Opening cafe or kopitiam, any experience?

zenwell
post Aug 1 2008, 03:25 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hEhEhE @ Jul 31 2008, 10:50 PM)
Anyone have any experience in operating cafe or kopitiam? I would like to know what is the cost to setup the biz and what to expect in daily operation. Where to buy the table, fridge and other equipment? I'm more interested in setting up my own cafe rather than paying for franchise fees. Thanks!
Depends on how you want your kopitiam to look like. High class cafe or normal kopitiam selling "tai chau" & "chap fan"? The renovation itself will cost a lot.
zenwell
post Aug 4 2008, 10:18 AM

1,749 posts

ermm, you can consider opening a kopitiam in Shah Alam. According to my frens working there, they can hardly find any chinese food restaurant during lunch time. So those few outlets there always packed although the food is not really nice. I don't how true is this, u gotta go find out lor.
zenwell
post Aug 4 2008, 06:35 PM

1,749 posts

you also got a big competitor: OLD TOWN KOPITIAM

unless you have something diiferent from theirs, a niche.
zenwell
post Aug 5 2008, 09:44 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 4 2008, 07:00 PM)
RM30k for renovation? But I think you missed out the labour cost as well. Most renovators would be asking for RM50k at least for renovation. The charges for residential and commercial area renovation are different. Wiring alone would cost you more than RM10k for KL. For tables and chairs, it depends on which type would you want. You need people to feel comfortable so that they could sit longer and more regular. You CANNOT compromise on tables and chairs. If you think you can save on the tables and chairs, then you are wrong smile.gif You need a very nice location for a F&B business, and nice location would cost you more than RM10k just for the deposit. Where can you start it with RM100k? Mind you this is not a budget hotel and if you want to save here and there, customers like us will not come to your place. We still have Old Town to go to tongue.gif
You are right, but you have to remember that not every area has an Old Town smile.gif
So, if you could find an area with no old town to start, then that would be great.
my friend told me RM50k for shop renovation is a very simple & basic renovation only. I'm not sure how true is this tongue.gif
zenwell
post Aug 5 2008, 03:19 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(hEhEhE @ Aug 5 2008, 02:11 PM)
Thank you guys for all the inputs. I'm interested in F&B biz and my purpose of creating this thread is to gather some opinion and info. I do believe renovation can be done at minimal cost. Look at some of the franchise outlet, they only paint the wall and hang some nice photo, no full wall tiles.

Location wise, alternatively can consider office area or business center. It is to cater office crowd for breakfast and lunch, little for dinner I guess.
my friend just ask me want to open a makan shop in Shah Alam or not.
bcos he say that side lack delicious food. even those so-so food restaurant also packed during lunch time bcos the working crowd there really got not much choice. and the food in glenmarie area damn expensive!
zenwell
post Aug 6 2008, 12:01 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 5 2008, 06:25 PM)
Is it Chinese, Malay or Indian restaurant?
Where exactly is the location?
He has any proposals? tongue.gif
Jordy,

He told me working folks in Shah Alam, don't have much choices when it comes to Chinese food. so he was thinking of opening something like economic rice shop or kopitiam. Something like the chap fan shop in bukit tinggi klang? simple renovation + simple concept = big money tongue.gif

plus, food in shah alam really expensive lor, although it is not so delicious. especially the glenmarie side. Look at the kesas shah alam that side, every morning huge jam because too many ppl going there to work, but when it somes to makan, they have not much choices doh.gif
zenwell
post Aug 6 2008, 03:54 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 6 2008, 12:14 PM)
Ah, is it "My Home" in Bukit Tinggi Klang? That is a brilliant idea, affordable and good food + lots of varieties. I eat there often smile.gif
First of all, your friend can cook? Is he going to manage the whole shop himself? I am interested if it is "real" money tongue.gif
Yeah, that's what I call simple renovation + simple concept = big money tongue.gif
although there's a new competitor in the 1toeat which is called Foodex laugh.gif , but it didn't affect "My Home" business much. Sometimes i see their table extend past the bridal shop at night.

I personally think that My Home cooking is better than Foodex.

about the ideas with my fren, actually we are just casually exchanging ideas whenever we meet up. so we didn't really go into serious discussion. He and his wife bz with work, biz and their kid. Me pulak bz with my job and my biz biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Aug 6 2008, 04:15 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 6 2008, 04:11 PM)
Yup, I agree that My Home's food is good. That's why you could see me there smile.gif
So, your friend isn't really interested in setting up the restaurant, isn't it?
yeah next time you going there you PM me lar, so that I can know which one is you tongue.gif

About my fren I don't really know. But somehow I think this is good idea also. But of course before we jump into any conclusion, we should go and survey that area first right? biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Aug 7 2008, 02:13 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(beebuu @ Aug 7 2008, 12:33 AM)
Well, to anyone who is interested in going down F&B line, please bear in mind is a hell of a job.

You have to prepare for long hours, insufficient rest and sleep, no REAL off days (If you are the boss, then you better be there, can't expect the ship to sail without its captain!), sleepless nights, tired feet and hands etc.

If you are prepared for the stress on your body and mind, then please prepare at least RM200,000 at THE MINIMUM for a small cafe.

Even if you don't do much renovation, you need money and cashflow to sustain you for at least 3 to 6 months.

If you are thinking opening up a cafe or restaurant just because you want to be your boss, forget it. You have to be the best EMPLOYEE in your restaurant.

You are the first one to arrive in the morning, the last one to leave.
You should be the first one to calm down a complaining guest, the person they will blame on the most for their bad experience.

Overall, owning a restaurant is no joke, only if you had to passion to service you can last.
that's the reason I never open my own restaurant. Few of my friends own restaurant and it is a hell of a job. Unless you are really only sitting at the cashier. But by sitting at the cashier only shows that you are not a good boss.
zenwell
post Aug 8 2008, 03:32 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(techventurer @ Aug 8 2008, 02:55 PM)
Could someone explain about this 1toeat Sdn Bhd to me? Is it a company that owns coffeeshop style kopitiams?

Actually, all along I'm also more interested in these kind of so-called "old school" kopitiams rather than cafes, especially outside the city areas. Jordy, count me in for the partnership too! Haha it seems we have several business owners and interested investors but not enough people with F&B experience to run the daily operations... smile.gif
this 1 to eat is all over Klang, I think puchong side also got (somebody clarify please?).

They are doing the many stalls type of corner lot makan shop lar.

To me I think they are very successful. They can open few shop in 1 area, eg: Bukit Tinggi, Klang. Every shop have different name but all own by the same company I think.
zenwell
post Aug 8 2008, 06:29 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(techventurer @ Aug 8 2008, 05:22 PM)
Thanks zenwell. Does anyone know if they own the shoplots or rented it from someone else?

I'm actually interested in this model of operation and even opened a thread to discuss it in the Property sub-forum. Take over a makan-shop, spruce it up, make it simple but clean and hygienic with clear and attractive signboards. Self-run the drinks stall and rent the food stalls out. Anyone interested in such a venture? Oops have we accidentally hijacked this thread?? tongue.gif
now lots of ppl going into this biz. But there will be problem if no customer patronize your shop and nobody will rent from you also. But looking at the positive side, this business is good, no doubt about that. Most prefer to target the working crowd as the operating hours are not so long. Sunday no need to open. But of course earning will be less. Well I will see if anyone interested to do joint venture, I will contact you and Jordy. Meantime if got other oppoturnities, I will let you guys know as well.

0.0193sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:31 AM