tinkerbel
post Sep 29 2008, 12:09 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Reventon,
Yes the Prestige Platinum card comes about a month after U get the Amex Plat. I have however been informed U can actually make use of the dining privileges by showing ur Amex Plat card smile.gif

Did u not get a call? I did.
tinkerbel
post Sep 30 2008, 08:37 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
I don't think banks look purely at existing card and credit limits when giving additional CLs. I would consider myself a pretty 'good' cardholder with consistent spending on monthly basis but still got rejected by Citibank twice when I requested for a permanent upgrade.

I've since given up on ever getting a credit limit increase from Citibank and moved on to another.
tinkerbel
post Sep 30 2008, 10:00 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jeff_ckf,
It does look like I'm the few around here who didn't get an increase in CL with Citibank despite making 2 requests and submitting the usual forms.

If U been following this thread long enough, U'll know that Citibank decreased my CL from a total combined CL of RM19k to RM7k when they tried upgrading me from Clear card to Gold Card.
tinkerbel
post Oct 5 2008, 05:02 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@IceBikers,
Citibank might decide to give u a separate CL smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 01:02 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@WaCKy-Angel,
Weird.. but I didn't get anything like that *siGh*

@hye,
Looks like you're the tai kor around here now?! tongue.gif

@Norn,
No it's not exactly difficult to get an American Express Credit or Charge card.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 6 2008, 01:03 PM
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 02:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@vin_ann,
No I haven't gone off for holiday YET [it's taking place mid October] - been busy with new job, shifting of office premise and all the work stuff !! *siGh*
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 02:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@MilesAndMore,
When U become a Priority Banker with Standard Chartered, they give u a Platinum Mastercard, not Visa. You can't even request for the Visa so I'm quite sure we wouldn't be able to get the Visa Infinite.

PS: I was a Standard Chartered Priority Banker until about 2 weeks ago.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 6 2008, 02:14 PM
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 02:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@MilesAndMore,
Whilst there's probably no maximum limit, I'm quite sure Standard Chartered won't give u the Visa Infinite tongue.gif Perhaps if U've been banking with them for ages and have always maintained v high amounts in their banks? *shrugs*
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 07:04 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@WaCKy-Angel,
I meant the Tangs pre-sale or closed-door sale but it's not like I'm gonna be able to find time to go! *grins* Just b*tching about Citibank tongue.gif

@RJdio,
Maybank's TreatPoints program is by far the 'best' IMHO. For now, it has the same longevity as Citibank as both programs offer evergreen points. I'm slowly shifting my expenses from Citibank to Amex (part of MBB) for the same reasons.

As to other promotions, it's difficult to say because the few active banks working on promotions seem to be working as hard as the next smile.gif PBB is a definite NO NO cause U don't get as great promotions with their CCs

@hye,
Er.. I'm not *that* Senior ya know?! tongue.gif And well.... I've been relatively bz with work but U probably figured that out with me being inactive on the board and all? smile.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 8 2008, 07:57 AM
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 04:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
Amex has great travel deals meh?! Er.. I'm off to Bali in 2 weeks time - any good promos U heard of I haven't yet come across?!

I don't hold Visa Infinite but I do have a Visa Platinum [UOB's Preferred Platinum is NOT Visa Infinite right?!], Mastercard Premier & Amex Platinum.

Let me know if U come across anything smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 05:00 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@princessgalaria,
The CS will probably tell U something nice but they'll never make promises.... smile.gif Good Luck!
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 05:06 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@berryshortcake,
Just because U meet all requirements stated on the application form, it doesn't mean u will 100% get the card. Banks does their own credit checks and have a separate process determining your risk factor before approving CCs.
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 05:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@princessgalaria,
muAHahAHhahAHhaHAH oOOh.. U want to make use of an existing promotion huh?! Well, perhaps U can tell the CS and ask him if he can expedite ur process smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 05:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
I've given up with all these status chase so I don't care as long as the card serves me well. aHhh So the benefits u were referring to were mostly F&B benefits...

oKie doKies... nothing too interesting from hotel deals for Bali on Visa, Master or Amex unfortunately *siGh*

Added on October 8, 2008, 5:25 pm@princessgalaria,
I do believe it is RM100. If their communication materials state RM100, U will get ur RM100 but it normally takes them months before U get the reimbursement or the benefit. Don't know about the AA card though but U could always check.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 8 2008, 05:25 PM
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 05:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@princessgalaria,
Read through the terms and conditions carefully - most of the time, we overlook all those nitty gritty because we never bother to read the terms and conditions properly.

Go through it properly and if u think it's okie and suitable then go ahead and apply for the card otherwise screw Citibank lah ! tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 06:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
The hotel deals with these top tier cards are uhm well... not something I want to spend esp since I promised the folks I'll pay for the entire Bali trip [bad move! should have not included sis in it - she's always getting the better end of the stick! *hmph*].

Also, the promotions available for Visa Infinite are also extended to Visa Platinum so makes no difference, really smile.gif

@zenwell,
Er..did that Gold Card come with additional CL? Am curious to know if there's a standard procedure or CL. It pissed me off when Citibank sent me an 'upgraded' card but giving me lesser CL. I hope that didn't happen to u.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 8 2008, 06:06 PM
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 06:15 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
AhHhh those benefits are definitely different. I don't travel that much so it makes no difference! muAHahAHahH I haven't even had the chance to visit the damn lounge. I don't golf so that's not an issue either ..

Er.. higher insurance coverage? Er.. well that again benefits the sista!! muAhah damn... she's Ms Rich if something happened to me! tongue.gif

PS: I'm no boss at home - in fact, I'm boss kuli ! *siGh*
tinkerbel
post Oct 8 2008, 11:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
I guess the airport lounge can be a pretty good benefit if one is a 'world traveller' - and unfortunate for me I ain't. I haven't had the chance to even check the damn place out *grins*

And you're right - it's good to have cause U never know when U'll need it but it's really a hassle having to carry so many darn CCs - i don't normally do that esp on travels *grins*

@MilesAndMore,
Er.. I don't think Citibank online will allow U to use other CCs to pay for ur 3rd party bills; it's got to be billed to ur Citibank account and that makes perfect sense to me smile.gif

I think what tgeoklin meant is that UOB's top level card (Premier Card) is the Midas Card. It probably has nothing to do with the World Mastercard/HSBC's Premier card.
tinkerbel
post Oct 13 2008, 11:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@soitsuagain,
Er... Citibank Online works also with Safari *grins* If I ain't mistaken the last time I tried it on Firefox it worked too! smile.gif

@ICDeadPeople,
If u want the upgrade take it - if I ain't mistaken the upgrade should come with 3 years maintenance of current fee [that would be based on ur existing Gold card] but most of us would call up the CS and ask for a waiver.

If the waiver doesn't come through then just cancel the card lor smile.gif I'm pretty fed up with Citibank [damn, I keep talking about it] but I haven't had time to shift my spending to another CC *siGh* Everytime the merchant doesn't accept my Amex, I go back to Citibank - looks like I need to clear all my points once and for all then only i'll start using HSBC or something smile.gif

Btw for those using MBB CCs - is it possible to use ur CC via M2U to pay for utility bills? Or must those bills be paid only via an existing Savings Account? [oK.. I know I could google for that information but since i've been quite helpful around here and work's been crazy, I figured it's time someone spoon fed me! *grins*)

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 13 2008, 11:27 PM
tinkerbel
post Oct 13 2008, 11:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ruztynail,
You don't need to disclose the PIN to anyone - U just need to key in ur Telephone Pin when U call them up - this is to verify that it is indeed U on the other line biggrin.gif

@keith_hjinhoh,
Y would one need to pay annual fee on a debit card? If i'm paying u the $ up front, I see no reason in having to pay an annual 'service' fee amount.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 13 2008, 11:45 PM

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0533sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:49 AM