CLOSED

viperiii
post Sep 25 2008, 09:09 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 23 2008, 11:51 PM)
hmm in my oppinion.. dunno bout the price? w2408h also max reso 1920x1200 at 60hz. other info u also can find in that website

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF...r〈=en&cc=sg <-- for w2408h
HP= hell exPensive.
viperiii
post Sep 25 2008, 09:10 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 23 2008, 10:38 PM)
im an owner of w2408h biggrin.gif

ok i will tell u why it is worth the rm400 more

1st w2408h is a FULL.HD lcd monitor, full man!! with only rm400 diff
2nd the color gamut of this lcd is 92% or more compare to 22" only 75% i believe
3rd hdmi compatible.. does 22" come with hdmi??
4th this monitor has 1:1 pixel mapping which is very important to gaming. without this your games will be 'stretched' to wide wide. with 1:1 your game look just like normal but with larger heroes, larger maps, larger mobs etc...
5th i believe its already cheaper than the price previously??
6th the stand of this monitor is very very tough not normal thin thin plastics and theres a slot at the back for u to 'rest/keep' your wires so that wont look ugly. also u can dock your keyboard on top of the stand
7th u can mount your monitor onto the wall
8th largeeeeee enough very very good for watching movies/dramas
9th your toolbar can line up more files that u open
10th u will be in love with it and not thinking of changing another monitor for years
how much it costs??

Added on September 25, 2008, 9:11 pm
QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 25 2008, 12:16 PM)
Once you have a 24" and above (assuming 1920x1200 res onwards), anything less than 720p will be blocky when viewed full screen, no matter the format. It's one of things you have to live with. So would it be better to have a lower res screen so that your SD experience is better ? Nope.

It's like ppl buying a 40" HDTV and suddenly realizing Astro looks worse now compared to their previous SDTV.

betul..

This post has been edited by viperiii: Sep 25 2008, 09:11 PM
Eoma
post Sep 25 2008, 10:23 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Sep 25 2008, 07:06 PM)
I don't get what you are trying to say. With all due respect, it seems that you are just stating the facts without opinion or something.

For standard HDTV, we sit quite far from it so SD content would not look awful, but we are talking about monitors which most of us are sitting maybe around 1 - 1.5 m from, and the blocks certainly look bigger than as compared to a HDTV.

Given that : if most contents in your library are 1080p files, certainly there's no issues there with 1920x1200 being the best choice.

But if most contents are SD contents, we should still go for highres screen + >=24", is that what you say, even if you'll be seeing blocky images all the time? What I'm thinking is, with mostly SD content, maybe it's better to get a 22" with 1680 x 1050 or a HDTV with 1366x768 res, which would make the images look better, which you disagreed. Why is that?
Hmm, no offence taken, as you said I merely pointed out the facts of watching SD content on HD screens. (i.e it will appear blocky if stretched to full screen).

If you bought a Full HD display in the 1st place, it's because you want to enjoy Full HD material correct ? The downside of this though, is you will find your SD content looking blocky. So what would you do now ? enjoy Full HD (whenever you can, games, videos etc) and tolerate blocky SD video, or return the HDTV for a lower res monitor, so that the SD content displays better ? With a 24" LCD, you can afford to sit further than 1.5m. smile.gif

"Most contents are SD" would be valid a few years ago, but now, even the TV shows floating for free are encoded in 720p (or higher). The only deciding factor to me would be the price of the display itself. Not the content.

PaiGeWonG
post Sep 25 2008, 10:43 PM

219 posts

3rd hdmi compatible.. does 22" come with hdmi??
Answer is YES it comes with HDMI output and HDMI cables

Added on September 25, 2008, 10:45 pm3rd hdmi compatible.. does 22" come with hdmi??
Answer is YES it comes with HDMI output and HDMI cables

This post has been edited by PaiGeWonG: Sep 25 2008, 10:45 PM
kaiserreich
post Sep 26 2008, 12:48 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 25 2008, 09:10 PM)
how much it costs??

Added on September 25, 2008, 9:11 pmbetul..
1st you said it's expensive, then you asked how much it cost? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Added on September 26, 2008, 12:52 am
QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 25 2008, 10:23 PM)
Hmm, no offence taken, as you said I merely pointed out the facts of watching SD content on HD screens. (i.e it will appear blocky if stretched to full screen).

If you bought a Full HD display in the 1st place, it's because you want to enjoy Full HD material correct ? The downside of this though, is you will find your SD content looking blocky. So what would you do now ? enjoy Full HD (whenever you can, games, videos etc) and tolerate blocky SD video, or return the HDTV for a lower res monitor, so that the SD content displays better ? With a 24" LCD, you can afford to sit further than 1.5m. smile.gif

"Most contents are SD" would be valid a few years ago, but now, even the TV shows floating for free are encoded in 720p (or higher). The only deciding factor to me would be the price of the display itself. Not the content.
Yeah, but hey, we are running on screamyx, so, gotta prioritize in the files that you want SD and the files you want to be in HD.

Nowadays, I mostly obtain HD content, but there's still anime that comes in SD, and the fact remains, HD movies are slow in their release, which would make the experience...less enjoyable, or "delayed"

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Sep 26 2008, 12:52 AM
zer0hour
post Sep 26 2008, 02:44 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Walau I salute anyone who has the patience to wait for HD content on Screamyx. 1 HD movie (7GB) takes daysss..
Barricade
post Sep 26 2008, 07:04 AM

4,147 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Sep 26 2008, 12:48 AM)
1st you said it's expensive, then you asked how much it cost?  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

Added on September 26, 2008, 12:52 am

Yeah, but hey, we are running on screamyx, so, gotta prioritize in the files that you want SD and the files you want to be in HD.

Nowadays, I mostly obtain HD content, but there's still anime that comes in SD, and the fact remains, HD movies are slow in their release, which would make the experience...less enjoyable, or "delayed"
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 26 2008, 02:44 AM)
Walau I salute anyone who has the patience to wait for HD content on Screamyx. 1 HD movie (7GB) takes daysss..
heard of bluray? and the release of bluray movies is the same as dvd release date
SUSMatrix
post Sep 26 2008, 09:29 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 26 2008, 07:04 AM)
heard of bluray? and the release of bluray movies is the same as dvd release date
I think he meant it takes days...if not months to download the HD content via Streamyx...1Mbit is simply not HD ready.

And i think BluRay is 25GB right? Some can go up to 50G and I heard Pirates of the Carribean is > 75GB???? sweat.gif

btw, can anyone tell me....those ahem ahem BlueRay hor...are they similar in quality to original BlueRay or just some cinema version crap that's worst than VCD??

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 26 2008, 09:32 AM
TSkianwee
post Sep 26 2008, 10:26 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 26 2008, 09:29 AM)
I think he meant it takes days...if not months to download the HD content via Streamyx...1Mbit is simply not HD ready.

And i think BluRay is 25GB right? Some can go up to 50G and I heard Pirates of the Carribean is > 75GB???? sweat.gif

btw, can anyone tell me....those ahem ahem BlueRay hor...are they similar in quality to original BlueRay or just some cinema version crap that's worst than VCD??
BD25 = 25GB

BD50 = 50GB

There's no more than 50GB BD movie as at today.

And there's no ahem Blu-ray, those are actually DVD9.
kaiserreich
post Sep 26 2008, 12:27 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 26 2008, 07:04 AM)
Hmm....I might have got my facts wrong then. I was of the impression that BD release is about 2 - 3 months after the movie release. Which I regard as slow anyways.

As to the other issue, there is ahem BD, and those 8GB+ 1080p are just blu-ray rips that if you don't stare and look hard enough, you probably wouldn't notice any difference between it and the real BD, unless you compare side by side.
WilliamG
post Sep 26 2008, 02:26 PM

142 posts

I never noe DVD9 is ahem blue ray blink.gif

So guys if we use 24" LCD monitro with HDMI cant watch movies with .rmvb?Not clear at all?
law1777
post Sep 26 2008, 02:42 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

why not clear?? of coz u have to sit further abit from your monitor to watch since your rmvb file is stretched to full screen. me myself im using 24 with hdmi to my laptop also watching rmvb tvb drama. no prob at all
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 26 2008, 02:48 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 26 2008, 02:44 AM)
haiyah 7GB in 1 1/2 days can finish liao laugh.gif not that long at all in my books laugh.gif

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 26 2008, 09:29 AM)
lulz it should be not blue ray ready. HD at most 2 days is not that long at all.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 26 2008, 03:45 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 26 2008, 10:26 AM)
BD25 = 25GB

BD50 = 50GB

There's no more than 50GB BD movie as at today.

And there's no ahem Blu-ray, those are actually DVD9.
Cheh...and i thought those are ahem BD...so it's just ripped BD->DVD 9??

Almost makes me wanna buy a PS3.... doh.gif
akachester
post Sep 26 2008, 05:02 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 25 2008, 10:23 PM)

Well, i personally have that feeling during my switchover from 17" CRT to 22" LCD. Movies content (SD) that looked so clean and sharp was totally blocky when its on the 22". I am kinda picky when it comes to video quality as i always believe in watching something at a good quality or not watch at all, and having blocky graphics does turn me down. And sitting further away from the 22" just for the sake of not noticing the blocky graphics cause it to be tiny and thus, demolish my intention of watching movies at a bigger view. I resort to laptop for movie watching for now. This is all personal preference though. Heck, gaming experience become better though smile.gif

This post has been edited by akachester: Sep 26 2008, 05:03 PM
nelienuxe_sara
post Sep 26 2008, 11:17 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

sure la... i play dota at my asus 22 inch
now at home using my dad pc 17 inch crt
very big diff haha
lex
post Sep 27 2008, 02:21 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Sep 26 2008, 05:02 PM)
Well, i personally have that feeling during my switchover from 17" CRT to 22" LCD. Movies content (SD) that looked so clean and sharp was totally blocky when its on the 22". I am kinda picky when it comes to video quality as i always believe in watching something at a good quality or not watch at all, and having blocky graphics does turn me down. And sitting further away from the 22" just for the sake of not noticing the blocky graphics cause it to be tiny and thus, demolish my intention of watching movies at a bigger view. I resort to laptop for movie watching for now. This is all personal preference though. Heck, gaming experience become better though smile.gif
That's usually because the bigger the screen the bigger the "blocks". This is especially noticeable with low resolution content such as VideoCDs and any movie files with less than 300 lines resolution. However DVDs, MPEG-4, DivX, XVid and H264 movies with more than 400 lines resolution looks great. My 2 cents.. biggrin.gif

Darkcloudz
post Sep 27 2008, 02:44 AM

940 posts

guys... i plan to buy a 22" LCD.
HP, Samsung, Viewsonic or Dell ??
٩(-̮̮̃ -̃)۶
viperiii
post Sep 27 2008, 07:44 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(WilliamG @ Sep 26 2008, 02:26 PM)
I never noe DVD9 is ahem blue ray  blink.gif

So guys if we use 24" LCD monitro with HDMI cant watch movies with .rmvb?Not clear at all?
can....
1. watch it at small windows mode. (recommended)
atau 2nd, set the screen resolution to lower resolution.
the 1st one is recommended.

-Peter-
jagged
post Sep 27 2008, 08:03 AM

757 posts

I'm planning to rob a lcd today, so what do you asked the seller before robbing them blindly, one of those is about dead pixel policy, then what more to asked, warranty then...? care to add some more

123 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:17 PM