127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

yed
post Dec 20 2008, 07:26 PM

375 posts

As a S350 owner i`m really satisfied with the player (maybe my my taste and standard is peasent only biggrin.gif ). It`s already Profile 2.0 just need to upgraded by urself.

So far i`m very satisfied on it`s AQ (imho as i bitstreams the signal it`s depend on ur cable, receiver and speakers now) and PQ (better than PS3). But i reserved my comment on comparing with Pioneer as i have yet audition it.

But to tell the truth i have yet utilised this BD Live thing as i have no luxury of time for it. I just watch the movie..that`s it.

So like aiman said it`s really up to you bro. nod.gif

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 20 2008, 06:04 PM)
Looks like you already made up your mind? You said it yourself how the PA/AQ is really keng. That is the most important thing of movie experience. If you don't mind the slow speeds, then what you're waiting for?

No sifus can help you about the profile question. Like I said, it's totally up to you. BD-Live is just an extra, nothing more. Why would you miss any scene?

If the question is, "Does the Profile 2.0 important to the movie?". Then the answer is NO.

But it the question is, "Does the Profile 2.0 important to the YOU?" Then only you can answer that.
Jediknight8820
post Dec 20 2008, 07:30 PM

197 posts

add me as PS3 owner. no regrets since Apr'08. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ar188
post Dec 20 2008, 08:04 PM

9,206 posts

pq for s350 better than ps3 ar?
aiman04
post Dec 20 2008, 08:11 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

That's right Yed. When we bitstream the audio, which player you use doesn't matter anymore. It will then depend on your receiver.

Personally, I haven't seen the Pioneer in action too.

Added on December 20, 2008, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 20 2008, 08:04 PM)
pq for s350 better than ps3 ar?
Not sure, he has both players to compare.

From my own comparison with the PS3, my BD35 looked a little bit better. Mind tricks? Doesn't matter, it makes me happy. tongue.gif

Added on December 20, 2008, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(Jediknight8820 @ Dec 20 2008, 07:30 PM)
add me as PS3 owner. no regrets since Apr'08. rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif
Updated. rclxms.gif

THE L.Y.N PANASONIC BDP CLUB

DMP-BD35
1. aiman04
2. rthj
3. pspfan

DMP-BD55
1. piscesguy

DMP-BD30
1. HornyAngMoh
2. abuu2020

THE L.Y.N SONY BDP CLUB

BDP-S350
1. yed
2. gatevalve

PS3 40/60/80GB
1. aiman04
2. megatron007
3. htkaki
4. rthj
5. myqd
6. piscesguy
7. rx330
8. DigitalKL
9. fentanyl
10. ferricide
11. hackwire
12. Blastomuss
13. mpyw
14. jep
15. apisgogo
16. corez
17. edvpc
18. jwyj
19. anfieldude
20. arj
21. ar188
22. terranova
23. samlee860407
24. kianwee
25. ronnt88
26. nira_110
27. callmevil
28. iman_210
29. Goneraz
30. Jediknight8820

Owners, please add your name. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 20 2008, 08:56 PM
gatevalve
post Dec 20 2008, 09:51 PM

160 posts

Thank you for the feed back.I'm going to get pioneer 51 fd, since i just want to enjoy the picture with good audio.Tested both sony 350 and pioneer 51 with same set up at desa lowyat.for me, pioneer was the clear winner.
i still miss my denon dvd 1940....for sound quality.. he he.
the reason i ask about this profile because the s/a in desa have no clue about that.

ps3 vs sony 350.
picture quality.....350 slightly better.
sound quality.......350 much better.

btw, i going to let go my 2 months old sony bdp 350 ( foc- qed performance coaxial cable and supra lorad power cable) at rm 1500 after new year.intrested..pls pm me.
htkaki
post Dec 20 2008, 09:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, your supra lorad is how many mtr? Frankly speaking, I am more interested in your pwr cable than BDP350. Maybe buy it, then sell off the BDP350 hmm.gif
gatevalve
post Dec 20 2008, 10:00 PM

160 posts

1.5m with euro plug.
iman_210
post Dec 20 2008, 10:14 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(gatevalve @ Dec 20 2008, 09:51 PM)
Thank you for the feed back.I'm going to get pioneer 51 fd, since i just want to enjoy the picture with good audio.Tested  both sony 350 and pioneer 51 with same set up at desa lowyat.for me, pioneer was the clear winner.
the reason i ask about this profile because the s/a in desa have no clue about that.

ps3 vs sony 350.

btw, i going to let go my 2 months old sony bdp 350 ( foc- qed performance coaxial cable and supra lorad power cable) at rm 1500 after new year.intrested..pls pm me.
wow wee...tempted...
aiman04
post Dec 20 2008, 10:16 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

ps3 vs sony 350.

When doing comparison with PS3, the other player must also set to PCM.

If it's bitstream, the real comparison is between the PS3 and the receiver, not the player. Bitstreaming is known to have a slight advantage, that is reducing jitters, so it's natural for it to sound better (if you can really hear the difference) and also add the receiver's own decoding quality. The players do nothing while bitstraming except sending the codec to the receiver.

To make comparison of audio between players, both must set to PCM to decode internally. The S350 can't decode DTS-HD MA internally (only bitstream), so it's impossible to compare DTS-HD MA between the players. But the S350 can decode the Dolby TrueHD, so you can make a fair comparison for this codec.

Enjoy your new player bro. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 20 2008, 10:22 PM
gatevalve
post Dec 20 2008, 10:28 PM

160 posts

Aiman, you're the man.BTW the guy in Sony Centre did the demo for me.
Dunno about PCM , bitstream. He just asked me to watch and listen only.
I'm still newbie laa in home theater.
Good nite guys.....time to sleep.
yed
post Dec 21 2008, 12:12 AM

375 posts

You can always count on Aiman on giving true, fair and honest advise.. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(gatevalve @ Dec 20 2008, 10:28 PM)
Aiman, you're the man.BTW the guy in Sony Centre did the demo for me.
Dunno about PCM , bitstream. He just asked me to watch and listen only.
I'm still newbie laa in home theater.
Good nite guys.....time to sleep.
robinlim
post Dec 21 2008, 01:21 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

Thank you for the feed back.I'm going to get pioneer 51 fd, since i just want to enjoy the picture with good audio.Tested  both sony 350 and pioneer 51 with same set up at desa lowyat.for me, pioneer was the clear winner.

ps3 vs sony 350.

bro, the player u plan to let go is under how many years warranty ar?
i'm kinda tempted
the cheapest quotation i got is rm2299 with 1 year warranty only sweat.gif

btw, how much is the price for the pioneer BD player u plan to buy?

gatevalve
post Dec 21 2008, 06:50 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Dec 21 2008, 02:21 AM)
bro, the player u plan to let go is under how many years warranty ar?
i'm kinda tempted
the cheapest quotation i got is rm2299 with 1 year warranty only sweat.gif

btw, how much is the price for the pioneer BD player u plan to buy?
1 year warranty from sony malaysia (will provide proof of purchase).
by jan 2009 still got 10 months warranty.
pioneer bdp 51 cheapest price is rm 2180.
Exarkun
post Dec 21 2008, 10:45 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 19 2008, 09:54 PM)
List updated. Any Pioneer BDP owners here? Sharp?

IIRC, rx330 owns a Sharp BDP. hmm.gif
Sharp BD-HP20A owner here!
ar188
post Dec 21 2008, 11:12 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 20 2008, 10:16 PM)
When doing comparison with PS3, the other player must also set to PCM.

If it's bitstream, the real comparison is between the PS3 and the receiver, not the player. Bitstreaming is known to have a slight advantage, that is reducing jitters, so it's natural for it to sound better (if you can really hear the difference) and also add the receiver's own decoding quality. The players do nothing while bitstraming except sending the codec to the receiver.

To make comparison of audio between players, both must set to PCM to decode internally. The S350 can't decode DTS-HD MA internally (only bitstream), so it's impossible to compare DTS-HD MA between the players. But the S350 can decode the Dolby TrueHD, so you can make a fair comparison for this codec.

Enjoy your new player bro. biggrin.gif
probably holds true for video comparison as well.. maybe have to set to full potential of the BD, like output HDMI via 1080p24 (original BD signal) to see if any difference between the 2 players..
I wonder how BD-35 vs S350 is how? (in video quality aspect)
myqd
post Dec 21 2008, 12:33 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 20 2008, 09:58 PM)
Frankly speaking, I am more interested in your pwr cable than BDP350.

anyone can "see" the different if changing diff power cord for ur BDP/PS3 and PJ ? I read reviews saying it give huge diff ?

robinlim
post Dec 21 2008, 01:28 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(gatevalve @ Dec 21 2008, 06:50 AM)
1 year warranty from sony malaysia (will provide proof of purchase).
by jan 2009 still got 10 months warranty.
pioneer bdp 51 cheapest price is rm 2180.
oh, i see
anyway i'll give a serious thought
immediately after new year u'll start to offload it?
Goneraz
post Dec 21 2008, 01:42 PM

432 posts

since we are int he topic of bitstream vs pcm, so if a player can decode dts-hd/dolby digital hd and signal send as PCm then it does'nt matter wether your avr can decode dts-hd or dolby hd right? you will still get lossless audio?

Added on December 21, 2008, 1:43 pmoh yea i thought ps3 also can send bitstream signal. while you are watching the movie press the triangle button, you can choose bitstream from the menu.

This post has been edited by Goneraz: Dec 21 2008, 01:43 PM
ar188
post Dec 21 2008, 01:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 21 2008, 12:33 PM)
anyone can "see" the different if changing diff power cord for ur BDP/PS3 and PJ ? I read reviews saying it give huge diff ?
whoa! after get expensive HDMI cables then get branded power cords.. notworthy.gif
gatevalve
post Dec 21 2008, 02:17 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Dec 21 2008, 02:28 PM)
oh, i see
anyway i'll give a serious thought
immediately after new year u'll start to offload it?
yeap, after new year coz i'm still in india right now.
will be back on 30th dec 2008.
just pm me if you interested.

Added on December 21, 2008, 2:21 pmbranded power cord to player not much different.i tried b4 with audioquest nrg and other power cable, supra,merlin,wireworld.
good hdmi cable will give some improvement.
power cable on avr will give some improvement improvement.
my 2 kupang.

This post has been edited by gatevalve: Dec 21 2008, 02:21 PM

127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:28 PM