Opening cafe or kopitiam, any experience?

Jordy
post Aug 4 2008, 07:00 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 4 2008, 03:16 PM)
TS!

I suggest you can ignore to have live band....you can anytime play ur own songs..eventually live band cost a lot & it can be not that attractive....the most important is your quality of food & convenience of feeling when the consumer step into your restaurant....
I could suggest you that a sum of RM100k would help you the start up cost...

A F&B line have 3 major categories which are the
1.) Bar & cashier
2.) Shop floor
3.) kitchen

The most important you should concentrate is kitchen & the most investment of cost is the kitchen because the equipement for cooking(is stainless steel), i can suggest you opt for a used god condition kitchen equipment.
From the 100k breakdown, spend abt RM35k to 45k for kitchen, renovation abt Rm30k(try to minimize), 15k for small items(table,chair,glass,cutlery,cabinet) & 10k for others. No need spend on high hp air conditions as i did survey nowadays malaysian tends to seat with fan only(this could save u a lot).....
Last but not least, your head count from bar to kitchen. At initial stage, try minimize your head count not more than 10 ppl(kitchen=4, shop floor=3, bar =2).

My last advise, try to persoanally work in a restaurant & experience the tail & head of the business.I did that for a part time to understand the entire busineess. I had plan my F&B restaurant abt 5 years ago & now im still waiting for the right time.
RM30k for renovation? But I think you missed out the labour cost as well. Most renovators would be asking for RM50k at least for renovation. The charges for residential and commercial area renovation are different. Wiring alone would cost you more than RM10k for KL. For tables and chairs, it depends on which type would you want. You need people to feel comfortable so that they could sit longer and more regular. You CANNOT compromise on tables and chairs. If you think you can save on the tables and chairs, then you are wrong smile.gif You need a very nice location for a F&B business, and nice location would cost you more than RM10k just for the deposit. Where can you start it with RM100k? Mind you this is not a budget hotel and if you want to save here and there, customers like us will not come to your place. We still have Old Town to go to tongue.gif

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 4 2008, 06:35 PM)
you also got a big competitor: OLD TOWN KOPITIAM

unless you have something diiferent from theirs, a niche.
You are right, but you have to remember that not every area has an Old Town smile.gif
So, if you could find an area with no old town to start, then that would be great.
ah_suknat
post Aug 5 2008, 05:41 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Jordy,

in a high turnover f&b outlets, like old town, McD, Kim gary etc, it's not always a good idea to have ultra comfortable seatings for the customers because you don't want them to hang out too long, sit around without spending and leave no seats for other incoming customers, because every seats are money and they are limited both numbers and time. so it really depends. biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Aug 5 2008, 09:44 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 4 2008, 07:00 PM)
RM30k for renovation? But I think you missed out the labour cost as well. Most renovators would be asking for RM50k at least for renovation. The charges for residential and commercial area renovation are different. Wiring alone would cost you more than RM10k for KL. For tables and chairs, it depends on which type would you want. You need people to feel comfortable so that they could sit longer and more regular. You CANNOT compromise on tables and chairs. If you think you can save on the tables and chairs, then you are wrong smile.gif You need a very nice location for a F&B business, and nice location would cost you more than RM10k just for the deposit. Where can you start it with RM100k? Mind you this is not a budget hotel and if you want to save here and there, customers like us will not come to your place. We still have Old Town to go to tongue.gif
You are right, but you have to remember that not every area has an Old Town smile.gif
So, if you could find an area with no old town to start, then that would be great.
my friend told me RM50k for shop renovation is a very simple & basic renovation only. I'm not sure how true is this tongue.gif
Gary1981
post Aug 5 2008, 10:27 AM

1,610 posts

JOrdy!!

That estimation cost is i already quoted from a contractor that i knows. Its depend how you want it to renovate your shop....If you does a lot of homework u can do it with lesser cost but if you just only rely on your renovation contractor, i can bet you thhe 50k is nothing. A nice location is the generic ppl perspective for a business, but do you aware some F&B can survive in a outskirt place. Remember a strategic location will increase your cost & competitiveness.Its has good & bad....Strategic location does not gives you a gurantee of business growth. Try to survey at bangsar telawi 3. I used to work one of the branches F&B restaurant there unfortunately the owner close down becos the so call strategic location business does not able to cover the initial investment cost. Thhe owner close all this branches at bangsar, hartamas but only remain the only his F&B at BU centrepoint(2nd floor)....that place is no way so call straetgic location compare to bangsar & hartamas....

My personal advise, try to minimize you initial cost & do a lot of homework & i gurantee you can do it with the minimal cost. The higher initial cost u invest, the slower your business ROI & if u cant sustain, you will thats it. Start your business & dont compare to others strong capital franchise business like kopitiam....A business should growth from small to big(unless you have straong tycoon financial backup)....

TShEhEhE
post Aug 5 2008, 02:11 PM

114 posts

Thank you guys for all the inputs. I'm interested in F&B biz and my purpose of creating this thread is to gather some opinion and info. I do believe renovation can be done at minimal cost. Look at some of the franchise outlet, they only paint the wall and hang some nice photo, no full wall tiles.

Location wise, alternatively can consider office area or business center. It is to cater office crowd for breakfast and lunch, little for dinner I guess.
zenwell
post Aug 5 2008, 03:19 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hEhEhE @ Aug 5 2008, 02:11 PM)
Thank you guys for all the inputs. I'm interested in F&B biz and my purpose of creating this thread is to gather some opinion and info. I do believe renovation can be done at minimal cost. Look at some of the franchise outlet, they only paint the wall and hang some nice photo, no full wall tiles.

Location wise, alternatively can consider office area or business center. It is to cater office crowd for breakfast and lunch, little for dinner I guess.
my friend just ask me want to open a makan shop in Shah Alam or not.
bcos he say that side lack delicious food. even those so-so food restaurant also packed during lunch time bcos the working crowd there really got not much choice. and the food in glenmarie area damn expensive!
Jordy
post Aug 5 2008, 06:25 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 5 2008, 05:41 AM)
Jordy,

in a high turnover f&b outlets, like old town, McD, Kim gary etc, it's not always a good idea to have ultra comfortable seatings for the customers because you don't want them to hang out too long, sit around without spending and leave no seats for other incoming customers, because every seats are money and they are limited both numbers and time. so it really depends. biggrin.gif
You could be right, but for youngsters, they want comfortable settings. I remember during my "younger" days when I really queued up with the others for a place in Kim Gary. Well, those days I used to have my lunch at Kim Gary, so I wouldn't mind, as long as I am promised of good service and comfortable setting smile.gif

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 5 2008, 09:44 AM)
my friend told me RM50k for shop renovation is a very simple & basic renovation only. I'm not sure how true is this  tongue.gif
I believe that is true. As I said, it WILL be hard for you to get someone to renovate a shop for you for less than RM50,000.

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 5 2008, 10:27 AM)
JOrdy!!

That estimation cost is i already quoted from a contractor that i knows. Its depend how you want it to renovate your shop....If you does a lot of homework u can do it with lesser cost but if you just only rely on your renovation contractor, i can bet you thhe 50k is nothing. A nice location is the generic ppl perspective for a business, but do you aware some F&B can survive in a outskirt place. Remember a strategic location will increase your cost & competitiveness.Its has good & bad....Strategic location does not gives you a gurantee of business growth. Try to survey at bangsar telawi 3. I used to work one of the branches F&B restaurant there unfortunately the owner close down becos the so call strategic location business does not able to cover the initial investment cost. Thhe owner close all this branches at bangsar, hartamas but only remain the only his F&B at BU centrepoint(2nd floor)....that place is no way so call straetgic location compare to bangsar & hartamas....

My personal advise, try to minimize you initial cost & do  a lot of homework & i gurantee you can do it with the minimal cost. The higher initial cost u invest, the slower your business ROI & if u cant sustain, you will thats it. Start your business & dont compare to others strong capital franchise business like kopitiam....A business should growth from small to big(unless you have straong tycoon financial backup)....
You have a point, but how many cafeterias really "survived" opening in the non-strategic areas?
In my opinion, don't just use one "lucky" cafeteria to compare with hundreds of others that could be closed down as well.
If you have renovators as friends, then I believe you could ask them to do a makeover for your shop at cheaper rates. But since TS asked this question, it can be assumed that he knows no one. Also, please beware of "friends" as you won't know if they would give you a quality finish.

If you plan to open in office or business centre, do not open a cafeteria. A cafeteria is NOT a place just for quick lunch. It is a place for discussions and get-togethers in my opinion. For quick lunch, those office people would rather have them at coffee shops.
Another problem if you open in these areas, would you have sufficient parking lots? Your business could be affected in the longer term because many people would get frustrated with this problem. If they could find a cafeteria with more parking lots elsewhere, then say bye-bye to your customers smile.gif

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 5 2008, 03:19 PM)
my friend just ask me want to open a makan shop in Shah Alam or not.
bcos he say that side lack delicious food. even those so-so food restaurant also packed during lunch time bcos the working crowd there really got not much choice. and the food in glenmarie area damn expensive!
I might be interested smile.gif
Is it Chinese, Malay or Indian restaurant?
Where exactly is the location?
He has any proposals? tongue.gif
ah_suknat
post Aug 6 2008, 05:12 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

so it's not location, location, location afterall, it's about location, parking, and food. wink.gif
Gary1981
post Aug 6 2008, 10:27 AM

1,610 posts

Dear bro!!you really get my point of view & you hit my jackpot..congrat bro.....this is what i call renovate with minimum cost & it has the unique look....My additional personal advise to you, jsut paint your top wall in black colour & not bright colour..& when i gurantee you will save another penny of renovation cost... Hope you get what i meant. Good luck bro...
My last advise, the kitchen & food is the most important for a F&B business. You can have no knowledge on others sector but you must have the food knowledge & how to cook & you must in control of the chef.
zenwell
post Aug 6 2008, 12:01 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 5 2008, 06:25 PM)
Is it Chinese, Malay or Indian restaurant?
Where exactly is the location?
He has any proposals? tongue.gif
Jordy,

He told me working folks in Shah Alam, don't have much choices when it comes to Chinese food. so he was thinking of opening something like economic rice shop or kopitiam. Something like the chap fan shop in bukit tinggi klang? simple renovation + simple concept = big money tongue.gif

plus, food in shah alam really expensive lor, although it is not so delicious. especially the glenmarie side. Look at the kesas shah alam that side, every morning huge jam because too many ppl going there to work, but when it somes to makan, they have not much choices doh.gif
Jordy
post Aug 6 2008, 12:14 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 6 2008, 12:01 PM)
Jordy,

He told me working folks in Shah Alam, don't have much choices when it comes to Chinese food. so he was thinking of opening something like economic rice shop or kopitiam. Something like the chap fan shop in bukit tinggi klang? simple renovation + simple concept = big money  tongue.gif

plus, food in shah alam really expensive lor, although it is not so delicious. especially the glenmarie side. Look at the kesas shah alam that side, every morning huge jam because too many ppl going there to work, but when it somes to makan, they have not much choices  doh.gif
Ah, is it "My Home" in Bukit Tinggi Klang? That is a brilliant idea, affordable and good food + lots of varieties. I eat there often smile.gif
First of all, your friend can cook? Is he going to manage the whole shop himself? I am interested if it is "real" money tongue.gif
zenwell
post Aug 6 2008, 03:54 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 6 2008, 12:14 PM)
Ah, is it "My Home" in Bukit Tinggi Klang? That is a brilliant idea, affordable and good food + lots of varieties. I eat there often smile.gif
First of all, your friend can cook? Is he going to manage the whole shop himself? I am interested if it is "real" money tongue.gif
Yeah, that's what I call simple renovation + simple concept = big money tongue.gif
although there's a new competitor in the 1toeat which is called Foodex laugh.gif , but it didn't affect "My Home" business much. Sometimes i see their table extend past the bridal shop at night.

I personally think that My Home cooking is better than Foodex.

about the ideas with my fren, actually we are just casually exchanging ideas whenever we meet up. so we didn't really go into serious discussion. He and his wife bz with work, biz and their kid. Me pulak bz with my job and my biz biggrin.gif
Jordy
post Aug 6 2008, 04:11 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 6 2008, 03:54 PM)
Yeah, that's what I call simple renovation + simple concept = big money  tongue.gif
although there's a new competitor in the 1toeat which is called Foodex  laugh.gif , but it didn't affect "My Home" business much. Sometimes i see their table extend past the bridal shop at night.

I personally think that My Home cooking is better than Foodex.

about the ideas with my fren, actually we are just casually exchanging ideas whenever we meet up. so we didn't really go into serious discussion. He and his wife bz with work, biz and their kid. Me pulak bz with my job and my biz  biggrin.gif
Yup, I agree that My Home's food is good. That's why you could see me there smile.gif
So, your friend isn't really interested in setting up the restaurant, isn't it?
zenwell
post Aug 6 2008, 04:15 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 6 2008, 04:11 PM)
Yup, I agree that My Home's food is good. That's why you could see me there smile.gif
So, your friend isn't really interested in setting up the restaurant, isn't it?
yeah next time you going there you PM me lar, so that I can know which one is you tongue.gif

About my fren I don't really know. But somehow I think this is good idea also. But of course before we jump into any conclusion, we should go and survey that area first right? biggrin.gif
Jordy
post Aug 6 2008, 09:32 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 6 2008, 04:15 PM)
yeah next time you going there you PM me lar, so that I can know which one is you  tongue.gif

About my fren I don't really know. But somehow I think this is good idea also. But of course before we jump into any conclusion, we should go and survey that area first right?  biggrin.gif
Haha, sure sure. I agree with the surveying part. If you find it suitable, maybe you could rope me in for a partnership. Better yet if any of you has the expertise in F&B smile.gif
beebuu
post Aug 7 2008, 12:33 AM

48 posts

Well, to anyone who is interested in going down F&B line, please bear in mind is a hell of a job.

You have to prepare for long hours, insufficient rest and sleep, no REAL off days (If you are the boss, then you better be there, can't expect the ship to sail without its captain!), sleepless nights, tired feet and hands etc.

If you are prepared for the stress on your body and mind, then please prepare at least RM200,000 at THE MINIMUM for a small cafe.

Even if you don't do much renovation, you need money and cashflow to sustain you for at least 3 to 6 months.

If you are thinking opening up a cafe or restaurant just because you want to be your boss, forget it. You have to be the best EMPLOYEE in your restaurant.

You are the first one to arrive in the morning, the last one to leave.
You should be the first one to calm down a complaining guest, the person they will blame on the most for their bad experience.

Overall, owning a restaurant is no joke, only if you had to passion to service you can last.
zenwell
post Aug 7 2008, 02:13 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(beebuu @ Aug 7 2008, 12:33 AM)
Well, to anyone who is interested in going down F&B line, please bear in mind is a hell of a job.

You have to prepare for long hours, insufficient rest and sleep, no REAL off days (If you are the boss, then you better be there, can't expect the ship to sail without its captain!), sleepless nights, tired feet and hands etc.

If you are prepared for the stress on your body and mind, then please prepare at least RM200,000 at THE MINIMUM for a small cafe.

Even if you don't do much renovation, you need money and cashflow to sustain you for at least 3 to 6 months.

If you are thinking opening up a cafe or restaurant just because you want to be your boss, forget it. You have to be the best EMPLOYEE in your restaurant.

You are the first one to arrive in the morning, the last one to leave.
You should be the first one to calm down a complaining guest, the person they will blame on the most for their bad experience.

Overall, owning a restaurant is no joke, only if you had to passion to service you can last.
that's the reason I never open my own restaurant. Few of my friends own restaurant and it is a hell of a job. Unless you are really only sitting at the cashier. But by sitting at the cashier only shows that you are not a good boss.
techventurer
post Aug 8 2008, 02:55 PM

28 posts

Could someone explain about this 1toeat Sdn Bhd to me? Is it a company that owns coffeeshop style kopitiams?

Actually, all along I'm also more interested in these kind of so-called "old school" kopitiams rather than cafes, especially outside the city areas. Jordy, count me in for the partnership too! Haha it seems we have several business owners and interested investors but not enough people with F&B experience to run the daily operations... smile.gif
zenwell
post Aug 8 2008, 03:32 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(techventurer @ Aug 8 2008, 02:55 PM)
Could someone explain about this 1toeat Sdn Bhd to me? Is it a company that owns coffeeshop style kopitiams?

Actually, all along I'm also more interested in these kind of so-called "old school" kopitiams rather than cafes, especially outside the city areas. Jordy, count me in for the partnership too! Haha it seems we have several business owners and interested investors but not enough people with F&B experience to run the daily operations... smile.gif
this 1 to eat is all over Klang, I think puchong side also got (somebody clarify please?).

They are doing the many stalls type of corner lot makan shop lar.

To me I think they are very successful. They can open few shop in 1 area, eg: Bukit Tinggi, Klang. Every shop have different name but all own by the same company I think.
techventurer
post Aug 8 2008, 05:22 PM

28 posts

Thanks zenwell. Does anyone know if they own the shoplots or rented it from someone else?

I'm actually interested in this model of operation and even opened a thread to discuss it in the Property sub-forum. Take over a makan-shop, spruce it up, make it simple but clean and hygienic with clear and attractive signboards. Self-run the drinks stall and rent the food stalls out. Anyone interested in such a venture? Oops have we accidentally hijacked this thread?? tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0246sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:42 AM