128 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Nintendo Kopitiam V13, the 13th episode!

ashchia
post Aug 1 2008, 11:24 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 1 2008, 11:07 AM)
If its possible, try looking out for gamecube games.

The titles that u mentioned actually doesn't really appeal too much on lots of players. For, as an 8 bit game lover, looking at how refreshing the Wii games were brought me back to nostalgic memories. I never cared if i had to save a princess 10 more times, it was already etched and fun for me.

Its a matter of perception for u. I can't say this console is not for u, because the thing is, the lifespan hasn't ended. At any time it could spring back bring a certain genre of games that people might like.

To me, playing ahem games provided no satisfaction or value.Playing Ori games (even though borrowed from Corez) makes me take my time to slowly dish out the game. Just o savor every bit of moment that i can get with it just to milk out its worth.

For u to wait for those games to come out, ur question won't be answered anytime soon. If u feel its not up to ur liking anymore, then its just like that. smile.gif
lol, i enjoy playing game in fast pace, not slowly(either ori or *ahem* game, but will replay several time if i think the game is worth it, or just buy the original to keep if it is *ahem* game
corez
post Aug 1 2008, 11:26 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

The third party seriously need to get their head examined. Wii is selling by the bucketloads and we were given shovelware from them.
PhoenixByte
post Aug 1 2008, 11:27 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

sebab tu hideo kojima marah happy.gif
why_79
post Aug 1 2008, 11:30 AM

63 posts

it takes extra resources to make a "wii version" of a game, as opposed to say, a PC/PS3/XBOX360 port because it's usually all so similar, technically-wise.

but that's also the beauty of it, the Wii will have exclusive third party games and that's the reason i'm bought a Wii.
i loved third party exclusives.....simply because i'm a fanboy. icon_rolleyes.gif
zio
post Aug 1 2008, 11:32 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

According to the article I read in Game Informer, Nintendo doesn't have a concept approval stage, so bucketload of crap gets push through.

This could be Nintendo's way of building up a software library because the average Wii consumer could be just anybody on the street and to them, seeing variety is very enticing. Its like walking into a library full of books (even though some are crap) and walking into a library with very few books (although full of quality). You feel better with the library that has more books.

So, at the way things are going, maybe Nintendo will hope that companies that produces crap games will essentially lingkup and then you are left with only the quality developers.
corez
post Aug 1 2008, 11:34 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(why_79 @ Aug 1 2008, 11:30 AM)
it takes extra resources to make a "wii version" of a game, as opposed to say, a PC/PS3/XBOX360 port because it's usually all so similar, technically-wise.

but that's also the beauty of it, the Wii will have exclusive third party games and that's the reason i'm bought a Wii.
i loved third party exclusives.....simply because i'm a fanboy.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Its the other way round, it is cheaper to produce a Wii game rather than a PS3 and X Box games.

If I'm not mistaken the cost is in the region of 3-4 mill while for the other two is as much as 10 mill.
PhoenixByte
post Aug 1 2008, 11:35 AM

798 posts

Whatever happen to nintendo seal of quality btw happy.gif
why_79
post Aug 1 2008, 11:35 AM

63 posts

i think Nintendo strategy have always been to raise the bar on their console with their outstanding first party games and hopefully the third party will get their act together and follow suit. sadly, not many are actually up to the challenge..... yawn.gif

but it's a pretty successful formula, even Sony are emulating it with their 1st party on the PS3.....
corez
post Aug 1 2008, 11:36 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 1 2008, 11:32 AM)
According to the article I read in Game Informer, Nintendo doesn't have a concept approval stage, so bucketload of crap gets push through.

This could be Nintendo's way of building up a software library because the average Wii consumer could be just anybody on the street and to them, seeing variety is very enticing. Its like walking into a library full of books (even though some are crap) and walking into a library with very few books (although full of quality). You feel better with the library that has more books.

So, at the way things are going, maybe Nintendo will hope that companies that produces crap games will essentially lingkup and then you are left with only the quality developers.
The same thing happens with PS and PS2. The difference between Wii and those 2 are that the Wii Gems came from first party. Lets hope 3rd party get their acts together.
PhoenixByte
post Aug 1 2008, 11:38 AM

798 posts

It's the classic FLYING MAN problem...
corez
post Aug 1 2008, 11:39 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Aug 1 2008, 11:35 AM)
Whatever happen to nintendo seal of quality btw happy.gif
You mean the Seal Of Quality for Games like this? tongue.gif

why_79
post Aug 1 2008, 11:40 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Aug 1 2008, 11:34 AM)
Its the other way round, it is cheaper to produce a Wii game rather than a PS3 and X Box games.

If I'm not mistaken the cost is in the region of 3-4 mill while for the other two is as much as 10 mill.
from what i gathered, development on HD console is certainly higher but u only need to spend a bit more time and money to cross-developed it on the PS3/PC/XBOX at the same time.

where else, if u want to do a Wii version of the same game, u need to spend a lot more time,effort and money to create the version.... that's the reason Capcom is giving for not announcing SFIV on the Wii (yet).

so it's cheaper to develop on the Wii (exclusively) but it's cheaper to cross-develop on the PC/PS3/XBOX so hence, the end of third party exclusives as we see it.
zio
post Aug 1 2008, 11:41 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Well, all I can say is that hopefully consumers become smarter and do some research before buying. That way, it will weed out the incompetent faster.

But I think our fellow Nintendo Wii player problem is different. He is not enjoying the gems that Nintendo has to offer. I mean the games that he did not enjoy were practically the heavy hitters: Zelda, Metroid Prime, Mario Galaxy, Paper Mario.

I can only say.... play Wii Sports tongue.gif Easily the best game ever!
corez
post Aug 1 2008, 11:42 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(why_79 @ Aug 1 2008, 11:35 AM)
i think Nintendo strategy have always been to raise the bar on their console with their outstanding first party games and hopefully the third party will get their act together and follow suit. sadly, not many are actually up to the challenge..... yawn.gif

but it's a pretty successful formula, even Sony are emulating it with their 1st party on the PS3.....
NES and SNES have no problem getting good third party games. Then Nintendo get cocky and imposed a draconian rule which is not a win-win situation for them.

Along came sony with thier PS's and 3rd party starts leaving Ninty.

And now the cycle begins again with Wii. Hopefully :prays:
PhoenixByte
post Aug 1 2008, 11:44 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Aug 1 2008, 11:39 AM)
You mean the Seal Of Quality for Games like this? tongue.gif
yes..that is what i mean happy.gif
what does that seal represents?
jenniferjen
post Aug 1 2008, 11:46 AM

410 posts

Well thank a lot from all of you with the advise.

I had consider playing GC games as well, i had no prob getting a memory card and a controller, but the games is hard to find, even theori one. I was exceptionally wanted to get my hand on RE1 remake, but with no luck. So guess i got to wait a little more.

I got shock too when i started to get bored with the wii so early, thank god my wife still like the tennis in wii very much, so at least i wont feel sorry for my wii.

Hmm... is manhunt2 that good? I am sorry to admit that i kinda keen more on ah hem games, i am just the average income slaves in malaysia. So if i get a wrong original games which i dont like to play, i will soak my head in the toilet bowl... But i did consider getting SSBB ori, since i think the best thing abt this game is online features, but not sure about the gameplay, saw the video, seem like 2D games?

I read a lot in IGN, Gametrailer, gamefaq forums, and other game revealling site, and the more i read, the more i feel worried on the wii. Their library are bunch of casuals, not to say no good, but casual - friends pack games or parents children games. I really hope wii could produce more games like RE4 (I dont genre them as hardcore games, not sure why people say is hardcore games) but more like mature games. There is just too much potential in the wii especially the controller, although the graphic might lose out, but i am not a graphic whore here. I just wanna have fun.

Maybe i'll give manhunt a try, or godfather? And I hope to try to get people who are selling RE remake. Wanted to play that game very much.

Again thank for all the feedback

zio
post Aug 1 2008, 11:46 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

The lack of quality games from third party has been highlighted many times. And there seems to be a conspiracy theory or it could be true.

Apparently, a third-party developer who wants to implement something new with Wii will get their approval delayed until Nintendo comes out with that new innovation first.
corez
post Aug 1 2008, 11:49 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Aug 1 2008, 11:44 AM)
I mean that as a Joke.

Since the Superman 64 is one of the worst game EVER.

Anyway, I think Ninty just stop putting the seal on their games after N64.
why_79
post Aug 1 2008, 11:52 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Aug 1 2008, 11:44 AM)
haven't u hear? it became "official nintendo seal" instead during the NGC era when Ninty wanted to court and win back their third party support.

if u have some NGC, take a look at their box arts.....REmake and RE0 both had "Official Nintendo Seal of Quality" while RE4 (which came out later) had "Official Nintendo Seal". the Seal changed sometime during the NGC system lifespan.
Mudmaniac
post Aug 1 2008, 11:54 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 1 2008, 11:46 AM)
The lack of quality games from third party has been highlighted many times. And there seems to be a conspiracy theory or it could be true.

Apparently, a third-party developer who wants to implement something new with Wii will get their approval delayed until Nintendo comes out with that new innovation first.
True that.
Did you know that middle of last year, someone figured out a way to use the wiimote as a tracking camera, and the light bar as a headpiece. Results: a motion tracking system that let you track the player's head and simulate 3-d images on the screen.

I figure, most ppl already have two wiimotes, all you would need to sell would be a pair of glasses fitted with 2 ir leds and power, and a small stand to put one wiimote on the tv. Then. you can program cool games around that interface.

128 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:17 PM