Gatherings [LYN MPSS]Girls in high school uniform (outdoor), Event finished. Please give feedback.

zio
post Jul 5 2008, 04:15 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Wah liau who so cruel ask her to carry the camera bag? tongue.gif not heavy meh? tongue.gif
altecphoto
post Jul 5 2008, 04:16 PM

Digital Imaging
650 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jul 5 2008, 04:15 PM)
Wah liau who so cruel ask her to carry the camera bag? tongue.gif not heavy meh? tongue.gif
Empty if im not mistaken. haha
TSIntimidated
post Jul 5 2008, 04:20 PM

499 posts

Thank you everyone for showing support. Really appreciate it. Hope you guys enjoyed it as much as I did.

Please post your photos at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=735062, as I want to keep this thread for postmortem smile.gif

Questions:
1. Was it worth your time and money?
2. Was there anything I should fix/improve?
3. Will you join similar paid event again?

Feel free to criticize openly in here, but if you feel shy about letting out your opinion in public, you can always send me a message. smile.gif
altecphoto
post Jul 5 2008, 04:26 PM

Digital Imaging
650 posts

Answers :

1- Its was worth my time, great chance to learn. But I think charging RM50 is too much, if it was RM20-30.. i wouldn't mind going for this type of shoot every week.
2- Better if you could start earlier, but I know you did your best and it wasn't your fault it started late. smile.gif
3- Would join only if its cheaper, every week like that.. Have to eat bread everyday sweat.gif
zio
post Jul 5 2008, 04:33 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

1. Pretty much so, though I would love to have shot more than one model tongue.gif

2. Start on time? smile.gif Understand that if it started slightly later but an hour was too late. Oh, it could help if you planned out possible photo spots a few days before so that at least the photogs know where to go.

3. Heh, probably not. Not my cup of tea tongue.gif

Anyway, good job done smile.gif Its never easy to organise things such as this.
altecphoto
post Jul 5 2008, 04:42 PM

Digital Imaging
650 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jul 5 2008, 04:33 PM)
1. Pretty much so, though I would love to have shot more than one model tongue.gif

2. Start on time? smile.gif Understand that if it started slightly later but an hour was too late. Oh, it could help if you planned out possible photo spots a few days before so that at least the photogs know where to go.

3. Heh, probably not. Not my cup of tea tongue.gif

Anyway, good job done smile.gif Its never easy to organise things such as this.
You only shot one model? every group had a chance to shoot all 3 models? hmm.gif
TSIntimidated
post Jul 5 2008, 04:43 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jul 5 2008, 04:42 PM)
You only shot one model? every group had a chance to shoot all 3 models? hmm.gif
He had to leave early because of work smile.gif

Thank you and sorry, Zio. I luffeh yew. xD
zio
post Jul 5 2008, 04:44 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(altecphoto @ Jul 5 2008, 04:42 PM)
Haha i left early ma. Not organiser's fault but if it started on time, I would have shot 2! tongue.gif

But potrait model shoot is really not my thing. I think I go back to wildlife HAHAH
myjunk
post Jul 5 2008, 04:49 PM

3,446 posts

I love your jungle and your macro shots. but sometimes, those are not my taste, esp those ultra-closeups of insect eyes. yeeks..

Added on July 5, 2008, 5:04 pmMy take :

I'm partial here cos I quite a lot of small little things ticked me off today and I wasn't in the "zone".

eg:
a) Umbrella stand drop 2 times. 1st time umbrella still can be used, although kemek already. 2nd time, umbrella totally KONK. Flash also got big dent in the plastic. (there goes the 2nd hand value, [as if I will sell!]) Now I will have to fork out money to get another one and have to be even more careful now.

b) My new <6 months canon bag thread start to come out.

c) My new <4 months ThinkThank LensChanger 50 bag, thread also started to come out. (I wonder if this is under wear and tear or workmanship? They said will warranty for the entire life of the (me) for any workmanship. I would say that the thread issue is not wear and tear but the workmanship on the join not GOOD enough!

d) didn't really have much chance to do strobist shots. The optical trigger is USELESS in outdoor environment. It worked in Bukit Jalil cos it was indoor (of sorts) and it was darker in the "house" area. Need another 2 more flashes that works with the cactus flash trigger.

e) I (purposely) went to DigiColor to get another lightstand but ended up not using it.

f) TheVOIP banged into my DIY Softbox. (I take revenge by tripping over his camera bag and nearly totalled my 24-70 & 135 in my lens-bag. Not to mention the 1Ds Mark III I was wearing. Also, found out that in the fall, I took a big scratch on my back.

For me, I guess I'm looking more towards a more controlled shoot where I can take my time, play with the flashes, do the setups, make sure things are OK/exposure is good etc.

This sort of shoot is fast paced and not limited to 1 location thus my issue with (light) setups. You've done a good job in any case.

As usual, being a paid event, the stakes are higher and the expectations are higher as well. (in all aspects)

I sincerely doubt you can cater to all demands/whims, so I say, screw it and you've done a good job.

Like what altec said, if the $$ isn't as much, or the photographer to model ratio is not as much, then I would seriously consider it again.But, as I think more, the more I feel that I want to try indoor studio like shoots instead of just mindless walking around and shooting. Additionally, I'm looking towards doing a kind of a story book tale, much like a script to be acted out in photos.

My 2 kupang. (but it does feel that I'm talking too much eh..)

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jul 5 2008, 05:09 PM
TSIntimidated
post Jul 5 2008, 06:45 PM

499 posts

Thank you for the feedback, myjunk. Will certainly put that in mind. Just want an evaluation or some sort to see if I'm heading towards the right direction. smile.gif
xandman
post Jul 5 2008, 07:09 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jul 5 2008, 04:49 PM)
I love your jungle and your macro shots. but sometimes, those are not my taste, esp those ultra-closeups of insect eyes. yeeks..

Added on July 5, 2008, 5:04 pmMy take :

I'm partial here cos I quite a lot of small little things ticked me off today and I wasn't in the "zone".

eg:
a) Umbrella stand drop 2 times. 1st time umbrella still can be used, although kemek already. 2nd time, umbrella totally KONK. Flash also got big dent in the plastic. (there goes the 2nd hand value, [as if I will sell!]) Now I will have to fork out money to get another one and have to be even more careful now.

b) My new <6 months canon bag thread start to come out.

c) My new <4 months ThinkThank LensChanger 50 bag, thread also started to come out. (I wonder if this is under wear and tear or workmanship? They said will warranty for the entire life of the (me) for any workmanship. I would say that the thread issue is not wear and tear but the workmanship on the join not GOOD enough!

d) didn't really have much chance to do strobist shots. The optical trigger is USELESS in outdoor environment. It worked in Bukit Jalil cos it was indoor (of sorts) and it was darker in the "house" area. Need another 2 more flashes that works with the cactus flash trigger.

e) I (purposely) went to DigiColor to get another lightstand but ended up not using it.

f) TheVOIP banged into my DIY Softbox. (I take revenge by tripping over his camera bag and nearly totalled my 24-70 & 135 in my lens-bag. Not to mention the 1Ds Mark III I was wearing. Also, found out that in the fall, I took a big scratch on my back.
For me, I guess I'm looking more towards a more controlled shoot where I can take my time, play with the flashes, do the setups, make sure things are OK/exposure is good etc.

This sort of shoot is fast paced and not limited to 1 location thus my issue with (light) setups. You've done a good job in any case.

As usual, being a paid event, the stakes are higher and the expectations are higher as well. (in all aspects)

I sincerely doubt you can cater to all demands/whims, so I say, screw it and you've done a good job.

Like what altec said, if the $$ isn't as much, or the photographer to model ratio is not as much, then I would seriously consider it again.But, as I think more, the more I feel that I want to try indoor studio like shoots instead of just mindless walking around and shooting. Additionally, I'm looking towards doing a kind of a story book tale, much like a script to be acted out in photos.

My 2 kupang. (but it does feel that I'm talking too much eh..)
yes i know ur frustation...
now go get the skyports!
u know u want some! wink.gif

QUOTE(Intimidated @ Jul 5 2008, 06:45 PM)
Thank you for the feedback, myjunk. Will certainly put that in mind. Just want an evaluation or some sort to see if I'm heading towards the right direction. smile.gif
bro...
although i din manage to join...
i know u did work hard to make it successful...
and i appreciate ur hard work...
dun worry it's ur first time...sure got things happened one...wink.gif
also...
from zio's statement...
1-hour delay....shudnt have happened...
that itself will cause ppl to lose motivation a bit if not more...
if u could...maybe for the next outing try a maximum of 15-20 mins delay....=)
also...
determine the reason for the delay...try to overcome it in the next outing...=)
well thats all i can say...not that experienceed too...tongue.gif
myjunk
post Jul 5 2008, 08:26 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 5 2008, 07:09 PM)
yes i know ur frustation...
now go get the skyports!
u know u want some! wink.gif
Well, if I get those skyports, how to fund money to get flashes?
besides, since you didn't come, poison deflector was of no use anyway. (NO poison)

i know u did work hard to make it successful...
and i appreciate ur hard work...
dun worry it's ur first time...sure got things happened one...wink.gif
yeah.. it's not easy to organise things like this. In addition to that, it has the feeling of "And That's the thanks I get??"

SUSTheVoIP
post Jul 5 2008, 08:51 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(Intimidated @ Jul 5 2008, 04:20 PM)
Thank you everyone for showing support. Really appreciate it. Hope you guys enjoyed it as much as I did.

Please post your photos at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=735062, as I want to keep this thread for postmortem smile.gif

Questions:
Okay la... Most importantly today is the first time I use my 40D without that stupid preverse highlight stuff... and only notice drop in noise a lot... rclxub.gif

I am going to stop using that feature... unless really needed.... doh.gif

Dun be late la.. Late is bad...

If possible, avoid big group la... it is usually a mess... I would suggest max 2 groups with 2 models... So every photographers can have more time... More group mean less time... less quality time tongue.gif

Feel free to criticize openly in here, but if you feel shy about letting out your opinion in public, you can always send me a message. smile.gif
I just join the bikini one... So what you think? brows.gif

But dissapointed that you did not put me on the list in the first place lo... cry.gif
TSIntimidated
post Jul 5 2008, 09:18 PM

499 posts

Thanks for the word of encouragement smile.gif

Out of topic:
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Jul 5 2008, 08:51 PM)
But dissapointed that you did not put me on the list in the first place lo...  cry.gif
My fault to misled you blush.gif . There was an arrangement I haven't include in the thread yet, for early birds who showed strong interest in the bikini session (like you rclxms.gif ).

Not to say I pilih kasih la. The arrangement I had been negotiating with a model (not Eleen) and we still can't reach a mutual agreement. When it's done, we will have two two-pieces swim suit models in the event.

I better go edit the thread before the original list of photogs start kicking my ass. xD
chloe123
post Jul 6 2008, 07:48 AM

hey guys...chloe here.
sorry for late...sorry for dragging the 1hour >_<
its my mistake , dun blame joyce..lol

but i rili enjoyed this shooting...=D thanks a lot
thanks joyce too for organizing..you rili over pampered us the models d..lol

myjunk
post Jul 6 2008, 10:27 AM

3,446 posts

the devil has spoken! Keke

Xandman:I really shake my head at the MF Part. I serioursly dont know how he does/can stand it for a model shoot. Even with my sutofocs, I also get the Oof issue!
xandman
post Jul 6 2008, 12:21 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

well...
i know how it feels..
i MF with my 85/1.4 Zeiss and 28/2 Zeiss for a model shoot before...wink.gif
darthbaboon
post Jul 6 2008, 05:16 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

Questions:
Well I signed up mainly to test the new lens that I had bought, as well as to meet up with some of the LYN guys and receive poison. All the above was fulfilled during that photoshoot. There's no free meal in this world so yeah... i'd say all good. thumbup.gif

All poison was from Canon users that day. Need to learn how to force-feed my D40X with Canon lens next round. tongue.gif

Like the others have mentioned, the timing, and possibly the planning of the shoot location. Outdoor shoots tend to be a little messy and need more planning on sites so we don't waste time wondering where else to go hunting for new shoot locations. Ended up being a kind of like a model street shoot.

Yeah, but prolly leaning towards a different type of shoot in the near future to expand my experience - scenery, parks, macro... etc. And definitely need to make sure Xandman participates so can get poison from his gears. rclxms.gif

21 Pages « < 19 20 21Top

0.0194sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:05 AM