8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Abolish UPSR and PMR , Do u Agree ? Come Vote

Tohsan
post Jun 21 2010, 09:38 AM

1,133 posts

its better with one exam only, kids don study till "koo koo" n parents don get nightmare with son exam results. Parents can have more time to spend with their kids just like the good old days. Even with a lot of exams nowadays you see kids getting more "stupid", they will do all kind of thing that is outta your imagination like drugs due to tension from study.
caihong
post Jun 21 2010, 09:41 AM

35 posts

O gosh... cant imagine student's lifestyle without exams.
Tohsan
post Jun 21 2010, 09:42 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(CuteSanSan @ May 26 2009, 10:50 PM)
Bro i wish to corect part of ur statement..yes..form 1 there is nt much fees student hv to pay..bt hw bout thoz who wanna go to private school? getting a scholarship cn save $$..y not?  smile.gif
private secondary school is a waste of monies, those going will be from rich families, how many can afford to pay for RM1k registration fee for enrolment? how many average family can pay for a RM10k fees every year? end of the day u still take the spm examination or some o'level but thats for rich kid only, average family unlikely to waste this kinda money, any extra money left will be pour back to the family as support. smile.gif

Added on June 21, 2010, 9:45 am
QUOTE(caihong @ Jun 21 2010, 09:41 AM)
O gosh... cant imagine student's lifestyle without exams.
still got spm ma tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Jun 21 2010, 10:01 AM
r i k h a i
post Jun 21 2010, 10:36 AM

142 posts

Abolish SPM also la, so easy to get A. We need to change the education system la, students are taking too many subjects for SPM.
Gorila_
post Jun 21 2010, 11:55 AM

483 posts

No!!!!!
Abolish it only expose the students to more discrimination and bias... Imagine school assessment, teacher always has pet student and hate list... In the end, those on the hate list will suffer when they are bright students...

Take me for example, school exam sucks(mostly in essay where teacher's marking is very subjective). In the end I score As. My teacher always thinks that those in top 10 must be very good, so no matter how bad they fare in exam they still beat those in lower tier... Its just like our economy, the rich gets richer, the poor gets poorer... Knowing that, I study in totally different region's school for secondary... I never once get into top 10 because of my essay paper always score 50ish... Of those top students, few of them are actually having tuition by our class teacher... Go think about it.
azarimy
post Jun 21 2010, 12:04 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

school exams are almost always harder than public exams. that's why u always score less in school, but then score higher in the public exams.
kurtkantoi
post Jun 21 2010, 12:17 PM

1,461 posts

I would agree if they abolish these exam. No more public exam. For uni intake, higher education make their own exam before select the student to the uni. Just like Japan did it.
TSmoon yuen
post Jun 21 2010, 12:43 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 21 2010, 12:04 PM)
school exams are almost always harder than public exams. that's why u always score less in school, but then score higher in the public exams.
Not really, Public exam tend to lower the standard requirement...
For example, 60+ marks is already "A", especially in numeric subjects
azarimy
post Jun 21 2010, 12:48 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jun 21 2010, 04:43 AM)
Not really, Public exam tend to lower the standard requirement...
For example, 60+ marks is already "A", especially in numeric subjects
bell curves change each year. 60 is not always A, not even the same for each subject.
TSmoon yuen
post Jun 21 2010, 01:14 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 21 2010, 12:48 PM)
bell curves change each year. 60 is not always A, not even the same for each subject.
Yup, kinda of agree...

Guess what, I worried I will get "B" or "C" in SPM Add Math, but I end up get "A1" sweat.gif
loveless90
post Jun 21 2010, 04:07 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Jul 13 2008, 02:18 PM)
u think they never study can get straight? why u say 'i have friends' u must say 'i' only...

i got straight... i played a lot... but i wont say i never study at all... i work and study like crap 2 get good results... those lonely nights... those cold sweats.... those heart pumping sleep... the only night where u believe in god... those that never work hard wont know what it is like... ur family's hope, parent's hope, if ur siblings are looking up 2 u... d amount of pressure and burden you carry on ur shoulder.... any 'B' means fail...

competition breeds excellence... more pub exams means there's more chance to redeem urself if u do not so well in the previous exams... UPSR i got 3A2B... PMR 5A2B... but spm i got straight because i work like crap
OMG this totally speaks for my heart...hahaha second that!

but anyways, i think upsr should not be abolished but instead PMR is the one that should be. let all the students take all the subjects, let them choose what to take and what not to take. Give more options to students, let students experience and learn other thing as well, don restrain them from getting different exposure, like for example let science students take art subjects too like econs, accounts or business too (my school dint let us when i was in form4 n 5), u hv to study yourself or take tuition elsewhere, teacher wont help u in art subjects.

and abolish moral studies...i don see any good it does except maybe boosting your memorising skills? conduct history in english, i think by doing so it will improve our eng language.

well, just my 2 cents lol tongue.gif
MrTaxxi
post Jun 21 2010, 04:33 PM

579 posts

upsr is used to see whether one needs to study remove class or not
pmr is used to see whether one goes to science/art stream in form4

if they've been abolished, how's it going to discriminate the good/not-so-good students?

anyway, they're meant to be craps. Scoring 0A in USPR/PMR is nothing. (however that does prove that u have no foundation in your studies)

addition to that, they're plain easy. So there's no harm to take these...

This post has been edited by MrTaxxi: Jun 21 2010, 04:34 PM
slayer12
post Jun 21 2010, 05:47 PM

73 posts

abolish matriculation!!!
trapezohedron13
post Jun 22 2010, 09:12 AM

703 posts

QUOTE(slayer12 @ Jun 21 2010, 05:47 PM)
abolish matriculation!!!
Why??
janson_kaniaz
post Jun 22 2010, 09:45 AM

6,955 posts

I dun think we should abolish UPSR. We can abolish PMR, coz it's really useless. We need UPSR, just like SPM for us to go to a better secondary/ tertiary school. But to me UPSR should not be done in a such a way a 10-12 yr old kid is not going to enjoy his/ her end of childhood.
billygoh
post Jun 22 2010, 10:19 AM

1,606 posts

kids nowadays really lucky...sigh
tgrrr
post Jun 22 2010, 11:01 AM

939 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jun 22 2010, 09:45 AM)
I dun think we should abolish UPSR. We can abolish PMR, coz it's really useless. We need UPSR, just like SPM for us to go to a better secondary/ tertiary school. But to me UPSR should not be done in a such a way a 10-12 yr old kid is not going to enjoy his/ her end of childhood.

The truth is, many primary schools are pressured to delivery lots of students with 'A's, some sort of ranking system within each state and district. Schools in turn pressure their teachers who ended up totally focusing on making sure their students score in UPSR only.
cckkpr
post Jun 22 2010, 11:26 AM

4,518 posts

I dont really know why such an idea was floated in the first place?

......Have more time for creativity and sports....This must be the biggest turkey of the day!!
biggie
post Jun 22 2010, 12:16 PM

1,291 posts

this is one of the silliest ideas. but if you want to empower unis to give their own entrance exam then go ahead...
feynman
post Jun 22 2010, 12:23 PM

4,781 posts

Drop PMR.

Keep UPSR and SPM. Make secondary school a 4 year affair instead of the present 5. Lower secondary can actually be done in 2 years. Form 1 is just a waste of time.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0628sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:07 AM