Travel Club LYN Japan V1, 日本へようこそ!

keii-kun
post Feb 2 2009, 08:24 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ Feb 1 2009, 09:28 PM)
heard my friend said that if I can get recommendation letter from relative who is residing in Japan, coming to Japan would be a no problem.

Yeah, I had a relative who is working there currently, should I bug him to write the letter for me to make things easier?
well it did helps , because last time in 2004, i went using this method (ask my fren give the letter) then applied, with only RM2k in bank account.
got the visa for 2 weeks stay. your 'relative' need to have an invitation letter to you. i wrote the letter and signed myself, just get the copy of alien certificate from him. ph34r.gif

YEN is RM4.10!!!!!

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 2 2009, 08:24 AM
keii-kun
post Feb 2 2009, 02:22 PM

1,120 posts

tak boleh baca la PsyCHZZZ.... only paid member can read...

hopefully it won't affect kusatsu area... doh.gif
keii-kun
post Feb 4 2009, 06:12 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(deathbringer @ Feb 4 2009, 01:59 AM)
just got back from Tokyo. best week i ever had. though all the walking was killing me. i learn a few things about Japan that most books won't tell u:

1) go free and easy. it's really not hard at all.
2) unlike in movies or photos, japanese do not normally bow to everyone.
3) vending machines galore.
4) food is not as expensive as u think (depending on where u eat)
5) Akihabara is mostly hype. Unless if u're crazy for the latest gadgets, u can wait for them to come here @ LYP.
6) porno everywhere. in broad daylight.
7) harajuku on sundays is a no go. too many freaks.
8) ppl here r too polite. i can probably slap them on the face and they'll smile and thank me.
9) photos of packed trains are true. never sit on one during rush hour
10) there really is a difference between Japanese sushi and "Malaysian" Japanese sushi.

will definitely return once my financial situation recharges itself. smile.gif

EDIT: btw, when i was leaving today, some festival was happening at Asakusa. what is it?
1)definitely, have been doing it all the time
2)so true!
3)can't deny it. almost everything are vendingable
4)totally agree. another person to agree on the foodies cost in Tokyo. as long u don't convert to RM.
5)no point buying in Akiba anyways. not worth the warranty stuff, except the Wii console and PS3?
6)brows.gif no comment
7) too many freaks yes, nice cosplayers? yes oso...
8) nvr tried yet
9) always tried to avoid it.
10) memang a lot of difference. once you eat it there, Sushi King or any premium outlet is not worthy enough!

glad to hear you had the best week of your time! from now on, i'm sure you would be contemplating either to spend money visiting other place or save all money to go japan again brows.gif
keii-kun
post Feb 4 2009, 08:38 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Feb 4 2009, 07:33 PM)
hey, free and easy tour ada day tour x?
ada day tour tapi tak FREE lah hahahahaha

Tokyo Free Guide

Our guide is totally free of charge and no tips are necessary.  However, please be prepared to pay the expenses of the guide, such as admission fees, restaurant meals, transportation fees, etc.We have only English, Italian, French, Spanish, Korean and Chinese speaking guides at the moment.

Bahasa Melayu tak ade, maybe Tanoshii can become one brows.gif

keii-kun
post Feb 11 2009, 04:09 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Feb 10 2009, 07:01 PM)
MAS promotion to tokyo/osaka now only RM21xx all inclusive drool.gif
cilaka betul. bought last nov for 26 march is rm2400. ada pulak tu ticket RM2100 for the exact same route/flight/time. damn it MAS vmad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif doh.gif

flying period : 17FEB2009 - 30SEP2009
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/campaign/2...AYSIA&lid=TOKYO

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 11 2009, 04:16 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 11 2009, 09:25 PM

1,120 posts

yepp...all in... rm1100 for ticket, rm1000 for taxes n surcharge, which is still high compared to taxes n surcharges rm600 in 2007.
keii-kun
post Feb 11 2009, 10:51 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Feb 11 2009, 10:33 PM)
That is bloody cheap. And i haven't buy my air tix yet  brows.gif

Should i stick to my JAL booking or opt for this MAS promotion ?  unsure.gif
if you haven't confirmed your JAL ticket and its more expensive than this. might as well change to this, unless the JAL ticket is the 1130pm flight and this one u can't get the 1130flight. save your hotel room costs.

i.e JAL ticket 1130pm arrive 6am RM2300
MAS ticket 1100am arrive 6pm RM2100 (you need to fork out additional money for the room) which make no sense to change to MAS, unless u can get the 1130pm one (which i found for my trip. SH!T) laugh.gif

i've stucked with MAS , 1100am, so no choice lerrr.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 11 2009, 10:54 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 14 2009, 12:54 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Feb 12 2009, 08:32 PM)
How come terbeli morning flight bro ?  tongue.gif

Come to think of it, i might as well stick to JAL (night flight). And experience JAL's hospitality, gonna boast to tanoshi  biggrin.gif
well, i bought during last nov's online promo. that time cannot get night flight @ cheap price. since i've did shitloads of calculation for the ticket, took the cheapest available that time, RM2400 each, but day flight. who knows that oil price will go down in dec 08!!!

if u are asking me, just take the MAS night flight, cheaper by RM1k, can extend your stay in Japan for another 3 night!!

heck, if air asia already selling flight tic rm1.5k all inclusive, i do not mind taking them. its japan i want to go and experience, nothing much on the flight though....

Added on February 14, 2009, 12:56 am
QUOTE(zoakies @ Feb 13 2009, 11:59 AM)
Hehehe....even not sales...the winter clothing in tokyo are much cheaper compare to KL.

So i guess...it;s about time to shop again eh tanoshi? Bundle perhaps? smile.gif
haha told ya that its cheaper there compared to those in traveller shop in msia...

Added on February 14, 2009, 12:58 am
QUOTE(zoakies @ Feb 13 2009, 09:54 AM)
i bought my MAS tix last time is only RM 2300 and i am taking the 11.25PM flight....

I think MAS got night flight ler to Tokyo....check with them and see...

It's better to travel to Japan midnight flight...so reach there and can start ur journey...hehehe
yes got, but the cheap one was limited in Nov'08. Now i can see quite a lot of seats for cheap price @ night....it must be the recession so MAS scared that they cannot sell the seat at all!! stuupid... me?

Added on February 14, 2009, 1:04 am
QUOTE(f4tE @ Feb 14 2009, 12:07 AM)
wat is long john?? means jeans r??

how come wear simple sweater feel warmer than winter jacket?? so weird 1...
those tight fitting inside wear. made of wool and will stuck to your body. costs around RM150 or so.

by wearing that, u can wear less thick clothing cos u have somewhat extra sheepskin on your body hahahaha

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 14 2009, 01:04 AM
keii-kun
post Feb 16 2009, 12:09 PM

1,120 posts

just went and submitted my visa application this morning. hopefully all cleared and can pickup this friday
keii-kun
post Feb 16 2009, 12:31 PM

1,120 posts

in other hand, matt,

thai airways is really, really cheap!

RM1,500 for return ticket, compared to my MAS RM2,400 or current offer RM2,100.

downside is, from here to tokyo, transit at bangkok for almost 24hrs, but hey, its cheap esp for backpackers!

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 16 2009, 12:35 PM

Attached image(s)
keii-kun
post Feb 16 2009, 05:40 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Feb 16 2009, 01:38 PM)
Yeah, definitely much cheaper. I've considered Thai Airways earlier too, but since im flashpacking and have abit money to burn, might as well give JAL hospitality a try. (took Bangkok's safety issue into consideration too)

And i've checked on the MAS promo; it seems that the promo is only available for single flight ? Return flight you still need to pay non-promo price (RM 1.2k). Correct me if im wrong.
err....wah, a bit money to burn..... that is a powerful sentence.

anyway, i can say bye bye to the cheap ticket, because my ticket now is fully NOT refundable, NOT cancellable, NOT changeable. doh.gif

a lesson learnt for me. rolleyes.gif

the MAS promo price? eh, got la return flight RM595, it is just that you have to find the day that got the cheap one. i know 4th April , got cheap flight. thumbup.gif

zoakies,

transit in BKK not really 24hrs la, it is more like 18 hrs only. no room, but you can always rest at the international lounge if u have platinum card.
keii-kun
post Feb 17 2009, 10:55 PM

1,120 posts

u can get those international adapter, costs around RM15. can find in Lelong.com . this adapter can use anywhere around the world. but no step down. your laptop adapter usually capable of handling 100~240V. so , no need to step down.

i have extra if u need on, but the standard 3 pin to 2 pin. dun really need it cos already have the multi adaptor.

Added on February 17, 2009, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(f4tE @ Feb 17 2009, 01:14 PM)
japan using 2 pin plug then i scout around wanna buy 2 pin adaptor for my laptop but cannot find in malaysia.. anyone know where i can get in pennaG? all i find also 3 pin 1
u can get those international adapter, costs around RM15. can find in Lelong.com . this adapter can use anywhere around the world. but no step down. your laptop adapter usually capable of handling 100~240V. so , no need to step down.

usually jusco also have , near the electrical / computer section.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 17 2009, 10:59 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 19 2009, 12:47 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Feb 19 2009, 11:24 AM)
its should be NOT like this:
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2009-02D...tor_Adapter.htm

its should be the shard pin..sorry I cant find the pics of it... blush.gif
it should not be the round/cylinder type pin. it should be a thin pin.

you can buy this from lelong RM20 with shipping rather buy japan only adapter

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2009-02D...g_convertor.htm

Added on February 19, 2009, 12:48 pm
QUOTE(skincladalien @ Feb 19 2009, 01:19 AM)
bleh, last day of MAS promo, finally decide to go for it. Bought my tix for RM2150

The problem is its fully non refundable, so if visa not approve i die laugh.gif
as long you dun have criminal records and have RM6K inside your statement. no problem.

visa for me n wifey should be approved by now cos nobody called from embassy (was supposed to pickup yesterday).
gonna pickup tomorrow morning at the embassy.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 19 2009, 12:53 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 20 2009, 10:02 PM

1,120 posts

hehehehe. my visa and wifey cleared. can't wait for the hanami parteyyy!!

tanoshi, you might want to update the FAQ page that applicants must have a bank statement copy, verified and certified by the bank! tips :

either maybank or CIMB, print statement and bring to back for certified, FREE. if go to bank as them to print and certified - RM10 (CIMB) maybank i dunno.

Added on February 20, 2009, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(f4tE @ Feb 20 2009, 11:06 AM)
oic.. i think i understand d.. the pin is like rectangle 1 la.. very hard to find la..

the picture above, the pin to the electrical socket on wall is 2 pin then the adaptor can fit all kinds of size of pin such as 3 pin, 2 pin watever pin???
yess.... can fit all kind of pin and become adapter to all type of pin/socket. useful if you would travel frequent. one time purchase only. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 20 2009, 10:07 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 22 2009, 12:42 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Feb 21 2009, 11:30 PM)

Added on February 21, 2009, 11:33 pm
yeah dude...I just started to 'export' it hehehe...now need to learn the thingy...because I got the supplier from here oledi hehehe...anything just PM lor..  brows.gif .

hmm... are you sure u can bring in the airsoft stuff back to msia. i think it is illegal to have it, and can be confiscated during roadblocks.

but i am interested with
M1 Garand rifle
or
Desert Eagle
or
Glock would be nice oso hehehhe but if caught here. die.

keii-kun
post Feb 23 2009, 02:46 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Feb 23 2009, 02:09 PM)
definitely dont need tht much...5k, 2.4k for tix the rest for everything else is manageable. its abit tight with the current rate but still possible
usually, self guided tour is way cheaper than RM10k. breakdown budget (10days/8night) shud be as follow
flight - RM2.5k (yes sometimes can get cheap like Thai Airways RM1.5k but it depends, but 2.5k budget is safe)
hotel - if alone, then can just take dorm, cheaper...around 4k yen per night or less
food/train@transportation - not that much.

like clemong said, RM5k is enough, but tight. my next month trip is RM10k for 2 person (RM5k tix, RM1.5k hotel for two, got extra RM3.5k for shop,eat,train)
this is of course not buying any expensive electrical/gadget stuff. just normal stuff. if u plan tu buy gadget, u need to budget aside for that.

but do not forget that u must have RM6k in bank account for the visa application laugh.gif

Added on February 23, 2009, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(jayhan @ Feb 22 2009, 09:40 PM)
just want to ask who will be attending the gathering? or travel to Japan around the time? unsure.gif

I already bought the ticket to Japan (28March - 4April), and I will be alone.... I felt a bit scary to be in a strange place alone... so maybe if got people company it would be good.. blush.gif
its ok la. a few of fellow LYN is there during that period (me, matt85,skincladalien if i'm not mistaken).
better you prepare the helpline/phone number of tanoshi/fire/clemong/PschyZZZ in case anything critical happened.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 23 2009, 02:58 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 25 2009, 09:13 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(zoakies @ Feb 23 2009, 07:43 PM)

About the train ticket, i think when u get around in Tokyo city alone will cost u whole day tix about 1300 Yen (JR Line only - Unlimited).

I took the bus from Tachikawa Station back to my home is about 170 Yen or sometimes 800 Yen if i took cab/taxi.

So total for transportation is about 1470 Yen to 2100 Yen which is about RM 58.80 to RM 84 (for one day)
hm.. zoakies, mind sharing the transportation is per person?
for me , it is cheaper if you stay at hotel near the Yamanote line. it won't cost you more than 600yen, if you are not going a lot of places in a day.
cab is only worthy if u went clubbing and no more trains at night, else, train is cheaper.

shopping for burberry? nice....

anyway, shopping is much cheaper during new year sale smile.gif

keii-kun
post Feb 26 2009, 02:22 PM

1,120 posts

tanoshii turns zoakies into a sukebe.....hopefully won't turn into chikan hahahaha
keii-kun
post Feb 27 2009, 11:58 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Feb 27 2009, 11:37 AM)
cukai 200%???crazy sh1t..  shakehead.gif

then whats the fu(king use of the AP?  blink.gif
student AP, if i'm not mistaken around 110% cukai only.....
refer here
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/555702

AP allows you to bring back a car, ONCE in your life.

btw, you can discuss on the AP thingy either PM to tanoshi or the abovementioned link. laugh.gif

Added on February 27, 2009, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Feb 27 2009, 11:29 AM)
hi all~ he he...
im going to Tokyo for some elective attachment at one of the hospital there... Duration of stay will be about 5weeks...
Any recommendation on accomodation apart from sakura house?
And how is spring in Tokyo? Rather worried about clothings...
best to say that, staying for 5weeks at sakura house is going to be cheaper, compared to budget hotels.
another reason, is sakura house have a lot of houses near good area. else, you can try this one for long term stay

http://www.shrek-watta-house.com/

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Feb 27 2009, 12:01 PM
keii-kun
post Feb 27 2009, 07:42 PM

1,120 posts

well, you can always buy cheaper 2nd hand car, which priced lower there and bring back. of course, you need to decide either bring back a car but no cash/saving from Japan or bring back cash/saving but have to buy new car n pay sales tax. RM30k can get good 2nd hand car already there.

anyway, lets leave the AP & car @ FnF thread.

Another month to go for Hanami!!!!! Pschyzz , have you create any inventory list or who brings what? If need me to bring special foods need to plan by now...

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0575sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:07 AM