33 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson [C702] - Cybershot, Iron Man Phone - Water & Dust Resistant!

TSglare842006
post Jun 26 2008, 09:45 PM

160 posts

Haven't officially launch in Malaysia yet. It will definitely launch together with C902 don't worry.

For the aGPS it's actually using Google Maps which is pre-installed in this phone. So you need to use GPRS or 3G to online and get the connection to the Internet then only you will be able to view where is your location. So it's not that inside got Malaysia or Singapore map but whenever you are if you are able to connect to Internet using your mobile phone then aGPS will be able to detect where is your location.

Although I know that there are those offline view map application available out there but using Google Maps it's able to track down where is your current location and show you in map view or the Google Earth real view.

I tried out last week using the aGPS and once you on it and connected to Internet after you launch the Google map it will show you where is your location. So if you want to travel to another location B just press the "search" and enter the address after that it will be able to trace down the location you are heading to if the address is correct and available.

The Google map will show your current location as a color dot and when you moving the color dot on the map will move too. Quite interesting and useful for those who drive. But I think this service very depend on your mobile line speed if the signal is very week therefore your map will take longer time to refresh and detect your location.
iRonTech
post Jun 26 2008, 10:14 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

eh?! I tot it bundled with free first 3 months WayFinder(another J2ME GPS app)??
TSglare842006
post Jun 26 2008, 10:37 PM

160 posts

yeah 3 months free wayfinder but didn't use it cause find that it's quite crappy =.=" going to sleep soon.... 99~~

Tomorrow I put those aGPS photo and so on regarding the C702 phone

Added on June 26, 2008, 10:37 pmyeah 3 months free wayfinder but didn't use it cause find that it's quite crappy =.=" going to sleep soon.... 99~~

This post has been edited by glare842006: Jun 26 2008, 10:37 PM
Seaedge
post Jun 26 2008, 11:25 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

googlemap, as i suspected. how sad. googlemap's detailedness is not too good, last time i tried with d810 and n95.

but since its not smartphone, cant say much. i wan garmin.... sad.gif
charles_nkj
post Jun 27 2008, 07:26 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 26 2008, 11:25 PM)
googlemap, as i suspected. how sad. googlemap's detailedness is not too good, last time i tried with d810 and n95.

well, at least its better than nothing rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
btw, can clarify me more on the dust-resistant thingy? coz i read in some reviews n forums that there r dust under the screen...
it doesn't seems too good for a dust-resistant fone to me sad.gif sad.gif
i tot of getting this or the g900..... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

(batman goin on kancil mobile? tongue.gif tongue.gif worse come to worse... batman have to take bus lo tongue.gif tongue.gif )
amir89
post Jun 27 2008, 07:31 AM

Your face is breathing my air. Stop it.
877 posts

lol laugh.gif

anyway, how much for this c702 on market now?
Seaedge
post Jun 27 2008, 07:51 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Jun 27 2008, 07:26 AM)
well, at least its better than nothing rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
btw, can clarify me more on the dust-resistant thingy? coz i read in some reviews n forums that there r dust under the screen...
it doesn't seems too good for a dust-resistant fone to me sad.gif  sad.gif
i tot of getting this or the g900..... icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

(batman goin on kancil mobile? tongue.gif  tongue.gif worse come to worse... batman have to take bus lo tongue.gif  tongue.gif )
hahah.. i am used to garmin.. so cant blame me abt it. tongue.gif

as for kancil mobile, if there is another hike (which will come soon).. i am going to change it to bat-bicycle...
iRonTech
post Jun 27 2008, 08:07 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(glare842006 @ Jun 26 2008, 10:37 PM)
yeah 3 months free wayfinder but didn't use it cause find that it's quite crappy =.=" going to sleep soon.... 99~~

Added on June 26, 2008, 10:37 pmyeah 3 months free wayfinder but didn't use it cause find that it's quite crappy =.=" going to sleep soon.... 99~~

ic..i tot the wayfinder pretty good sweat.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 26 2008, 11:25 PM)

more J2ME gps software will be available smile.gif
camron
post Jun 27 2008, 09:40 AM

不能说的秘密
1,346 posts

O...it's a googlemaps..
yeah heard abt it..
even the Old iPhone is using Googlemaps as well...

thanks for those info..
TOMEI-R
post Jun 27 2008, 04:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

So, the conclusion is .... We wont be able to use softwares like Garmin Mobile XT on the C702 with ONLY GPS (Not aGPS) like the Nokia N82 or N95.
The C702 can only suppport Google Maps which to me is not accurate and incomplete. I've tried Google Maps on my P1 and I find it really crappy if you were to run Malaysian Maps. Anyone can clarify this?
Seaedge
post Jun 27 2008, 04:54 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

erm.. c702 feature agps ler tomei.. according to gsmarena.
TSglare842006
post Jun 27 2008, 10:12 PM

160 posts

C702 is using aGPS. The Google map is not so accurate most of the time but I think it's better than the waynavigator.... I totally don't want to use that software after register it for the first time. Not user friendly and don't know how to use also.

Update C702 phone photo with its theme and map.

To view it kindly go to the first entry bottom part. Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by glare842006: Jun 27 2008, 10:13 PM
iRonTech
post Jun 27 2008, 11:46 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

shocking.gif how much time the gps signals lock taken from cold start? 3 mins? after the cold start the google maps should work very smooth & accurate isn't it?
TSglare842006
post Jun 27 2008, 11:57 PM

160 posts

Erm... less than half minute. After started the google map... the signal will refresh after few seconds. And will detect your current location. I think sometimes is depends on your 3G speed from subscriber. Quite ok only not very smooth but still acceptable and the accuracy is depend on whehter you are on move with vehicle or by walking. I try to walk all the way to another destination and during the process I can see my signal dot on the map follow exactly my path while i'm walking. But try before when take cab the signal will stuck at your current location but when the cab move for few seconds later til certain distance then only your position will be refresh and according to the signal tower if i'm not wrong. Cause it is not the exact location where the cab driving toward.
naq_saviola
post Jun 28 2008, 12:48 AM

394 posts

bro, can u share a pic "running fan", is that good? notworthy.gif
TSglare842006
post Jun 28 2008, 01:45 AM

160 posts

running fan @.@ you want me to take a photo of running fan? the stand fan or those hang on top one?
iRonTech
post Jun 28 2008, 02:55 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(glare842006 @ Jun 27 2008, 11:57 PM)
Erm... less than half minute. After started the google map... the signal will refresh after few seconds. And will detect your current location. I think sometimes is depends on your 3G speed from subscriber. Quite ok only not very smooth but still acceptable and the accuracy is depend on whehter you are on move with vehicle or by walking. I try to walk all the way to another destination and during the process I can see my signal dot on the map follow exactly my path while i'm walking. But try before when take cab the signal will stuck at your current location but when the cab move for few seconds later til certain distance then only your position will be refresh and according to the signal tower if i'm not wrong. Cause it is not the exact location where the cab driving toward.
biggrin.gif its better than nothing on GPS part, can't expect very good performance on it as the signal receiver not as strong enough like garmin gps

QUOTE(glare842006 @ Jun 28 2008, 01:45 AM)
running fan @.@ you want me to take a photo of running fan? the stand fan or those hang on top one?
nod.gif try snap at auto & set to twilight mode
TSglare842006
post Jun 28 2008, 09:06 PM

160 posts

Fan photo taken. In the first entry bottom part under update.
iRonTech
post Jun 28 2008, 09:51 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif y so blur one?? not necessary use macro on the 'running fan' capture..
TOMEI-R
post Jun 30 2008, 02:57 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

So... Can you use just GPS only (means depending on GPS navigator in the phone ....like the N82 or N85 without the support of network provider? Does it support Garmin Mobile ?
The maps on google is not accurate yet complete rite? Especially the Malaysian Map.

33 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:54 AM