Medical degrees from Manipal Uni not recognised, Quoted from The Star Malaysia

limeuu
post Aug 9 2008, 11:28 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 9 2008, 11:14 PM)
yep...we were given places right after we r offered the scholar....hmm..my result,pass the jpa requirement and pass the college requirement..if u stil want to know i'll pm u... smile.gif  erm...about the minorities get chucked into places like india,indon,russia.....toppers of my batch came from both the majorities and minorities...
a-levels is nowadays such an easy exam (up to 25% of candidates gets an A in most subjects), nobody with less that 3A's should be selected into med schools........
limeuu
post Aug 10 2008, 11:14 PM

12,295 posts

kudos.....

however, exceptions cannot be extrapolated to the general.....that is why anecdotal evidence is category 4......

if only all students and doctors were like that......
limeuu
post Aug 11 2008, 08:51 AM

12,295 posts

you all obviously have not been understanding what i am saying......
limeuu
post Aug 11 2008, 07:15 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 11 2008, 05:24 PM)
Limeuu,
From your post, it clearly shows that you have grudge against 3rd world medical graduates. Don't deny it.
Btw, i would suggest that you migrate to other 1st world countries, as you might be treated by one of the doctors from 3rd world schools if you continue to stay.  biggrin.gif
if you say so......since you already made up your mind about this, and now resort to personal insults....

Added on August 11, 2008, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 11 2008, 05:24 PM)
Btw, graduation year for both KMCs are still being listed as current in IMED. So i guess you are wrong, limeuu. rolleyes.gif

wrong about what? what did i say? i have made it clear imed is not relevant as far as individual country's sovereign right to recognise degree is concerned.......so listing there is not of consequence in the local indian and msian context.....

in any case, the website was last updated 1 august 2008....

but somebody has been stalking the site daily.... blink.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 11 2008, 07:23 PM
limeuu
post Aug 11 2008, 10:58 PM

12,295 posts

website updated 1 Aug.........incident occurred over the last week......so of course no update.....that is all it means......not updated....does not mean imed already determines it is semua okay even before doe india makes a decision......

yes, it is okay to be wrong......just admit it, everybody makes mistakes.....

================

my contributions to the education forums is based on principles, broad policies matters, facts about standings of med education and qualifications vis-a-vis each other, and in different sovereign countries....

i do not know anyone here personally, so i do not want to go down to individual levels in arguing and insulting each other.....non of my comments are directed to any individual specifically in any way.....

but some people feels offended because they take general statements about certain medical schools, and extrapolate to themselves......don't.....do not be so sensitive.......

i will now end this debate, and will only further comment in general terms......and will not respond to further personal insults and provocations.......

the people who will benefit from these threads will be those who silently read and learn the facts, and make sensible decisions on what is best for themselves, individually......in other words, make you decisions with your eyes open......and accept the implications of that decision eventually.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 11 2008, 11:38 PM
limeuu
post Aug 12 2008, 12:27 AM

12,295 posts

fact: arts student are taken in....leading to derecognition of ukraine school by mmc......

fact: students with very poor spm results are taken into russian schools....personal review of spm results of recent graduates starting housemanship...

fact: one can buy passes in russia.....personal communications from students there....and...http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/761025/+70

if one is 'bashed' by facts, yes one is too sensitive.......

i have the privilege of certain information most to-be students and current students do not have.....this info is for those who are contemplating doing medicine......it's too late for those already in....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 12 2008, 12:29 AM
limeuu
post Aug 12 2008, 06:10 PM

12,295 posts

actually, that is putting words in my mouth, when i said no such thing, as usual....so for the record again, this is my stand:

1. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, and thus has the best record of consistent med education....obviously of choice then.....

2. ipta/ipts and many 3rd world schools suffer from selection and training issues, just know that you will have a mixed bag of classmates and lecturers when you get there.....

3. money should NOT be a factor in the selection process, just interest and ability......the practice of buying places in msia (and 3rd world in general) is bad.......

so which part of that is not in agreement?
limeuu
post Aug 12 2008, 07:08 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 12 2008, 06:53 PM)
sorry to say, money is always a factor, whether you like it o not.
I live in a small town, and in my circle of friends, some of them are as brilliant- they are capable of securing a scholarship, but their parents can't afford the the hefty living expenses studying overseas.
where else to go other than to put faith in our local tertiary education..so most of them end up in ipta.

you'r too quick to ur conclusion.
at least your friends got into ipta....many got nothing.....it is precisely this situation, where bright eligible but poor students are denied places, whereas mediocre students with rich parents or sympathetic government scholarships will buy the places.....that i say money should not be a factor.....

i criticise the system.......not individual students......don't you see.....by allowing a blow-valve situation of allowing poor students access to 'cheap' private med education, you are also allowing bad students to buy in.....

in local politics, by allowing the nep, you also allow leakages, justified in the name of the nep......same scenario.....
limeuu
post Aug 12 2008, 11:26 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 12 2008, 11:12 PM)
i thought sum1 wanted to end this debate..  rolleyes.gif  btw,no money=no education...applies EVERYWHERE....stop it with nonsense of first world country is very good in sense that without money one can proceed to higher levels with interests and ability only...there is no doubt existense of scholarship to cater the needs of those who are incapable economically but able academically but even in developed country,the scholarship is limited...and do u think there is no racism happening there like u claim happen in msia?? no black and white? no aborigenes???? be realistic please..
no official institutionalised discrimination......that's for sure.......

ie, it is illegal, but of course it happens....but it is illegal and you make a complain, something gets done.....no forms you fill are allowed to ask the questions: 'race', 'religion' etc.......

it's legal and institutionalised in msia........

big difference.....

facts.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 12 2008, 11:30 PM
limeuu
post Aug 12 2008, 11:37 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 12 2008, 11:29 PM)
illegal? make complain and sumthing gets done??? i wish the world is that simple....
referring to your reply to zltan, therefore specifically referring to oz.....

yes it is that simple there.......

have you been to australia?

i know it is difficult to imagine after being used to msia, but cabinet ministers have resigned for something as small as not declaring and paying tax on a videoplayer on return from overseas.......

it's call good governance and accountability, something quite alien to msia.......
limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 12:18 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 12:07 AM)
links dead

i didn't say doesn't happen.....racism exist everywhere.....just that it is illegal there and legal and officially sanction here....you do know the difference.....
limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 12:22 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 12:18 AM)
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2003/jan/20/cricket

ur beloved australia...to think that their country is clean with good governance...be realistic....this things happen everywhere..may it 3rd world country like msia...or 1st world country like aus or uk or america....
it's not that it occurred.......it's how we react to it that makes the difference.....but i am beginning to think some cannot understand the difference.....oh well.....time to sleep.......
limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 09:36 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 13 2008, 09:29 AM)
So you are saying there all doctors from the 3rd world are incompetent and should be politically removed? Bare in mind that many doctors in Msia are from 3rd world schools which are recognized by MoH (mostly India). Also, UM's high medical standard (previously) was achieved by lecturers from India.

eh.......actually, no lah......mostly 'locals', many from the spore branch of the previous um (before partition)......
limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 12:51 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 12 2008, 06:10 PM)
actually, that is putting words in my mouth, when i said no such thing, as usual....so for the record again, this is my stand:

1. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, and thus has the best record of consistent med education....obviously of choice then.....

2. ipta/ipts and many 3rd world schools suffer from selection and training issues, just know that you will have a mixed bag of classmates and lecturers when you get there.....

3. money should NOT be a factor in the selection process, just interest and ability......the practice of buying places in msia (and 3rd world in general) is bad.......

so which part of that is not in agreement?
sigh.......that's why have to repeat, some people too dense to get it the first time......

see above............point 2, the basis of all my comments.......

where did i say all 3rd world doctor not up to par........?

for the other question, see point 3.....
limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 02:36 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 02:12 PM)
wow..u sure got a good headstart in the field..i quite agree with u..in fact,those who commented about incompetency and compare us with the developed world shows third world mentality in themselves..if the first world can accept grads from our third world uni without looking at the degree(as in snyperb case..pls refer to his post) then why we we cant? quit comparing and if u think u r good enough,try to do something about it..no use of bashing here and there without giving constructive result..
eh.......they did look at his degree, and they did NOT recognise it, and want him to prove himself.....that is why he had to sit for the qualification exams in uk and nz........

bottom line: you have to prove yourself individually, since the standards are too variable for blanket acceptance.......

Added on August 13, 2008, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 01:15 PM)
zltan..please read the book The Great White Flood...by Anne Pattel-Gray...my father took sociology for his degree and this book happen to be in his interest and lay arnd in my house..it'll show u how the policies in aus discriminate between race...
The Great White Flood : Racism in Australia
Critically Appraised from an Aboriginal Historico-Theological Viewpoint
Anne Pattel-Gray 2000

Description
This book examines the impact of racist government legislation and policies upon the indigenous people of Australia over the last 200 years. Anne Pattel-Gray contends that racism in Australia is rooted in the long and corrupt relationship between government and church. The persistence of racism in every area of Australian society is documented, from government to schools to courts to churches, and the illusory humanitarian and human rights stances of both institutions are here exposed. Pattel-Gray argues that racism is an endemic and chronic problem that must be addressed and solved, Her book defines and clarifies racist terminology and language, reviews historical and contemporary expressions of Australian racism, and assesses both the concept and the recent process of reconciliation in Australia.

===========

can we have a similar book about racism in msia too......?

oh? cannot? too sensitive issit?

or because the white man did it, it is okay if we do it too?.....two wrongs make a right?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 13 2008, 02:45 PM
limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 09:42 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 09:29 PM)
true..but limeuu thinks dat 3rd world med school doesnt provide sufficient knowledge and training to its student..only 1st world med school will provide sufficient training for its student(according to him,plz refer post preview: #19182369 )
as usual misquoting me......

replay:

limeuu
post Aug 13 2008, 10:33 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 13 2008, 10:12 PM)
ironically, most doctors does not think so...
Housemanship is the period where you can learn the maximum...even those who graduated from developed countries, also suffers during housemanship... Y is this so? because during their time as medical students, the knowledge learnt may not be appropriate in the actual situation, and will be too ideal to practise it...

also, u wont believe in the fact that, most doctors in developed countries are graduated from 3rd world countries...yet they are still doing well...

somehow, the medical education does not end after graduating...there is a programme called "Contining Medical Education"(CME) practised, no matter where u r practicing, where u r graduated from...
if you r a practicing doctor, you should have realizing it...

btw, seriously do you think you will be enrolled in a 1st world medical school if you don't have money?
sjr, these are basic principles, there are always exceptions.......

and i know you all only know the msian scenario, and hence will always look at this with blinkered vision, but in countries we are most familiar with, ie uk, oz, nz, selection is NOT based on money....it is heavily subsidised, and fees often deferred (see zltans comments above).......so everyone can 'afford' as long as you are selected on merit.......in other words, they try their best to prevent what many is complaining about here......not getting in even with good results, and giving up due to no money.....

i know money plays a big part in the defacto situation in msia, which is bad, like i said......it opens up the widespread practice of students who would not have got in (were they citizens in the 1st world), on merit, now buying their way in........eg, someone with a ter of 93 will have almost zero chance of being selected into oz unis if he were aussie, but because he is msian, will easily get offers in several ipts here.....while another with stpm AAAB (which should be about equal ter 98) cannot get into ipta med school, and with no money, gives up completely and does something else in ipta.....

Added on August 13, 2008, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 10:25 PM)
misquoting u??
yes.......

maybe because you understanding of the subtleties of english is deficient......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 13 2008, 10:49 PM
limeuu
post Aug 14 2008, 12:07 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 13 2008, 11:10 PM)
again, even universities in developed world still look deep into money...
only one condition that 1st world universities may enroll people without based on money...i.e you will have to be their citizen and your parents pay income tax in that country...still in terms of money...
unless you got scholarship, money still the matter...
after money, the term qualification will only come in...
of course i am referring to citizens....but why are citizens of this country paying so much for their children's education, both ipts and overseas?

Added on August 14, 2008, 12:07 am
QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 13 2008, 11:10 PM)
suffer from selection and training issues.....in training issues...it is understand here it means 3rd world med school lacks training,training here can be taken as clinical and non clinical..and yet,u said im misquoting u and my english is deficient...in which part U dont understand?

im saying u r labelling ipta/s of 3rd world country lack the ability to properly train student..and only 1st world med school can provide those things...are u clear with my sentence or are u long sighted that u have difficulties reading from your screen?

we all only know msian scenario?? O the great limeuu,u think u r the only one ever being overseas and the only one all knowing the situation there??
qed.....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 14 2008, 12:09 AM
limeuu
post Aug 14 2008, 07:20 AM

12,295 posts

back to the usual passion vs intelligence debate.......sigh.......

i suspect most here know that based on strict merit based criteria, they may not have got into med school, hence desperately holding onto the belief that people should be allowed to try out, based on interest rather ability.....

oh well......

Added on August 14, 2008, 7:42 amRevised principles

1. Selection of medical students should firstly be based on academic merit. There are more than adequate number of potential candidates with interest and passion in the profession from a group of top 5% students in any cohort. (in msia, that is 10,000+ students)

2. From this group, final selection should be done based on applitude, attitude, interest, compassion and other attributes.

3. money should NOT be a factor in the selection process. The practice of buying places is bad.......

4. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, based on 1, 2 and 3. and thus has the best record of consistent, quality med education....

5. ipta/ipts and many (not all) 3rd world schools suffer from selection and training (mostly assessment) issues, resulting in inconsistent quality of students and graduates.

6. Exceptions occur, but cannot be used as justification for allowing poorly qualified students to 'try' medical education.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 14 2008, 07:42 AM
limeuu
post Aug 14 2008, 02:46 PM

12,295 posts

there is a significant difference between 93 and 98........

zltan, someone (msian, non oz pr) with 99.55 didn't get offer in mu......

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0330sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:01 PM