Financial Is property going to drop?, General property price discussion

Onemorething
post Oct 11 2010, 03:29 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 11 2010, 03:03 PM)
Lol !! some more, the mark up to cover the RPGT is base the selling price before the "jacked up" price wuor!!  brows.gif
Wow the activity on this thread has really increased. I think people are missing the point here. Imposing cap gains tax is an attempt to control speculative bubbles. This could be done via rise in interest rates or combination of controls to cool the market.

Any of this activity works against values of property meaning the buyer perceives the cost as more and seller must reduce the price accordingly.

At peaks of bubbles you will see this type of regulation being discussed when the bubble is already present then the government and potentially banks are asking for a soft landing. The posts here suggest classic bubble mentality and emotional reaction to RE that is currently in play globally.

We in Malaysia are only lagging other Asian markets which will correcting by year end then we will follow soon after. Your window to take gains now is 3-6 months.
groggy
post Oct 11 2010, 04:59 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 11 2010, 01:43 PM)
Buyer will listen and obey what seller want.  whistling.gif

You can simply put any price tag, buyers are desperate to buy any house. whistling.gif

I just hope RPGT being set at 50%, so that property price can be jacked up more.  rclxm9.gif

Added on October 11, 2010, 1:46 pm

That's why I suggested 50%.  rclxm9.gif

Sapu properties out there before RPGT being announced.  rclxm9.gif
how come i sense some sarcasm?

Bobby C
post Oct 11 2010, 06:49 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Oct 11 2010, 09:42 AM)
my area there in Penang the price is quite crazy.

my bro bought the house at RM 267/f, super condo type, 60% foreigners 40% local, now the price is around RM 400/f, which is quite fair because he bought it about 5years ago which the price not yet go up yet. now all fully occupied

now new developers E&0 came out with studio apartment, 1300sf, RM 1.3mil.
link : http://www.pulau-pangkor.com/straits-quay.html

the salesman told us is own 30% foreigners 70% local. 80% sold.
at RM 1000/sf, it's more expensive than landed house at prime areas.

70% locals can u imagine that, for a local to stay there ? it doesnt make any sense for locals at that price. why should i pay RM1000/sf when i can get other luxury condo at RM 400/sf ? the price is totally in twilight zone.
i feel that now the price of new house is very dangerous, especially for speculators, price will increase 15% to 30% after project is completed, but if you take in account that the new property price will keep on increase because developers does sell below the current market price, meaning new projects will be more expensive 30% from market price today, while older property will still be much less. So if you push it higher and higher after 5years, lets say 15% increase per year, you go do the math

lets see, original price = 300k

year 1 = 345k
year 2 = 400k
year 3 = 460k
year 4 = 530k
year 5 = 600k

with growth of 15%, by 5years the price is already doubled, u go ask yourself whether that is sustainable or not flippers just want first level profit, lets say about 15% to 30% profit, but you have to see they started at which year.

developers now are not selling below market price, they are selling somewhere near or higher market price, thats is where the danger sets in
That's why old buyers are not worrying and looking for more opportunities when arise. While new buyers keep poking day and night hoping bubble will pop ASAP cause they don't know what to do with their money whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Oct 11 2010, 06:56 PM
edwinliong
post Oct 11 2010, 06:50 PM

61 posts

Gov may do something on the EPF, control people to buy expensive properties by taking out the EPF.
Bobby C
post Oct 11 2010, 06:55 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Oct 11 2010, 03:29 PM)
Wow the activity on this thread has really increased.  I think people are missing the point here.  Imposing cap gains tax is an attempt to control speculative bubbles.  This could be done via rise in interest rates or combination of controls to cool the market.

Any of this activity works against values of property meaning the buyer perceives the cost as more and seller must reduce the price accordingly.

At peaks of bubbles you will see this type of regulation being discussed when the bubble is already present then the government and potentially banks are asking for a soft landing.  The posts here suggest classic bubble mentality and emotional reaction to RE that is currently in play globally.

We in Malaysia are only lagging other Asian markets which will correcting by year end then we will follow soon after.  Your window to take gains now is 3-6 months.
RPGT was taken off only last yr and now going to be reintroduced again. Nothing new. Soot, should have sold the land earlier.

Beware, not to travel too fast like the speed of the light, else you will miss the speed of the sound.

You are in Malaysia and not US after all. Malaysian gomen always missing the point one, like it or not, good and bad. icon_rolleyes.gif

cherroy
post Oct 11 2010, 09:28 PM

25,802 posts

The classic of market peak

1. More and more people talk about property investment
2. Take for granted, buying property must make money.
3. More and more seminar talk about property, strategy of property investment.

return78
post Oct 11 2010, 10:33 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 11 2010, 09:28 PM)
The classic of market peak

1. More and more people talk about property investment
2. Take for granted, buying property must make money.
3. More and more seminar talk about property, strategy of property investment.
You had missed out 1.. More and more property guru said there are such bubble being formed as our market still relative cheap compared to others. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 12 2010, 11:04 AM

1,121 posts

sure boh? I have no plans to sell any of my properties now moneyflies.gif & we see what happens by year end brows.gif btw our bank criteria to lend money is STRICTER than usa, also our blr had been increasing but usa still near zero cool2.gif

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Oct 11 2010, 03:29 PM)
Wow the activity on this thread has really increased.  I think people are missing the point here.  Imposing cap gains tax is an attempt to control speculative bubbles.  This could be done via rise in interest rates or combination of controls to cool the market.

At peaks of bubbles you will see this type of regulation being discussed when the bubble is already present then the government and potentially banks are asking for a soft landing.  The posts here suggest classic bubble mentality and emotional reaction to RE that is currently in play globally.

We in Malaysia are only lagging other Asian markets which will correcting by year end then we will follow soon after.  Your window to take gains now is 3-6 months.
klbull
post Oct 12 2010, 11:24 AM

139 posts

The great thing about speculative investment activity, ultimately resulting in a price bubble forming, is that it can keep on going longer if
1 more and more suckers join in
2 liquidity does not dry up
3 authorities do not intervene

The property game is not that different from the stock market game. Greed rules the day but it cannot rule forever. Ultimately, something happens to bring people to their senses and the partying stops. Just don't be left holding the zero's.

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 12 2010, 11:39 AM

1,121 posts

gee... dunno about the others but I do not treat my properties investment nor those 1st liner klse shares / unit trust as a stock market speculation game wink.gif its for rental income, dividends, bonus issue & what not (long term holding)

sooner or later, liquidity will dry up. market crash come & go, do ensure got reserves to grab opportunity nod.gif
since the last crisis was 2008, maybe the next one could be 8-16 years later
the current crisis is too fresh in our mind & there r not enuf suckers sucked in yet doh.gif

if there r good property deals now, I'll still grab drool.gif yeehaa...

QUOTE(klbull @ Oct 12 2010, 11:24 AM)
The great thing about speculative investment activity, ultimately resulting in a price bubble forming, is that it can keep on going longer if
1 more and more suckers join in
2 liquidity does not dry up
3 authorities do not intervene

The property game is not that different from the stock market game. Greed rules the day but it cannot rule forever. Ultimately, something happens to bring people to their senses and the partying stops. Just don't be left holding the zero's.
cherroy
post Oct 12 2010, 11:48 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 12 2010, 11:39 AM)
gee... dunno about the others but I do not treat my properties investment nor those 1st liner klse shares / unit trust as a stock market speculation game  wink.gif its for rental income, dividends, bonus issue & what not (long term holding)

sooner or later, liquidity will dry up. market crash come & go, do ensure got reserves to grab opportunity  nod.gif
since the last crisis was 2008, maybe the next one could be 8-16 years later
the current crisis is too fresh in our mind & there r not enuf suckers sucked in yet  doh.gif

if there r good property deals now, I'll still grab drool.gif  yeehaa...
There is nothing to fear if one is investing or treat it at long term holding asset, for rental yield.

The one that should fear is when buyer buy beyond their affordability, aka flipper that unable to pay or service the loan in the first place, and yet commit buying in hoping to sell it latter to make a profit.

Malaysia property bubble is not big amd serious, and lending practice is still stricter compared to overseas situation, so chance of property absolute crash (like in US) is lower or minimal.
Correction is more a correct term or expectation instead of crash.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 12 2010, 11:48 AM
suang
post Oct 12 2010, 02:39 PM

22 posts

went for a preview of one of these property gurus..
the actual course abt 5k..
is it worth it? ...any opinions from those whove signed up for such courses will be appreciated.thanks
cranx
post Oct 12 2010, 02:47 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(suang @ Oct 12 2010, 02:39 PM)
went for a preview of one of these property gurus..
the actual course abt 5k..
is it worth it? ...any opinions from those whove signed up for such courses will be appreciated.thanks
not worth it. I have never attended any of such course.
basically you are just contributing to their wealth so they could buy even more properties! tongue.gif
teoanne
post Oct 12 2010, 02:53 PM

325 posts

I would say it depends. if you are new to property investment, then by all means go for it. you will learn heaps, get to network and get firsthand news whenever a great project will be launched. if you are part of the inner circle, you will be able to sapu all the good units first.

If you are a seasoned investor, no need to attend such courses. i know a guy, not even 30 yet, already got more than 10 units and already financially free. he never attended any courses.

QUOTE(cranx @ Oct 12 2010, 02:47 PM)
not worth it. I have never attended any of such course.
basically you are just contributing to their wealth so they could buy even more properties!  tongue.gif
aeiou228
post Oct 12 2010, 04:37 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(teoanne @ Oct 12 2010, 02:53 PM)
i know a guy, not even 30 yet, already got more than 10 units and already financially free. he never attended any courses.
10 units and financially free without gearing ?
teoanne
post Oct 12 2010, 05:57 PM

325 posts

actually i believe he owns 15 units now. not too sure about his gearing situation, but not all debts are bad.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 12 2010, 04:37 PM)
10 units and financially free without gearing ?
aeiou228
post Oct 12 2010, 06:43 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(teoanne @ Oct 12 2010, 05:57 PM)
actually i believe he owns 15 units now. not too sure about his gearing situation, but not all debts are bad.
I'm sure his income tax surely commensurate with the ownership of 15 units unless he has a realty sdn bhd.
teoanne
post Oct 12 2010, 06:50 PM

325 posts

Actually you'd be surprised. one of the most famous property gurus out there hardly pays any taxes.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 12 2010, 06:43 PM)
I'm sure his income tax surely commensurate with the ownership of 15 units unless he has a realty sdn bhd.
aeiou228
post Oct 12 2010, 09:38 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(teoanne @ Oct 12 2010, 06:50 PM)
Actually you'd be surprised. one of the most famous property gurus out there hardly pays any taxes.
Investing on his personal capacity or sdn bhd ? How he did it ? I can't think of a way using personal name to make money on property investment yet hardly pays any taxes.
epie
post Oct 13 2010, 01:24 AM

1,590 posts

i think i also know this person....and its true he has lots of house

127 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:54 AM