Thanks Htkaki for the info, I'm also into musical, I might checkout the Paradigm.
Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!
Jul 5 2008, 07:18 PM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I think I've read somewhere about Velodyne VX-10 MK3, it's not as good as the CHT series.
Thanks Htkaki for the info, I'm also into musical, I might checkout the Paradigm. |
Jul 6 2008, 09:15 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
QUOTE(kvn1080 @ Jul 5 2008, 06:18 PM) VX-10 MK3 is no way near CHT-10R. It looks ugly to me too. No remote. Lacks low end grunt and power. It is the lower end model from Velodyne. Erm, I feels that my Klispch floorstanders do a better job than this. No pun intended and no offense to those owners here QUOTE I think I've read somewhere about Velodyne VX-10 MK3, it's not as good as the CHT series. Paradigm has been around for some time. It does produce very good subwoofer. Only thing is that it is a bit 'low profile' here. Dont expect to see it being reviewed by UK mags as they are more bias towards European products esp homeland goods. Thanks Htkaki for the info, I'm also into musical, I might checkout the Paradigm. |
Jul 6 2008, 09:09 PM
4,256 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
I think i have tested once on the Vlodyne VX series. HTKaki heard about it when i returned it back after been con to accept it . The bass is a total failure. It doesnt sound like bass at all. I was dissapointed with the shop i bought with because for a pro shop like that how can they give stock like this for exchange with a sub that cost more than RM 2K.
still pissed inside.. |
Jul 6 2008, 11:12 PM
4,000 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: SomeWhereNearU |
seriously speaking
with the price & performance for CHT-12R no need to bising liao lo... just tekan $ n pay lo |
Jul 7 2008, 12:51 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
Rogers ASB-100MkII subwoofer is good or not?
Jul 7 2008, 07:13 AM
From what I've heard, Rogers subs are not recommended at all. Maybe that explains the cheap price, but certainly not good bass.
Jul 7 2008, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 7 2008, 07:13 AM) From what I've heard, Rogers subs are not recommended at all. Maybe that explains the cheap price, but certainly not good bass. Spot on. Only churns out 'whommpa, whoompa, sort of those bass that you hear from Ah Beng's car', but cant complain since it is cheap. Good thing doesnt come cheap |
Jul 7 2008, 10:49 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 7 2008, 07:13 AM) From what I've heard, Rogers subs are not recommended at all. Maybe that explains the cheap price, but certainly not good bass. QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 7 2008, 08:58 AM) Spot on. Only churns out 'whommpa, whoompa, sort of those bass that you hear from Ah Beng's car', but cant complain since it is cheap. Good thing doesnt come cheap ya, selling for RM500 only, can nego summmore |
Jul 7 2008, 05:34 PM
215 posts Joined: May 2006 From: penang |
Wharfy SW150:
Specification Driver 10" 205mm Amplifier Power 150W Input Sensitivity 200mv/75W Frequency Boundary position: 35Hz-110Hz SPL Crossover: 35Hz-85Hz Crossover Range: 6x10Hz Dimensions 330x330x370 & Specifications for the Mordaunt-Short MS 309 i Subwoofer Frequency Response 35Hz to 200Hz Power 175W Drivers 1x10" (255mm) Long throw woofer Cross-Over Type Active - variable between 50Hz - 200Hz Cabinet Dimensions Height 370mm Width 370mm Depth 370mm Weight 15kg so Wharfy SW150 Or MS 309i which is more recommend for my budget Rm1300~Rm1500????? anyway, Thanks for all Sifu......(htkaki) This post has been edited by kvn1080: Jul 7 2008, 05:40 PM |
Jul 7 2008, 10:20 PM
In terms of value for money and high rating, SW150 is the one. Both are very good subs for the money. But, forking a few hundred more for MS is a minus point here. But, it does look better than SW150.
I would go for SW150. At this price, nothing come close to matching it. But, I like long-throw woofer |
Jul 7 2008, 10:42 PM
349 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Subang |
Jamo Sub 300 Subwoofer
Why no one considering Jamo Sub 300? Cost => $1699 The SUB 300 is equipped with a powerful 10in long-throw woofer unit housed in the unique slotted port cabinet and a BASH® amplifier capable of delivering 300W of peak power. The powerful amplifier, increased cabinet size and unique design make this subwoofer capable of delivering both a higher sound pressure level (SPL) and a flat frequency response, down to 28 Hz. All delivered, of course, with maximum musical fidelity and a flat frequency response. The SUB 300 is equipped with a front-mounted volume control for easy adjustment. Key Features • 10" Woofer This subwoofer features a powerful 10" throw woofer. • Port Cabinet with BASH Amplifier This unit is housed in a slotted port cabinet and includes a 300W BASH amplifier. • High SPL & Flat Frequency Response This unit's powerful amplifier and increased cabinet size make it capable of delivering both a higher sound-pressure level (SPL) and a flat frequency response (down to 28 Hz). • Control It also feature's a flat front-mounted volume control to facilitate adjustments. Award: Stereo & Video, Russia Jun 2008 Jamo SUB 300 takes the first prize in Stereo&Video’s comparative test Sub 300 is a universal model representing wide opportunities. This subwoofer accurately adds bass on both floorstanding and bookshelf speakers’ ranges. It is a highly musical product. SUB 300 is delicate to music, delivering punctual support to Home Cinema systems at quite moderate prices. It shows that Jamo gives careful attention to all its acoustic systems - whether it is a subwoofer, floor-standing speaker or even iPod dock-station. |
Jul 7 2008, 10:43 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 7 2008, 10:20 PM) In terms of value for money and high rating, SW150 is the one. Both are very good subs for the money. But, forking a few hundred more for MS is a minus point here. But, it does look better than SW150. Me too, long-throw subs have more impact than down firing ones but to be frank, for the money SW150 is considered a value buy unless TS can stretch the budget a bit and go for Velodyne CHT-10RI would go for SW150. At this price, nothing come close to matching it. But, I like long-throw woofer |
Jul 7 2008, 11:30 PM
349 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Subang |
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jul 7 2008, 10:43 PM) Me too, long-throw subs have more impact than down firing ones but to be frank, for the money SW150 is considered a value buy unless TS can stretch the budget a bit and go for Velodyne CHT-10R People around me tells me the downward firing subs are better than the front firing sub. Reason being is that the downward firing moves more air than the front firing one. The other reason is that the front firing usually moves air right in front of you-thus the name. They explained to me that this is not necessary a good thing. They said that the you can feel the downward firing subs even more than the front firing.Basically, down-firing and front-firing subs are just different designs. There should not be significant performance difference except that down-firing subs tend to have more flexibility in terms of placement. The down-firing units seem to be more solid, perhaps it is the lower center of gravity The down-firing driver does provide some physical protection. In ported subs, the difference is down-firing ports. Can do a very effective job of suppressing port noise. Eliminates port noise complaint |
Jul 8 2008, 07:17 AM
I like long-throw subs too.
This nice! ![]() This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 8 2008, 07:54 AM |
Jul 9 2008, 10:44 PM
882 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Jul 7 2008, 11:30 PM) People around me tells me the downward firing subs are better than the front firing sub. Reason being is that the downward firing moves more air than the front firing one. The other reason is that the front firing usually moves air right in front of you-thus the name. They explained to me that this is not necessary a good thing. They said that the you can feel the downward firing subs even more than the front firing. i agree front firing or downfiring sub with the same spec driver, enclosure size, amp n right placement will have the same performance... i dont have the money to diy two identical front n down firing sub to do an experiment... but i do believe what my subwoofer designer told me.. i will take his word over any ah seng , ah cai or ah huat hifi salesman... i have tried my friend's cylinder svs in sg the impact was great ... thats how i fall in love with svs.. i am sure there r many more down firing subs out there with great impact tooBasically, down-firing and front-firing subs are just different designs. There should not be significant performance difference except that down-firing subs tend to have more flexibility in terms of placement. The down-firing units seem to be more solid, perhaps it is the lower center of gravity The down-firing driver does provide some physical protection. In ported subs, the difference is down-firing ports. Can do a very effective job of suppressing port noise. Eliminates port noise complaint This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jul 9 2008, 10:46 PM |
Jul 10 2008, 07:17 AM
I have decided for a Paradigm DSP-3100. Sorry I can't join the Velodyne club.
After weeks of research, now I can sit back and relax, and see if I can get any cheaper at the AV Fest. |
Jul 10 2008, 08:52 AM
882 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 10 2008, 07:17 AM) I have decided for a Paradigm DSP-3100. Sorry I can't join the Velodyne club. good ah paradigm3100? .. i know velodyne very keng.. but paradigm dsp3100 havent tried b4.. hopefully during av fair can tryAfter weeks of research, now I can sit back and relax, and see if I can get any cheaper at the AV Fest. |
Jul 10 2008, 09:06 AM
4,000 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: SomeWhereNearU |
bro aiman...any good comment or ur point of view about this paradie? instead of velodie?
Jul 10 2008, 09:30 AM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
![]() very compact wor....and claim can go down to 24Hz my wife always stares at my big black box and how much u get the quote? |
Jul 10 2008, 09:53 AM
1,308 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Penang & Ipoh |
QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Jul 7 2008, 11:30 PM) People around me tells me the downward firing subs are better than the front firing sub. Reason being is that the downward firing moves more air than the front firing one. The other reason is that the front firing usually moves air right in front of you-thus the name. They explained to me that this is not necessary a good thing. They said that the you can feel the downward firing subs even more than the front firing. Actually I found out down firing sub is more consistence in the db accross the sub freq response. I try to calibrate my Paradigm PDR-10 using my DD-12 manual tuning with mic. With front firing position, a slight changes of mic direction will see a dip of 3db. I put 3 door stopper and point my PDR-10 downwards and it solve this problem. The freq response is much better across the range from 30hz to 100hz. With an equalizer, I manage to tune my paradigm within 3db from 25hz to 100hz.Basically, down-firing and front-firing subs are just different designs. There should not be significant performance difference except that down-firing subs tend to have more flexibility in terms of placement. The down-firing units seem to be more solid, perhaps it is the lower center of gravity The down-firing driver does provide some physical protection. In ported subs, the difference is down-firing ports. Can do a very effective job of suppressing port noise. Eliminates port noise complaint |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:52 PM |