Car Detailing, How I did mine....

KrisMas
post Feb 25 2013, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 25 2013, 08:40 PM)

Oh...permission to go OT a bit ah....may I ask who's that EMMA in our sig there?
KrisMas
post Feb 26 2013, 09:24 AM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 25 2013, 10:18 PM)
Serious meh? I do have friend who can easily setup website with payment gateway wor...
Not as bad or as preposterous as I put it...but, yeah, he's changed his set-ups. You're in a better position to talk to him about the website thingy la....I know ZILCH about web developement...hahaha

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 26 2013, 08:29 AM)
Just that krismas said they open stall nia, later I go confront him with krismas accusation. All the blames on krismas.
Just don't make it sound too serious ok...cuz I wasn't.... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
KrisMas
post Feb 26 2013, 11:28 AM

What I can remember is that M135 has a stronger solvent kinda smell and didn't need to use as much as UQD. Now that you've mention it...I think I even remember diluting it down with distilled water for some reason...I think it got to do with streaking or something.....
KrisMas
post Feb 26 2013, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(Dunhill200s @ Feb 26 2013, 10:56 AM)
Hi all,

I need some help here for my car headlight
8yrs old, now yellowish when look from front

I gather here that
1. I need to sand it with 1200, 1500,2000 till 2500 sandpaper first
with running water

2. Polishing it with somethings like Meguiar's PlastX

3. ??? what do I need to apply for the headlight to last longer without
changing back to yellowish again after few months
errr...I need to apologise in advance if what I'm going to say would offend you, never was my intention. But here goes....

You don't sound like you know what you're doing (or going to do). I hope you realise that sanding and, ESPECIALLY, removing sanding marks is NOT an easy task without proper products and practice. You might have seen videos showing what you've mentioned above and it looks easy enough. Believe me when I say it's NOT.

But, saying that, if you're willing to take the risk and interested in trying, I do suggest you get yourself something to test/practise on first....preferably something similar or identical to your own headlamp (from kedai potong maybe?) If not, then you'd need to weight the risk of replacing the headlamp IF you failed. Just a note: sanding is easy, removing the sanding marks is the difficult part.

So, in case you decide to go for it:

1. sand paper - get an 800 and 1000 grit also just in case, maybe you can forget about 1200 and go straight to 1500 after the 1000. Make sure for the last few grits you're using sandpaper suitable for wet/damp use. You can use the larger grit dry if you want. Use as required only, try the finer grit first.

2. PlastX is a good start, but what do you plan to use as an applicator? I'd suggest you start 'polishing' and removing the sanding marks with a cloth (cotton or microfiber) and finish off with a foam (sponge).

3. PlastX itself contains a little bit of protection. It wont last long but it'll do. You *might* need to re-apply it once in a while though after it wears down so that you can minimizing the lamps from getting oxidised again (depending on how much of the existing UV coatings you had removed from the plastic). As for 'proper' coating (as in replacement of the OEM one), I haven't tried any yet so maybe somebody else can chime in. Maybe you can try automotive paint supplier....I heard that Aikka have a spray-on in an aerosol can for headlamps....
KrisMas
post Feb 27 2013, 10:18 AM

I'm honoured by the request, and so I open up a V2.0 thread tongue.gif for Car Detailing.

Please continue all these very informative and revealing discussions over here: Car Care and Detailing [V2]

So, I hereby request those in authority to lock up this thread save it for future references.

I like thank you RedBox (who ever and where ever he is right now) for starting this original thread and also Quazacolt for the honour of the V2. This is for you Quazacolt.... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Best of Regards.

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0487sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:09 PM