QUOTE(White Palace @ Feb 28 2009, 02:55 PM)
since when i say RC is bad? do we have any missunderstanding here?
ps:finally found in penang midland ....tesco extra got selling
Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
Feb 28 2009, 11:10 PM
1,298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: utopia |
Feb 28 2009, 11:42 PM
487 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
the content is different. royal canin baby cat food. suits hedgie most. correct me if i'm wrong
ah leave him alone for few days first |
Mar 3 2009, 08:30 PM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi i would love to have a hedgehog but is there any breeder around here? Or mayb u guys can help me to find one. coz i heard its not good to buy from the petshop. tq very much
Mar 3 2009, 10:11 PM
487 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
try search in garage sales.
Mar 3 2009, 11:18 PM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Hi. do you guys know where to get the metal wheel hedgehogs? suitable for hedgehogs or not?
Mar 4 2009, 02:07 PM
143 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(changan_vesuvius @ Mar 3 2009, 11:18 PM) Its suitable, but i think nobody sales it anymore...I try 2 find once, but fail..Still if u insist on getting one, maybe there r those who which to sale it as used items...try knocking.. |
Mar 4 2009, 11:20 PM
20 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
@@" i want to get a hedgehog too... but dono where to get it ...
anyone knows can pm me for the real place to buy it? Thx alot yo~ |
Mar 5 2009, 03:44 AM
1,523 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(mattemily_85 @ Feb 28 2009, 02:46 PM) i can pick up mine but she will gila2 sniff at your hand then bite 1 lah.She damn eats lots oohh...can eat till 2 tablespoon between 4 hours now,really have to stop this routine haha.... make sure u wash ur hand after u feed her if not she might think ur hand is a food cuz the smell might still left on ur hand. Be careful to not feed her too much. Just feed her the normal portion if not later she will easily get obbesed which is not good for her QUOTE(X3nz @ Feb 28 2009, 05:22 PM) cottonkandy : lol~ he typo maybe xD!! I will say yes. RC cat is more suitable to feed hedgehog. If not mistaken the protein is about 30% for the cat and there r some other reason but I kinda forgot. Also must take note, if the hedgie still hoglet it would be good to feed them RC babycat as it contains more protein and the kibbles is smaller which is easier for hoglets to eat it. When they reach about 5-6 months old u can try to switching it into RC adult as the protein is lower and the kibbles is bigger than RC babycat. As for me, I follow this method cuz when I still feeding my boy which babycat till he was about 8month plus ended up he gain more weight and look obessed because of the protein so I changed it back to babycat and can see that now he doesnt look as fat as before. But currently I'm feeding him another brand of kibbles called Eagle holistic chicken flavour and some other brand and mix it for him.anyway.. i got my first hedgie le its not biting nor is it giving out any sound =P but its hiding in its home as soon as it reaches her new home o_O... lol... anyway i heard from the breeder i got her from... they say that royal canin dog food ain't that nutritious as royal canin for cats... so any pro advices? i read both the details and compared... nth visually incommon except the packaging = =~ anything thats in the food itself made it different? X3nz Just sharing my experience, u guys can choose to follow or just ignore it |
Mar 6 2009, 01:17 AM
16 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
wah....this thing darn cute,i want:)
any advise where i cn get those? n is it...errrmmm...safe? wont poke me ah? ok,ok...i'll go n read.. |
Mar 6 2009, 04:45 PM
wah....this thing darn cute,i want:)
Yes hedgie r cute and of cause u can have them as ur pet if ur able to get one… No need to get license 4 this adorable creature u know.. any advise where i cn get those? Well, pet shop such as Pets Wonderland and Pet Lovers Centre do sell it but for a high price.. Alternatively, u can always choose to get it from a breeder and get a lower price.. Usually its better to get it from a breeder since the hedgie r well taking care of.. Beside, maybe they can throw in some good advice and tips… n is it...errrmmm...safe? Well, 4 me bonding is important…once u start bonding with ur hedgie, there is so little reason for u not to be safe..The spike is not that dangerous.. U could hold them bare hand, play with them and its quite safe… wont poke me ah? Yes, they will poke as an act of defensive when they feel threaten.. As I mention before, if ur able to bond with ur hedgie, they will usually recognize u n will let u play with them… ok,ok...i'll go n read.. Good, research is the most important thing to do before getting a pet…Do drop any question if u r puzzle.. The expert here will surely help u out.. P/s: I just answer ur question generally, so bare in mind that how u treat the hedgie is how they will treat u… This post has been edited by meento: Mar 6 2009, 04:49 PM |
Mar 6 2009, 09:03 PM
Good advice meento!
My hedgehog don't wanna eat live mealworm. Sniff2 then move away. Like she scared or something.. But when i gave her dried mealworm, suddenly she became an eating machine! Almost bite my finger.. Wonder why she's acting like this.. btw does anyone know the best way to litter train hedgehogs? Mine like to poop n pee in her hiding box la.. Please Help.. |
Mar 7 2009, 03:18 AM
16 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hey,thanks a lot for the answers.
am still browsing thru. need to find as much info as possible bfo i get any of those,kan? |
Mar 7 2009, 04:22 AM
1,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: USJ Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(changan_vesuvius @ Mar 6 2009, 09:03 PM) Good advice meento! Hedgies r like that. What is ur definition to train the hedgie? Taming or Litter Train?My hedgehog don't wanna eat live mealworm. Sniff2 then move away. Like she scared or something.. But when i gave her dried mealworm, suddenly she became an eating machine! Almost bite my finger.. Wonder why she's acting like this.. btw does anyone know the best way to litter train hedgehogs? Mine like to poop n pee in her hiding box la.. Please Help.. Ok, lets start with TAMING/Bonding : U place ur smelly t-shirt, with ur sweat already dry, in the sleeping area of ur hedgie. Doing this, u actually train it to become familiar to ur smell, so the next time [depends on how consistent u do this, the shirt part and the hand taming part, must work together] u put ur hand to pet it, it smells u, and r not afraid of u. Then, if u want LITTER TRAINED hedgie : U have to have a litter tray, or a normal rectangular cat tray. Put some breeder celect in it. How do u litter train ur hedgie? B4 all this, take ur hedgie and keep it in a safe closure, and give ur cage/closure a thorough cleaning, scrub brush wipe, so all it takes to remove the stains ur hedgie has caused. The idea is to remove the pee poo stain it has caused. Coz now we wana train it, TO PEE POO on the desired area only. After all r cleaned and dry, put some bedding. And the needed stuffs inside the cage/closure. Now the tricky part is : well, u have to wait for ur hedgie to go to toilet aka pee poo. When he does this, whether u r fast or too late, meaning he already pee poo, transfer it to the litter tray/rectangular cat tray. Doing this, u actually is directing him to get the idea to pee poo only in the tray. Continue to do this till u see it pee poo itself, then u have accomplished the mission. Dont feel miserable if it doesnt work out, it only means it didnt get it yet. Some r slow learners, but if u dont mind changing the bedding n sort. Just skipped this part, like me! HAHA |
Mar 7 2009, 09:57 AM
37 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KL |
hey...vanda, but i been read an article, they mention that iAM is a good cat food...but it's nt suitable for hedgie...so .....
Mar 7 2009, 12:30 PM
Thanks a lot kelvin_faye!
The TAMING/BONDING method already done since the first time i got her (the shirt smell part). At first she will raise her quills when i approach her. After sniffing my finger she will slowly open up. Now i could put her on my palm, my lap and move around on my bed. Guess that's a good start.. But she still looks kinda nervous la.. About LITTER TRAINED my hedgie, i'd already put her poop n pee in one corner since the first week. Most are fresh one. I did the same thing everytime after cleaning the cage. But i'll try ur suggestion, though. Gotta start working now! Wah.. u took more than a year to train HUMPREY eh? PATIENCE, PATEINCE, PATIENCE... Anyway THANKS again kelvin! really appreciate ur help. |
Mar 7 2009, 12:46 PM
Haha. I got Humprey when his age is 1.5years. I did try to LITTER TRAIN him, but to no vail.
Guess he has used to his old habits d. Hmm but at least he get accustomed to my smell d, hence i can say the TAMING/BONDING went well enuf for me to pat and pick him up. |
Mar 7 2009, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Mar 7 2009, 12:46 PM) Haha. I got Humprey when his age is 1.5years. I did try to LITTER TRAIN him, but to no vail. Mr. Humprey is a very2 chubby hedgie...Definition for a fat hedgie is Mr.Humprey hahaha Guess he has used to his old habits d. Hmm but at least he get accustomed to my smell d, hence i can say the TAMING/BONDING went well enuf for me to pat and pick him up. Miz that cute hedgie of yours Kelvin...Do share the latest pic....Maybe more bigger now hehe |
Mar 7 2009, 07:09 PM
Now he isnot so FAT d lor. Last time he was that FAT coz i just got him from adoption.
Since he is with me, he isnt allow free choice feeding. He is on 2 tablespoon of kibbles at most. So now he slim down a bit. |
Mar 9 2009, 11:07 PM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: setapak |
hi y'all..im new here..hope 2 share info with u guys,i juz bought albino hedgie recently..juz curious can i feed my hedgie with science diet instead of rc? coz i also have persian n been feeding with sd..so no need 2change brand..thnx in advance..cheers
Mar 10 2009, 12:11 AM
75 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Nilai, Negeri Sombilan |
Wanna ask something. Royal Canin is most common used as hedgie food. Which one type is the best one? No. 34 ka? Which one do u recommended?
| Change to: | 0.0256sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:02 PM |