Travel Club LYN Japan V1, 日本へようこそ!

TStanoshi
post Nov 11 2008, 12:44 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Nov 10 2008, 10:28 PM)
Last pic u lie down on the floor to take da pic?  tongue.gif
yeah its true..(in Japan doesnt matter, who cares, no one bother about you) and need to hurry after people step on me hahaha! tongue.gif
TStanoshi
post Nov 11 2008, 03:38 AM

347 posts

China Town in Yokohama!

rolleyes.gif
firedauz
post Nov 11 2008, 06:47 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Went to Yokohama during weekends eh? Nice thumbup.gif
TStanoshi
post Nov 11 2008, 08:50 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Nov 11 2008, 07:47 AM)
Went to Yokohama during weekends eh? Nice thumbup.gif
Accidently to Yokohama...I didnt realise that I already in the PORT area...no wonder damn cold of blowing sea wind duh! blink.gif
asuk
post Nov 11 2008, 10:39 AM

189 posts

i went to yokohama last month, and incidentally there was a deepavali fair at one of the parks. managed to eat some tosai but no roti canai though sad.gif

b00n
post Nov 11 2008, 11:19 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Nov 10 2008, 06:04 PM)
Its not wasabi ones...  just salty crusted pistachios...

Hmmm... u manage to take pic of the pachinko shop... i tot gambling centre cannot take pic tongue.gif i dare not take pix.... hhehehe afterwards the yakuza come after me...
Btw is it one of the pachinko shops in Tanukikoji? ....

The pachinko one is not taken by me. I took some pics outside but don't dare go inside and take. It's some of my friends who actually went in and took. hahaha Maybe naive is a good thing.
That pachinko was taken in Susukino.

TStanoshi
post Nov 11 2008, 02:10 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(asuk @ Nov 11 2008, 11:39 AM)
i went to yokohama last month, and incidentally there was a deepavali fair at one of the parks. managed to eat some tosai but no roti canai though sad.gif

Thanks Asuk...please attach more pics! rclxms.gif
oldfox
post Nov 11 2008, 09:55 PM

330 posts

Wow...here have a japan club...
I am working in JTB which located at sg, do you guys who stay at japan know it??
Anyway I would like to ask who currently stay at tokyo? or around tokyo? Because I am planning to go there alone and find a cheap motel to stay for few days... any suggestion?
clemong_888
post Nov 11 2008, 10:40 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

oh JTB, bought my air tix to aus from them before, quite a big company too. JTB in sg, the one at takashimaya?
TStanoshi
post Nov 11 2008, 11:14 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(oldfox @ Nov 11 2008, 10:55 PM)
Wow...here have a japan club...
I am working in JTB which located at sg, do you guys who stay at japan know it??
Anyway I would like to ask who currently stay at tokyo? or around tokyo? Because I am planning to go there alone and find a cheap motel to stay for few days... any suggestion?
Welcome to the club!
aree...Sg? Sg Wang Plaza or what?JTB yeah is all over Japan well known of JTB (Japan Travel Bureau) is it?
Suggestion is...hmmm...you got to check all in this thread, its few pages we talk about before...quit informative if gone thru this thread! Even me stay in Tokyo also got more infos in this thread!
Please surf it thru!..ganbatte ne! flex.gif
firedauz
post Nov 12 2008, 09:29 AM

876 posts

Went to China Embassy at Roppongi recently to make visa, snapping away biggrin.gif
People having breakfast outside Tully's.

Also saw YAHOO!

Went down to Shinjuku (or was it Shibuya? forgot lol) afterwards and saw the new GTA4 poster on tall buildings rclxm9.gif

TStanoshi
post Nov 12 2008, 02:28 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Nov 12 2008, 10:29 AM)
Went to China Embassy at Roppongi recently to make visa, snapping away biggrin.gif
People having breakfast outside Tully's.

Also saw YAHOO!

Went down to Shinjuku (or was it Shibuya? forgot lol) afterwards and saw the new GTA4 poster on tall buildings rclxm9.gif

Goin to China? biz trip...or still wit galfren ahaks!! icon_idea.gif
tw...appreciate for the photos!
lets make it full of pages withh the photos! I believe every icon_rolleyes.gif body love it!
asuk
post Nov 12 2008, 04:07 PM

189 posts

jeng jeng jeng...

jenghis khan tongue.gif

by the way, im going to kyoto next month for meeting. got half day to lepak. any recommendations or famous omiyage i can buy?
firedauz
post Nov 12 2008, 05:37 PM

876 posts

Malaysian food but not in Malaysia: my dinner with friends last week at Mahathir, Shin-Okubo biggrin.gif

When almost full, then only remembered to take photos tongue.gif

I like this alot biggrin.gif

Yesterday night, went to see Journey to the Center of the Earth 3D at Ikebukuro rclxm9.gif

The 3D glasses! icon_rolleyes.gif
TStanoshi
post Nov 13 2008, 12:30 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(asuk @ Nov 12 2008, 05:07 PM)
jeng jeng jeng...

jenghis khan  tongue.gif

by the way, im going to kyoto next month for meeting. got half day to lepak. any recommendations or famous omiyage i can buy?
gomen nasai Asuk...I got no idea bout foods! may be you can ask Firedauz..uhuk! blink.gif

Added on November 13, 2008, 12:51 am
QUOTE(firedauz @ Nov 12 2008, 06:37 PM)
Malaysian food but not in Malaysia: my dinner with friends last week at Mahathir, Shin-Okubo biggrin.gif

When almost full, then only remembered to take photos tongue.gif

I like this alot biggrin.gif

Yesterday night, went to see Journey to the Center of the Earth 3D at Ikebukuro rclxm9.gif

The 3D glasses! icon_rolleyes.gif
fuyooo...makan sakan ek!
eh bro wheres the 3D theater, any link??ikebukuro? how long per movie? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Nov 13 2008, 12:51 AM
haya
post Nov 13 2008, 10:23 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Been reading through the whole thread. My head's spinning. So a quick question to those in Japan.

I might be in Japan for about 12 days in August next year (2009), and from what I understand, GSM phones don't work in Japan. 3G does, and that is fine as my phone supports 3G fine. The thing is, roaming is horrendously expensive, and I need to be contactable, as I will be traveling with a partner.

Now the thing is, normally when I go abroad, I always pick up a local SIM card for a local number. But from what I understand, that is not possible in Japan, am I right?

So short for forking out 600 yen A DAY for a rental phone (not counting any call charges!), is it possible to get a local Japanese number like Malaysia, where you rock up to a shop and buy a SIM card?

Many thanks in advance.
TStanoshi
post Nov 13 2008, 11:19 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 13 2008, 11:23 AM)
Been reading through the whole thread. My head's spinning. So a quick question to those in Japan.

I might be in Japan for about 12 days in August next year (2009), and from what I understand, GSM phones don't work in Japan. 3G does, and that is fine as my phone supports 3G fine. The thing is, roaming is horrendously expensive, and I need to be contactable, as I will be traveling with a partner.

Now the thing is, normally when I go abroad, I always pick up a local SIM card for a local number. But from what I understand, that is not possible in Japan, am I right?

So short for forking out 600 yen A DAY for a rental phone (not counting any call charges!), is it possible to get a local Japanese number like Malaysia, where you rock up to a shop and buy a SIM card?

Many thanks in advance.
Hi Haya...August 2009 still long to go we cant expect anything yet nor latest promo...currently, IF you talk about Tokyo area of even of prepaid phone is SOLD OUT of Softbank. To buy a simcard you must buy together with the phone. Even your phone is 3G, YES if unlock and it can be used for incoming and outgoing call ONLY because its NOT supported phone settings for SMS and MMS, most ppl here using MMS/mobile email.
Thats my simple explanation (just wait lor, always surf with updaye of Softbank, AU and Doomo promo for the prepaid) as I told you before the guys selling prepaid phone for 25,000yen! plug and play BUT if you buy on any dealers you still need a passport for the registration..
cheers thumbup.gif
clemong_888
post Nov 13 2008, 11:42 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 13 2008, 10:23 AM)

Many thanks in advance.
QUOTE(tanoshi @ Nov 13 2008, 11:19 AM)
Hi Haya...August 2009 still long to go we cant expect anything yet nor latest promo...currently, IF you talk about Tokyo area of even of prepaid phone is SOLD OUT of Softbank. To buy a simcard you must buy together with the phone. Even your phone is 3G, YES if unlock and it can be used for incoming and outgoing call ONLY because its NOT supported phone settings for SMS and MMS, most ppl here using MMS/mobile email.
Thats my simple explanation (just wait lor, always surf with updaye of Softbank, AU and Doomo promo for the prepaid) as I told you before the guys selling prepaid phone for 25,000yen! plug and play BUT if you buy on any dealers you still need a passport for the registration..
cheers thumbup.gif
hopefully this helps

http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/prepaid/index.html

SOFTBANK supports SMS no? and its possible to get a simcard without a phone.

to the guy going kyoto, u should try the green tea ice cream near the national theatre/kabuki or sth like tht at karasuma. omiyage is the standard stuff, just different shapes, the traingle mochi thingy seems popular(cant remember name)
asuk
post Nov 13 2008, 12:14 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Nov 13 2008, 11:42 AM)
to the guy going kyoto, u should try the green tea ice cream near the national theatre/kabuki or sth like tht at karasuma. omiyage is the standard stuff, just different shapes, the traingle mochi thingy seems popular(cant remember name)
you mean otabe? triangle with red bean paste inside? i think i've tried it somewhere before. didn't know it was famous in kyoto tongue.gif

anyway, today's Fuji-san:

sugar-frosted biggrin.gif

TStanoshi
post Nov 13 2008, 02:43 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Nov 13 2008, 12:42 PM)
hopefully this helps

http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/prepaid/index.html

SOFTBANK supports SMS no? and its possible to get a simcard without a phone.

currently using Postpaid and prepaid softbank...YES its support SMS(softbank to softbank)and other network ONLY mobile email!
last 2 weeks my frenz from Germany the luckiest ever in Tokyo to get a last unit in Akihabara the prepaid softbank...as she search whole over internet she still cant find in Tokyo unless sub burbs in Japan may be...she bought a prepaid phone and its must with phone..I just ask 'CANT BUY THE SIM ONLY?' she replied "NO,why?" brows.gif

136 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0301sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:47 AM