9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

My Journey for iPhone 3G/Aifontriji, Unboxing & GPS video clip Post #1!

TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 04:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(cyclonekid @ Jul 18 2008, 04:20 PM)
Wah, sting got new iphone. Congratulations. When can i take it for a test drive.
Light as a feather, sting like a bee? tongue.gif JK, jk.

Okay youtube finally accepts my file. iPhone 3G GPS clip coming up. Dont expect so much aaah, shaky cam only. tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 05:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Jul 16 2008, 11:48 PM)
me demands for videos on GPS on the go! laugh.gif
Your wish is my command! Presenting my own crappy clip of iPhone 3G GPS in action, at the back of a very shaky bus! laugh.gif

First post edited to include the unboxing video and now, the GPS clip as well. Enjoy! Try not to throw up. laugh.gif

Just saw it for the first time, I'm really sorry if anybody threw up. But seriously, that's how it felt at the back of the bus. you can practice riding rollercoaster by riding RapidKL buses. Watch at your own discretion, airsick bag not included. wacko.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 05:15 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 06:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Drive while recording and testing that GPS? Accident lah like that.

Plus, I dont drive while in KL. If you live here, you know how driving it around here. Just like the forum also lah, there are polite ones, and there are those absolutely vile and nasty ones. I treaure my blood pressure and my health. Let others drive me.

I've tested an experiment where a person with a car and a person on a bus or LRT takes off at the same time to the the same destination. Guess who arrives first? My hangout spots are usually covered by LRT stations and bus coverage, so I'd rather set an example and use them. Not like some folks who complain about traffic jam when they themselves driving big SUVs and honking away.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 06:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

P/S: Driving luxurious car in KL is a joke. I see tons of those supposedly rich people, but dont want to park in parking lots, but doublepark outside instead. Got money to buy BMWs and Mercedes, but no money to park inside? That's your typical Malaysian. wink.gif

Plus I hang out pretty long, more often between after lunch and till late night. Imagine the parking fees for that. Only when I really need it that I would drive into KL. Safer on my sanity.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 06:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Nope. Everyone thinks for themselves, hence what we call the "Me First" attitude Malaysians always hold to. As long as I got myself out of trouble first, why should I care about you?

A simple example is when I ate at the food court in KLCC just now. Lunch hour, so very crowded. What do you see? Lots of tables occupied by singles or couples, where they can fit up to 4. Some ask if they can share table, because crowded, but one nasty look from some of them, gave them the answer. Why not just sit and have your lunch in table counters where you can still eat and not waste table space? Let those with parties of 4 use them tables. You can still stare and hold your GF/fiancee/wife hand if you want, but you also give other people a chance to have their meal.

What happens after that? After eat, simply toss dirty napkins on table, and leave trays and dirty plates. If you could just try and clean up after yourself and pick up your lunch plantes and trays and leave them at the cleaner's stations, you can easily leave the table ready for use for the next people who are already waiting standing around waiting to sit to have their meal.

Dont get me start talking about that last fuel price hike. Only the very idiotic and stupid would line up at petrol stations to pump their tank full, that could merely last a day or so of daily travels. After that , you pay the hiked price also, right? So what is the bloody fcuking difference!?

Be considerate lah, not this "Me First" attitude. "Me first" get this table, you dont sit here. "Me first" eat already, you want this table, you clean up lah.

This is just the tip of the iceberg on why I feel that no matter how tall the buildings Malaysian builds, but if their attitude remains the same, you will forever be considered third-world. And also why I'm most confortable with my time while I'm in the States, there will be times where there would be arseholes and all, but the majority of the general public have the public decency and fortitude to think about their other fellow citizens. Not this "Me first" crap.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 07:00 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 07:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

You should see my car odometer. Work + not driving into KL = almost brand new car! laugh.gif

We think realistically and common sense lah. Sometime the most effective and ideal solution requires you opening up your mind to other options. Most Malaysians I see only wants comfort and things easy for themselves, not caring about the troubles of others. Again , that "as long as it makes things easy for me, I don't care about others" attitude. If I think this way, you'll never ever see a Tumpang thread, why should I trouble myself for complete strangers? I see this Tumpang thing as my way of widening my acquaintances. You need my help now, who knows if I need your help later?
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 11:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jul 18 2008, 08:37 PM)
LOL... the first 2 beeps in the first 6 sec is really like cloverfield sound effect. plus with the shake of course
No aliens, be it humanoid-size, or those the size of buildings were harmed in the making of this Youtube movie. tongue.gif

Added on July 18, 2008, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(nonama @ Jul 18 2008, 09:18 PM)
Hi String,

Would like to ask you some questions..

1. In your humble opinion is it worth upgrading to 3G if the firmware is the same with the 1st gen iPhone?

2. Whats the best feature so far for the 3G?

1. I'm the wrong person to answer this, I'll definitely be biased towards 3G.

2. GPS and MobileMe. The location-aware based Apps will definitely change the way we communicate and social-network with our friends. MobileMe and Push contents for that immediate feel connectedness among work colleagues. The GPS is crucial update to the new model IMO.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 11:17 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 18 2008, 11:43 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(sub7 @ Jul 18 2008, 10:42 PM)
Good stuff you shared here, string... couple of questions.

a) Can the 1st gen Iphone earphone (with mic) use with 3G? I'd invested into Griffin earphone, hope to use on 3G in time to come

b) What about the case? I knew 3G is thicker than 1st gen, ever tried that?

c) Battery life! I knew you'd answered before, but here's the extension of my question. 20% of battery remaining consist of texting, gps on, wifi on, low brightness, audio + surfing... that's like 12 hours of usage measured?

Finally... yet to hear other countries with 3G iphone unlock like NZ, hope more to come. smile.gif
a) My V-Moda Vibe Duo works, so I'd imagine yours would work as well.

b) I have an old clear case, doesn't fit. So does the inCase leather holster. I'm not gonna risk scratching it shoving it into tight spaces. I'm waiting to see if u should invest in another Countour iSee clear case, I'm a big fan of clear cases.

c) I obviously couldn't be using it 24/7 but it ran it pretty much to the ground with listening to songs, while surfing. Wifi always on, and with Scrabble and Enigmo onboard, I play them when I'm free. Typical phone call patterns and text , although things do get heavy when in the wee hours ofvthe morning when I call Swindon(UK) and Newport(US), for better rates. I also am heavily promoting Disney vacationing to my buddies, so I always have it handy to keep "Season of Disney" TV series specials videos to make my case. GPS occasionally for the fun of it. Games, especially Scrabble, when I'm bored. And still have that 20% left when I reach home at the end of the day.

Added on July 18, 2008, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(Fighteden @ Jul 18 2008, 11:24 PM)
I still would like to see the plastic back's durability .. does it stand scratches or smudges?
Software wise i am not concern, cause i already know it will be supreme ..

I am just interested on the outlook feel and the durability ..

I've drop my 1st gen twice (*ouch*) and it rolls like crap and still only minor scratches .. cause it's alluminium ..

And comment on the overrall feel string?
Overall feel? One word: Classy.

It's not plastic, it's more like layered polycarbonate with extra shine. Pictures does not do justice. I don't like black to the very fact that shiny surface now shows clear fingerprints now. If you've handled the new PSP Slim, the black looks like that. The material is like that shiny gloss coat you see on PS3.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 18 2008, 11:49 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 19 2008, 10:40 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

There is a glimmer of hope now for those who waited for a local Malaysian iPhones. Read my post here about the info I gathered from a Maxis midlevel. It may come true, it may not, so if you have to celebrate now, celebrate with those thoughts in mind, be cautiously optimistic. I am not responsible for destroyed hopes and pinings should this not happening.

TSstringfellow
post Jul 19 2008, 01:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, I've got a closer look at the workings of GPS while I was on the way here. Here are my observations.

Your position is fairly accurate if you leave the map at default . Once you start zooming in, the GPS lock now requires further accuracy readout, which in the end results in your blue blip skewing out of the marked road you're travelling. Perhaps the updating was not fast enough, resulting and a more rougher calculations, which in turn made the blue blip travel on the sidewalk, instead of on the road, but it was not detrimental enough to warrant any worries. That level of accuracy, which in this means, how much you zoomed in, at that level is meant for pedestrian mode, when you're walking. And since when you're walking, you wont be walking at the rate you're driving, the positional acquisition and triangulation should be more accurate. This was tested and proven yesterday when I walked around the KLCC park.

Also, dont zoom too much. If you take a look at the video I made on the GPS, at one point the map loses alldata, and goes blank. This is because I double-tapped it too many times, resulting in zooming too much, and GoogleMap on the iPhone does not have the data at that level of accuracy. Street-level accuracy, such as the ones in GoogleEarth, is not present in GoogleMap on iPhone. Dont be mistaken, the Hybrid mode is more tha able to provide you with the required navigation you need, just dont expect GoogleEarth fancy workings here.

And Malaysia's map, specifically around KL is decent at best. I tried routing from the current position I was and route to KLCC, GoogleMap simply blurts out that there are no roads to where I want to go. Guess the KLCC drop pin was located at the fountain in the park, and nobody can drive to that exact position. You can easily alleviate this by dropping a pin at the road infront of KLCC and route there, but that involves further zooming and swiping to get to the wanted position.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 20 2008, 11:32 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Malaysian credit cards are not accepted on US iTunes, it will fail the credit card check process. You need to use iTunes Gift cards to top up your credir.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 20 2008, 03:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yes. This applies should the same criteria remains.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 20 2008, 05:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

My pleasure. I was biting my nails worrying as well, gald it turned out in my favour. It also helps when you have people who are going to go out of their way to help you. Kudos to Psyeo and Cocklea for this.

The verdict, on whether I get NZ flight next month or not, will come in less than 16 hours, when office opens tomorrow. I dont know how many times I say this, but pray for me. smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 20 2008, 06:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Ken6800 @ Jul 20 2008, 05:14 PM)
Excellent, well I'm certainly praying for you to go! (although I must admit my intentions aren't entirely unselfish...) Hope you are enjoying your victory smile.gif

OT :  Malaysia airlines has started putting multicolored seats in their planes (orange/red/green/blue/etc.) - must be trying to get a Disney brand-association or something...
Slip-up on design department. Lucky we dont see that on my fleet. *barf*

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jul 20 2008, 05:46 PM)
MacGuyver, am I reading this correct? You are going to help people buy iPhones from NZ IF your management sends you there?

MacGruber?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 20 2008, 06:05 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 20 2008, 06:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Keep an eye out on the Tumpang thread.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 21 2008, 11:23 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 21 2008, 10:24 AM)
can iphone use with msn messenger or anyhting?
Use Meebo.

Okay, just another point to stress here. If you have activated and used MobileMe and use that service to push and update your contacts and iCal into your iPhone, there's a glitch.

The glitch is, MobileMe "Push" feature work only over WWAN , meaning 3G. I was looking through my contacts details today, and they are all missing their phone numbers! Something is definitely wrong with MobileMe, as you canobviously find out from recent news ,that Apple is working the kinks out of that system. In iTunes 7.7, you either actuvate your MobileMe to be used as your sync/"Push" to your iPhone or the Sync tab in your iTunes to do the same thing. It is either/or not "and", so you cant use both. What I had to do was delete my MobileMe setting on my iPhone, and resync it back using iTunes "Info" tab sync, to retrieve back the missing data.

Note, this has nothing to do with 3G, it is working fine. It is the iPhone/MobileMe integration that is still on the fritz right now. Lucky I found this out earlier, otherwise, I would have been stuck with phone-numberless contacts inside my iPhone! sweat.gif

On regards of my roster, I've called the rostering department, and I'll get my answer in 30 minutes. They are currently swamped with uploading the roster up into the system for staff access, so I'd give them a break right now. Fingers cross so that I get Auckland next month! flex.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 21 2008, 12:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Looks like the suspense is dragging it a little bit longer. "This evening or tomorrow morning at the very latest" is the answer I get. Hang in there, guys. sad.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 21 2008, 12:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2008, 12:14 PM)
guLp... now I've got to glue me eyes to this screen for even a longer period! tongue.gif

Until that "July" changes to August, it's still the old roster. sad.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 21 2008, 12:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2008, 12:22 PM)
@stringfellow,
But but but ... that date reflects today's date isn't it?! *grins*  And whoever setup that system has BAD London!

PS: Oops.. oK... I know which JUL ur referring to now - the one on the right ! tongue.gif
Not me, it wasn't me. tongue.gif

I was referring to the "July 2008 Roster has been published". Once that turns to "August", then we're in business. wink.gif

TSstringfellow
post Jul 21 2008, 12:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 21 2008, 12:41 PM)
string, so as long u have 3G, it will push the mail in?
Mail, Contact, iCal, ...even Photos!

Even when you are away from your primary Mac/PC, you can always go to MobileMe at www.me.com . Compose your Mails there, or edit your Contacts, change your iCal appointments, and it getd immediately pushed to your iPhone 3G. rclxms.gif

Same goes the other way. Send your snapped Photos to MomileMe direct from your iPhone, and publish it way straight if you like. Emails pushed, changed appointments as well. Additional Contacts or iCal appointments, either edited by you, or in the enterprise solution, edited and added by your company, gets pushed this way too. Awesome! thumbup.gif

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:34 AM