RTM HD is now broadcasting Bejiing Olympic, New channel just added live broadcasting

TSKiding
post Aug 8 2008, 08:30 PM, updated 18y ago

1,135 posts

Please now use your digital TV to scan for new channel, the RTM HD is now broadcasting Bejing Olympic 2008 live in HD format

My Kworld PlusTV can pick up the signal but it is slow motion, picture quality is better than SD.

arremie
post Aug 8 2008, 08:41 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Can't find. What frequency? VHF? UHF?
TSKiding
post Aug 8 2008, 08:47 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 8 2008, 08:41 PM)
Can't find. What frequency? VHF? UHF?
it is H2.64 DVB-T digital signal, you must use DVB-T compliance tv tuner to receive it.
madguy88
post Aug 8 2008, 08:48 PM

822 posts

lolz....how to do it ..??

press standby button ... doh.gif sweat.gif or ...??

what channel ??
arremie
post Aug 8 2008, 08:50 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 8 2008, 08:47 PM)
it is H2.64 DVB-T digital signal, you must use DVB-T compliance tv tuner to receive it.
How do I know I have one? Only PC TV card has this? What about LCD/Plasma TV?
madguy88
post Aug 8 2008, 08:51 PM

822 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 8 2008, 09:47 PM)
is it a device ??

ohic...then i need to forget about it .... coz i dont have such device..... cry.gif sad.gif
azbro
post Aug 8 2008, 09:09 PM

4,403 posts

How much?...hardware and subscription?
TSKiding
post Aug 8 2008, 09:10 PM

1,135 posts

it is digital TV signal, not the analog TV signal, most of the TV tuner or PC TV is analog version, if you are not unsure, you need to find out whether your tuner is DVB-T compliance.

I'm not sure the plasma/LCD TV can receive digital TV or not, if you can see the function to scan digital TV, then try it.

It is free and it is testing signal, RTM may broadcast HDTV next year or later
rx330
post Aug 8 2008, 11:31 PM

11,808 posts

u can get dvb t for pc, usb type
TSKiding
post Aug 9 2008, 01:22 AM

1,135 posts

The RTM HD Channel is broadcasting FULL HD content, 1920 x 1080 25fps with 15Mbps bit rate, pretty good quality, I believe this is the first FULL HD broadcast in Malaysia. no wonder when I watched it , it is slow motion, need to find out whether it is my H.264 decoder issue or not.
arremie
post Aug 9 2008, 01:33 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Hmmm...RTM beat Astro in HD broadcast? Unlikely but a surprise welcome though. I don't think my Sony LCD stated anywhere about digital TV. I thought HDTV should be digital tongue.gif
dattebayo
post Aug 9 2008, 01:38 AM

5,366 posts

of course HDTV is in digital lol
99% HD ready TV in Malaysia do not equipped with HDTV tuner, u need to get one urself.
arremie
post Aug 9 2008, 01:41 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Ouch my bad then. Why call HDTV then if the tuner is not digital? Should be called "HDTV" laugh.gif
Where to get this digital tuner? Brand/Price/Place?
dattebayo
post Aug 9 2008, 01:43 AM

5,366 posts

because malaysia follows european standard which is DVB, normally they won't have internal tuner for that, USA is different story

i think LYP got sell the PC tuner, USB type with antenna one
myhotgary2
post Aug 9 2008, 01:50 AM

617 posts

wow...at last rtm is doing sth right

Added on August 9, 2008, 1:50 amwatch gerak khas and stuff like that on HD lol

Added on August 9, 2008, 1:50 amsorry couldnt think of any other shows on rtm

Added on August 9, 2008, 1:53 amanyway, where to get such tuner?

This post has been edited by myhotgary2: Aug 9 2008, 01:53 AM
arremie
post Aug 9 2008, 01:53 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

No standalone digital tuner i can hook up straight to TV? PC leceh la tongue.gif
madguy88
post Aug 9 2008, 02:44 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Aug 9 2008, 02:43 AM)
because malaysia follows european standard which is DVB, normally they won't have internal tuner for that, USA is different story

i think LYP got sell the PC tuner, USB type with antenna one
any additional information, and is it compatible with my SHARP 42" LCD TV ???

any link ..?? mind to post it here ..?? thanks ... notworthy.gif
Skylinestar
post Aug 9 2008, 09:00 AM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

so malaysia is going to DVB-T standard? or just for olympics only?
imr4n
post Aug 9 2008, 09:37 AM

283 posts

if the programmes still crap, no use for hd lah... watching the ministers faces on HD makes me more angry at them
myhotgary2
post Aug 9 2008, 10:25 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(imr4n @ Aug 9 2008, 09:37 AM)
if the programmes still crap, no use for hd lah... watching the ministers faces on HD makes me more angry at them
I lol'ed
anyway guys, where to get a digital tuner like this?
rx330
post Aug 9 2008, 10:54 AM

11,808 posts

aiyoh.. i posted liao mar
got usb dvb T for pc one lar

so far i only come across sammy LCD in spore, IDTV
integrated digital tuner, tat one comes built in with DVB T, but the problem is, only digital signal watchable, normal elek biggrin.gif
TSKiding
post Aug 9 2008, 12:16 PM

1,135 posts

The RTM HD channel is directly relay from Bejing Olympic HDTV source, without any delay and any commercial ads. the commentators also not from Malaysia.

The picture quality is amazing and awesome, so detail that you can see the athlete fine hair brows.gif

If you don't have the DVB-T tuner, go get a hybrid TV usb sticker which less than RM300 in Lowyat plaza, and you will be able to enjoy FULL HD live Olympic game for the next 15 days.

sharpman
post Aug 9 2008, 12:57 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

I am following this thread with great interest.
I would like to ask about the coverage of RTM HD transmission, is it nationwide or only in Klang Valley?

I am in Melaka and planning to buy a usb digital tv tuner.
rx330
post Aug 9 2008, 01:06 PM

11,808 posts

i think in klang nia

but sharpman, can u get spore signal in melaka?
sharpman
post Aug 9 2008, 01:14 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 9 2008, 01:06 PM)
i think in klang nia

but sharpman, can u get spore signal in melaka?
No singapore signal on non-digital channel.. I am not sure about dvb-t signal though
dattebayo
post Aug 9 2008, 03:27 PM

5,366 posts

according to wikipedia, the rtm digital trial is only limited to klang valley area only, the signal should be better if ur place is nearer to kl tower
g5sim
post Aug 10 2008, 12:13 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 9 2008, 01:41 AM)
Ouch my bad then. Why call HDTV then if the tuner is not digital? Should be called "HDTV" laugh.gif
Where to get this digital tuner? Brand/Price/Place?
ALL hdtvs have at least one Hidef TV tuner. Those without hidef TV Tuner are not HDTVs. They are HDTV Ready TVs tongue.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif cool.gif

Added on August 10, 2008, 12:43 pmset top box standard or hd specs - final

http://www.mtsfb.org.my/MTSFB%20001%202008...20Box_Final.pdf

This post has been edited by g5sim: Aug 10 2008, 12:43 PM
RoxyGal
post Aug 10 2008, 12:56 PM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

my new hp with DVB reception able to receive it too
rx330
post Aug 10 2008, 03:09 PM

11,808 posts

sharpman, like tat u cant receive liao
g5sim
post Aug 11 2008, 03:08 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Aug 10 2008, 12:56 PM)
my new hp with DVB reception able to receive it too
pls post some pics - drool.gif drool.gif

anyone of Toshiba Quosmio here ? rclxm9.gif
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 06:28 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

My 2 cents : i went to msia last march to attend this symposium called, "Asia Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU)" that talks about this things where big big countries share their experience with regards to dvb-t/s/h/sh and digital radios. and im part of the "Asean Digital Broadcasting (ADB)" specialist group, in other words.. i am "in the loop" about this topic.. so basically ive seen/heard presentation from skmm and rtm on this and i can tell u rtm is still in the trial stage. why they start with the olympic is cuz its the first fullhd signal being broadcasted but about the 15mbps thing, i dont remember msia going the mp4 route.

about why its faster than astro? well, if u look at ure astro box u can read "DVB" which means digital video broadcasting. actually astro = dvb-s which is over satelite. the one RTM is doing is called dvb-t. t=terrestrial. in terms of going digital, astro is first. but in terms of dvb-t, astro cannot do it before rtm as astro does not have the spectrum right from skmm to do it yet. u can tell its a digital signal when the picture is either good or off.. no such thing as not clear signal for digital as its either 1 or 0

this is the same almost everywhere in asean. which was why ADB was formed to gather all the public broadcasters (free to air channels) (which have spectrum right) and their regulators to decide on a common broadcasting standard, common devices (for cheaper manufacturing and import). all accept vietnam though, they were awesome enough to force the tv makers to install all new lcd tvs with built in dtv tuner. the choice whether to simulcast or not (broadcast both digital and analog at the same time), if yes for how long?

the ultimate end to this will be the ASO (analog shut off date) which means the date when all analog transmission will be stopped.. i think msia is some time in 2015 or was it 2012.. cant remember. and too lazy to open up my files lol.. meaning u have to make sure that u got the dvbt setup box before that date or no fta channels for u! haha

hopefully they release setupboxes with hdmi out.. as the ones released here does not have hdmi out.. only component eventhough its mpeg4 quality...

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 11 2008, 06:36 AM
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 07:11 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Astro use digital for transmission only right? Cause their picture quality sucks, which could mean their source is analogue.
peacezxp
post Aug 11 2008, 07:26 AM

113 posts

Astro receive and transmit in digital. the setup box that we have in our house converts the signal from digital to analogue.
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 07:59 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 11 2008, 07:11 AM)
Astro use digital for transmission only right? Cause their picture quality sucks, which could mean their source is analogue.
yes digital for transmission.. but as for source.. its not a matter of it being analogue or not, its a matter of compression. their source is using sd compression.

u notice when it rains astro just cuts off.. this shows that its digital because if its analogue, ull just get noise on ure screen.. but digital its either all or nothing.. astro can definitely fix this though by just increasing the length of their transmission longer to that of a raindrop's diameter..

aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 08:04 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 11 2008, 07:59 AM)
yes digital for transmission.. but as for source.. its not a matter of it being analogue or not, its a matter of compression. their source is using sd compression.

u notice when it rains astro just cuts off.. this shows that its digital because if its analogue, ull just get noise on ure screen.. but digital its either all or nothing.. astro can definitely fix this though by just increasing the length of their transmission longer to that of a raindrop's diameter..
Just what I've been telling people about HDMI cable. It's digital, either you get a picture or "dead" pixels. laugh.gif

Astro can fix the rain issue? Then why the hell didn't they do that already? doh.gif
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 08:09 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 11 2008, 08:04 AM)
Just what I've been telling people about HDMI cable. It's digital, either you get a picture or "dead" pixels. laugh.gif

Astro can fix the rain issue? Then why the hell didn't they do that already? doh.gif
haha cuz with or without it, customers still come mar.. thats the problem with monopoly.. no incentive for QoS.. u can voice to SKMM to make a new policy for this though.. lol
rx330
post Aug 11 2008, 10:05 AM

11,808 posts

dunno bout misa, but spore will cut off analogue by 2012
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 11:02 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 11 2008, 10:05 AM)
same as brunei.. the issue with ASO is making sure everyone (even rural area ppl) are aware of it and have migrated to digital.. quite hard for msia since still alot of areas are rural.. unlike singapore where new tech adoption is very good..
TSKiding
post Aug 11 2008, 11:06 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 11 2008, 07:11 AM)
I believe Astro picture quality sucks because they reduce their bit rate (high compression) in order to squeeze more channels into single transponder, so they can broadcast more channels, more income to them vmad.gif mad.gif . since average Malaysian do not really care about picture quality cry.gif yawn.gif
g5sim
post Aug 11 2008, 01:14 PM

5,750 posts

11-08-2008: Measat trading halted, says satellite launch delayed
By Cindy Yeap
Email us your feedback at fd@bizedge.com

PETALING JAYA: Trading in Measat Global Bhd shares is halted for one session this morning after it said the scheduled launch of its Measat-3a satellite has been postponed from Aug 21 due to technical issues at the launch site. Trading is set to resume at 2.30pm.

"While unfortunate, our technical team is working closely with Orbital Sciences, Intelsat Corporation (the launch services provider), and SeaLaunch (Intelsat's subcontractor) to ascertain the most prudent approach to repair the spacecraft and prepare it for a revised launch date, which will be announced in due course," chief operating officer of Measat Paul Brown-Kenyon said in a statement.

Measat shares closed at RM1.49 last Friday.

Shares of sister company and dominant satellite pay-TV provider Astro All Asia Networks plc fell 14 sen to RM3.26 at 9.08am, but with only 1,000 shares done. At 10.08am, its shares were going for RM3.36, down FOUR sen with only 1,700 shares changing hands.

The issue is currently being assessed by Orbital Sciences, the spacecraft's manufacturer, with preparations under way for the spacecraft to be returned to the Orbital facility in Dulles, US for repair, Measat said in its statement to the stock exchange.

With 12 high powered C-band and 12 high powered Ku-Band transponders, Measat-3a has been designed to support the expansion of Measat's Direct to Home (DTH), Broadcasting and Telecommunications businesses, it added.

Measat said the postponement would have no impact on the services provideD by the company to existing customers and no material impact on the company's financial results for the current financial year.

dattebayo
post Aug 11 2008, 03:29 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 11 2008, 06:28 AM)
hopefully they release setupboxes with hdmi out.. as the ones released here does not have hdmi out.. only component eventhough its mpeg4 quality...
component video also can carry 1080i signals, though it cannot have HDCP encryption lah

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 11 2008, 07:59 AM)

hehe.. that's the weakness of ku-band which will be attenuated by rain

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 11 2008, 10:05 AM)
msia is 2015

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 11 2008, 11:06 AM)
I believe Astro picture quality sucks because they reduce their bit rate (high compression) in order to squeeze more channels into single transponder, so they can broadcast more channels, more income to them vmad.gif  mad.gif . since average Malaysian do not really care about picture quality cry.gif  yawn.gif
astro image quite ok lah, u won't notice much on CRT TV, but when view on lcd /plasma... well sleep.gif

i wonder why media prima never initiate any digital broadcast/HDTV trial until now?

callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 03:44 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Aug 11 2008, 03:29 PM)
component video also can carry 1080i signals, though it cannot have HDCP encryption lah
1080i is a dirty word.. and of curz it can have hdcp...

http://www.hktdc.com/sourcing/company_prod...int=2&locale=en

check out that setup box... it all depends on the broadcaster... if they use mpeg2 then no need loo hdmi.. but that would be a waste.. mpeg4 or nothing! lol
rx330
post Aug 11 2008, 09:13 PM

11,808 posts

hmmm... 2015...
for me, frankly.... i never really watch msia channels
sunauto
post Aug 12 2008, 10:34 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 9 2008, 01:53 AM)
No standalone digital tuner i can hook up straight to TV? PC leceh la tongue.gif
Maybe in the future I guess, I'm sure by then, we'll have plenty of choices to choose from especially for a digital tuner. I wonder RTM HD is 1080i or 1080p?
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 10:37 AM

11,808 posts

got, jaybee here got sell standalone dvb T decoder
both SD and HD type
rsangel
post Aug 12 2008, 10:48 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2008, 10:37 AM)
both SD and HD type
bro, if we buy that stand alone dvb T Decoder, will our iamge for Channel 8 and 5 look clearer and shaper on our LCD?
aiman04
post Aug 12 2008, 10:49 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 12 2008, 10:34 AM)
Maybe in the future I guess, I'm sure by then, we'll have plenty of choices to choose from especially for a digital tuner. I wonder RTM HD is 1080i or 1080p?
I don't think there's a 1080p broadcast yet, even in USA. Currently only 720p or 1080i. Correct me if I'm wrong though. icon_rolleyes.gif
arremie
post Aug 12 2008, 10:52 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2008, 10:37 AM)
both SD and HD type
How much? Can help get one for me?
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 11:09 AM

11,808 posts

@rsangel
depends on ur LCD size, to me i seen digital 5 and 8 on 32 inch, still ok, but on my 42, no good, but u can receive HD5 the HD decoder

@ arremie
the SD one im not sure how much, but shudnt be ex, only composite video out, the HD one is abt 1k +, my advice is to go for a media player like tvix, the previous spec, 4100, now comes with dvb tuner, renamed as 4130, shud cost u less than 1.5k
rsangel
post Aug 12 2008, 11:31 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2008, 11:09 AM)
@rsangel
depends on ur LCD size, to me i seen digital 5 and 8 on 32 inch, still ok, but on my 42, no good, but u can receive HD5 the HD decoder
my home no astro, only watch normal channel(Channel 8 and 5, and Channel U), i'm using a sammy 40" A550, so if i buy the HD Decoder will i received HD signal? haha.. noob question.
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 11:33 AM

11,808 posts

yes u can, but the down side of digital is tat the channels are limited
HD5, digital 5, 8 , tv mobile and CNA only
the rest still not yet
arremie
post Aug 12 2008, 11:36 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

1.5k huh? Might as well add 400 and get 32" LCD from htkaki tongue.gif
I tot 2-300 only blush.gif
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 11:40 AM

11,808 posts

arremie , all ur elite cables cost more than tat, but dun wanna invest to watch HD broadcast? apa lar biggrin.gif

kekkeke, i rather tabik those with one small LCD with tons of HD material as bluray rather than one with 50 incher fullHD but watching crap
attap
post Aug 12 2008, 11:40 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2008, 11:33 AM)
yes u can, but the down side of digital is tat the channels are limited
HD5, digital 5, 8 , tv mobile and CNA only
the rest still not yet
Any idea about the signal coverage up to what area in MY? Any hope in Klang valley?
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 11:42 AM

11,808 posts

attap, klang valley has rtm lor, u wanna receive spore signal there ar? fathope tongue.gif
if spore statioin reach sana, i tell u, local stations and astro sure lose bisnes
attap
post Aug 12 2008, 11:46 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2008, 11:42 AM)
attap, klang valley has rtm lor, u wanna receive spore signal there ar? fathope tongue.gif
if spore statioin reach sana, i tell u, local stations and astro sure lose bisnes
tongue.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Cheers m8!
arremie
post Aug 12 2008, 11:52 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 12 2008, 11:40 AM)
arremie , all  ur elite cables cost more than tat, but dun wanna invest to watch HD broadcast? apa lar biggrin.gif

kekkeke, i rather tabik those with one small LCD with tons of HD material as bluray rather than one with 50 incher fullHD but watching crap
I love cables laugh.gif but I seldom watch TV (only 8pm news) so not interested to spend that much even just for a few HD channels. 1.5k can get me about 17 BD titles from Amazon tongue.gif
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 11:58 AM

11,808 posts

kekkeke, true also biggrin.gif depend on wat show lar

u see in spore, they have their local shows in HD, movies in HD and US serials in HD, all in dolby digital, even the whole olampic event, daily 9am - 4 am, in HD, so its worth it here
rsangel
post Aug 12 2008, 11:58 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

wa.... that decoder cost 1.7k or above???
expensive ....
Daywalker
post Aug 12 2008, 12:09 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

The new era of HDTV era...... sweat.gif
rx330
post Aug 12 2008, 12:10 PM

11,808 posts

the cheapest with only watching tv function and nothing else, is abt 1k+
where ur area rs? the basic decoder u can get it opposite giant plentong, shop name AES
zdan
post Aug 12 2008, 07:19 PM

137 posts

Just joint this thread then you will know more about faclities to receive HDTV.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/540962

or just ask the expert rx330.. icon_rolleyes.gif
rx330
post Aug 13 2008, 12:31 AM

11,808 posts

bro, u the satelite expert lar, not me
Jack28HT
post Aug 13 2008, 11:45 AM

150 posts

Got the TViX tuner added to my 4100 yesterday finally. However only managed to get the non-HD channels. RTM-HD channel (9) is there but no program sad.gif . Is it because my received signal is too weak (at around 77%)?
zdan
post Aug 13 2008, 12:06 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Aug 13 2008, 11:45 AM)
Got the TViX tuner added to my 4100 yesterday finally. However only managed to get the non-HD channels.  RTM-HD channel  (9) is there but no program  sad.gif . Is it because my received signal is too weak (at around 77%)?
Just scanned and my signal is at 98%. Only 30 channel availlable that including TV and Radio channel but not any single HDTV channel.

The signal 77% is sufficient to lock any DVB-T signal.
rx330
post Aug 13 2008, 01:01 PM

11,808 posts

wah, so much? 30 channel? ada apa zdan?
the signal got smapai jaybee or not?
levinx
post Aug 13 2008, 01:14 PM

27 posts

My area Sunway can receive good indoor RTM DVB-T signal.

But I cant see the RTM HD cause my DVB-T USB stick don't support HD on my laptop.

I tested at Seri Petaling, RTM DVB-T signal is loud and clear at indoor!

Watching Olympic even on the Standard Definition of RTM1 & RTM2 are way much clearer than the Astro DVB-S CH 101 & 102 of RTM1 & RTM2. Astro digital video is sucked and not clear.. many generation lost!
Jack28HT
post Aug 13 2008, 02:42 PM

150 posts

zdan, do you get the RTM-HD channel listed? I didn't count the number of chan my TViX managed to scan but clrearly RTM-HD is captured to channel 9. When I swticthed to channel 9, RTM-HD is shown as chnnale name but with no picture. However I did get intermittent pop/click sound now and then. That's why I thought it could be my received signal is not strong enough. Does anyone else managed to watch the RTM-HD channel?? Kiding mentioned this RTM-HD channel is showing Olympics in the 1st message of this thread.
TSKiding
post Aug 13 2008, 08:56 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Aug 13 2008, 02:42 PM)
zdan, do you get the RTM-HD channel listed? I didn't count the number of chan my TViX managed to scan but clrearly RTM-HD is captured to channel 9. When I swticthed to channel 9, RTM-HD is shown as chnnale name but with no picture. However I did get intermittent pop/click sound now and then. That's why I thought it could be my received signal is not strong enough. Does anyone else managed to watch the RTM-HD channel?? Kiding mentioned this RTM-HD channel is showing Olympics in the 1st message of this thread.
The RTM HD may have poor reception or low bit rate occasionally, but it won't last long, just about 30 minutes outage only. if you are using USB TV sticker, then it may be your codec unable to decode the H.264, you may refer to the following thread for detail

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=762346&hl=RTM
zdan
post Aug 13 2008, 09:43 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Aug 13 2008, 02:42 PM)
nop so far, still work it out. All 30 channel scanned, but some empty. As source said the HD transmission is not consistently being transmitted, means that it not always there. (Trial)

Added on August 13, 2008, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 13 2008, 01:01 PM)
wah, so much? 30 channel? ada apa zdan?
the signal got smapai jaybee or not?
waa.. still interested rtm ka? Beam only for Klang valley ma... it still on trial icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by zdan: Aug 13 2008, 09:47 PM
rx330
post Aug 13 2008, 11:44 PM

11,808 posts

bro i think susah, even normal msia channels i got problems receving, very blurry....
Jack28HT
post Aug 14 2008, 10:41 AM

150 posts

Yes, after doing some hardwork on the roof top, managed to bump up the signal to 98%-100% for RTM-HD channel (other channels always at 100%) thumbup.gif . And yes, the Olympics broadcast is on RTM-HD in HD rclxms.gif . I believe it must be 1080i as well because seems like my TViX 4100 is having a hard time to keep up (having rather frequent stuttering/jerking/pixelation blocks). However playback on the recorded stream was much smoother with hardly any stuttering (will bring this issue over to TViX thread for help).

BTW, I only managed to get 16channels (half of them are radio and only 1 HD).

This post has been edited by Jack28HT: Aug 14 2008, 10:42 AM
rx330
post Aug 14 2008, 10:44 AM

11,808 posts

jack, those are DAB , digital audio broadcast, almost CD quality

rtm HD audio how? spore usin gdolby digital 5.1 thumbup.gif
Jack28HT
post Aug 14 2008, 11:33 AM

150 posts

Yeah, but those are all standard RTM radio channels that I hardly listen to normally. I usually listen to radio while driving (90% of time is 988).

Hah, don't talk about audio on RTM-HD. It's only MPEG1 2 chan lah, so pathetic. Anyway, I am so excited to be able to get HD video now, and will likely whine about the audio later, especially once they starting to show HD movies.

BTW, did you record the opening ceremony of the Olympics? I regret like hell that I didn't get the HD tuner during the AV show last month. Didn't expect RTM to show in HD lah... cry.gif

I managed to download the 720p version of the opening ceremony, but it;s the US NBC version (edited and not live version). Still trying to look for real live HD version. How is the quality broadcasted from Singapore?

This post has been edited by Jack28HT: Aug 14 2008, 11:35 AM
rx330
post Aug 14 2008, 11:40 AM

11,808 posts

kekkeke, i din watch biggrin.gif
not really an olampik fan lar...
Jack28HT
post Aug 14 2008, 02:19 PM

150 posts

Olympics opening ceremony is more like an epic movie, scale wse. So I think you don't need to be a sports fan to enjoy it lor..

I will likely get the a cantonese version (in HD) next week, apparently with better commentary (more detailed explanation, history or background related).. I am currently trying to dowload another version, but in German, Spanish, French, or stadium sound only (how come they left out english!!) Hope the video quality will be excellent... otherwise will be a big waste for 26GB.
levinx
post Aug 14 2008, 04:33 PM

27 posts

There is only 6 SD channels from RTM currently, namely RTM1, RTM2, Muzik Aktif, Arena, Bes Aktif and RTMi plus 7 RTM radio, namely KlassicFM, MusicFM, KLFM, AiFM, TraxxFM, KlassicFM and MinnalFM.
All the above are on frequency 658MHz UHF channel 44.

The RTM HD channel is on 674MHz UHF channel 46. my USB TV Stick can only receive SD and not HD which use H.264 coding. I can ehar stereo Olympic sound but no video.

However there is not audio at all these few days. Maybe in trial only.

If like the thread above said can receive 30 channels, there mean u r receiving U Mobile DVB-H also which transmitted on frequency 599MHz UHF. DVB-H and DVB-T SD both use MPEG2 coding but normal DVB-T receiver cant decode it as U Mobile signal is for handheld mobile like Nokia N77 and need authetication on U Mobile 3G network.

All transmitted from KL Tower. Boosters have not be installed yet. SG DVB-T has several boosters around the island beside Bkt Timah main UHF transmission site. So there is why can easily receive Mediacorp DVB-T around island.
rx330
post Aug 14 2008, 04:39 PM

11,808 posts

some area in spore still kenot receive, if i recall coorectly, but we in jaybee already receivin liao biggrin.gif
Jack28HT
post Aug 15 2008, 10:43 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(levinx @ Aug 14 2008, 04:33 PM)
There is only 6 SD channels from RTM currently, namely RTM1, RTM2, Muzik Aktif, Arena, Bes Aktif and RTMi plus 7 RTM radio, namely KlassicFM, MusicFM, KLFM, AiFM, TraxxFM, KlassicFM and MinnalFM.
All the above are on frequency 658MHz UHF channel 44.

The RTM HD channel is on 674MHz UHF channel 46. my USB TV Stick can only receive SD and not HD which use H.264 coding. I can ehar stereo Olympic sound but no video.

However there is not audio at all these few days. Maybe in trial only.

If like the thread above said can receive 30 channels, there mean u r receiving U Mobile DVB-H also which transmitted on frequency 599MHz UHF. DVB-H and DVB-T SD both use MPEG2 coding but normal DVB-T receiver cant decode it as U Mobile signal is for handheld mobile like Nokia N77 and need authetication on U Mobile 3G network.
All transmitted from KL Tower. Boosters have not be installed yet. SG DVB-T has several boosters around the island beside Bkt Timah main UHF transmission site. So there is why can easily receive Mediacorp DVB-T around island.
I was able to watch Olympics for the past 2 days whenever I switched on to RTM-HD channel. I found out that you need a high signal level (close to 90%) in order to get a stable RTM-HD video image, compared to only 70+% is needed for the STD channels. So for those with HD tuner, do adjust your anttena to get better reception if you can't see the RTM-HD video image. I guess this is because of the much higher bit rate for the HD stream (13-15Mb/s).
confused-freaker
post Aug 15 2008, 12:31 PM

662 posts

can anyone receive rtm sd channels now? they seem to have dissapeared... sad.gif
TSKiding
post Aug 15 2008, 02:29 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(confused-freaker @ Aug 15 2008, 12:31 PM)
can anyone receive rtm sd channels now? they seem to have dissapeared... sad.gif
I can't received all of the RTM SD DVB-T signal either, only RTM-HD is available.
confused-freaker
post Aug 15 2008, 02:46 PM

662 posts

but there is a 20Mbit link set up there, just that all unused.... no more channel listing sleep.gif... wat is rtm doing....
Skylinestar
post Aug 15 2008, 03:00 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

i was just planning to get myself a DVB-T tuner tomorrow doh.gif
confused-freaker
post Aug 15 2008, 03:15 PM

662 posts

are you guys all using indoor antenna or outdoor antenna to receive your signal... i'm using indoor.... and everytime someone switch on some electrical applicances, the signal will get some glitch lol..... when i plug it to my outdoor antenna, it doesnt able to scan anything.... help sleep.gif... anyone know a trustworthy antenna service guy? thx
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 03:37 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Guys...I went and look at a few model just now. Just need ur opinion whether this is worth buying...

1) kworld plustv hybrid usb stick (dvb-t 320u) rm299
2) wintv-hvr 900 hybrid tv stick rm349
3) pinnacle pctv hybrid pro stick rm299

I notice all package got indoor digital antenna. Will this be sufficient to get a good signal?
Any other brand recommended?

Thanks notworthy.gif
rx330
post Aug 15 2008, 03:39 PM

11,808 posts

arremie, can any of those plug in an outdoor attena?
the pinnacle shud be fine, i think quite a lot ppl using
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 03:59 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Not sure la since I can't open the box. It does mention can plug in outdoor antenna but that is analog TV right n not digital (or is it same port for both?). I like the KWorld better than Pinnacle (by looking at it la but not sure how's the function like).

Should I get it? I can go buy after work in one hour time tongue.gif
rx330
post Aug 15 2008, 04:05 PM

11,808 posts

same, receving still use the same attena one
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 04:50 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Hmmm...maybe I shouldn't rush and wait for some more feedbacks. There could be cheaper price somewhere else also tongue.gif
TSKiding
post Aug 15 2008, 04:56 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2008, 03:37 PM)
Guys...I went and look at a few model just now. Just need ur opinion whether this is worth buying...

1) kworld plustv hybrid usb stick (dvb-t 320u) rm299
2) wintv-hvr 900 hybrid tv stick rm349
3) pinnacle pctv hybrid pro stick rm299

I notice all package got indoor digital antenna. Will this be sufficient to get a good signal?
Any other brand recommended?

Thanks notworthy.gif
I'm using Kworld PlusTV hybrid USB stick 323U, bought at RM250 at PC fair from MTec, it support XP, Vista, Vista x64, the hypermedia program comes with Cyberlink PowerDVD H.264/AVC codec enables you to watch RTM HD H.264 video.

I think you can find it <270 in lowyat

Jack28HT
post Aug 15 2008, 05:12 PM

150 posts

Looks like all SD channels, including Radio channls are off sad.gif . Only RTM-HD is active now. BTW my signal strenght for RTM-HD chn now drops to 80% and sometimes lower, but the rest of the channels (eventhough not active) are still at 100%. Strange..
confused-freaker
post Aug 15 2008, 05:39 PM

662 posts

Depends on frequency i guess, maybe freq 674mhz has better signal than 658mhz...
g5sim
post Aug 15 2008, 05:53 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 15 2008, 04:56 PM)
I'm using Kworld PlusTV hybrid USB stick 323U, bought at RM250 at PC fair from MTec, it support XP, Vista, Vista x64, the hypermedia program comes with Cyberlink PowerDVD H.264/AVC codec enables you to watch RTM HD H.264 video.

PlustTV Hybrid - >RM300 shocking.gif at lowyat - price list taken yesterday shocking.gif

Kworld 1440ex digital HD set top box decoder for TV RM280
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 08:36 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 15 2008, 04:56 PM)

Did you use the provided indoor antenna? No problem? Lack of signal or something.

QUOTE(g5sim @ Aug 15 2008, 05:53 PM)
PlustTV Hybrid - >RM300  shocking.gif  at lowyat - price list taken yesterday  shocking.gif

Kworld 1440ex digital HD set top box decoder for TV RM280
Dude...1440ex no need PC? Straight connect to TV? I prefer this one actually so I can connect to my TV directly instead of connect to PC then to TV.
g5sim
post Aug 15 2008, 08:50 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2008, 08:36 PM)
Dude...1440ex no need PC? Straight connect to TV? I prefer this one actually so I can connect to my TV directly instead of connect to PC then to TV.
yes - but reading the comments duno if this one is an analogue or digital one.

here is the info on the upgraded version 1640ex

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/Se...2945&CatId=1427

Minimum System Requirements

* No specific PC system required
* LCD, CRT, Plasma or projectors with VGA or Component Video input
* Video input device (e.g. VCR, V8, DVD player, TV game console etc.)

Skylinestar
post Aug 15 2008, 08:53 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2008, 08:36 PM)
KWorld 1440ex page
it says: Turn Your LCD Monitor into a TV!
it doesn't looks like a tv tuner to me.

anyone try leadtek winfast DTV2000H? it's RM235 at pczone.
supports 2 tuners, DVB-T and analog, as well as HDTV and AC3. Vista Certified too. but no vista remote.
webpage here

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Aug 15 2008, 08:54 PM
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 08:57 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Aiseh...that Kworld 1440 & 1640 for LCD monitor lah not for LCD TV. They don't even support DVB-T tongue.gif
g5sim
post Aug 15 2008, 09:04 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2008, 08:57 PM)
Aiseh...that Kworld 1440 & 1640 for LCD monitor lah not for LCD TV. They don't even support DVB-T tongue.gif
this one does tongue.gif http://www.kworld.com.tw/product_overview.aspx?P_id=304

PlusTV TVBox 1920ex Hybrid - High Resolution Hybrid Standalone Tuner (Supports both Analog and Digital DVB-T TV)

not sold at Low yat lol

Added on August 15, 2008, 9:18 pmhttp://www.kworld.com.tw/product_overview.aspx?P_id=289

This post has been edited by g5sim: Aug 15 2008, 09:18 PM
zdan
post Aug 17 2008, 12:52 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(confused-freaker @ Aug 15 2008, 03:15 PM)
are you guys all using indoor antenna or outdoor antenna to receive your signal... i'm using indoor.... and everytime someone switch on some electrical applicances, the signal will get some glitch lol..... when i plug it to my outdoor antenna, it doesnt able to scan anything.... help sleep.gif... anyone know a trustworthy antenna service guy? thx
A normal external UHF antenna will do. but make sure proper pointing direction and connection. Go for branded such as Nippon Antenna, DX or Maspro for a good result.
g5sim
post Aug 17 2008, 12:55 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(zdan @ Aug 17 2008, 12:52 PM)
A normal external UHF antenna will do. but make sure proper pointing direction and connection. Go for branded such as Nippon Antenna, DX or Maspro for a good result.
or the centerized antenna in an apartment or condo tongue.gif
arremie
post Aug 19 2008, 02:46 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(zdan @ Aug 17 2008, 12:52 PM)
Antenna also got brand? I tot iron bar solder together than attach coaxial cable only.
Jack28HT
post Aug 19 2008, 01:03 PM

150 posts

Yup, it does make a difference. I am using Maspro.
arremie
post Aug 19 2008, 07:27 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Where to buy in PJ/KL? How much?
Skylinestar
post Aug 19 2008, 08:35 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

what's the best indoor antenna that we can buy in kl? price?
arremie
post Aug 19 2008, 08:38 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

indoor antenna sucks tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post Aug 19 2008, 10:14 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 19 2008, 08:38 PM)
indoor antenna sucks tongue.gif
that's why i'm searching for one that is NOT sucks.
levinx
post Aug 20 2008, 11:06 AM

27 posts

get an indoor antenna with booster.. price range from Rm40 to RM50 shall provide better result.

Dun go for those simply sell brand... those are cheap made and dun provide result.

btw, UHF is good received by the ROUND shape antenna.. telescopic is not for UHF... DVB-T is on UHF as well as analogue broadcast of 8TV, TV9, NTV7 (from UluKali, Genting), TV3 (from UluKali, Genting) and 1 TV2 signal (from Bkt Besi).

Added on August 20, 2008, 11:09 amsome condo centerized antenna (SMATV, Master Antenna) cant receive DVB-T signal as it has filter non analogue signal. DVB-T signal is very sensitive but again provide good indoor signal.. even 40-50% signal strength can give you best pic..

This post has been edited by levinx: Aug 20 2008, 11:09 AM
Skylinestar
post Aug 20 2008, 08:54 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(levinx @ Aug 20 2008, 11:06 AM)
get an indoor antenna with booster.. price range from Rm40 to RM50 shall provide better result.

Dun go for those simply sell brand... those are cheap made and dun provide result.

btw, UHF is good received by the ROUND shape antenna.. telescopic is not for UHF... DVB-T is on UHF as well as analogue broadcast of 8TV, TV9, NTV7 (from UluKali, Genting), TV3 (from UluKali, Genting) and 1 TV2 signal (from Bkt Besi).

Added on August 20, 2008, 11:09 amsome condo centerized antenna (SMATV, Master Antenna) cant receive DVB-T signal as it has filter non analogue signal. DVB-T signal is very sensitive but again provide good indoor signal.. even 40-50% signal strength can give you best pic..
picture of this Round shape antenna?
levinx
post Aug 22 2008, 12:49 PM

27 posts

please browse to http://www.maspro.co.jp/en/rev04/index.html

any antenna with a round rod is for UHF reception and the telescopic is for VHF.

Heard Maspro is producing good quality antenna.. you may get it from Jln Pasar..
YiQi
post Aug 22 2008, 04:29 PM

164 posts

Jln Pasar... great.
But is it expensive, which shop (any name?) selling this brand?
Never go there before, will try to get one tomorrow.
Thanks!

arremie
post Aug 22 2008, 06:55 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

If not mistaken I saw this brand Maspro before at Giant tongue.gif
Jack28HT
post Aug 23 2008, 09:16 AM

150 posts

All SD and Radio chan are back now. The Beijing Olympic Games closing ceremony is scheduled on RTM-HD tomorrow at 8pm. Looks like this channel is relaying the feeds meant for South Africa and Singapore because its Medal Table showed these 2 countries in addition to the top ten.
confused-freaker
post Aug 23 2008, 10:07 AM

662 posts

yea this channel follows almost exactly as HD5 singapore channel. you can go to their website to see the schedule and know which one is live events tongue.gif try and see :

http://olympics.mediacorptv.sg/tvschedule_list.php

this morning, 4am they rebroadcast the opening ceremony biggrin.gif managed to record it..... set timer and went to bed then dang... almost 5 hrs... 30gb file size ~_~ I think if I have a blu ray writer i can just edit the file to blu ray structure and direct burn it to blu ray and play on blu ray players tongue.gif

Added on August 23, 2008, 10:13 am
QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Aug 23 2008, 09:16 AM)
All SD and Radio chan are back now. The Beijing Olympic Games closing ceremony is scheduled on RTM-HD tomorrow at 8pm. Looks like this channel is relaying the feeds meant for South Africa and Singapore because its Medal Table showed these 2 countries in addition to the top ten.
yup, if you see the schedule times, CAT/SST already give us some hint, CAT = central african time, SST = singapore standard time if i'm not mistaken...googled it before lol

This post has been edited by confused-freaker: Aug 23 2008, 10:13 AM
Jack28HT
post Aug 23 2008, 10:47 AM

150 posts

Thanks for the link but aiyah, I missed the opening ceremony again as I wanted to record it so badly. Only saw the last few minutes of fireworks when I switched on this morning. cry.gif

Added on August 23, 2008, 11:06 amconfused-freaker, you got PM.

This post has been edited by Jack28HT: Aug 23 2008, 11:08 AM
confused-freaker
post Aug 24 2008, 04:08 PM

662 posts

Last day olympics schedule, 24th aug :

wonder what will rtm hd broadcast after this?...

This post has been edited by confused-freaker: Aug 24 2008, 04:09 PM
levinx
post Aug 25 2008, 11:11 AM

27 posts

RTM no HD contents.. so the RTM HD will be terminated.. dun tell me RTM will show the Malay drama liek RTMi as HD and see those pimples on makcik faces! Gosh!
Kyoyagami
post Aug 25 2008, 12:20 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Or the pimple scars on the male actors. LOL. i do hope they continue on testing and trying out ways to improve the signal. This is already great news. biggrin.gif
confused-freaker
post Aug 25 2008, 02:39 PM

662 posts

no more lu...no more hd...now change back to muzik aktif -__-.... does anyone with you have problems on their digital channel, i dunno why now it seems more difficult to get stable picture from them, suka suka get stutter anytime, unlike the hd content, very stable....so odd...
Jack28HT
post Sep 3 2008, 02:56 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(confused-freaker @ Aug 25 2008, 02:39 PM)
no more lu...no more hd...now change back to muzik aktif -__-.... does anyone with you have problems on their digital channel, i dunno why now it seems more difficult to get stable picture from them, suka suka get stutter anytime, unlike the hd content, very stable....so odd...
Not even muzik aktif since few days back (0% signal level). The RTM-HD is no longer transmitting?? Other channels also no pics but 100% signal level. Did RTM change chan freq or taking a break?
confused-freaker
post Sep 4 2008, 01:07 AM

662 posts

i have no idea, lately rtm's digital signal is kinda unstable for me.... last time very easily get stable signal...smooth etc, now like so difficult...
soonwai
post Jul 26 2024, 12:40 PM

11,456 posts

Olympics again but I don't see any RTM Olympics channels on DVB-T.

RTMklik got 6 channels.

0.0399sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:50 AM