainland (West Malaysia) scorpions to those found in Borneo.

What we can find in West Malaysia is limited to H. spinifer, H. longimanus and possibly small populations of H. Petersii (up in the northern regions). I am also looking for more information on another large black scorpion from the genus Palamnaeus that is either a fact or a myth. The ones shown in yhuii's picture are possibly H. longimanus borneensis.

More literature from Fran Kovarik available here: Link

rafiqos
post Jan 30 2009, 10:55 PM

464 posts

This thread has begun to dispense free ignorant advice. If you get caught with a well packed bug on you/your baggage(that is not declared and doesn't carry proper papers), the act is considered an offense. It's called smuggling.

And no matter what you do to try and explain, the customs will not quarantine shito for you and send it to your home one week later. You may end up with just a slap on the wrist if you're lucky enough. If you're not, then it is going to be a whole different story. If you don't know how to, at least educate yourself enough before unfolding on others your innate genius masterplans.

And to those free advice dispensers, why don't you try thinking thrice before posting. It makes this thread look stupid don't you think? My 2 kupang.
rafiqos
post Jan 30 2009, 11:03 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jan 30 2009, 11:00 PM)
Deepest apologize, Rafiqos
Don't appologize lah..just hoping that people don't get trapped by nonsensical theories.
rafiqos
post Feb 2 2009, 08:26 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Feb 2 2009, 12:28 AM)
Now i wonder where can i get these stuff...
Casting Resin
Resin Catalyst (sometimes included with resin)
Mold Release and Conditioner

All these things are available in the material testing lab at my work place. But the materials guy here is arachnophobic. I brought a scorpling for him to help me work on and he literally ran away. Literally.

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Feb 2 2009, 01:19 AM)
Thx Andrew for suggesting, will go check it out if i can find any near my area
Anw, =(

Nice scorpion. But are you sure about the freezing part? Freezing crystalizes water inside the body of the scorpion and makes for a whole lot of mess when you finally want to work on it. I've read before that chilling(not as low as freezing temp) a corpse works better.
rafiqos
post Feb 3 2009, 11:13 PM

464 posts

Guess the species. smile.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0211sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:28 AM