Car Detailing, How I did mine....

tchtax
post Mar 7 2011, 03:15 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(KC's @ Mar 7 2011, 02:03 PM)
Hmmm...2 years- i saw the effect- it wear down the paint

Wow..haven't heard that a sealant has abrasives in it unless its like an AIO. Correct me if I'm wrong, KC. If it is then the product should be applied probably every 6 months or yearly depending on whether the car is outside most of the time and regular maintenance.

Yesterday tried the Optimum Instant Detailer......really good product.!! Applied it during the drying process after car wash. Very slick, and the gloss...especially in the afternoon under the hot sun.. wow!! (seriously..not exaggerating here). But don;t know how it will hold against dust and grime yet.

This post has been edited by tchtax: Mar 7 2011, 04:54 PM
KC's
post Mar 8 2011, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(tchtax @ Mar 7 2011, 04:15 PM)
Wow..haven't heard that a sealant has abrasives in it unless its like an AIO. Correct me if I'm wrong, KC.  If it is then the product should be applied probably every 6 months or yearly depending on whether the car is outside most of the time and regular maintenance.

Yesterday tried the Optimum Instant Detailer......really good product.!!  Applied it during the drying process after car wash. Very slick, and the gloss...especially in the afternoon under the hot sun.. wow!! (seriously..not exaggerating here). But don;t know how it will hold against dust and grime yet.
I am glad u like OID - yes it does help - esp a giving yr ride a quik touch up - esp in car shows

haven't heard- doesnt mean havent happen - I had thatb4
Miracle sEALANT OR Waxes
It’s pretty common for marketing companies to market products like a “twice a year sealant " or "Once a year Car Wax”, and while these types of products are a great idea, attractive enough to catch anyone attention esp aunties and appeal to a lot of people, the reality is there is no such thing as 1/2 a year sealant or once a year car wax that works- esp in our climate , if in fact the car is a daily driver & park outside is subjected to so many harsh attacks - industrial fall out, acid rains - extreme heat - fumes - strong cleaner - shampoo esp road side car wash
. If it could replace itself when portions of it wear off then it would be a once a year car wax, but last I checked the way we get wax onto the car is we have to apply it ourselves.

Now let me ask you "does wax wear down yr clear coat"? nope but act as Sacrificial Barrier Coating - The purpose of a wax or synthetic paint sealant
is creating a over the surface on your car’s paint - in other words, the layer of wax or paint sealant gives itself up so your car’s paint doesn’t have to give itself up...but many a times we prolong - delay - neglect the routine regiment of maintainance

a better way to determining when or how often to wax your car, two words… Service yr car???

No I don’t mean wax or seal your car every time you service yr car, what I mean is think of waxing or sealing your car in the same way you think of changing your oil.

My argument is Preventative Maintenance - before it breaksdown

the next question is the product this too is very subjective depending on the brand of the sealant & wax you used - cleaner wax does contains abrasiveness solvent
try soft 99 eg...so string you can also remove stains & scratches on yr coat - so it does contains chemicals & wax - but what is the portion ???? 90 cleaners & 10 waxs....does its serve to protect or clean more often
, back in US every products need to be backed by The MSDS - material safety Data Sheet - it will tells u the content but down here any thing goes - right
here anything goes -even fighter plane without engine - hahahhaa

Windscreen help
Few months back, there's rain stain mark on my windscreen. So I head over to Carrefour and bought Topcat Watermark Remover. This product does remove the stain, but then I realize it leaves some chemical mark on my windscreen. No matter how I wash it, it cannot be remove. Bro, do you know any products that can remove the mark?

any one else have this issue here

you may share some light

RahXeph0n
post Mar 8 2011, 02:29 PM

188 posts

I'm trying to remove water spots from my car >.< Any solution?

In fact.. anything I can do to the car to avoid water spots? car is parked unsheltered every night >.<
tchtax
post Mar 8 2011, 03:44 PM

638 posts

I would use a polish or have it clayed to remove, depending on how the water marks have etched into the paint.

http://www.carwaxreviews.net/common-car-pa...93-water-spots/

Seal and wax periodically for prevention. Other sifus may have other opinions.

This post has been edited by tchtax: Mar 8 2011, 04:19 PM
dadurtyz
post Mar 8 2011, 09:18 PM

658 posts

if just light water mark clay your car will do, then dont forget to protect with wax or sealant so next time water mark hard to bond with ur paint
ohmlawx
post Mar 8 2011, 09:27 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Mar 8 2011, 09:18 PM)
if just light water mark clay your car will do, then dont forget to protect with wax or sealant so next time water mark hard to bond with ur paint
bro, how to get rid of bird's waste mark?
cIvIc_noob
post Mar 9 2011, 12:39 AM

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

I have watermark on my car too, a lot... i mean really really a lot and kao kao..

i am your typical local consumer, just wash car and then wax it with the brand 'kit'.

1.My initial exp was like this, i bought a can (round one) soft 99 from jusco to wax the car and the watermark disappear and i thought it was good, and after a few car weeks later it appeared. I thought it was gone, but in fact it was hidden.
Then i run out of it
2.I couldn't find soft 99, so i switched to "kit" as that was the only brand i can find in the whole retail in stores in penang (jusco, tesco, cold storage, gama). I use it and realise it takes at least 4 times the effort(more force and time) to make the water stains disappear( i use hand, no kaching buy machine)

Q1.My question is how do i make them disappear completely or at least hide them more easily?

I am currently in Taiping for 2 days and just now i went to tesco and i found this blue colour soft 99 (did not say remove water stains) and also this meta clean soft 99 can (it says remove water stains).
Q2.Will this really remove water stains completely or will it work like my previous soft99 and just hide it?
Q3.Should i get the blue colour normal one since my car is just white colour and not metallic, since i assume the meta clean 99 is for metallic paint or should i get the meta-clean one since it says on the back (remove water stains.)
Q4. I also read something on using vinegars, does this work?
Q5. I've also read about claying, does this remove water stains, i've read some forum they said it does with some soap water while others said its used to remove stains and small dirt to prep the car for polish. So how does this work and where do i get them?How much are they?

I get irritated i see water stain after car wash, i also have some bubbles and rust on the roof, but i want to at least clean the stain so it don't look ugly. Any cheapo alternative, don't ask me buy the exp exp stuff like megs, im kiamsiap. Thanks in advance for people sharing on this
SUSSKY233
post Mar 9 2011, 12:48 AM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(cIvIc_noob @ Mar 9 2011, 12:39 AM)
I have watermark on my car too, a lot... i mean really really a lot and kao kao..

i am your typical local consumer, just wash car and then wax it with the brand 'kit'.

1.My initial exp was like this, i bought a can (round one) soft 99 from jusco to wax the car and the watermark disappear and i thought it was good, and after a few car weeks later it appeared. I thought it was gone, but in fact it was hidden.
Then i run out of it
2.I couldn't find soft 99, so i switched to "kit" as that was the only brand i can find in the whole retail in stores in penang (jusco, tesco, cold storage, gama). I use it and realise it takes at least 4 times the effort(more force and time) to make the water stains disappear( i use hand, no kaching buy machine)

Q1.My question is how do i make them disappear completely or at least hide them more easily?

I am currently in Taiping for 2 days and just now i went to tesco and i found this blue colour soft 99 (did not say remove water stains) and also this meta clean soft 99 can (it says remove water stains).
Q2.Will this really remove water stains completely or will it work like my previous soft99 and just hide it?
Q3.Should i get the blue colour normal one since my car is just white colour and not metallic, since i assume the meta clean 99 is for metallic paint or should i get the meta-clean one since it says on the back (remove water stains.)
Q4. I also read something on using vinegars, does this work?
Q5. I've also read about claying, does this remove water stains, i've read some forum they said it does with some soap water while others said its used to remove stains and small dirt to prep the car for polish. So how does this work and where do i get them?How much are they?

I get irritated i see water stain after car wash, i also have some bubbles and rust on the roof, but i want to at least clean the stain so it don't look ugly. Any cheapo alternative, don't ask me buy the exp exp stuff like megs, im kiamsiap. Thanks in advance for people sharing on this
bro u from penang rite?
try go to one stop midland plaza smile.gif
thr gt some medium range care detailing products too nod.gif
cIvIc_noob
post Mar 9 2011, 01:28 AM

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Mar 9 2011, 12:48 AM)
bro u from penang rite?
try go to one stop midland plaza smile.gif
thr gt some medium range care detailing products too  nod.gif
any reccomendation, they sell clay? or cleaner?
tchtax
post Mar 9 2011, 03:51 AM

638 posts

Try PG Clay - ACE Hardware about RM29. If it were me, I'd try the green one. To know how to use clay bar

http://www.autogeek.net/video-clay.html

SUSSKY233
post Mar 9 2011, 09:57 AM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(cIvIc_noob @ Mar 9 2011, 01:28 AM)
any reccomendation, they sell clay? or cleaner?
i not sure they gt sell or not. .
try to go Car Authentic tis shop inside it. .
they can describe the product n recommend product for you smile.gif
not bad . .
fyi, i bought my turtle wax car shampoo, microfibre clothes , some waxes from them tongue.gif
KC's
post Mar 9 2011, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(tchtax @ Mar 8 2011, 04:44 PM)
I would use a polish or have it clayed to remove, depending on how the water marks have etched into the paint.

Seal and wax periodically for prevention. Other sifus may have other opinions.
yupp

to avoid this - do not wash yr car while is still HOT & especially under the SUN (driving to car wash with yr engine running?????????)

wax more often - sacrifice yr wax layer

water mark is a tough one to detail
among the paint problem this is on the same list of the scratch - even swirls is easier to correct

the problem here in Malaysia is this

there is lots of rain & heat - both rain droplets will be baked into the paint with the heat of the sun - try to place a bottle of mineral water on your leather seats & lets the sun glare thru - ta da - yr leather will get burnt

now these droplets will be a magnifying glass effect on yr paint

the least ones can be polish off with polisher -

the severe ones - need compounding- etched into your clear coat

let me show you

the top - as it is always says - hard to reach the top

plenty of water stains - and happen to be on the sunroof glass -

2 issue - hard water is bad - to make is worst is on the glass - the hardest surface of the car

it takes an hour plus to detail

another 50/50 % comparison on the sunroof

before

a 50/50%

ta da

check again
now

what i di was compounding with rotary & wool - multipler times (over an hours to get it prefect) the same amount of time for me to finish a whole bonnet - over a sun roof

by all mean avoid

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Mar 8 2011, 10:27 PM)
bro, how to get rid of bird's waste mark?f -
wet sand it & be careful - birds dropping are acidic & our clear coat is porous

imagine you spill a cup of coffee on yr marble floor - left & ta da - stains forever

but if you were to wipe it immediately you have not much of issue

- thats is what every car care manufacture recommended - I always have a bottle of ONR diluted in my car at all time - the cheapest QD (spray & agitate & wipe dry with microfibers)

QUOTE(tchtax @ Mar 9 2011, 04:51 AM)
Try PG Clay - ACE Hardware about RM29. If it were me, I'd try the green one. To know how to use clay bar

http://www.autogeek.net/video-clay.html
yupp
good link

check out my clay posting in auto geek too
here

remember use ONR - as it is the cheapest QD in the world - safest & effective

RahXeph0n
post Mar 9 2011, 04:36 PM

188 posts

So can I make this conclusion:

If I have no covered car park, then getting rid of waterspots in Malaysia is a waste of time? Because almost every morning my car is covered in dew. Almost every other day it rains. I cannot afford to dry my car every time it's wet. I simply don't have the time. I'm guessing from your replies that there is not product that can protect from water spots. The only protection is shelter or constant drying. rclxub.gif
tchtax
post Mar 9 2011, 08:04 PM

638 posts

Protection is constant maintenance via waxing/sealant including weekly washing, if at all possible.

Water spots comes from allowing rain water/tap water to dry on the car for too long (especially under the hot sun) without washing and/or drying.

Our water is hard water ...contains fair bit of minerals that can etched into the paint if left unattended for too long. It goes right onto glass/windscreen/windows as well as demonstrated by KC in the above post.

Our rain...acid rain.(and you know what it does to clear coats)

So wash, seal and wax frequently for maximum protection..(well at least some form of protection)

This post has been edited by tchtax: Mar 9 2011, 08:13 PM
RahXeph0n
post Mar 9 2011, 11:30 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Mar 9 2011, 08:04 PM)
Protection is constant maintenance via waxing/sealant including weekly washing, if at all possible.

Water spots comes from allowing rain water/tap water to dry on the car for too long (especially under the hot sun) without washing and/or drying.

Our water is hard water ...contains fair bit of minerals that can etched into the paint if left unattended for too long. It goes right onto glass/windscreen/windows as well as demonstrated by KC in the above post.

Our rain...acid rain.(and you know what it does to clear coats)

So wash, seal and wax frequently for maximum protection..(well at least some form of protection)
But if it rains every odd day, and there's dew on my car every day, it means I need to dry my car every day, and worse, if dust have settled during the day, and dew settles on the dust during the night hours, it would mean I cannot simply dry my car in the morning, as I may end up scratching the paint. So... besides a daily car wash... how can I avoid water spots? I have no sheltered parking. I guess... Nothing can be done but to accept it? I currently wash (and immediately dry) my car more than twice a week. But there are already water spots everywhere, and they won't go away.

I'm tempted to try vinegar, but afraid I may ruin the paint or other parts of the car. Is it safe?
dadurtyz
post Mar 10 2011, 11:45 AM

658 posts

After bough my tech wax and tire shine from capiche it's time for me to test out this great product,

Tools used are nxt car wash, 3 microfiber cloth, PG no.1 clay-bar, UQD for lubricant clay-bar, tire shine, and tech wax 2.0.

the method
1. wash my car using nxt car wash using wash mits and 2 bucket system,
2. Clay my paint with UQD as lubricant ( however the clay doesn't collect much dirt over my paint-job maybe because i took care good of it )
3. drying my car using microfiber cloth
4. take break to having my food ( yummy )

5. Apply 1coat nxt tech wax panel by panel at one time, i found that this tech wax can easily remove water marks but i dont know it remove or just cover it for sometime.
6. 2nd coat are apply at back of the car to test the 1 coat and 2nd coat durability. ( this tech wax easy to remove and doesn't leave any white residue over the plastic part ).

u can see the mirror finish, i dont have Big lamp so just turn on my night lamp, however the swirl mark and fine scratch are slightly reduce (doesn't mean that swirl mark gone, i mean cover )

The result are amaze me 100% notworthy.gif wax the whole car only took me 1hour to finish whole car and total time spend 2hour<< that really fast!

more picture after the jump, thx for reading rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dadurtyz: Mar 10 2011, 11:50 AM
tchtax
post Mar 10 2011, 11:52 AM

638 posts

Wow...very nice!!!.Great job, !!

Nxt wax - does it remove the water marks or just act as a filler??? The claybar you used also didn't help in removing the water marks (even though its PG Clay No 1) ?

and heck that's a lot of pizza for 1 guy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tchtax: Mar 10 2011, 11:53 AM
dadurtyz
post Mar 10 2011, 11:59 AM

658 posts

thanks for compliment. yeah, i think the wax just cover it for sometime, clay doesn't help to remove water mark, but what i found out i only can cover the mark with wax.

the pizza for whole week and keep in refrigerate lor brows.gif
no money to eat now after buy all this stuff.

This post has been edited by dadurtyz: Mar 10 2011, 12:01 PM
tchtax
post Mar 10 2011, 12:19 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Mar 10 2011, 11:59 AM)
thanks for compliment. yeah, i think the wax just cover it for sometime, clay doesn't help to remove water mark, but what i found out i only can cover the mark with wax.

the pizza for whole week and keep in refrigerate lor  brows.gif
no money to eat now after buy all this stuff.
lol!!! ...... aiseh man !! Maybe a polish will help remove water mark, if it doesn;t..dare I suggest compounding that spot. Don;t know if its the right thing to do

dadurtyz
post Mar 10 2011, 03:35 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Mar 10 2011, 12:19 PM)
lol!!! ...... aiseh man !! Maybe a polish will help remove water mark, if it doesn;t..dare I suggest compounding that spot. Don;t know if its the right thing to do
try polish first, suggest you for cheap alternative get soft99 meta clean, but depends on mark maybe use hand enough or need rotary machine

153 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:40 AM