8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Car Detailing, How I did mine....

KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 10:48 AM)
That something special, if you mean big foot, then I am in too.
QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 01:51 PM)
did i hear big foot? wah... where do you plan to get the Rupes stuff?
I hope you guys realise that the Bigfoot (both the LHR15 & LHR21) would be in the four figure price range. But if trully interested, I might be able to ask the supplier to send up a few for you guys. Provided that his coming shipment/stocks aren't spoken for yet.

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Jan 23 2013, 02:58 PM
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 02:51 PM)
Hands-on experience together with FLX too (If I see the machine correctly)

Less vibration but twice the effect. (The more experience detailer say one, I mata rabun...tak nampak pon  laugh.gif)
Just to add. The machine you saw/tried the other day was the Flex 3401VRG vs Rupes LHR15 & LHR21. You didn't take any pictures ah?
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 03:04 PM)
I thought the distributor got take photos ma, ask him to share lar.
I'll try to ask him to upload in our fb group la. That guy so secretive one....and difficult to catch.

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 03:09 PM)
I am more interested in DAS6Pro or G220v2, still undecided over this 2.

btw, how do you guys get most of your detailing product? Anyone selling Klasse, Poorboys or any other autogeek product in Malaysia? So far I only manage to order optimum and duragloss from local.
Why undecided? Let me persuade you a little la. Both machines come from the same source and you're actually paying for the brand name for the more expensive of the two, whereby it's actually the cheaper of the two. And DAS6Pro=Ultramate. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Jan 23 2013, 03:33 PM
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 03:33 PM

Well the flex and big foot are both forced rotation  DA which already retail for close to 400 in the UK.
Would it be more interesting to you if I were to say that the Bigfoot *might* have a price tag of around $400 instead of £400.... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 03:43 PM

btw, how do you guys get most of your detailing product? Anyone selling Klasse, Poorboys or any other autogeek product in Malaysia? So far I only manage to order optimum and duragloss from local.
There are a few 'serious' kakis up there in Penang. You should hook up with them. Don't ask me how they got them but those guys have all sort of products from everywhere around the world man. Does the name Bernard rings any bell?
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 03:46 PM)
DAS6PRO is 800W and G220v2 is only 500W. I do not think they are the same machine. maybe DAS6 and G220v2 is, since both 500W but I am looking at both which is the same price range. I can get them from UK with sea shipping.

Local distributor thinks it takes so much effort to ship a 5kg metal that they can mark it up to RM1650..

I prefer to buy your second hand DA if you guys plan to dispose after owning bigfoot. lol. I am cheap haha.
I think you misunderstood me. I didn't mean that both machines are the same. I meant both machine are sourced from the same factory (or thereabout). G220 is the cheaper machine but has a higher price tag (both locally and oversea).

I also think that when buying a machine like this you should also consider the reliability and warranty, especially if you're sourcing it from elsewhere. Our retailers/suppliers/distributors here, more than often enough, would be very reluctant to entertain any warranty claims especially if you didn't buy it from them, even if the machine comes with international warranty. I do suggest, if you're considering buying, try getting them locally, if possible. That's why I suggest the Ultramate as it has local support and it also come from the same factory that made the DAS6Pro - i.e. same machine with higher motor.

I don't own a DA, but I have a feeling that a few pre-own DAs would be on sale soon enough.....hehehe.....

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 03:49 PM)
KrisMas, nop. I am a new to detailing and just started few months back so do not know anyone. Do they have a penang detailing forum?
I don't think they have a forum and I haven't seen them on line for quite a while now. But there's a group of detailing fanatic kakis up there that do meet up for TT regularly. I do keep in touch with them once in a while. As far as I know they are having a whole lot more fun and using a whole lot of different stuffs as compared to us down here. Let me see if I can hook you up with them.
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 06:37 PM

Yup. The exact same one selling here:
http://osren.com/products.asp?categoryid=51&list=23

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Jan 23 2013, 06:44 PM
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 05:11 PM)
I was interested only in his 710W DA because it is cheap, but I cannot get much details and there was only 1 user review. Too bad he is in Terengganu else I can have some hands on to decide. Without the proper review and testing, I decide not to go ahead.
Let me see if our Terengganu kaki can help out. I'm interested to know also.....
KrisMas
post Jan 26 2013, 06:45 PM

A small write up coming.....and I guess the long overdue V2 as well (crossing fingers.... tongue.gif )

KrisMas
post Jan 27 2013, 12:54 AM

???? I'm too old for this. Can you speak English please.....???

I also wonder if I can do what ever it is that you said since...well...I'm still a noob here with 0 post counts....hehehe....
KrisMas
post Jan 27 2013, 10:38 PM

Roger wilco....after I've gotten myself a good night sleep. 'Busy' day today....hehehehe....
KrisMas
post Jan 31 2013, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(Johannas @ Jan 31 2013, 12:19 PM)
After using my applicator pads to wax my car and a microfibre cloth to buff, any specific way to wash my applicator pads and cloth so that they can be reused?
Which wax?
KrisMas
post Jan 31 2013, 02:42 PM

Foam/sponge applicator - use dishwashing liquid & rinse well.

Microfiber applicator/cloth - soak for a couple of hours in normal liquid type cloth detergent mix (don't use the powder ones and try to avoid those that contain softener), rinse thoroughly. DO NOT SCRUB AS THIS WOULD DAMAGE THE FIBERS AND MAKE THEM HARD AND LATER USELESS FOR PAINT.
KrisMas
post Jan 31 2013, 02:44 PM

oh...and DO NOT dry any microfiber type of materials directly under the sun...dry them under shade (I normally dry mine indoor).
KrisMas
post Jan 31 2013, 03:45 PM

A WHOLE LOT if you're a nutcase like some of us. NOT THAT MUCH if you just want to maintain the clean and shiny look for as long as you own the car. JUST A LITTLE if you just want your car to look clean.

So where do you want to stand?
KrisMas
post Feb 3 2013, 08:23 PM

I've been using RainX....not much complaint.
KrisMas
post Feb 7 2013, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Feb 7 2013, 11:29 AM)
You mean carnauba wax right? My thinking is that wash -> clay -> rinse -> wipe dry -> wet-sanding/compounding -> wax -> polish -> sealant.
Personally, I won't be bothered too much with rinsing and wiping dry after claying if I plan to wet-sand the whole car cuz it's going to get wet again (while 'wet' sanding) and also the surface is going to be compounded/polished so any marks or blemishes would be removed afterwards....just personal preference. And yeah, shouldn't you polish first before wax/sealant....????

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Feb 7 2013, 11:56 AM)
Why? With the exception of carnauba wax, everything has to be layered below the sealant, which means that the sealant should be applied last. No?
Ok. Here's the thing. Normally, liquid sealant uses some sort of solvent or another as carrier, hence their liquid form. These type of carriers have a very mild cleaning properties. Some market these sealants as 'shine and protect'. The cleaning properties would remove, in part or in whole, whatever LSP/wax/sealant that's already on the surface. Normal paste waxes however, have very much less 'cleaners' in them. Hence applying a sealant on top of something else would be a little wasteful as some (or all) of the existing LSP would be removed, if the existing LSP hasn't properly cured. So, the idea is, if you want to top up or do a 2nd layer, use something that doesn't contain (much) cleaners in them. In general, the step is sealant (liquid) then wax (paste). Or, some times, two layer of sealants, not because to get 'double' protection but just to makes sure even coverage.

And another thing, let say both the sealant and wax you're using has very minimal cleaner. Sealants are generally more durable than waxes. I don't see any point of applying the less durable one at the bottom.....

Just my 2 sen.
KrisMas
post Feb 7 2013, 03:50 PM

Sounds better. If you don't plan to sand then need to dry la after claying...sorry about that...my bad.
KrisMas
post Feb 7 2013, 07:34 PM

Well, the more accepted terminology amongst detailers is that waxes and sealants serves the same purpose - LSP (Last Step Process), i.e. for protection. Generally speaking, waxes have more organic ingredients and normally come in a paste form whereas sealants are synthetics and comes in thick liquid form.

For what you're refering above for wax, we termed them as 'glaze'.
KrisMas
post Feb 8 2013, 07:46 PM

Just want to whish you guys who are celebrating:

Have a Happy, Prosperous and SHINY New Year!!!!

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0565sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:05 PM