7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Sport RIM Talk, Sport Rim + Tyers

6UE5T
post Jan 13 2018, 05:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jan 13 2018, 04:44 PM)
He may still upgrade to 17 without suffering loss of performance if he is willing to pay more for a good quality light rims.
I don't recommend for Jazz coz the car is small and if to use 17', it's not just because of performance but also due to having to use very thin profile tires hence becoming a bumpy uncomfortable ride.
6UE5T
post Jan 13 2018, 05:22 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jan 13 2018, 04:45 PM)
What about enkei japan 18”, how much will this cost?
If new, usually above rm5k for lightweight ones.
6UE5T
post Jan 13 2018, 05:56 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jan 13 2018, 05:36 PM)
What about second hand?
Depends on type, size, and condition. Good ones like Enkei Japan RPF1 will cost 2k or more.
6UE5T
post Jan 14 2018, 11:10 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jan 14 2018, 05:57 PM)
What is the difference in terms of features and quality between enkei japan and rays japan?
As far as I know (anyone can CMIIW) Enkei doesn't make forged type rims to make lightweight rims. They instead use MAT technology which is still cast type rims but with more advance technology so that it can lightweight yet a bit cheaper than forged type. (Normal/traditional cast type rims are heavier and cheaper still). However not all Enkei Japan rims are made using MAT and therefore not all of them are lightweight.

Rays is said to have one of if not the most advanced forged rim manufacturing facility in the world to produce lightweight yet strong rims, hence more expensive. Similarly, not all Rays rims are forged type, they also make cheaper normal cast type rims.

So in general if I were to rank them, Rays > Enkei Japan. If you know watches, Enkei Japan is maybe like Tag Heuer while Rays is like the Rolex of rims. biggrin.gif Both are excellent luxury watch brands and both are expensive but of course Rolex is still the king.
6UE5T
post Feb 22 2018, 01:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Feb 22 2018, 01:38 PM)
Elantra, should i consider upsize the rim by 1 inch? or current is size is good enough? 1.8
What is the stock tire size?
6UE5T
post Feb 22 2018, 03:29 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Feb 22 2018, 03:24 PM)
215/45 R17
Then just leave it, that's big enough and the tire is already pretty thin profile enough. Bigger rims means even thinner profile tires and the ride quality will suffer significantly!
6UE5T
post Feb 24 2018, 11:33 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Feb 22 2018, 04:21 PM)
ok ok.. then i should hunt for a decent 17" rim  biggrin.gif
What is the PCD of your car?
6UE5T
post Mar 13 2018, 02:11 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 12 2018, 10:31 PM)
kia picanto 2018 model, stock rim and tyre size - 175/65, 14 x 5.5j

oversea models come with stock 15" rims which uses 185/55 size, rim is 15 x 6j

the maximum stock rim size is 16 x 6.5j, with 195/45 tyres
i want to change to 15 inch sport rims now, whats the ideal size tgt with tyre size? I heard 15 x 6jj is hard to find, 7 is more common
QUOTE(leehernandez @ Mar 13 2018, 01:38 PM)
usually they use 7j with 175/50/15 tyres
but u can still find 6.5j rim in market,easier than that of 6jj u can find
If you cannot find 15x6jj for 185/55/15 tires, then get 15x6.5jj or 7jj then fit with 205/50/15 tires, that's the best conversion size, not 175/50/15. Just make sure you use the proper offset and test fit into the car first before paying so can see if still can clear or may rub.
6UE5T
post Mar 13 2018, 04:06 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Mar 13 2018, 03:38 PM)
picanto confirm cannot use 205/50/15.sure rub..if u see most of the picanto setting on 15inch wheel they use 175/50/15
Ah IC, coz he said there's stock version overseas that came with 185/55/15 so the 205/50/15 is the closest conversion size diameter wise, plus it matches wider rims too. If 175/50/15 then it's way much smaller diameter. Or maybe at least use 195/50/15 since he said there's also another version using even 195/45/16, so by right 195/50/15 should still be able to clear if worry about 205/50/15.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 13 2018, 03:48 PM)
it seems 205/50/r15 is a rare tyre size as well...
Well not as common but not too rare either.

6UE5T
post Apr 17 2018, 05:39 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Apr 17 2018, 05:31 PM)
original 175/65/14, does upgrade to 195/50/15 will really consume more petrol (provided getting new lighter rim, and eco tyres)?
No need to post twice! laugh.gif
6UE5T
post May 16 2018, 02:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ May 15 2018, 09:52 AM)
does anyone know bezza stock rim 14", is it consider light rim?
QUOTE(leehernandez @ May 16 2018, 11:47 AM)
at least 6kg+
Not light for its small size. Last time my forged 17x7.5j' rims was also just 6.5kg/pc.
6UE5T
post May 16 2018, 03:38 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ May 16 2018, 03:37 PM)
so what weight is considered a light rim for 14"? and 15"?
Below 5kg/pc.
6UE5T
post May 16 2018, 03:54 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ May 16 2018, 03:41 PM)
from a friend opinion, a heavy car will surely look for light weight rim. but if a light car, if also look for light rim, won't them 'fly' off when cruising? lol..
Nonsense.
6UE5T
post Aug 12 2018, 12:00 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 9 2018, 06:53 PM)
Hello guys,

Wanna ask your opinion.

Planning to change wheels & tyres for my Mazda CX5

Now it uses 225/65R17 & I plan to change to 18in tyres

After some searching, i've come down to this 2 options

- Enkei SC37
- Enkei RS05RR

Initially i want to get the Rays Gram Lights 57XMA but need to import & the price is way out of budget.

RS05RR

OR

SC37

Would like to hear your thoughts

1- Which of the rims above do u think looks best for compact SUV like CX5

2- The stock 17in tyre sidewall is 65 which i think too thick. Can I change to something around 50-55 for the aspect ratio/sidewalls? Will it significantly affects the car performance, driving dynamics etc?

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 12 2018, 11:13 AM)
Yes this VD06 is super nice.

Btw my initial aim was the Vorsteiner V-FF 107 but thats only available for 19 & 20 inch PLUS it is tooo expensive! Hehe

This Varro wheels looks very similar to the VFF107 & it looks good also on SUVs.

Btw any tyre recommendations for this wheels? Plan to use sidewall around 45-55.

Looking at the Evo12 v2, Falken FK510 or the MC6. Im not sure whether all this tyres a suitable for SUV like CX5.
If talking original and you have the budget, then I'd pick the RS05RR coz I think it's the lighter of your choices (CMIIW) and the design is also timeless.

I totally support your decision to upgrade to 18 coz by doing this you have choices of those excellent UHP tires which you won't have with the stock size. As for the tire choices, your should go either with the new FK510 or V12E2 coz both are very well proven internationally as excellent high performance tires yet with much more reasonable prices, basically the best bang for the buck. MC6 is not yet well proven since it's mostly just for Malaysia market so I wouldn't get that unless no other choices available.
6UE5T
post Aug 13 2018, 10:04 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 13 2018, 09:49 PM)
Thanks for your opinion. I do agree with you the Rs05RR design is timeless & more versatile compared to the Enkei SC37.

I've enquire few shops for the wheels but most of the shops actually recommend MC6 or the Latitude Tour HP. Im still searching for the correct size. its either 235/55R18 or 235/50R18.

The FK510 or the EVo12V2 would still be my top choice.
Ya i agree with you. 45 maybe too low. I think would opt for 50 or 55.

Btw ive searched through the available 18" profile for FK510, it seems the max sidewall they offering for 18" is 45

Hmm I just checked your tire size conversion and you need to use 235/55/18 which is unfortunately not available for either V12E2 or FK510 coz this is still SUV size tire. Not sure if MC6 is available or not.
6UE5T
post Aug 14 2018, 11:54 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 14 2018, 11:41 AM)
Dealer shop also recommend 235/55R18. You are correct, ive searched thru V12E2 & FK510 doesnt have the profile mentioned

So far these are the available tyres for 235/55

1- Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 - not sure price
2- Conti MC6 - RM500+
3- Conti UC6 - RM500+
4- Hankook S1 Evo2 - RM400+

Not sure about Michelin, Toyo etc.

For V12E2 the nearest one available is 235/50R18

Which brand would you choose? Thanks!!
No brainer choice, get the S1 Evo2! That one is also very well proven to be an excellent UHP tire from Hankook, maybe even better than V12E2 and still very closely matched with the new FK510.
6UE5T
post Aug 15 2018, 06:33 PM

1,704 posts

There are those which are super lightweight like TE37, CE28N, CP035, Evo Regamaster which are all very expensive and forged type rims. Then there are those which are lightweight like those flow forming rims. Then the rest are cast rims which are normal weight (heavy). So now depends on whether the extra weight saving between those are worth the price or not. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Sep 16 2018, 12:35 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Sep 14 2018, 10:55 PM)
Can clear coat be applied on "diamond cut"/skimmed alloy rim? Once in awhile will see some diamond cut rims with no clear coat on the turned surface, won't that subject to corrosion really fast? hmm.gif
It's aluminum so it should not get corrosion.
6UE5T
post Feb 8 2019, 06:44 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(RalphRatedR @ Feb 8 2019, 05:56 PM)
Just wondering .... is ATS a good wheel in terms of quality? Always saw these wheels on conti cars (they even make OEM wheels for most german cars).
It's German brand wheels, good stuff also.
6UE5T
post Jun 29 2019, 02:07 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(SpiderMon68 @ Jun 27 2019, 09:57 AM)
There are so many fakes and replicas out there, with a huge range of pricing. I went to US site TireRack.com to find out price ranges of popular brands, omitting ones that are not so popular in MY. All prices converted to Ringgit using 4x

Advanti $3,000-4,000
BBS      $4,800-20,000
HRE      $8,000-11,000
O.Z.      $5,000-7,500
Rays      $9,000-12,000
SPARCO $3,000-5,000
Vorsteiner $7,000-9,000

So when someone sells a brand new set for RM1,200-2,000 from one of the names above, is it legit item? I met someone who paid RM2,000 for brand new BBS CH-R 19" for his 5-series and insists that it's original from a "well know rim retailer in shah alam". I know a chain that sells those for RM10,000 in person the quality is superbly made.

Performance aside, there's a huge safety concern and if family member or close friend gets into an accident there's no replacement parts there that can save you. I'm not asking to pay more, but know what you pay for. Sry for the rant, had to get this off my chest for buyer awareness

(BTW TireRack.com quite cool, you can see what your potentially new rim looks like on your car with their simulator)
There's no way an original BBS CH-R new for only rm2k, size 19' some more! That is 1000% one of those fake shit! laugh.gif Even used original BBS CH-R you might not be able to get it at such low price.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0515sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:57 PM