153 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

Car Detailing, How I did mine....

ah_suknat
post Jul 3 2012, 02:29 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

anyone know where i can get Dawn liquid dish detergent here in malaysia? cant find it in Giant tho
KC's
post Jul 3 2012, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(knight @ Jun 29 2012, 12:34 AM)
so what u mean is waxing the car is no good???mind to share ur experience??
not to say not GOOD...but what is the effort required? 2 hours? 6 hours?

i used to have this to detail my car

now only with this

a 20 minutes car wash & 5 minute car wax

fmost of the car wax is make of carnuba ( a kind of palm tree & needed to be dissolve by petrol base distill) but Alien Car wax is

QUOTE(ShowTime;1064030807)
Sometime ago I asked Chris Thomas of OPT USA whether can OCW/Alien Wax be used for other uses... say CPU casing? He said its possible... it just that he reminded me to make sure to KEEP the microfiber cloth damp at all times to prevent static electricity! This is a DELL computer casing that uses a single stage spray-on paint without any clear coat. Some of us know that OCW/Alien Wax works well on modern day paint system(2 stage...base coat and clear coat). So how would a wax like OCW/Alien Wax react to it? Well lets see.

I first cleaned the casing with a dampen(with plain water) general purpose microfiber(non plushy ones) since its just purely light dust. Casing age is about 2 years old.

Product used... Optimum Car Wax/Alien Wax of course.

Just 2 light squirts. I didn't press the trigger all the way full.

Noticed that there is more beading on the left side compared to the right side. I did let OCW/Alien Wax cure for 30 minutes. Temperature indoors is about 29C-30C.

NON Abrasive... No black paint transfer. Those marks on the microfiber cloth is basically just OCW/Alien Wax or just water(I did use the same cloth to wipe off the water after doing a 50/50).

No stains in the cracks.

No unscrewing of casing required. I did unplug everything from the back of the CPU so I can perform the application.

BTW, do note to use common sense when trying to mess with electrical equipment using some form of liquid, if there are vents on the casing then its best to spray OCW/Alien Wax onto the cloth and wipe it down onto the casing. Application takes seconds. For the water spraying demo, I did make sure that that side has no open vents. Also I did be very careful not to spray water into the casing gaps too much.

It works for me but for others, at own risk.

Thanks for watching!

Guess I won't be waxing until Christmas.

http://www.chemicar.com/cardetail_wax_offtestreport.pdf

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jun 29 2012, 08:23 AM)
I did not really mean not good, but as my previous reply is to earlier on comment that one of them mentioned after they wax their car their car still getting dirty.

Waxing is a layer of protection, however like I said, weather such as acid rain combine with sun light, wax can deteriorate and melt. And when it melts and dry, it stains your car.
QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jul 3 2012, 03:29 AM)
anyone know where i can get Dawn liquid dish detergent here in malaysia? cant find it in Giant tho
wow...wow...u must be reading alot from US forum
check out here to see what they says about car wash in Malaysia

here

This post has been edited by KC's: Jul 3 2012, 11:16 PM
secondrate
post Jul 4 2012, 11:36 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jun 23 2012, 09:36 PM)
Guys i bought the Waxco headlight restoration for RM2x,it really a waste of money. Even toothpaste do a better job than that :S

Anyone can suggest me a good headlight restoration? I heard PlastX is good.I need you guys opinion
I used Meguiar's ScratchX 2.0. I know I know, its for paint but it seems to work sweat.gif Not that my 7 year old headlights were very blurry/yellowish in the first place.

Added on July 4, 2012, 11:37 am
QUOTE(KC's @ Jul 3 2012, 11:06 PM)

here
Nice link bro. I'm trying out Meguiar's Ultimate Wash and Wax now, the yellow bottle one. Previously using Meguiar's Gold Class.

This post has been edited by secondrate: Jul 4 2012, 11:37 AM
ah_suknat
post Jul 5 2012, 01:17 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(KC's @ Jul 3 2012, 03:06 PM)

here
yeah, autogeek, meguiars online, autopia etc,

I am not using dawn to wash car, I want to use it to clean my microfiber towels.
knight
post Jul 6 2012, 02:29 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(KC's @ Jul 3 2012, 11:06 PM)
not to say not GOOD...but what is the effort required? 2 hours? 6 hours?

i used to have this to detail my car

now only with this

a 20 minutes car wash & 5 minute car wax

fmost of the car wax is make of carnuba ( a kind of palm tree & needed to be dissolve by petrol base distill) but Alien Car wax is

here
Sounds nice. Where you get this? I never see this in supermarket. By the way, I was thinking of turtle wax. Good or not?? I'm planning to send my car for a wash and wax myself in my condo parking.

Added on July 7, 2012, 4:23 pmRegreted to bring my car to road side wash. This is the 1st wash of my new car after 2weeks. After wash, felt more dirty. Why?? 1 cloths to wipe for all..so window now abit greasy. Shaaitt...

This post has been edited by knight: Jul 7 2012, 04:23 PM
Zaypher
post Jul 7 2012, 06:29 PM

297 posts

try to avoid turtle wax. They are really not that great. Though I still have their TUrtle Wax Ice Liquid Synthetic Polish.
secondrate
post Jul 9 2012, 04:07 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Fellow detailers, I found this in my local Petronas station. Made in Italy with lots of fancy words on the labels. RM 18.50 for this bottle. I didn't buy it though, still using my Meguiar's Ultimate Wash n Wax.

kian27
post Jul 10 2012, 03:30 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jul 6 2012, 02:29 PM)
Sounds nice. Where you get this? I never see this in supermarket. By the way, I was thinking of turtle wax. Good or not?? I'm planning to send my car for a wash and wax myself in my condo parking.

Added on July 7, 2012, 4:23 pmRegreted to bring my car to road side wash. This is the 1st wash of my new car after 2weeks. After wash, felt more dirty. Why?? 1 cloths to wipe for all..so window now abit greasy. Shaaitt...
hey bro, view this blog & links inside the detailers & u will know who he is, where this product from and why u cant find it in supermarket!! icon_rolleyes.gif

btw since your car still new, u might get your car detailed & opti-coat it. It can protect your paint. rclxms.gif

have a nice day smile.gif
ayyam
post Jul 11 2012, 05:00 PM

56 posts

My car had this kind of white spots on top of the roof and i wonder if this is treatable or beyond repair. Pics included.

knight
post Jul 12 2012, 12:52 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(Zaypher @ Jul 7 2012, 06:29 PM)
try to avoid turtle wax. They are really not that great. Though I still have their TUrtle Wax Ice Liquid Synthetic Polish.
Why you say so?? Is it abrasive? or what??
sengasdf
post Jul 13 2012, 09:56 AM

492 posts

Hey KC, I have bought the power clean and ONR back in May, try to detail my white paint but still, the dark stain built up in a week time which ONR could not wash it away(even rub it hard) although I have wax applied. Any advise for me?
Zaypher
post Jul 13 2012, 10:49 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jul 12 2012, 12:52 AM)
Why you say so?? Is it abrasive? or what??
no, not the abrasive part. I find that their products are lacking in quality. For example, their car wash, feels so watery..
seech
post Jul 16 2012, 08:01 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 13 2012, 09:56 AM)
Hey KC, I have bought the power clean and ONR back in May, try to detail my white paint but still, the dark stain built up in a week time which ONR could not wash it away(even rub it hard) although I have wax applied. Any advise for me?
ONR is designed as a maintenance wash which cleans without removing your wax. However, if washing is not carried out regularly or there are some very stubborn stains then you should switch to Power Clean to remove it.

Do let me know how it goes...
sengasdf
post Jul 16 2012, 09:11 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(seech @ Jul 16 2012, 08:01 PM)
ONR is designed as a maintenance wash which cleans without removing your wax. However, if washing is not carried out regularly or there are some very stubborn stains then you should switch to Power Clean to remove it.

Do let me know how it goes...
I mean the stain build up within a week, which could not be washed away with ONR, I wash at least once a week.

Procedure: clean with power clean -> wash with ONR -> apply wax

After a week with 1 or 2 days raining, done, stain built up again rclxub.gif
KC's
post Jul 18 2012, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 16 2012, 10:11 PM)
I mean the stain build up within a week, which could not be washed away with ONR, I wash at least once a week.

Procedure: clean with power clean -> wash with ONR -> apply wax

After a week with 1 or 2 days raining, done, stain built up againĀ  rclxub.gif
not to worry buddy, we are in malaysia highly contaminated infested with acid rain country - the amount of rain & heat - does stains the car...I myself driving a white car

check this out - acid rains affect white cars

even new car not spared
new white car damages by acid rains & water spots

It was a very last minute puspakom inspection for my ride and I didnt have time to wash & by the time I remembered I forgot to wash my car.............................

after a weeks of unwashed and went thru some rains......................... how to get pass the inspection for transferring to a new ownership....????

while waiting for a few minutes........ I quickly reach out to my booth to see what can i tools......in my "Mary Poppin's Bag"........finding something to detail my ride

closer

Instant Detailer??????

the amount of dirt & stains picked

ta da

Instant Detailer??????

after a few swipes

the amount of dirt & stains picked

after

back

by flipping over the dirty side MF to get a car clean

under sunlight

The Saviour that saves my day

1-2 months i just opc it again - rather using wax to polish off which requires so much efforts & it is safest paint cleaner

maintain with onr & OID weekly (swipes clean where ever it needed) mamamia gloss & protection

This post has been edited by KC's: Jul 18 2012, 09:48 AM
tehtarik_ais
post Jul 18 2012, 02:24 PM

66 posts

boss, tumpang tered biggrin.gif

would you mind come ampang to detail my car? a metalic grey mazda rx 8 with fabric interior, color faded edi liao, sumore lots of scratch on the dashboard & seats, etc..

Brapa you charge? kaotim kasi new look can? hmm.gif
KC's
post Jul 24 2012, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(tehtarik_ais @ Jul 18 2012, 03:24 PM)
boss, tumpang tered biggrin.gif

would you mind come ampang to detail my car? a metalic grey mazda rx 8 with fabric interior, color faded edi liao, sumore lots of scratch on the dashboard & seats, etc..

Brapa you charge? kaotim kasi new look can?  hmm.gif
sure
I charge very expensive

but I can teach u for free

why not u come to learn from me

if I give u a fish it will feed u aday
but if i teach u to fish - it will feed u for life

ladies also can handle rotary

call me 016 220 9227
Ericz
post Jul 25 2012, 12:41 AM

116 posts

hey guise ~ where to buy the rotary with the pad ? or only the pad.
can't find in shopping mall like tesco, giant etc or the mr diy shop

btw dun flame me for not searchin sweat.gif must go to slp nao sweat.gif
tehtarik_ais
post Jul 25 2012, 08:59 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(KC's @ Jul 24 2012, 11:43 PM)
sure
I charge very expensive

but I can teach u for free
why not u come to learn from me
if I give u a fish it will feed u aday
but if i teach u to fish - it will feed u for life
can can, no problem.. u teach me fish & give me fish lagi bagus thumbup.gif will call u later

This post has been edited by tehtarik_ais: Jul 25 2012, 09:40 AM
KC's
post Jul 25 2012, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(Ericz @ Jul 25 2012, 01:41 AM)
hey guise ~ where to buy the rotary with the pad ? or only the pad.
can't find in shopping mall like tesco, giant etc or the mr diy shop

btw dun flame me for not searchin  sweat.gif  must go to slp nao  sweat.gif
buddy any where u can also buy the makita or similiar rotary but will you get to be trained to handle it? if you got a porsche of ferrari would u use it on!?

we trained Nissan owner too

QUOTE(tehtarik_ais @ Jul 25 2012, 09:59 AM)
can can, no problem.. u teach me fish & give me fish lagi bagus  thumbup.gif will call u later

153 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:09 PM