Movies Official STAR WARS Movies/TV Thread, FORCE AWAKENS | ROGUE ONE | SW VIII

defaultname365
post Dec 17 2015, 03:16 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

cry.gif

Thank goodness I stayed away from any potential spoilers! Didn't see them coming.

Ties with Fury Road as the best film of the year.

Finding fault would be arduous effort, inevitable but I really couldn't care less. tongue.gif

10/10

It has been worth the wait.

Multiple viewings this is a must.

P/S : Did you guys hear Yoda's voice at any one point - I think I did.

Hats off to the cast and the almighty J.J. Abrams.

Brilliant. Just bloody brilliant. How they managed to keep true to the original trilogy yet keep it fresh is truly a monumental achievement.

The ending :

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 17 2015, 03:20 AM
defaultname365
post Dec 17 2015, 11:24 PM

1,098 posts

IMAX 3D once again gave me somewhat pixelated images. Sat at row 'F', and I could clearly see the images were pixelated.

Overall, IMAX 3D - a disappointment. However, I believe this won't be an issue if you either sit in the last row or the second last row.

Watching in Digital 2D, should not be an issue (from past experiences).

It will be a big no from me if in the future I can't secure last row/2nd last row seats for IMAX 3D.

As for the 3D experience itself - there were some 3D moments in the movie, especially when the Star Destroyer scene moving towards the screen. That was the only epic one! A true 3D moment. Flying particles especially fire. The rest, not really. You won't miss out on a lot if 2D is chosen over 3D.

Atmos should be one helluva experience. Atmos 2D should be amazing!

defaultname365
post Dec 20 2015, 11:20 PM

1,098 posts

So basically...

In the movie, I believe Han Solo mentioned Luke was training a new generation of Jedis. Wonder how that worked out, definitely not well for Ben.

And the question remains of who (and why) Rey was abandoned on Jakku.

I loved the character Kylo Ren. He is a one-of-a-kind villain in the SWU... the tantrums he throws, showing his face, quite the opposite of Vader. I know there is much more to his story than what we just saw.

I wonder if Supreme Leader Snoke's size is as projected; we have seen in the past (Darth Sidious talking to Vader etc.) but they not always projected in actual size. If Snoke's size is as what we saw, Snoke would be the 'largest humanoid' in the Star Wars universe.

Hope to catch the movie again soon.

defaultname365
post Dec 21 2015, 05:03 PM

1,098 posts

Harrison Ford was paid £17.6 million pounds by Disney (+ a percentage of the movie earnings). blink.gif

Daisy Ridley and John Boyega each £300,000 + a percentage of the movie earnings.

Btw, is this real?

OMG if it is ! This version of the Millennium Falcon is crazy expensive!
defaultname365
post Dec 22 2015, 11:02 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Dec 22 2015, 07:13 AM)
Granddaughter to be specific.

From reddit.

After seeing this a 3rd time, i'm convinced that Rey is not the daughter of Luke or Han/Leia. In her conversation with Maz after her forceback, Maz says that the ones she is waiting for are not coming back. She then says, "but there is one who will". Immediately Rey says, "Luke.". The first time I saw this I thought she was asking "Who?". Yet, she clearly says "Luke." when I watched this the 2nd and 3rd time.

We know that Rey was waiting for her family to come back for her. So when Maz says that the ones she is waiting for are not coming back, this must mean that her family are not coming back for her. This obviously means that Han/Leia and Luke are not her family.

Yet, why would Luke care for her or come back for her if he's not family? Yes she's strong with the force and needs proper training, but I think it's much more than that. Here's my theory, hear me out. Others here are starting to have the same idea. Rey is the granddaughter of one Obi-Wan Kenobi.

Full list of reasons here
Brilliant, read it all.

Also the possibility

No, obi-wan had a daughter, Luke married her, together they had Rey.

This would make Rey daughter of Luke and Granddaughter of Kenobi
Which would make Rey incredibly powerful with the force but the age/gap of Luke & Obi-Wan fathering a child would be a slight issue.

Didn't realize there were so many hints of Obi-Wan in Rey (fighting style/scaling/climbing the walls/her accent even etc.). And the forceback they used Ewan McGregor's voice. ohmy.gif Nice theories to think about.
defaultname365
post Dec 23 2015, 02:16 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 23 2015, 09:28 AM)
Speaking of George Lucas, I was wondering what kind of story will he plot out for Episode 7
It may never be revealed, or it might be published in a different form. George Lucas' response on the film

“I think the fans are going to love it. It’s very much the kind of movie they’ve been looking for.”

...the kind of movie they have been looking for... hints at his idea being quite different. He wanted very young actors (a la Anakin Skywalker in Episode 1) but Disney and J.J. Abrams backed out and went for that original trilogy newcomers idea.

P/S: Didn't notice there were 'new' AT-AT ! tongue.gif The amount of detail hidden all over this film is immense.

defaultname365
post Dec 24 2015, 07:50 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 24 2015, 01:56 PM)
hmmm where in msia sell the sphero bb 8 app controlled droid ?

local seller here sell like rm 1 k...

online sell 150 usd but doesnt ship to msia =.=
You mean this?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0107H5FJ...d=ATVPDKIKX0DER

It says it does ship to Malaysia.

Total cost :-
Items: MYR 682.67
Shipping & handling: MYR 95.06
Total before tax: MYR 777.73
Estimated tax to be collected: MYR 0.00

I only have this :

FunkoPop Bobble-Head tongue.gif
defaultname365
post Dec 29 2015, 11:06 AM

1,098 posts

Watched it again in Atmos D-Box last Friday.

The picture clarity, the Atmos sound, and of course, the D-Box seats makes the price of the ticket worth every cent! Every laser blast from the blaster, every swing of the light-saber, every ship that takes off/arrives; D-Box provides the equivalent feedback! Especially the chase scenes and the first time Poe takes off in that Tie Fighter sweat.gif Incredible.

Compared to IMAX 3D, Atmos D-Box gives you a way more enhanced movie experience. More viewing space, as in the subtitles are not obtrusive compared to IMAX 3D's ridiculous 40% of the screen covered in subtitles. You also get pristine quality images, even if you sit closer to the screen compared to the pixelated IMAX.

Second viewing experience of TFA was well worth it. The first time, it was an assault on the senses; visuals, sounds and the anticipation of certain scenes. Now that they are out of the way (well sorta..), second viewing made me notice a lot finer details, the Rey forceback visions, etc. and with the knowledge of the easter eggs, makes it an even more enjoyable experience. And what better way to experience this than in glorious Atmos D-Box.

I've seen two of the (possibly) best film to utilize D-Box thus far; Mad Max Fury Road and this. thumbup.gif

defaultname365
post Dec 30 2015, 12:53 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 29 2015, 05:27 PM)
even number will have arm chopped off
if no arms chopped off, it aint a Jedi  whistling.gif
based on you guys comment, ATMOS D-BOX is a muz for TFA?
it is not 3D right?
guess i can go for 2nd round alone this coming holiday  laugh.gif

*juz notice only 30 seats.....how is the screen size?  hmm.gif
lets say pavi compare to large/medium/small hall  hmm.gif
Only three rows for D-Box, right at the back. Really love it as you get to see the action on the 'whole screen'. Should it be closer to the screen? I don't think so, I'm fine with it. tongue.gif

QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Dec 29 2015, 05:56 PM)
Wow, now you're making me want to take my wife to watch The Force Awakens in the local D-Box ATMOS hall in 1 Utama. She hasn't watched TFA yet and I intend to let her enjoy the latest movie of the Star Wars series (my wife isn't exactly a Star Wars fan, btw)! tongue.gif

Let's hope I can get a nice seat when I book the tickets later today! rclxms.gif
Totally worth it! TFA does not 'punish' anyone for not having Star Wars knowledge beforehand. It is a very enjoyable piece of film on its own.

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Dec 29 2015, 07:30 PM)
Demit, all this hype on Atmos D-Box makes me want trigger a trip to KL. Watched it at D-Box GV Bishan, Singapore last week since its the closest D-Box experience I can afford and feeling a little meh. The seat is so far back from the screen I barely see any details although not that I need to see it since its my 3rd viewing. But still its those little things make the viewing more enjoyable. So far, feedback on this Star Wars Atmos D-Box is overwhelming and I almost can't help but to try make an effort to come down to KL only for this.
GSC 1U's D-Box was amazing. This is my second film with D-Box and once again, exceptional. Not all movies (even full blown action movies imo) would benefit from D-Box.

The scene where Rey uses her Jedi mind trick on the Stormtrooper (played by Daniel Craig) - the moment the Stormtrooper is eventually 'affected' by the mind trick, the chair rattles. thumbup.gif You just don't get that kind of feedback from normal 2D/3D formats. Also the scene where Kylo Ren tries to get the map from Rey's mind; the moment he comes close to getting it the chair rattles, and the moment he loses it, it eases (and repeats as the scene goes).

Credit also goes to whoever is responsible for programming this D-Box for the amount/length/strength of the feedback for each scene on screen.

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 30 2015, 12:55 AM
defaultname365
post Dec 30 2015, 11:36 AM

1,098 posts

I think the explanation to Rey's origin would be a simple one. Ardent fans would be a bit disappointed in my opinion when it is finally revealed. I doubt J.J. Abrams would choose a complicated route. The 'twist' we got from TFA is that it was Rey that had the force and not Finn, Kylo Ren being Ben (...and also the demise of a beloved character). I might be repeating same old theories/ideas...

I tried to look at Rey from the perspective of her being Luke's child and Han/Leia's child on my second viewing.

The latter has its fair share of hints; the Millennium Falcon on Jakku, Unkar Platt who was allegedly restraining Rey as she watched an alleged Corellian ship take off; Han could have had a child without Leia's knowledge/vice versa, Rey being able to finish her "dad's" sentences, her natural ability to fly the Falcon, getting along well with Chewie (which is rare... come to think of it, the ladies have had better luck with Chewie). But it just didn't seem right.

The former- as Luke's child, resonated with me throughout the movie. As mentioned before, Luke could have had a child with a descendant/bloodline of Kenobi, and Rey was that child. Luke was training a new generation of Jedis, among them Ben and Rey. Ben turned to the dark side, and under Snoke's influence, he became Kylo Ren. To protect Rey, Luke 'abandoned' Rey on Jakku and fled to the remote island. Luke blamed himself for creating a Vader. The evidence of Rey being a Luke/Kenobi is plentiful (her scaling the Starkiller, fighting style - hand grabbing with Kylo Ren was so reminiscence of Anakin vs. Obi-Wan, the voice of Obi-Wan in her forceback, her accent even etc.). Kylo Ren also seem to have knowledge of 'the girl' ("What girl?" he asks as if dumbfounded if it really could be Rey).

The force calls out to Rey just like it did to Luke albeit differently. Luke was presented with his light-saber at the right time by Ben Kenobi while Rey, the force called out to her... literally. The forceback could be actual memories of Rey in her earlier days, but somehow it was blocked perhaps by Luke himself.

As for Supreme Leader Snoke, I'm wondering if his old age have anything to do with Kylo Ren's "ancient" light-saber? Passed down to him perhaps. Some say Snoke could be Darth Plagueis, but I think not. Snoke really is a new character they created. They even explored the idea of Snoke being female. Anyhow, we won't know definitively until future Episodes. Snoke could evolve into whatever the writer/director wants...

defaultname365
post Jan 19 2016, 10:43 AM

1,098 posts

"Force Awakens" Deleted Scene:

tongue.gif

defaultname365
post Jan 21 2016, 02:49 PM

1,098 posts

Waited years to see Luke Skywalker again. We finally do and he doesn't say a word.

Now have to wait 1 1/2 years to hear him speak again.

1 1/2 years to know Rey's identity (and that's just a maybe).

What's interesting is Dec 2017 is going to be a behemoth clash between "Avatar 2" and "Episode VIII".

defaultname365
post Feb 16 2016, 09:16 AM

1,098 posts

Luke... why u no speak in TFA ?!

Movie comes out in December. 2017. sweat.gif

We got Rogue One to keep us company til' then.

defaultname365
post Apr 9 2016, 09:35 AM

1,098 posts

Wooo! rclxm9.gif

P/S: The alarm sound is kinda annoying. laugh.gif
defaultname365
post Apr 13 2016, 09:43 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Apr 12 2016, 07:02 PM)
I foresee they will run into Vader as they're trying to escape and he will slaughter half of them. Like a cameo but to show us why Vader is so feared. Doubt he'll have an extended role.
...a cameo of Vader played by Hayden Christensen and voiced by James Earl Jones? hmm.gif

Or Vader will do an 'Episode VII-Skywalker' ending look. laugh.gif

But yes, I do believe we will see Vader in Rogue One.

Grand Moff Tarkin could be played by the talented Ben Mendelsohn.

defaultname365
post Apr 15 2016, 12:28 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Apr 13 2016, 05:14 PM)
quite unlikely..because Grand Moff is a title of Tarkin..Ben Mendelsohn in the Grand Admiral suit..
Never can tell how it will pan out once the movie is out tongue.gif

QUOTE(reehdus @ Apr 14 2016, 06:25 PM)
Why not? In the Rebels tv series he is voiced by James Earl Jones also. Dunno about Hayden la...don't think it matters who plays the body double since we don't see them anyway. Ben Mendelsohn i can never forget him as the guy who was messed up by Bane in the Dark Knight Rises
I am confident we will see some kind of 'Vader' appearance, either voice or a glimpse. To be honest, just want to hear new Darth Vader dialogue! biggrin.gif

I see a lot of folks saying the Stormtrooper looks 'lame' and the look of the movie feels like a step back from 'Force Awakens'... duh ?! 'Rogue One' is essentially Star Wars: Episode 3.5 whistling.gif And being the first 'A Star Wars Story', this looks set to be more like a military-esque Star Wars film.

defaultname365
post May 4 2016, 11:17 AM

1,098 posts

Re-tweeted by Daisy Ridley herself a day ago. laugh.gif
defaultname365
post Aug 13 2016, 10:58 PM

1,098 posts

Love the tone... much more 'on-the-field-warfare'.

And....

Darth Vader is back!

Every word that he utters will be 'sealed' in cinematic history. biggrin.gif

The music... wow, nice take on the Vader theme.

defaultname365
post Oct 13 2016, 11:31 PM

1,098 posts

Wow... rclxms.gif

Darth Vader... that walk... so intimidating... *shudders*
defaultname365
post Dec 18 2016, 10:16 PM

1,098 posts

Nostalgic!

I wouldn't say it is better than TFA, but it bridges Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope beautifully right down to the final last moments! Wow! biggrin.gif

The first part to me felt a bit disjointed, felt almost they were chopped up/re-edited/reshot kinda feel to it, but towards the second half of the war it becomes gloriously Star Wars with emphasis on "WARS!"

The visual cues from the original trilogy really hit home run, just mesmerizing to see how they were able to bring back the old look with a brand new sheen of newness.

The X-Wing sequences felt at times like watching the original films... (I heard they used archive footage for Red/Gold Leader).

Darth Vader's appearances were short (as expected) but powerful enough and worth the wait. James Earl Jones ; you are still doing great with that iconic voice.

The movie seem to lack the emotional bits that I think were more profound in TFA... but in the end, you really felt for all the characters' struggles.

I kept wondering, where were they all in EP IV? laugh.gif

Well, we got the answer. No cutesie BB8-type droid but we get K-2SO which to me, isn't really a 'loved-it-to-bits-i-so-want-the-toy' kinda character. The emphasis here seems to be purely on the story which is a good thing.

And major thumbup.gif with them tackling the one flaw of the Death Star... and turning it into a Rebel-centric Star Wars flick. Nicely done!

Totally worth the ticket admission, and I daresay worth a second watch for the battle sequences.

A solid 8/10 from me.

The music... erm... didn't really stand out for me. Didn't hit any real memorable note in my opinion. M Giachinno rushed the score from what I heard, right after he finished Dr Strange, could be a reason.

Ending image:

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 18 2016, 11:27 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:23 PM